Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Extra-Long Saddle Hackle

For proper Deceivers and other wiggly flies. These are the largest saddle hackles available today. Saddle hackle feathers in brown, black, dark olive, purple, white, red, yellow, hot orange, hot pink, fluorescent blue, chartreuse, shrimp pink, lime green. ¼-oz. package.
Average Customer Rating:
4.083 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
10 of 12(83%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Extra-Long Saddle Hackle
Review 1 for Extra-Long Saddle Hackle
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice,
October 22, 2014
By: DudeCat
"Have had good results for both saltwater and freshwater applications - deceivers, poppers, etc...., and have caught lots of fish, which works for me."
Review 2 for Extra-Long Saddle Hackle
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good for Wooley Bugger Flies,
May 17, 2014
By: Michael1
from Germany
"This is one of those packs that I do not order online. I always look at the bags, as some strung feather packs are longer. Anyhow, I use black and white for Wooley Buggers. The dyeingjob n the ones I got was excellent, no bleading of th colour etc."
Review 3 for Extra-Long Saddle Hackle
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Happy to find a great vendor,
December 29, 2012
By: Anonymous
"I was cautious as to the quality of the feathers until I open the package. They were exceptionally long with good quality. I was looking for a vendor where I could get "Long White Hackles" in order to tie big Strippers flies such as Half & Half's. Keep up the quality, I have passed your name to other tiers. Bob"
Review 4 for Extra-Long Saddle Hackle
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Dye not set,
December 19, 2012
By: subvaria
from Wisconsin
"The long feathers were all badly bent in the bag so I decided to steam the feathers. When I laid them down on a paper towel the dye started to come out. Obviously, the dye was not set properly. I have done this before on feathers and not had this issue."
Review 5 for Extra-Long Saddle Hackle
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Long!,
September 10, 2012
By: cpl1775
"Works great for large flies! Just wish I could find a size that is in between this extra long and normal because it seems like I have a lot of wasted material after using this."
Review 6 for Extra-Long Saddle Hackle
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Disappointed,
July 31, 2012
By: Ellen6914
from Birmingham, UK
"Nearly sent the packet back.A good quarter of the feathers had missing tips or were cut lower down the feather. Not up to the normal high standard of Orvis. The rest of my order was very good."
Review 7 for Extra-Long Saddle Hackle
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent,
July 10, 2012
By: flyevolutionz
from Glasgow
"I like to tie big streamer patterns for predators and these are perfect for large salmon or predator patterns,these fit the bill without the price tag of a full cape, highly recommended..."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Extra-Long Saddle Hackle
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Just what I was looking for,
June 5, 2012
By: logic
"Good quality feathers. I needed long hackle and these filled the bill."
Review 9 for Extra-Long Saddle Hackle
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Quality,
July 8, 2011
By: butterfly1215
"These feathers are really great quality. They really stand up to rough handling."
Review 10 for Extra-Long Saddle Hackle
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful Long saddle,
July 5, 2011
By: tpeterman
"Beautiful Long saddle avg on this color 7"+ Great!
Bright color threw and threw great hackle.
"
Review 11 for Extra-Long Saddle Hackle
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Purchase,
July 2, 2011
By: VandaSalon
from San Jose, CA
"the furthers are nice and affordable - a little short though..."
Ratings-Only Reviews for Extra-Long Saddle Hackle
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1