Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Orvis Lightweight Floating Fly Boxes

Indestructible, floatable fly boxes. Up to 75% lighter than other boxes. Damaged, they pop back into shape. Specify ripple/ripple, ripple/flat (shown).
Average Customer Rating:
4.453 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (128 reviews)
5 stars
91
4 stars
19
3 stars
8
2 stars
5
1 star
5
115 of 128(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Orvis Lightweight Floating Fly Boxes
Review 1 for Orvis Lightweight Floating Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good for hoppers or streamers,
January 20, 2014
By: Andrssonevn
from Baltimore, MD
"This is a decent box for hoppers or streamers. It can be tough to get smaller hooks to stay in the ridges so bigger hooks work better in this box. It is easy to open since it has magnetic closures which is nice when your trying to get it open on the water."
Review 2 for Orvis Lightweight Floating Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Solid buy,
January 17, 2014
By: Otron16
from Kingston, ON
"I'm just starting out in the fly fishing/tying, my friends have them and recommended. they're a solid box, priced well, and they float too!"
Review 3 for Orvis Lightweight Floating Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent profuct,
January 16, 2014
By: Sr3281
from California
"I was looking for an inexpensive, light-weight, spacious flybox and this is just that!"
Review 4 for Orvis Lightweight Floating Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Box...BTW it floats!,
December 28, 2013
By: Kinzuakrusher
"An inexpensive box with a great functional design. The magnets are strong, the contour on the back panel convenient, and the large ID tag on the back is a fantastic touch. I gave them as gifts, I think I will buy one for myself!"
Review 5 for Orvis Lightweight Floating Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good gift.,
December 24, 2013
By: Willibe
"It was what my grandson wanted and he was pleased."
Review 6 for Orvis Lightweight Floating Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fly box,
December 23, 2013
By: millcon
from north bend wa
"these are the nicest fly boxes I have yet. I have five now and they continue to be my favorite. great storage arrangement magnetic latch and they float"
Review 7 for Orvis Lightweight Floating Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product,
December 14, 2013
By: mokangal
from Missouri
"This fly case is real nice. It also will float so you don't have to worry about that. It was purchased as a Christmas gift for my son and I am sure he will enjou it."
Review 8 for Orvis Lightweight Floating Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
True To Description,
November 1, 2013
By: GSGAR
from Lima, OH
"Is indeed light weight and floats. Not as sturdy as I would have liked it to have been, but will be useful none the less."
Review 9 for Orvis Lightweight Floating Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very happy with purchase,
September 3, 2013
By: dcat
from Woodward, OK
"Small and compact , yet able to keep flies organized. Lightweight and very sharp looking.
Magnetic lid is secure, foam seems to be very durable. Excellent gift for the fly fisherman.
"
Review 10 for Orvis Lightweight Floating Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best I have found,
July 31, 2013
By: Flyfish4food
"Best fly box of this type I have found.
Much better quality than the competition at an equivalent price.
"
Review 11 for Orvis Lightweight Floating Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great box.,
July 31, 2013
By: wyatt96
"Its light and has very durable foam on the inside. great look too."
Review 12 for Orvis Lightweight Floating Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very good fly box,
May 8, 2013
By: Stephen85
from Decatur, AL
"Very good quality fly box! Lightweight but still great construction! Great product!"
Review 13 for Orvis Lightweight Floating Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
great boxes, got the wrong one,
March 5, 2013
By: navyguy77
from Suffolk, VA
"Love these fly boxes, all I use. Ordered 2 double ripples and one came as a ripple/flat or would rate 5 stars"
Review 14 for Orvis Lightweight Floating Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
only one to use,
January 28, 2013
By: contender
from perth
"The best fly box on the planet totally safe and convenient to use very lightweight and practically indestructible"
Review 15 for Orvis Lightweight Floating Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Decent Fly Box,
January 25, 2013
By: NNCC
from San Jose, CA
"I like these boxes because they float, they are fairly low-profile, and are very lightweight. They also accept large, bushy flies well. I don't like, however, the foam; it is rock-hard, making sticking flies into it and taking them out difficult and because the foam doesn't "hug" the hook well because of how hard it is, I often find flies that pop out by themselves."
Review 16 for Orvis Lightweight Floating Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Gift,
November 6, 2012
By: Seeds
from Atlanta, Ga
"Fits well over 75 flies. great to bring on the water. The ripple/flat large can hold at least 75 flies, a few leaders, and a couple bobbers. Great purchase for the price."
Review 17 for Orvis Lightweight Floating Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Not Bad...,
September 16, 2012
By: WilcoRox
from Denver,CO
"This fly box closes nice and secure, is light weight and floats well (I know from experience).
The bad thing is that the flies do not always stay secure. I've lost a couple of flies when I"ve opened up the box in windy conditions. Doesn't happen all the time, but enough that I'm giving this box 3 out of 5."
Review 18 for Orvis Lightweight Floating Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just What I Needed,
September 8, 2012
By: Comandante
from Arlington, VA
"The medium-sized box, with its light weight, curved shape and rounded corners, fits perfectly in the breast pocket of my fishing shirt. Durable and easy to handle, it has served me well on several trips to the Caribbean. Nicely priced, too."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Orvis Lightweight Floating Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lightweight Fly Box,
August 14, 2012
By: MarkS51
"Excellent....Lightweigth...plenty of room....and it floats!!!"
Review 20 for Orvis Lightweight Floating Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Solid Lightweight Fly Box,
July 23, 2012
By: ColemanSpecial
"If you like foam style boxes, then this is the fly box for you. You can choose from ripple or flat (your preference). I really like them because they're durable and light weight. They extra screws on the outside help to reinforce the magnets so they hold up against wear and tear. They're also slightly curved so they fit in your vest well. I like the small one for fitting inside my Orvis Sling Pack. Overall, a solid fly box and very cost effective."