Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Orvis Lightweight Floating Fly Boxes

Indestructible, floatable fly boxes. Up to 75% lighter than other boxes. Damaged, they pop back into shape. Specify ripple/ripple, ripple/flat (shown).
Average Customer Rating:
4.463 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (134 reviews)
5 stars
95
4 stars
21
3 stars
8
2 stars
5
1 star
5
121 of 134(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Orvis Lightweight Floating Fly Boxes
Review 1 for Orvis Lightweight Floating Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great purchase,
July 17, 2014
By: Teachmehowtofish
from Georgia
"This is a solid inexpensive little fly box. Perfect for taking a few flies down to the river or lake on a nice afternoon"
Review 2 for Orvis Lightweight Floating Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fly box,
July 16, 2014
By: John731
from North Jersey
"This is the second on of these fly boxes that I have purchased. They close very securely and fit nicely in my vest. Also, if you should drop it, it will float"
Review 3 for Orvis Lightweight Floating Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
good buy,
June 26, 2014
By: bigkimbrell
from South Carolina
"I purchased the large one and it fits in the back pocket of my jeans while I am walking the edge of the pond. Easy open and secure closing. Held all my bass flies with ease."
Review 4 for Orvis Lightweight Floating Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fly Box Review,
June 26, 2014
By: fishingDL
from Idaho and Florida
"These fly boxes are great. Very light with a contour which makes them more comfortable in the vest pocket. They also float if you should drop them on the water. You just have to decide on the size you want. I like the ones with the ripples on both sides for fresh water and for saltwater using larger flies I like the ones with ripples on one side and the flat surface on the other side for my larger flies."
Review 5 for Orvis Lightweight Floating Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
flies "safe",
May 6, 2014
By: TerryG
from Midwest
"It is small; lightweight; has a magnetic closure; is hi-visibility; and floats. . .Any more features and fish will jump in your arms."
Review 6 for Orvis Lightweight Floating Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good for hoppers or streamers,
January 20, 2014
By: Andrssonevn
from Baltimore, MD
"This is a decent box for hoppers or streamers. It can be tough to get smaller hooks to stay in the ridges so bigger hooks work better in this box. It is easy to open since it has magnetic closures which is nice when your trying to get it open on the water."
Review 7 for Orvis Lightweight Floating Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Solid buy,
January 17, 2014
By: Otron16
from Kingston, ON
"I'm just starting out in the fly fishing/tying, my friends have them and recommended. they're a solid box, priced well, and they float too!"
Review 8 for Orvis Lightweight Floating Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent profuct,
January 16, 2014
By: Sr3281
from California
"I was looking for an inexpensive, light-weight, spacious flybox and this is just that!"
Review 9 for Orvis Lightweight Floating Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Box...BTW it floats!,
December 28, 2013
By: Kinzuakrusher
"An inexpensive box with a great functional design. The magnets are strong, the contour on the back panel convenient, and the large ID tag on the back is a fantastic touch. I gave them as gifts, I think I will buy one for myself!"
Review 10 for Orvis Lightweight Floating Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good gift.,
December 24, 2013
By: Willibe
"It was what my grandson wanted and he was pleased."
Review 11 for Orvis Lightweight Floating Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fly box,
December 23, 2013
By: millcon
from north bend wa
"these are the nicest fly boxes I have yet. I have five now and they continue to be my favorite. great storage arrangement magnetic latch and they float"
Review 12 for Orvis Lightweight Floating Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product,
December 14, 2013
By: mokangal
from Missouri
"This fly case is real nice. It also will float so you don't have to worry about that. It was purchased as a Christmas gift for my son and I am sure he will enjou it."
Review 13 for Orvis Lightweight Floating Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
True To Description,
November 1, 2013
By: GSGAR
from Lima, OH
"Is indeed light weight and floats. Not as sturdy as I would have liked it to have been, but will be useful none the less."
Review 14 for Orvis Lightweight Floating Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very happy with purchase,
September 3, 2013
By: dcat
from Woodward, OK
"Small and compact , yet able to keep flies organized. Lightweight and very sharp looking.
Magnetic lid is secure, foam seems to be very durable. Excellent gift for the fly fisherman.
"
Review 15 for Orvis Lightweight Floating Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best I have found,
July 31, 2013
By: Flyfish4food
"Best fly box of this type I have found.
Much better quality than the competition at an equivalent price.
"
Review 16 for Orvis Lightweight Floating Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great box.,
July 31, 2013
By: wyatt96
"Its light and has very durable foam on the inside. great look too."
Review 17 for Orvis Lightweight Floating Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very good fly box,
May 8, 2013
By: Stephen85
from Decatur, AL
"Very good quality fly box! Lightweight but still great construction! Great product!"
Review 18 for Orvis Lightweight Floating Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
great boxes, got the wrong one,
March 5, 2013
By: navyguy77
from Suffolk, VA
"Love these fly boxes, all I use. Ordered 2 double ripples and one came as a ripple/flat or would rate 5 stars"
Review 19 for Orvis Lightweight Floating Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
only one to use,
January 28, 2013
By: contender
from perth
"The best fly box on the planet totally safe and convenient to use very lightweight and practically indestructible"
Review 20 for Orvis Lightweight Floating Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Decent Fly Box,
January 25, 2013
By: NNCC
from San Jose, CA
"I like these boxes because they float, they are fairly low-profile, and are very lightweight. They also accept large, bushy flies well. I don't like, however, the foam; it is rock-hard, making sticking flies into it and taking them out difficult and because the foam doesn't "hug" the hook well because of how hard it is, I often find flies that pop out by themselves."