Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Battenkill® Field Watch

Elegantly designed with an easy-to-read oversize luminous dial. Precision quartz movement with stainless steel back. Three-hand face with calendar window. Leather-and-canvas strap. This men's classic field watch has a white dial with green strap. Case diameter 19/16".
Average Customer Rating:
4.333 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
16 of 18(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Battenkill® Field Watch
Review 1 for Battenkill® Field Watch
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Why was this discontinued?,
November 28, 2013
By: jbss
"My favorite watch I've ever owned. I miss this watch, I just lost my first one and really want to buy another!"
Review 2 for Battenkill® Field Watch
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exactly what I wanted,
February 27, 2013
By: APR2
"Durable and great for outdoors. The description was spot on."
Review 3 for Battenkill® Field Watch
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
dissapointed,
February 10, 2013
By: carolinabob
"Watch loses several minutes a day. Watch band is designed for a gorilla wrist. this morning watch said ten when it was 7:30AM."
Review 4 for Battenkill® Field Watch
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Good value,
January 13, 2013
By: TWR30165
from Rome, GA
"Having just rec'd the watch, I am not sure it is fair to try to rate it yet, but you asked.
The watch seems fine and am pleased with it. However, I agree with others. The band seems too cheap...in particular the faux leather.
"
Review 5 for Battenkill® Field Watch
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect Gift for the man in my life,
December 29, 2012
By: Annaleigh
from Blue Ridge mtns in VA
"This watch was a Christmas gift to my husband. He said that it felt so right that he slept with it on. Looks tasteful and comfortable."
Review 6 for Battenkill® Field Watch
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Not what I thought,
December 15, 2012
By: RJLUMP
from Tucson, AZ
"While I like the watch the band is not as long as other watches I have bought which is an issue for a guy like me with large wrists"
Review 7 for Battenkill® Field Watch
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Field Watch,
November 19, 2012
By: Drawdc
from Houston, Tx.
"I wear this shooting clays and wing shooting. The band is a little cheap but it's dressy enough for casual wear or for my shooting club. The face is very flat so it is unobtrusive. I have had it for a year, no problems. Great value."
Review 8 for Battenkill® Field Watch
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice for the field and going out,
November 9, 2012
By: ArkansasHuntFish
from Little Rock, AR
"Like the watch and the tan/ green look for dressy casual, and it works fine in the field, also. Have yet to test the water resistant abilities fishing or swimming."
Review 9 for Battenkill® Field Watch
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Casual Watch,
October 19, 2012
By: kbergstr
"I love it -- its a very simple casual watch that's great for most occasions below formal. Works with a casual jacket and jeans or a tee shirt."
Review 10 for Battenkill® Field Watch
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Watch, Bad Band,
May 1, 2012
By: Watchmaster
"Very functional. Tells the time accurately and fits nicely. The leather is very cheap though and after just a week of use I can see that it will begin to crack soon."
Review 11 for Battenkill® Field Watch
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great value,
April 19, 2012
By: Peyt
"Terrific value...I have owned this watch for many years...worn in hunting, golf, many difficult conditions and it has been reliable. Just bought another as original is prettybangrd up but works fine."
Review 12 for Battenkill® Field Watch
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The good and the bad,
February 24, 2012
By: Philipofmaine
from hope town Abaco Bahamas
"Shortly after my wife gave me my new Field Watch here on our island in the West Indies the pin holding the band to the watch broke dropping my watch into 15 ft of salt water and a muddy Harbour bottom at midnight. A bad band.
A few days later a friend who had heard about my misfortune dived by the boat and eventually recovered my watch -- time and date correct and it is still keeping perfect time after surviving 4 or 5 days under the sea. Still no band and Orvis doesn't sell bands but I carry it in my pocket and it keeps me on time. A tough dependable time piece. And a good story here on the island.
"
Review 13 for Battenkill® Field Watch
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Liked the looks of it +price,
December 30, 2011
By: Hank75
"Have worn this watch on a regular basis for over a year,
I have a Tissot chrongraph that I had been wearing I now find that I can rely on this watch all the time
"
Review 14 for Battenkill® Field Watch
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
worth it,
November 14, 2011
By: BamaMan
from Yonkers, NY
"Have had several of these watches. Worth the money. Watch expert in NYC agrees..Says well made..good movement and is pretty sturdy...Actually when compared with better-known classic Swiss Army watch is better constructed at less than 50% cheaper with better service warranty.
While not a Rolex, it is a soild well-made watch that is far superior to any Timex or Armitron or Casio at the same price point.
The big leather gift box is actually better than some Rolex watch boxes. The box alone is worth $15."
Review 15 for Battenkill® Field Watch
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great watch-Cheap Band,
August 17, 2011
By: DWOHIO
"I replaced a previous Battenkill watch with a new one recently.
The watch is fine, however as stated on the other reviews, the leather on the band is disappointingly cheap, shiny and plastic looking and detracts from the appearance of the watch.
I purchased an inexpensive aftermarket band which is almost identical, however the leather parts are oil tanned saddle leather instead of the shiny plastic and am now happy with the watch."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Battenkill® Field Watch
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Second purchase of watch,
October 26, 2010
By: flclub
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
"Left my original Battenkill watch and third replacement band on the night stand in Frankfurt so was anxious to replace my old favorite.
The new watch seems to be the same but the new watch band instead of being leather is some cheap plastic product that is inflexible and difficult to bend through the keeper. Hope it breaks soon so I can replace it with something better."
Review 17 for Battenkill® Field Watch
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice watch,
March 19, 2010
By: MikeBV
from Bentonville, AR
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I haven't had very long, so can't speak to long term durability, but it's a nice, comfortable watch.
My only complaint/suggestion would be that if you're going to advertise it as a Battenkill watch, the strap should be darker green with darker brown leather -- to match the luggage.
Nothing wrong w/it as is, but it really doesn't match your other items."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Battenkill® Field Watch
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1