Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Comfort–Waist Merino Flannel Pants

Pure merino wool. Our flannel dress pants feature a sliding expansion belt hidden in the waistband, so these pants stretch when you do. Plain or pleated front. Our classic-fit pants are cut trimmer through the thigh. Pure wool. Dry clean. Imported.Even waist sizes 32-44. Cuffed up to 34" or plain finished up to 35" at no extra charge.
Average Customer Rating:
4.044 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (45 reviews)
5 stars
22
4 stars
12
3 stars
4
2 stars
5
1 star
2
35 of 45(78%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Comfort–Waist Merino Flannel Pants
Review 1 for Comfort–Waist Merino Flannel Pants
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great purchase,
September 3, 2014
By: Anon82
from Glasgow
"Just to let you know how delighted I am with the purchase of my new flannel pants . They fit extremely well & are very comfortable. We'll done on producing such excellent trousers."
Review 2 for Comfort–Waist Merino Flannel Pants
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great fit,
February 11, 2014
By: Hamlin12
from New York, NY
"Very comfortable pants, well made, good material and a fine fit."
Review 3 for Comfort–Waist Merino Flannel Pants
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
they are what they are,
January 26, 2014
By: Bubbeleh
from Salt Lake City
"Good price for a good pair of everyday slacks. The length is wrong, but it's easier to take them to a local tailor than to send them back. Somehow I didn't understand that "comfort waist" means those little adjustable belt things like on a pair of rental tuxedo pants. Oh, well."
Review 4 for Comfort–Waist Merino Flannel Pants
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
January 23, 2014
By: Lotusland
from Burnaby, British Columbia/CANADA
"I purchase from Orvis for quality, even though prices are not competitive. I have never returned any item, which speaks for itself re: customer satisfaction!"
Review 5 for Comfort–Waist Merino Flannel Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value and Style,
January 22, 2014
By: Trouvay
"I've been having trouble finding good pleated trousers (for which I usually pay at least twice the cost of the Orvis merinos). This pair arrived in excellent shape with good fit and good tailoring. I'll stick with these from now on."
Review 6 for Comfort–Waist Merino Flannel Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
An excellent product,
January 16, 2014
By: Tuetsk
from Wayland, MA
"The slacks are both comfortable and stylish, not an easy combination in catalog shopping. I wear them when traveling -- They are comfortable on an airplane and make you look rich and well-dressed when you check into a hotel."
Review 7 for Comfort–Waist Merino Flannel Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warm Pants!,
December 24, 2013
By: Nanc12
from Columbia, SC
"On a recent trip to NJ/NY, I needed some warm pants to brave the elements. I was very pleased with these pants. They were very warm and kept the cold wind away. They are also very comfortable and look very good. Wore them to a business meeting."
Review 8 for Comfort–Waist Merino Flannel Pants
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Classic Dress Pants,
December 19, 2013
By: ProfessorPat
from Scarsdale, NY
"Good fitting and generous sized pockets all around. I would buy them again."
Review 9 for Comfort–Waist Merino Flannel Pants
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Don't order these pants!,
December 16, 2013
By: Ushwy206
from Ringoes NJ
"Poor workmanship on tailored cuffs. Armature job! Very disappointed with product quality and service especially considering the price. Paid for next day shipping and they took 4 days to deliver. Never again."
Review 10 for Comfort–Waist Merino Flannel Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Classic trouser,
December 14, 2013
By: farmalla
"Perfect for casual dress occasions, as well as the office. Comfortable fit and weight. Always look sharp."
Review 11 for Comfort–Waist Merino Flannel Pants
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice Pants, dorky sales guy,
November 17, 2013
By: TherealDtrain
from Dayton, OH
"These pants are similar to a pair I bought several years ago and have not been able to find a similar pair using the same material until I searched the Orvis website. The only drawback to these flannel wool Pants is that there is no lining which is what I would expect out of a class company like Orvis. The premium price would have led me to believe that these pants would not lack anything. Much to my chagrin they are not lined. This is the reason for the 4 star rating. I would give a lower rating to the pompous tool that I originally purchased these pants from in the store, I had considered never shopping at the store again but I had to return the pants because of a sizing problem. The salesman I dealt with the second time made the experience enjoyable restoring my faith in the store."
Review 12 for Comfort–Waist Merino Flannel Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The perfect trouser,
October 24, 2013
By: leemingrj
from Coventry UK
"The price was right and the fit perfect. I always take into account the fact tha Orvis are slightly generous in their waist measurements to take into account our reluctance to admit our real girth. The elasticity of the waist was a bonus."
Review 13 for Comfort–Waist Merino Flannel Pants
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
A Shame,
September 14, 2013
By: Shapian
"I am a real fan of Orvis but this product did not work for me. The comfort-waist fell apart on one side during the first wearing. The material of the trousers was excellent and the fit perfect. Regret I had to return them."
Review 14 for Comfort–Waist Merino Flannel Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Merino Flannel Slacks,
July 11, 2013
By: blsd
from North Coast California
"This is a very nice pair of slacks. The feel of the fabric is first rate and the fit and tailoring is also first rate."
Review 15 for Comfort–Waist Merino Flannel Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Pants,
April 5, 2013
By: davidandros
from Hamilton, Ontario
"These are a well-cut and attractive pair of pants that I shall enjoy wearing.
David
"
Review 16 for Comfort–Waist Merino Flannel Pants
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Problem,
April 1, 2013
By: Ray38
"Overall the pant are fine but the stretch feature on the right side does not work -- sent back the pants and the replacement had the same problem on the same (right) side. After pulling hard, I felt a thread break and then it flexed, but the detailed sewing was not clean. Factory needs to fix the problem."
Review 17 for Comfort–Waist Merino Flannel Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent value,
February 18, 2013
By: Garnets
from Silver Spring, MD
"My husband needed some nice wool pants for dressier moments. Now that he's retired, he's gained some weight, and decent trousers were hard to find. These were just the ticket. Comfortable waist, beautiful fabric, conservative styling."
Review 18 for Comfort–Waist Merino Flannel Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Soft and light weight,
December 28, 2012
By: Redcoat22
from Clearwater, FL
"These pants are wonderful. Very light weight and extremely soft flannel. They do have a comfort waist with a little stretch. Im a 33 and thought I would try the 32 instead of 34. They fit fine in the waist but were not wide enough in the hips so I went up to the 34. Easy exchanges and returns."
Review 19 for Comfort–Waist Merino Flannel Pants
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Comfort Fit,
November 30, 2012
By: Lenco
from Tarrytown, NY
"Did not expand as advertised. Stretched about 1/4 inch.
Previous pair in poplin worked as advertised.
Returned.
"
Review 20 for Comfort–Waist Merino Flannel Pants
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice feel and very comfortable,
November 21, 2012
By: Smart1
from UK
"Lovely material and very comfortable, especially with the stretch band. Look good."