Orvis Ratings and Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Comfort–Waist Merino Flannel Trousers

Our men's merino wool flannel trousers feature a sliding expansion belt hidden in the waistband, so they stretch when you do. Plain or pleated front. Our classic-fit wool dress trousers are cut trimmer through the thigh. In dark grey. Pure wool. Dry clean.Even waist sizes 32-44. Finished up to 35" or 34" with turn-ups, at no extra charge.
Average Customer Rating:
3.945 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (55 reviews)
5 stars
28
4 stars
12
3 stars
4
2 stars
6
1 star
5
41 of 55(75%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Comfort–Waist Merino Flannel Trousers
Review 1 for Comfort–Waist Merino Flannel Trousers
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Cannot believe Orvis would sell this product,
December 24, 2014
By: jle421
from Pittsburgh, PA
"Pants did not even totally leave the plastic package. One look at the design where the pocket runs into the incredibly ugly Comfort-Waist expansion belt and they went back in the package for return. So far below other Orvis products that Orvis should be ashamed to offer this to their customers."
Review 2 for Comfort–Waist Merino Flannel Trousers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Flannels,
December 13, 2014
By: Tiggerport
from Kennebunkport Maine
"I think it is very hard to find trousers made better than these at this price. The charcoal color is great, they fit well and the expandable waist works just as advertised. The flannel is light weight but appropriate for New England weather. I like these and plan to get them in the other color."
Review 3 for Comfort–Waist Merino Flannel Trousers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Great Pair Of Trousers,
December 6, 2014
By: Al55
"This is the first pair of Orvis trousers that I have tried. They wont be the last. Absolutely fabulous fit trousers that look and feel fantastic."
Review 4 for Comfort–Waist Merino Flannel Trousers
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Not good,
November 21, 2014
By: Bramante
"Really gnarly flannel. itchy and wrinkly. Sending it back for credit."
Review 5 for Comfort–Waist Merino Flannel Trousers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hard to Find,
November 21, 2014
By: Flannel
from MidAtlantic state
"Cold Weather slacks are hard to find. These flannel slacks are perfect for day and evening wear and are warmer than any we could find elsewhere!"
Review 6 for Comfort–Waist Merino Flannel Trousers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Grey Flannels,
November 10, 2014
By: Jetjennings
"I woke the trousers this weekend and they were stylish and extremely comfortable"
Review 7 for Comfort–Waist Merino Flannel Trousers
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
rough material,
November 5, 2014
By: diamondrockfarm
from Philadelphia, PA
"The price is too high for such a rough wool pair of trousers. I would have to have them pressed at the cleaners to see if they will work."
Review 8 for Comfort–Waist Merino Flannel Trousers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Slacks with some relief,
November 4, 2014
By: Donricardo
from Newtown Square, Pa
"I am an in between waste size, so I always look for the comfort waste which allows for a more slender and tailored leg look than a larger waste size might .
And, the cut and quality are an additional bonus for me.
"
Review 9 for Comfort–Waist Merino Flannel Trousers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent light wool pants that FIT.,
November 3, 2014
By: HighRevs
from Colorado
"In the past I have had a good deal of trouble with Orvis pants - nominal waist size 38s usually were 40" or more. These size 36s are actually about 37" and fit my 38" waist perfectly. These are made from a relatively light wool flannel which is just right for most of the Denver area weathers."
Review 10 for Comfort–Waist Merino Flannel Trousers
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Disappointing,
October 3, 2014
By: Demandquality
"The fabric did not seem to be good quality. But more importantly, the side pockets were sewn to the inside side seams in a way that the seams would not lay flat. Poor design = one returned pair of pants."
Review 11 for Comfort–Waist Merino Flannel Trousers
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great purchase,
September 3, 2014
By: Anon82
from Glasgow
"Just to let you know how delighted I am with the purchase of my new flannel pants . They fit extremely well & are very comfortable. We'll done on producing such excellent trousers."
Review 12 for Comfort–Waist Merino Flannel Trousers
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great fit,
February 11, 2014
By: Hamlin12
from New York, NY
"Very comfortable pants, well made, good material and a fine fit."
Review 13 for Comfort–Waist Merino Flannel Trousers
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
they are what they are,
January 26, 2014
By: Bubbeleh
from Salt Lake City
"Good price for a good pair of everyday slacks. The length is wrong, but it's easier to take them to a local tailor than to send them back. Somehow I didn't understand that "comfort waist" means those little adjustable belt things like on a pair of rental tuxedo pants. Oh, well."
Review 14 for Comfort–Waist Merino Flannel Trousers
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
January 23, 2014
By: Lotusland
from Burnaby, British Columbia/CANADA
"I purchase from Orvis for quality, even though prices are not competitive. I have never returned any item, which speaks for itself re: customer satisfaction!"
Review 15 for Comfort–Waist Merino Flannel Trousers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value and Style,
January 22, 2014
By: Trouvay
"I've been having trouble finding good pleated trousers (for which I usually pay at least twice the cost of the Orvis merinos). This pair arrived in excellent shape with good fit and good tailoring. I'll stick with these from now on."
Review 16 for Comfort–Waist Merino Flannel Trousers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
An excellent product,
January 16, 2014
By: Tuetsk
from Wayland, MA
"The slacks are both comfortable and stylish, not an easy combination in catalog shopping. I wear them when traveling -- They are comfortable on an airplane and make you look rich and well-dressed when you check into a hotel."
Review 17 for Comfort–Waist Merino Flannel Trousers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warm Pants!,
December 24, 2013
By: Nanc12
from Columbia, SC
"On a recent trip to NJ/NY, I needed some warm pants to brave the elements. I was very pleased with these pants. They were very warm and kept the cold wind away. They are also very comfortable and look very good. Wore them to a business meeting."
Review 18 for Comfort–Waist Merino Flannel Trousers
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Classic Dress Pants,
December 19, 2013
By: ProfessorPat
from Scarsdale, NY
"Good fitting and generous sized pockets all around. I would buy them again."
Review 19 for Comfort–Waist Merino Flannel Trousers
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Don't order these pants!,
December 16, 2013
By: Ushwy206
from Ringoes NJ
"Poor workmanship on tailored cuffs. Armature job! Very disappointed with product quality and service especially considering the price. Paid for next day shipping and they took 4 days to deliver. Never again."
Review 20 for Comfort–Waist Merino Flannel Trousers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Classic trouser,
December 14, 2013
By: farmalla
"Perfect for casual dress occasions, as well as the office. Comfortable fit and weight. Always look sharp."