Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Super-Lightweight Pet Ramps

These are the lightest and strongest pet ramps available. Our extra-large aluminum/high-density polyethylene ramp supports up to 300 lbs. and is perfect for accessing pickups, taller vehicles, and stairways. Fully adjustable from 47" to 89", it weighs just 19 lbs. The standard ramp—weighing in at just 13 lbs.—is adjustable from 39" to 72" and supports up to 400 lbs., making it perfect for helping your dog get into (or out of) your vehicle or onto (or off) a grooming table. Both the extra large and standard ramps are a breeze to transport: Just slide the two telescoping sections together, pick them up by their carry handles, and go. A safety latch prevents unintentional extension. Features a nonslip walking surface and grippy rubber feet for stability. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
3.648 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (54 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
12
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
10
39 of 54(72%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Super-Lightweight Pet Ramps
Review 1 for Super-Lightweight Pet Ramps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Senior Lab Aide,
July 25, 2014
By: mustangman
from Creedmoor,NC
"This is a great product! Light weight and well made ! It easily supports my 100 lb Labrador . Just what I was looking for!"
Review 2 for Super-Lightweight Pet Ramps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just What You Need,
June 12, 2014
By: DogsMa56
"This ramp is easy to pick up and easy to position on the car. I have a bad back and was afraid I wouldn't be able to pick up and manoeuvre the ramp, but no problem at all. The dogs haven't learned to trust it yet, but they will, with time."
Review 3 for Super-Lightweight Pet Ramps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Couldn't be better,
April 30, 2014
By: CanyonOwl
from Topanga CA.
"I wanted to try a ramp because my new car meant my dog who isn't agile couldn't jump in and I had to get 50 pounds of dog in and out every day - I didn't think it was good for me or my dog ... a neighbour recommend this ramp and I LOVE it ... it is VERY light weight easy to extend and compact ... good handle ... just what I want ... for my 50 pound bull terrier it is great and my friend has 3 heavy labs and it needs stabilizing for the labs but no stabilizing required for my bull terrier ..."
Review 4 for Super-Lightweight Pet Ramps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
NOTHING BETTER,
April 24, 2014
By: BARACK
from ASBURY NJ
"EASY TO USE FOR HUMANS. SAFE FOR ANIMALS. COMPACT TO STORE, ETC."
Review 5 for Super-Lightweight Pet Ramps
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ramp best ever.,
January 28, 2014
By: HWDH
"Works great for an 80lb dog, she went up and down the ramp the very first time."
Review 6 for Super-Lightweight Pet Ramps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best I have seen.,
January 13, 2014
By: LTLBEAR2251
from Fallbrook Ca.
"The ramp is perfect for our dogs. And lightweight too."
Review 7 for Super-Lightweight Pet Ramps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
His aching back makes my back ache.,
December 16, 2013
By: seagrams
from Heber, AZ
"Lifting my old dog really was hurting my back every time we made a trip together. The ramps are a whole lot lighter than my old retriever whose hips have given way to age. Thanks, Orvis."
Review 8 for Super-Lightweight Pet Ramps
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Retriever's viewpoint,
October 19, 2013
By: chesterdog
from San Diego , Ca
"I'm an older Golden with a young brother I, unlike him can no longer leap tall buildings in a single bound nor am , anymore, faster than a speeding Mallard so I need a ramp to get up in the air...
The ramp is light and sturdy but the sandpaper covering is made of Krytonite. It hurts my pads. I would prefer rubber. Please make this with a toe pleasing cover. Thanks Chester and Cooper
"
Review 9 for Super-Lightweight Pet Ramps
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
pet ramp,
October 15, 2013
By: monee
from colorado
"The ramp has no lock on it to keep it from sliding open while you carry it. Too large for small SUV if you put it in with the dogs. Top part that rests on bumper/hatch doesn't seat properly. Takes several tries to make sure it will not flip when when the dog walks up. It is lightweight but seems flimsy in construction."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Super-Lightweight Pet Ramps
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Telescoping dog ramp,
August 2, 2013
By: chesterdog
from San Diego , Ca
"I like it. Light weight and easy to use. Rubber feet on vehicle end a plus.
Draw back: surface is non skid ( sand paper) Chester is hesitant because of sand paper. Suggest surface be rubber diamond plate. Softer, non slip, cushioned
"
Review 11 for Super-Lightweight Pet Ramps
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ok Product - Not high quality,
July 2, 2013
By: RudyDog
from Carlsbad, CA
"This dog ramp works as expected. I like the fact that it is lightweight and easy to use. However, the component parts like the snap that keeps the ramp from telescoping open and footings are very cheaply made. Within one day I found myself tightening these parts with a screwdriver. I expect high quality for spending a bit extra from Orvis. However, this product is low quality - high price for what you get. I advise friends to check other options before you buy this product from Orvis."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Super-Lightweight Pet Ramps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect,
May 11, 2013
By: Frances1288
from Baltimore, MD
"I was leery of buying a ramp, especially through a catalog. But my lab rescue dog turned out to be much older than I thought, and about a year after she arrived, she stopped jumping up into the back of my CRV. I decided to give the ramp a try. It works MUCH better than I expected. It is light and easy to use, stable and sturdy, and my dog started using it with only one session of training. The traction material works fine. This is a great solution for us and I am grateful!"
Review 13 for Super-Lightweight Pet Ramps
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Too much hassle,
February 3, 2013
By: Design
"This seemed like a good idea, but it is heavy and difficult to use. Lifting my dog is easier. I can't manage something this big each time I want to go somewhere with the dog. Maybe best for a larger male dog owner."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Super-Lightweight Pet Ramps
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
January 29, 2013
By: nolikey
"the ramp does not stay together when extended as promised. needs some form of easy to use lock when in use, and release when folded"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Super-Lightweight Pet Ramps
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sturdy ramp,
January 18, 2013
By: eleme
from Santa Rosa, CA
"Bought this to help my back as my 12 yr old Springer is having trouble getting up and down stairs when going outside. Great ramp in terms of length, ease to set up and weight, but the traction surface needs improvement. We have been having heavy frosts and on 2nd night of use my girl slipped trying to walk up and now is hesitant to use it."
Review 16 for Super-Lightweight Pet Ramps
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Good but too big,
January 16, 2013
By: Bham
from Birmingham, AL
"I ordered the extra large pet ramp upon the recommendation of the Orvis customer service rep who waasn't actually sure if it would work. I drive the large Mercedes SUV (the GL) and this ramp was way too big and heavy and didn't even fit in the back space. I exchanged it for the regular sized one and it works very well. My golden retriever will use it and it folds up nicely to fit in the cargo space. The extra large is probably better for a large pick-up truck, but regular size seems best for even larger SUVs."
Review 17 for Super-Lightweight Pet Ramps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dog ramp,
December 29, 2012
By: stdk
from CA
"Great product. Easy to set up and use with any dog; especially older dogs with issues getting up on a tailgate."
Review 18 for Super-Lightweight Pet Ramps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Really Great Ramp!,
December 4, 2012
By: TAAM
from Arlington. VA
"Super easy to use. light yet sturdy. the sandpaper-y surface is non-skid and helpful for getting dogs up. it does take some convincing for dog to go up, but treats up the ramp did just fine. SO GLAD I finally purchased this ramp!"
Review 19 for Super-Lightweight Pet Ramps
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Worst dog ramp ever,
September 5, 2012
By: Jclc
from Carmel Valley, CA
"We tried the ramp once and then boxed it up and returned it. It is unstable and poorly made (the grippy stick on material was half way peeled off upon removing it from the box)."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Super-Lightweight Pet Ramps
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good for SUV, not so much for Bug,
August 23, 2012
By: LucyLooJones
"Well, I thought this would be the perfect answer for my new Beetle. By the time I got our dog up the ramp, got ramp stored in car, got to canal swim, did it all over again, then got home and had to do it yet again, I was pooped! Too much bending to get it in Bug. The ramp quality is great... think we'll save it for my husband's SUV and let Lucy the Lab in back seat of Beetle with lots of towells and blankets!"