Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Super-Lightweight Pet Ramps

These are the lightest and strongest pet ramps available. Our extra-large aluminum/high-density polyethylene ramp supports up to 300 lbs. and is perfect for accessing pickups, taller vehicles, and stairways. Fully adjustable from 47" to 87", it weighs just 19 lbs. The standard ramp—weighing in at just 13 lbs.—is adjustable from 39" to 72" and supports up to 400 lbs., making it perfect for helping your dog get into (or out of) your vehicle or onto (or off) a grooming table. Both the extra large and standard ramps are a breeze to transport: Just slide the two telescoping sections together, pick them up by their carry handles, and go. A safety latch prevents unintentional extension. Features a nonslip walking surface and grippy rubber feet for stability. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
3.785 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (65 reviews)
5 stars
31
4 stars
12
3 stars
9
2 stars
3
1 star
10
49 of 65(75%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Super-Lightweight Pet Ramps
Review 1 for Super-Lightweight Pet Ramps
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Slightly disappointed,
May 28, 2015
By: Thatchmo
from Tucson, AZ
"The ramp extends as advertised and is built well enough to support the weight of a large dog. I was expecting a different surface other than sand paper on the ramp surface itself, therefore it's taking a well trained Lab serious adjustments to get comfortable to using it. Also recommend the longer ramp as the short ramp is almost too steep for my application."
Review 2 for Super-Lightweight Pet Ramps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy down!,
May 19, 2015
By: Santi
from Santa Fe, NM
"Our Labs are up and down several times a day from my jeep. This big thump to the ground takes a huge toll on their shoulders! To ease their thumps on their shoulders, this ramp protects their joints and prevents pain."
Review 3 for Super-Lightweight Pet Ramps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great ramp!,
May 6, 2015
By: Sterling28
from Little Rock, AR
"Truly light weight and easy to handle. The choice of length lets me use it at the back or side of my van very easily. Wide enough for my setters and very solid."
Review 4 for Super-Lightweight Pet Ramps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It's a winner!,
April 28, 2015
By: 3dogsinlander
from Lander, WY
"Has lived up to it's description and has been very easy to train my dogs to use. Has not been awkward or too heavy to manipulate."
Review 5 for Super-Lightweight Pet Ramps
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Product is light weight,not best 4 lrg breeds,
January 30, 2015
By: TruckerMoo
"The product is light weight and locks in place easily. It seems like something that will work good for my 2 large breed dogs, both which have some form of walking disability, when it comes to loading them into the back of the vehicle. However, I initially bought it for easy access up and down 3 stairs to the door of my home. Due to the fact the width is small for large breeds they refuse to use it on the stairs and it seems to be more of a hazard than a help. So overall good product for a vehicle but not worth the money for use on stairs unless you have relatively small dogs/animals, as in 20-30 lbs or less."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Super-Lightweight Pet Ramps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding Dog Ramp,
January 28, 2015
By: Ilm3d
from South Carolina
"Finally a ramp that works for me and my dogs. It took no training for one of the pointers and the lab and only a few treats for the other pointer to get over her fear of it. It telescopes easily into a nice package that fits neatly in my truck and is the largest model. It has relieved my fear of damaged joints from the dogs jumping down on to the ground from the bed of the truck. It is worth the price."
Review 7 for Super-Lightweight Pet Ramps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent light ramp for dogs,
January 5, 2015
By: T38Talon
from Austin, TX
"Very useful for older dogs, particularly with hip problems. Ours is a retired guide dog for the blind (Guide Dogs of Texas) and this is a big help to her and her master who normally picks her up and into the car. I asked her to comment and she said the ramp is "ruff" so she doesn't slip."
Review 8 for Super-Lightweight Pet Ramps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great ramp,
December 15, 2014
By: foxeil
from Rutherford, NJ
"This ramp is perfect for our standard poodle. He's getting older and has trouble jumping into our SUV. I lay it on the bumper and he walks up and down it. Great product."
Review 9 for Super-Lightweight Pet Ramps
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Pet Ramp,
November 14, 2014
By: rasart
"This is great concept for our older dog as she has arthritis and it is getting increasingly harder for her to jump into her crate in our SUV. I wonder if there could be a better surface, a surface more 'dog friendly'. The sandy feeling of the ramp deters her. Maybe a silicone matting rather than the current one so the dog would still stick on it but it would be more 'friendly' on their paws. I would also add that it is hard to train her to want to use it. My suggestion would be to start your dog early, while they are in a youthful training mode!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Super-Lightweight Pet Ramps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dog Ramp,
August 11, 2014
By: PELJr
from East TX
"I have an older Lab that weighs 120 lbs. I usually have to help him get into the back of my SUV by grabbing his hind legs behind the knee joints to boost him on up. With the ramp he climb on in easily without assistance. Problem solved for both of us."
Review 11 for Super-Lightweight Pet Ramps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Save my Life,
July 30, 2014
By: yomen
from Houston, Texas
"We are retired and live in a travel trailer full time, since selling our home. We will be traveling across the country, but was very concerned with our 11 year old dog with hip problems being able to get in and out the Three High Steps on our Trailer.
Guess What, Pet Ramp to the rescue. It saved my Life!!!!
"
Review 12 for Super-Lightweight Pet Ramps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Senior Lab Aide,
July 25, 2014
By: mustangman
from Creedmoor,NC
"This is a great product! Light weight and well made ! It easily supports my 100 lb Labrador . Just what I was looking for!"
Review 13 for Super-Lightweight Pet Ramps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just What You Need,
June 12, 2014
By: DogsMa56
"This ramp is easy to pick up and easy to position on the car. I have a bad back and was afraid I wouldn't be able to pick up and manoeuvre the ramp, but no problem at all. The dogs haven't learned to trust it yet, but they will, with time."
Review 14 for Super-Lightweight Pet Ramps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Couldn't be better,
April 30, 2014
By: CanyonOwl
from Topanga CA.
"I wanted to try a ramp because my new car meant my dog who isn't agile couldn't jump in and I had to get 50 pounds of dog in and out every day - I didn't think it was good for me or my dog ... a neighbour recommend this ramp and I LOVE it ... it is VERY light weight easy to extend and compact ... good handle ... just what I want ... for my 50 pound bull terrier it is great and my friend has 3 heavy labs and it needs stabilizing for the labs but no stabilizing required for my bull terrier ..."
Review 15 for Super-Lightweight Pet Ramps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
NOTHING BETTER,
April 24, 2014
By: BARACK
from ASBURY NJ
"EASY TO USE FOR HUMANS. SAFE FOR ANIMALS. COMPACT TO STORE, ETC."
Review 16 for Super-Lightweight Pet Ramps
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ramp best ever.,
January 28, 2014
By: HWDH
"Works great for an 80lb dog, she went up and down the ramp the very first time."
Review 17 for Super-Lightweight Pet Ramps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best I have seen.,
January 13, 2014
By: LTLBEAR2251
from Fallbrook Ca.
"The ramp is perfect for our dogs. And lightweight too."
Review 18 for Super-Lightweight Pet Ramps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
His aching back makes my back ache.,
December 16, 2013
By: seagrams
from Heber, AZ
"Lifting my old dog really was hurting my back every time we made a trip together. The ramps are a whole lot lighter than my old retriever whose hips have given way to age. Thanks, Orvis."
Review 19 for Super-Lightweight Pet Ramps
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Retriever's viewpoint,
October 19, 2013
By: chesterdog
from San Diego , Ca
"I'm an older Golden with a young brother I, unlike him can no longer leap tall buildings in a single bound nor am , anymore, faster than a speeding Mallard so I need a ramp to get up in the air...
The ramp is light and sturdy but the sandpaper covering is made of Krytonite. It hurts my pads. I would prefer rubber. Please make this with a toe pleasing cover. Thanks Chester and Cooper
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Super-Lightweight Pet Ramps
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
pet ramp,
October 15, 2013
By: monee
from colorado
"The ramp has no lock on it to keep it from sliding open while you carry it. Too large for small SUV if you put it in with the dogs. Top part that rests on bumper/hatch doesn't seat properly. Takes several tries to make sure it will not flip when when the dog walks up. It is lightweight but seems flimsy in construction."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.