Orvis Ratings and Reviews

The Orvis Guide to Fly Casting DVD

Join Master Angler Bill Cairns, original director of the world-renowned Orvis Fly-Fishing School, for an inside look at the Orvis Progressive Fly Casting Method. This casting DVD video shows basic fly-casting techniques to more advanced double hauling, and will walk you step-by-step through the most precise and easy-to-understand instructional system ever devised for fly casting.
Average Customer Rating:
3.818 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
2
8 of 11(73%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Orvis Guide to Fly Casting DVD
Review 1 for The Orvis Guide to Fly Casting DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Birthday Gift!,
November 30, 2013
By: PLD98912
from Omaha, NE
"I bought this for my dad for his birthday and he absolutely loves it!"
Review 2 for The Orvis Guide to Fly Casting DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Poor value,
September 27, 2012
By: osprey
from CA
"Although the video did make some valid and useful points on casting technique, the amount of information contained would make this video a reasonable value at about $10. At two and a half times that amount, definitely not a good value."
Review 3 for The Orvis Guide to Fly Casting DVD
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Poor Quality,
May 19, 2012
By: SubVet69
from Idaho Falls, ID
"I found the information contained on the DVD to be very usefull. My low rating is based on the picture quality of the DVD not the instructional quality. The video was not sharp and clear. The Orvis iPhone app is a lot better."
Review 4 for The Orvis Guide to Fly Casting DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Waste of Money,
February 23, 2012
By: DMJ1
from Spokane Valley, WA
"If you've been on a river a few times, don't even bother with this. Very short, no real application scenarios, just a waste of time and money really."
Review 5 for The Orvis Guide to Fly Casting DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Basic Fly Casting DVD,
December 27, 2011
By: kfly
"This is an excellent fly casting DVD about the basics."
Review 6 for The Orvis Guide to Fly Casting DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Fly Casting Starter DVD,
November 16, 2011
By: FlyBeginner
"As a begginer this DVD has provided me with very solid information on fly casting techniques, both the do's and don'ts. It has been very useful as i teach myself and a video I come back and review after each practice sesion."
Review 7 for The Orvis Guide to Fly Casting DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Answers to some questions,
October 9, 2010
By: Water
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"For most of my hobbies, learning has been a three stage process. First stage: read everything possible about the subject. Second stage: watch video/DVD/u-tube. Third stage: get professional instruction first hand.
For example: I've been basically self taught in fly casting; learning from photographs from various books including those published by Orivs. This DVD is an between step (second stage) in my fly casting learning process. It answered most of my questions that I had accumulated over the years about the different types of basic fly casts by allowing me to analyze the cast (due to it's DVD nature). The next step is take a class form the Orivs School. At least now I will prepared for the Orvis School and ask (hopefully) intelligent questions to their experts. Enjoy!
Remember that G-d created six times as much water than dry land, so it is clearly seen that G-d meant for us to fish six times as much as we work.
"
Review 8 for The Orvis Guide to Fly Casting DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Introductory Video,
February 23, 2010
By: ColemanSpecial
from Minneapolis, MN
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I purchased this video to not only brush up on my own fly casting techniques, but also because I was going to be helping/teaching a friend on his first fly fishing excursion. This video was a great place to start and get the fly fishing verbiage flowing! Combined with orvis's introductory books, this made for a great gift for a first time fly fisherman and it even taught me a thing or do in the process."
Review 9 for The Orvis Guide to Fly Casting DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Casting Primer,
July 2, 2008
By: RafT
from Los Angeles, CA
"Although I recommend all beginners (and intermediates) take a casting class, this video does a fine job of explaining and demonstrating the basics. In fact, I still watch it before every outing. It would have been nice, however, to see the casts also demonstrated on a stream etc."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for The Orvis Guide to Fly Casting DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting,
May 17, 2008
By: streamcaddis
from Coopersville Michigan
"This dvd is a must have. It is aback to basics . I bought this for a boy i was teaching and re learned some casting for myself
I have to tell you that I have picked up some BAD casting habits over the years.
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for The Orvis Guide to Fly Casting DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fundamental not Flashy,
November 5, 2007
By: RedheadSteelhead
from On the Rogue River, Oregon
"This video does just what it says - concentrates on the basics of fly casting. There is very little info on selecting gear, reading the water, or matching the hatch. If you're like me and just need the fundamentals drilled into your reflexive musculature, buy this video and watch it every week at least."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.