Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Seafoam Batik Skirt

Hand printed with leafy sprigs on a background of shaded blue-green. Flared, eight-panel pull-on broomstick-style skirt has an elasticated waist and on-seam pockets. Due to its handmade nature, colour may vary slightly. 100% viscose. Hand wash. Sizes: S, M, L, XL; about 36" long.
Average Customer Rating:
4.105 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (57 reviews)
5 stars
31
4 stars
13
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 star
4
45 of 57(79%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Seafoam Batik Skirt
Review 1 for Seafoam Batik Skirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Idea,
May 17, 2013
By: MamaBelle
"Was looking for a great cool and breezy summer skirt. Great fit. Easy on and ready for church or casual."
Review 2 for Seafoam Batik Skirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A very good purchase,
June 13, 2012
By: Allsop14
from Dollar, Clackmannanshire.
"It fills the bill exactly. I want the skirt for travel and it is ideal for this purpose. I have not worn it yet as the weather has not been sufficiently clement! but I look forward to doing so."
Review 3 for Seafoam Batik Skirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this skirt,
June 5, 2012
By: Applesauce
from Dallas TX
"This is the second time I have purchased this skirt for myself. The first one I had for many years but this year a waitress spilled tea on it. I was so happy to find it was still available. I am a size 4 so the waist is a little big."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Seafoam Batik Skirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great skirt.,
May 26, 2012
By: ReneeB38
from Central Scotland
"I have had this skirt for some years and it washes and dries like a dream and never needs touched by an iron. I am tall and it is just the right length for me. However, since I have lost weight it is now too big - how about some more colours in this design please Orvis?"
Review 5 for Seafoam Batik Skirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Seafoam Batik Skirt,
May 1, 2012
By: challenger
from Sherwood, AR
"This is a great skirt for spring and summer in the south. The fit is perfect and I am very happy I purchased this skirt."
Review 6 for Seafoam Batik Skirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Color not as pictured.,
March 27, 2012
By: sueN
"I only gave this item 4 stars since the color pictured (light green) is not the actual color of the skirt. It is much more a pale blue. It is a great skirt otherwise. Hangs and fits nicely, cut color in photo is not true."
Review 7 for Seafoam Batik Skirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
good basic skirt,
March 16, 2012
By: heidis
from South Jordan, Ut
"This is good crinkle skirt with pockets, shorter than the others I ordered but the lengths are all over the place, the fabric is a little thin if that bothers you, you might want to pass on these, I really like them."
Review 8 for Seafoam Batik Skirt
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not good on my body,
March 12, 2012
By: Turtledove
from New England
"This is a really pretty skirt! I love the color, even though it's not the same as the catalog. And the pattern is very simple and pleasant. Anyway, *I* didn't choose it from the catalog, it's a birthday present from my sister.
The thing about this kind of skirt, which LOOKS LIKE just a rectangular cut of fabric, gathered at the waist, (potato sack style) and allowed to drop straight down (almost) to the floor, is that it fits me poorly. It seems to have no tailoring or styling. This cut may be fine for most women, but with my belly and a pair of hips that bulge out a bit at the same level as the belly, well, I have to echo the woman whose review said it makes her look like she weighs 20 pounds more. I already have to wear an XL, so I need a cut that conceals, not reveals!!
It seems a shame that we will have to pay for shipping back, because I suppose to my sister, (whom I don't sees all that often) the skirt on the thin model looks great, and it is described as "Slenderizing." NOT!!! The picture even has some kind of breeze blowing out the hem of the skirt so it looks like it has some kind of flare... but it doesn't. It's potato sack city, is what it is. And it's hard to believe that with this light fabric (and yes, the hem is done with some bumpiness) and virtually no styling, this skirt would cost so much!! My poor sister, she'll be so disappointed!
"
Review 9 for Seafoam Batik Skirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
wish it had been a petite,
February 9, 2012
By: garble
"I'm 5'3" and this skirt wasn't offered in a petite size. I liked the skirt enough that I ordered it anyway, and hoped for the best.
I LOVED everything about the skirt. The length was a major problem. The alterations cost $20.00 to remove 4 inches.
"
Review 10 for Seafoam Batik Skirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
gorgeous,
January 24, 2012
By: comfy
from New Braunfels, TX
"Lovely design & color, fit & flow. Package includes instructions for maintaining a crinkle effect when washing, but I like it dried normally. Airy, thin, would want underskirt for office or social wear. Good for beach, tropics."
Review 11 for Seafoam Batik Skirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lovely skirt,
January 18, 2012
By: julieannfrog
from Colorado
"This skirt is very nice and easy to care for. I actually twisted mine, tied it up as the instructions say, and ran it through the dryer. It dried just right and didn't shrink.
Be aware that the color is not exactly as pictured, but is slightly darker and greyer.
"
Review 12 for Seafoam Batik Skirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pretty skirt,
January 5, 2012
By: angelgirl
"The skirt is comfortable, pretty and collors are true to the image in the catalog. Material is exactly how I expected, good quality. My only problem is that because skirt is pretty transparent, I will need a long slip to wear it. I expected for this price skirt to be lined."
Review 13 for Seafoam Batik Skirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Long and floaty,
August 16, 2011
By: RaeClaire
"This skirt is LONG--I'm 5'4" and it's truly ankle-length. I have to hold it up to avoid stepping on it when climbing stairs. You will probably want to wear a slip with it, as it is a bit translucent.
The color depicted in the catalog is WAY off--it isn't this turquoise-y, but more a muted greyish blue with barely a hint of green. I think it's a very nice soft color, but it isn't like the picture. The pattern is almost white, but not quite. I wouldn't call it cream, though--it's a softened white which goes with the muted ground. I love it but be warned about the color.The all-around elastic waist is substantial and the stretchiness will probably last a long time. The fabric is very soft--not a bit crispy as it looks like it might be from the pic. Should travel well and be suitable for most occasions with different tops and shoes.
"
Review 14 for Seafoam Batik Skirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
With a difference,
August 8, 2011
By: Borntoshop
from Toronto. Ontario. CANADA
"I had viewed this skirt with envy as a picture in a catalogue. I hoped it would stay around until I could buy it. Then I did. It was just as depicted in the catalogue, but there were two pleasant surprises. It was a real space saver in my suitcase , rolled and wrapped like a rope around the walls of the case and other clothes. It was also surprisingly long making it suitable and elegant for more dressy occasions with a lovely white or aqua blouse and even a cashmere on cooler nights."
Review 15 for Seafoam Batik Skirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I Love This Skirt - So Pretty!,
August 3, 2011
By: Rebba
"This skirt is well-made, flows well, hangs well, and the color is soothing and nice on a summer day."
Review 16 for Seafoam Batik Skirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Batik skirt,
August 3, 2011
By: Voula
from Fitchburg, Massachusetts
"Exquisitely lightweight despite the length.
Fits true to size.
Easy to dress up or down.
Feels and looks very feminine.
"
Review 17 for Seafoam Batik Skirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am glad I purchased this skirt.,
August 2, 2011
By: Anonymous
"I was really hesitant to order this skirt not having ordered anything from Orvis before. However, I am really pleased with it. It is comfortable, cool and looks nice enough to wear to Church. I am glad it was on sale however, because my budget would not have allowed me to pay full price. My friend assured me that I would not regret my decision to purchase, and I am pleased to say that I am glad I took her advice."
Review 18 for Seafoam Batik Skirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love the color & fabric, ran large,
August 2, 2011
By: divergramma
from Laguna Beach CA
"I'm exchanging the large for a medium. The waist was too wide, making for excess fabric around my middle. Love the floaty feel of this light, cool fabric. The two side pockets are a bonus, making the skirt perfect for travel. Know I will wear it frequently!"
Review 19 for Seafoam Batik Skirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
pretty and comfortable,
July 29, 2011
By: longlegs
from NM
"This skirt is comfortable with its drawstring elastic waist and cool, loose fabric. I have gotten compliments on the pretty print and color. However, I would never have paid the regular price for it--glad it was on sale. Also, I've been told it's pretty transparent, so for modesty wear a slip or stay out of bright sunlight!"
Review 20 for Seafoam Batik Skirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Love Orvis Skirts!,
July 29, 2011
By: Jeanette1431
"All my skirts (and I have lots!) are Orvis, and I especially love these light breezy krinkle skirts for summers in the South. They travel so easily...just twist into a rope and tuck it into a bag! I rated 4 stars for being true to size, well made (as always) and included pockets. Hooray! There was a difference in color (a bit darker and ashier) than the Orvis photo, but I've been able to wash some of the dye out to brighten it up. I'll wear this skirt to death, just like my others...as I said, I love Orvis skirts!"