Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Child's Fly–Fishing Vest

Just like Dad's but smaller for pint-sized fly fishers. Sewn of quick-drying polyester/cotton fabric with nylon mesh lining, it has four roomy patch pockets and a faux-shearling fly patch. Kids fly-fishing vest in tan. Washable. Imported.Sizes: S(3/4).
Average Customer Rating:
4.167 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (6 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
4 of 6(67%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Child's Fly–Fishing Vest
Review 1 for Child's Fly–Fishing Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Child fisherman,
December 28, 2012
By: ConnorsAunt
from Pigeon Forge, TN
"My 6 year old nephew loved the vest. It is excellent quality. We ordered it in a large to give him some growing room so I am sure he will get to use it for a long time to come."
Review 2 for Child's Fly–Fishing Vest
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Disappointing,
December 31, 2010
By: Icunurse
from Milwaukee, WI
Good Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
"I purchased the vest for a 7 year old and had it monogramed. The small size was recommended for height and weight of the child. It was ridiculously short, way above the waist. Could not return it due to the monograming. Cost was prohibitive for the amount of material used. Would not recommend it."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Service TeamJanuary 13, 2011
The Orvis Service Team contacted this customer and apologized that the sizing on this vest ran short, offering to exchange this item or give a complete refund. We will cheerfully exchange or refund your purchase at any time, for any reason. Our 100% Satisfaction Guarantee is the strongest in the business. Orvis has also passed the customer's concerns on to our product developers for further review.
Review 3 for Child's Fly–Fishing Vest
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Mis-Sized Vest,
August 9, 2010
By: Lincoln
Good Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"The vest is fine, but the size is way off. The kid's medium should be roomy on my son according to the size specifications, but it looks like it's made for a toddler. I notice other reviewers saying the same thing. Orvis needs to adjust their sizing on this product."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamAugust 10, 2010
Orvis Customer Service contacted this customer and apologized for the disappointment, offering a full refund or an exchange. We appreciate our customer's feedback and are currently reviewing these sizing issues.
Review 4 for Child's Fly–Fishing Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Child's Fly fishing vest,
May 5, 2010
By: BCostello
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
""My three year old grandson was very excited and really enjoyed wearing and using the vest and it fits fine with some room to grow. My grandson loves all the pockets. The vest has four pockets plus two pouch pockets on the two larger zippered pockets. It will be great for him to use and enjoy his fishing trips with gramdpa. .""
Review 5 for Child's Fly–Fishing Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
December 30, 2009
By: Unie
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My four year old grandson is tall (has a 6 foot four Dad). I ordered the size 10-12, and the vest fits fine with some room to grow. My grandson likes pockets, and the vest has four nice ones plus it will be good for fishing. ."
Review 6 for Child's Fly–Fishing Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Child's Fly-Fishing Vest,
November 7, 2009
By: FishingMomof2
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My son loved this vest, but I was disappointed with the overall size of the product. I bought one for my 5yr.old & 6 yr. old sons. It barely fit the 5 yr old. If I didn't have them both monogrammed I would have returned them for the next size.
It does look just like Dad's, and we will use it until it doesn't fit anymore."