Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Autumn-Blend Silk-and-Wool Shirts

The ideal midweight 3.3-oz. blend of wool for warmth and silk for an attractive drape and an unmistakably soft feel, our casual button down shirts are perfect for cooler autumn weather. Versatile patterns to suit any wardrobe. Classic button-down styling and tailoring. Single pocket. Adjustable cuff. Casual button down shirts are made of silk/wool. Dry clean. Imported.Sizes: M(38-40), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.556 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (27 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
2
24 of 27(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Autumn-Blend Silk-and-Wool Shirts
Review 1 for Autumn-Blend Silk-and-Wool Shirts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic shirt,
February 6, 2013
By: Thunderbird56
from Long island
"I bought this shirt in another color for my husband for Christmas. He said it was the best shirt he's had in a long time. He loved the softness and the way it fits. I decided to get him another one even though it is a bit pricy."
Review 2 for Autumn-Blend Silk-and-Wool Shirts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
one great looking shirt,
February 4, 2013
By: flyfishinfun
from Three Bridges, NJ
"first time out wearing my shirt I was told I looked "smashing, like an English country gentleman." You will, too. Perfect for relaxing after a hard day fly-fishing!"
Review 3 for Autumn-Blend Silk-and-Wool Shirts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great item,
January 31, 2013
By: remarx
"comfortable fit and luxurious fit and feel, hope they offer more shirts in this blend."
Review 4 for Autumn-Blend Silk-and-Wool Shirts
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Poor quality.,
January 16, 2013
By: rootLocus
from Madison, WI
"I really like the style of the shirt, but the one delivered to me had quality issues. Several of the buttons were very loose with the thread tag hanging out. One tug and the buttons were off."
Review 5 for Autumn-Blend Silk-and-Wool Shirts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Shirt!,
January 3, 2013
By: Cindie
from Alexandria, VA
"I purchased this shirt for my husband for Christmas. He's particular and usually ends up returning clothes he receives as gifts. I struck gold this time! He loves the quality, color, the fit and the way the fabric feels. He looks great in it. We're both happy!"
Review 6 for Autumn-Blend Silk-and-Wool Shirts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SOOO Good Looking!,
December 30, 2012
By: proudjayhawk
from Leawood, KS
"Couldn't wait to get to the store when it opened this fall. This shirt was the first one I saw and went straight to it. The quality is fantastic and went perfectly with the sweater on display. Sizing is generous. A tad bit pricey but well worth it."
Review 7 for Autumn-Blend Silk-and-Wool Shirts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellet Shirt,
December 24, 2012
By: 1031
from Meeker Colorado
"This is one of the best sports shirts I ever purchased...my standards are highg and my taste ridgid...this shirt me all my requirements!"
Review 8 for Autumn-Blend Silk-and-Wool Shirts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
can't miss gift,
December 20, 2012
By: orvisjean
from Birminham, MI
"very classy choice of pattern in material...can be worn almost anywhere with confidence...soft and comfy too."
Review 9 for Autumn-Blend Silk-and-Wool Shirts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality!,
December 15, 2012
By: MMMM3
"These shirts continue to look great after much use. They're well made from quality material, have a terrific fit and look great on my big fella."
Review 10 for Autumn-Blend Silk-and-Wool Shirts
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Don't launder,
March 22, 2012
By: WBWB
from Nashville
"Received the light blue version of this shirt as a gift. Wore it once and sent to the cleaners. By mistake, shirt was laundered and not dry cleaned. Shirt faded all over and is runied. No more silk-wool blends for this clothes-horse."
Review 11 for Autumn-Blend Silk-and-Wool Shirts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect for the Office,
January 5, 2012
By: Otch
from Grosse Pointe Farms, Michigan
"This shirt is ideal for business casual. I looks great with blue or black pants. A very classic look."
Review 12 for Autumn-Blend Silk-and-Wool Shirts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Shirt,
December 29, 2011
By: Skidmark
from Western Oregon
"I have had this shirt for about two months and love it. It is warm in the Oregon autumn, can be worn without an undershirt if desired (unlike pure wool shirts) and looks great even for slightly dressy affairs. I have no reservations recommending this shirt to anyone."
Review 13 for Autumn-Blend Silk-and-Wool Shirts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Style and color,
December 29, 2011
By: cgpg
from Fredericksburg, Texas
"This is the second Silk and Wool shirt I've purchased. These shirts are my favorites. These along with all my Orvis shirts, have a great roomy fit."
Review 14 for Autumn-Blend Silk-and-Wool Shirts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfortable Shirt,
December 26, 2011
By: JohnsCreek
from GA
"The shirt wears and travels well, and can be appropriately worn with either jeans or chinos. A bit pricey, but overall I am satisfied with the product."
Review 15 for Autumn-Blend Silk-and-Wool Shirts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dressy, Warm, Comfortable,
December 31, 2010
By: OldUncleG
from Los Alamitos, CA
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"These shirts combine a rich, understated pattern with more warmth than you might expect from their medium weight. They are also very comfortable to wear, with an excellent drape. I got a duplicate on one of mine for christmas and I couldn't be happier."
Review 16 for Autumn-Blend Silk-and-Wool Shirts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
be careful,
November 21, 2010
By: Marilynd
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My husband purchased this shirt at an Orvis store. He loved wearing it (3 times!) He must have reminded me that it was NOT to be laundered, but I forgot and took it to the cleaners who washed it! The shirt no longer fits. I am sad but he is mad...at me. Oh well. Just wanted to warn other wives out there as well as those who wash their own shirts!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Autumn-Blend Silk-and-Wool Shirts
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Excellent shirt, but...,
April 15, 2010
By: kade
Good Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This is a very soft, very good-looking shirt. Wonderful drape, true to the size. I did not receive it in the pattern I wanted, but luckily, I liked the other pattern too, so decided not to exchange it. In general, though, Orvis would save us and itself a lot of returns-related hassle if it made sure that photographs on the web site correspond to color/pattern names."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Autumn-Blend Silk-and-Wool Shirts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Material,
March 31, 2010
By: Ozymandeus
from Northern NJ
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"The material used in this shirt is so soft to the hand. Feels great on and looks great too. Pattern is a bit busy, but looks fantastic with a blazer. One of my favorite new shirts."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Autumn-Blend Silk-and-Wool Shirts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
excellance in shirt manufacturing,
March 29, 2010
By: WOODHEAD
from SMOKEY MTNS
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"A SHIRT LIKE THIS CAN BE WORN WITH THE KNOWLEDGE THAT IT WILL LOOK GOOD FOR 18 HOURS THEN IF YOU GOT TO WEAR AGAIN YOU COULD!
THIS IS REALLY A 10 STAR SHIRT WORTH EVERY PENNY!
"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Autumn-Blend Silk-and-Wool Shirts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Not the same shirts?,
January 26, 2010
By: Rabb
from Texas
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I bought the Navy/Green in a store and it is what you would expect for 85% silk/15% wool - Lustrous and fine but dulled a little from pure silk by the wool. It lacks a little in body, as you would expe from the high silk content, but colours and quality are great. Looks classy with just about anything. Sleeve length a bit on the long side for me in medium as the soft drape accentuates the gather at the wrist if the length is not perfect. I think ORVIS should consider making shirts of this price/quality in exact sleeve sizes.
However, I then bought the Multi Olive in store as well and only noticed it on line later. It is a completely different shirt. It looks identical in every way to that shown on the website but it is a very good quality, tight weave 100% cotton! It is one of my favourite shirts but the fabric could not be more different. Note on the close view that this is the only shirt shown with a front placket, if that is the right term for the stitched strip running down either side of the button holes. The other shirts don't have this. I can't remember the price I paid relative to the silk/wool one but it was certainly less. Charles Orvis Signature labeling is identical apart from the separate tag detailing the material. I have no complaint as both shirts are great and were bought offline anyway, but I have to believe ORVIS have different shirts on this site."