Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Convertible Dove and Clays Belt

This belt has been an Orvis best seller for years due to its versatility and simple, comfortable design. Great for use in the dove, quail and othe small bird hunts as well as sporting clays. 1½" wide full-grain leather belt for support. Mesh front, Easy-Entry® pockets. Back pocket is waxed cotton with a full bottom. Mesh outer pocket stores game and keeps it ventilated. Water bottle holster. Rear bird pocket can be removed for clay shooting or used to store hulls. In tan. Made in USA. Sizes: M(34-40), L(40-48).
Average Customer Rating:
4.1 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
9 of 10(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Convertible Dove and Clays Belt
Review 1 for Convertible Dove and Clays Belt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good ...but not Great...,
December 27, 2013
By: RWKJr
from Madeira, OH
"I like the look and general idea of a belt with interchangeable pouches and the belt is truly a classic design of the nicest quality leather. On the down-side... the snaps that hold the belt tab keeper in place near the buckle are way too loose and really not necessary... it would have been better to have fastened it into place with a solid brass rivet...which is what I think I will end up doing since the snaps keep popping loose.
Overall... it is a nice addition to the gear bag!"
Review 2 for Convertible Dove and Clays Belt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Purchase,
December 4, 2013
By: nwm56
"The Orvis Convertible Dove and Clays Belt work really well on the Sporting Clays Course! The spring loaded top closures insured the shells stay put when closed and stay open when you are on the stand. I highly recommend this product."
Review 3 for Convertible Dove and Clays Belt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Dove & clays Belt,
February 4, 2013
By: Whis
from Birmingham AL
"Perfect for sporting clays, also travels well took it to Argentina for dove hunting and was perfect size to hold stuff needed in field."
Review 4 for Convertible Dove and Clays Belt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
almost perfect,
February 20, 2012
By: SarahK
from Colorado
"This is the second one of these belts I have purchased. The first one I gave to my husband after using it many times. Great design! But, the oiled fabric around the tops of the shell bags should be reinforced - it wears out quickly. It would also be great if this belt were offered in a small - I ended up using a different belt for the bags. The mesh of the game bag could also be tougher."
Review 5 for Convertible Dove and Clays Belt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Stylish, sturdy and practical,
December 29, 2011
By: Cam2
from Chattanooga, TN
"An outstanding dove hunting belt! Plenty of room for game and shot-shells. Sturdy construction should give me years and years of service. Plus it just looks awesome! I've used it for sporting clays and dove hunts and I simply don't know how I made it without this practical hunting aide!"
Review 6 for Convertible Dove and Clays Belt
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Needs work.,
September 6, 2011
By: jbcage
"If you fix the plastic perforated mesh and make it the waxed canvas, you would have a winner. The mesh is too fragile and "sticky". At the bottom, I would make it deep enough to hold a box of shells easily. Currently, it is stitched directly to the canvas and it needs a canvas bottom."
Review 7 for Convertible Dove and Clays Belt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dove belt,
October 3, 2010
By: jefflaz1
Good Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"This is an excellent piece of equiptment for Dove, Quail or Snipe. Light weight, not bulky, durable, and the pouches can be removed if the user is carrying shells only.
This is my second one I've owned.
"
Review 8 for Convertible Dove and Clays Belt
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Good but could be better,
August 15, 2010
By: duckliverlips
Good Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"Bought these 3 years ago and have used extensively for shooting doves in SC and Mexico. The Mesh is a great feature, but is wearing out quicker than I would expect. The waxed cotton over the top of the pocket wore away after a year and now has bare sharp metal protruding. The idea is great - all the dirt and feathers easily come out of your pouches, but it needs to be tougher."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamOctober 27, 2010
Orvis contacted this customer and let him know we were disappointed to hear that the Dove and Clays Belt did not meet his expectations. We thanked him for his honest feedback. We are always striving to improve the products we offer and learn much from our customers; we have forwarded his comment on to our product developers, who will take it into consideration in future product refinements. Please remember: Orvis will happily exchange or refund your purchase if any item does not meet your expectations.
Review 9 for Convertible Dove and Clays Belt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good stuff comes from Orvis,
December 10, 2009
By: DocHolliday
from Tuscaloosa, AL
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I purchased my Convertible Dove and Clays Belt a few years ago and have used it for both the intended purposes. Overall, this is a fine addition to my shooting equipment. The only issue I have occurred a few months after I began using the belt when the shot shell medallion came off the belt keeper and was lost. I do, however, highly recommend this item as it is very useful. I even use the water bottle holder separately when fly fishing. Good stuff comes from Orvis!"
Review 10 for Convertible Dove and Clays Belt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bloody Marvellous,
July 25, 2008
By: veroac
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Absolutely brilliant piece of equipment for the series field shooter. The belt has served me well on two trips to Africa. For volume dove shooting in the Khalahari it was perfect lightweight and tough it allowed easy access to my cartridges without restricting movement."