Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Poplin Expandable Comfort-Waist Shorts

Wrinkle-resistant, polyester/cotton-blend. The hidden, sliding expansion belt waistband allows these men's comfort waist shorts to stretch up to 2½" so you're always comfortable. Ever-popular Orvis chino styling—less roomy in the hips than our field pants, but fuller than most casual shorts—for everyday use and comfort. Polyester/cotton. Washable. Belt not included with these men's comfort waist shorts. Imported.Even waist men's short sizes: 32-46. Shorts inseam 8½".
Average Customer Rating:
4.105 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
1
15 of 19(79%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Poplin Expandable Comfort-Waist Shorts
Review 1 for Poplin Expandable Comfort-Waist Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Better than expected,
April 10, 2014
By: Schappell
from Foley, al
"These shorts were much better than I expected. They are dressy and rugged a great pair of shorts for a guy who likes rugged quality with a little class"
Review 2 for Poplin Expandable Comfort-Waist Shorts
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Tight shorts,
August 1, 2013
By: scotdoc
from london
"Those ,like me, who need a large waist band might find these shorts a little tight in fit and waist band. Similar shorts from a competitor are more roomy. Material used in the Orvis shorts of good quality."
Review 3 for Poplin Expandable Comfort-Waist Shorts
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Needs a different fabric,
July 30, 2013
By: Joe111111111111
from Maryland
"The design, engineering and construction of this short is great; but you should use a different fabric. I would like to see this style available in both a dressy cotton fabric and a rugged durable cotton fabric. You have a winning style and pattern but are using an inferior fabric."
Review 4 for Poplin Expandable Comfort-Waist Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
COLORS!,
July 15, 2013
By: Ringer
from Natchez, Mississippi
"I HAVE ALREADY SUNG THE PRAISES OF THESE SHORTS. I AM STILL WAITING FOR THE COLORS THAT I WANT, AS MENTIONED IN THE RAVE REVIEW THAT I GAVE THEM!! PLEASE LET ME KNOW IF THERE WILL BE OTHER COLORS AVAILABLE IN THE FUTURE, OR RECOMMEND A TOP QUALITY DYE."
Review 5 for Poplin Expandable Comfort-Waist Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Quality,
June 18, 2013
By: Berries
from Greenville, SC
"First of all - the fit and feel of these shorts are great. True to size and hang nicely.
The fabric is very comfortable and holds a crease. Pockets are well placed - overall good money spent! Would definitely buy another pair.
"
Review 6 for Poplin Expandable Comfort-Waist Shorts
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Botched Tailoring,
September 8, 2012
By: Anonymous
from Ottawa, Canada
"I am very much less satisfied with this purchase. The legs are too tight to permit some activities such as bicycle riding though they otherwise fit well.
My complaint is that though the Comfort Waist is a good design and suits my personal needs, manufacturing quality control is sadly lacking. The sewing to the waist of the adjustment elastic on the right side was adequate upon receipt but that on the left is 95% unsatisfactory. Upon delivery and before being worn, threads were loose and the sewing was not complete, being attached in only two places; not continuously across the width of the elastic as on the right side. I have had to ask my tailor to complete the job so completely botched by the manufacturer. Clearly this increases the price which I have had to pay for them."
Review 7 for Poplin Expandable Comfort-Waist Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Shorts,
July 30, 2012
By: Amyjo1
from Green Valley, AZ
"The shorts I purchased recently were great. The fit was wonderful and they don't seem to wrinkle in the summer heat. In fact, I bought a second pair."
Review 8 for Poplin Expandable Comfort-Waist Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hands down, going away the best shorts anywhere.,
June 11, 2012
By: Ringer
from Natchez, Mississippi
"They are the best available from anywhere in the market place. However, I would like to have these in different colors as well as those offered. I would like them to be offered in Navy, Kelly Green, Red, Yellow, Black, Cobalt etc. would buy them all!!! When are you going to do this and help out my wardrobe as well as millions of others??"
Review 9 for Poplin Expandable Comfort-Waist Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Your husband needs these,
May 7, 2012
By: SammyJo
from Villanova,Pa
"These are great shorts for the husband who tends to not worry about clothes too much. The fabric is beautiful and always seems to look "pressed". They wash and dry beautifully."
Review 10 for Poplin Expandable Comfort-Waist Shorts
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Should have went to Goodwill.,
March 6, 2012
By: sissy07
from Clevland,Oklahoma
"My husband tried them on & loved the fit ,comfort & color. I washed them in a cold delicate wash & light drying. When I took them out of the dryer ,thread was everywhere. The hem had unraveled on basically both legs He hadn't even gotten to wear them.I hope my other things hold up better.
I received my shorts & shirts & will check the stitching before I wash.Rather than the hassle of return,I'm having a seamstress fix them.
"
Review 11 for Poplin Expandable Comfort-Waist Shorts
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Too tight,
March 29, 2011
By: Anonymous
Good Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"the shorts dont fit well...they ar too tight in the crotch and too loose around the waistband..."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamApril 12, 2011
Orvis contacted this customer and thanked him for his honest feedback. We are sorry to hear that the Poplin Expandable Comfort-Waist Shorts didn't fit as expected. We let our customer know our customer service agents would be happy to go over specific measurements for any of our garments before he places an order. And, of course, Orvis will happily exchange or refund any item; we want our customers to be happy with all of their Orvis purchases.
Review 12 for Poplin Expandable Comfort-Waist Shorts
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Shorts,
June 24, 2010
By: Flafish
Good Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"These shorts have a confortable waist but the legs are tapered too much and the inseam is too high. They make work well for a tall, thin person."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamJuly 8, 2010
Orvis contacted this customer and apologized for the issue with the sizing. We let our customer know our customer service agents would be happy to go over specific measurements for any of our garments before placing an order. And, of course, Orvis will happily exchange or refund any item; we want our customers to be happy with all of their Orvis purchases.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Poplin Expandable Comfort-Waist Shorts
Based on the average of (7) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
4.6 / 5
4.6 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 7 out of 7