Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Military Officer's Belt

Our genuine bison leather Military Officer's Belt is wide enough to merit a silver-toned solid brass double-prong buckle. D-ring accessory attachment point. Leather buckle damper. Tough box stitching. Genuine leather belt in dark brown. 1½" wide. Made in USA.Even waist belt sizes: 32-46. Order one size larger than pants size.
Average Customer Rating:
4.536 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (28 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
0
24 of 28(86%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Military Officer's Belt
Review 1 for Military Officer's Belt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Better made than the original,
November 1, 2013
By: keithtrumbo
from New York, NY
"Have had an original British Officers belt for at least 30 years but the leather eventually fell apart. This Orvis version truly is better made than the original. Would suggest getting the belt a couple of sizes bigger than your waist which will give you more leather tongue through the belt buckle."
Review 2 for Military Officer's Belt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well Made Belt,
October 21, 2013
By: Sag7
from Justin, TX
"After receiving my belt, found that it was very well made and had that smell of fine leather, Bison to be exact. The attention to detail and workmanship was American made quality at it's best."
Review 3 for Military Officer's Belt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Officers belt,
October 11, 2013
By: Shark817c
from Anchorage, Alaska
"I have several ovis belts already and found them to last longer than others and worth the price you pay for them. They are of excellent quality, thicker than other mfgs and look great. Functional and yet nice looking. I especially liked the officers belt for the metal loop to which i have attached my work badge."
Review 4 for Military Officer's Belt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Superb USA-Made Belt,
October 5, 2013
By: FarandFine
from Alexandria, VA
"I bought this belt a couple of years ago and it has become a favorite. Superb bison leather, great double-prong buckle and unique keeper-tab. Very stylish and tough; you could probably tow a car with this belt."
Review 5 for Military Officer's Belt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Military Officer's Belt,
July 24, 2012
By: Squarebro
from Glasgow
"Used a gift card i received from my Mrs. to purchase this belt.
Fantastic product, looks smart with denims. Pure quality.
"
Review 6 for Military Officer's Belt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Solid Workmanship,
May 29, 2012
By: gjsteinke
from Farmington, PA
"This belt will last a lifetime-no doubt.
Solid construction
Different in appearance
Great Belt
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Military Officer's Belt
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Poor Design,
April 26, 2012
By: bdickers
from Colorado
"The belt is constructed of quality leather and nice hardware, problem is that the female end of the belt is so thick it takes considerable effort to feed it through the belt loops of slacks and jeans. A poorly executed
design, obviously no real world testing. Mine is already separating from being forced through loops.
"
Review 8 for Military Officer's Belt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
fine quality,
February 29, 2012
By: joebob
from waynesburg, pa
"this is the third item purchased in the last few months all of the highest quality."
Review 9 for Military Officer's Belt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality Product and Service,
January 19, 2012
By: harrysdad
from Woodmere OH
"Like most things Orvis sells, this belt is top notch. The quality of the material and craftsmanship is outstanding. However, the service we received in-store and via phone to track down and order the belt is the best thing about Orvis. Our thanks and kudos to your staff at the Woodmere OH store."
Review 10 for Military Officer's Belt
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not what I expected,
April 20, 2011
By: Scotboy52
from Western Mass
Good Value: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
"The leather is beautiful, as for the rest, just not for me. I thought I could use the D ring for the keys I carry and use all day, not unless you want to dangle your keys like a sporran. The keep has to be next to the buckle to retain the belt and it's not attractive. This belt was designed to be part of a military uniform and neither functions nor looks appropriate in any other form."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamMay 9, 2011
Orvis Customer Service contacted this customer, apologized that the belt did not meet expectations and offered a full refund or an exchange. Our goal is to make sure everything you buy from us is absolutely right. You can always shop with confidence at Orvis—everything we sell is backed by our unconditional 100% satisfaction guarantee.

Review 11 for Military Officer's Belt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
needs better description,
April 7, 2011
By: forrester
Good Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"The description does not mention that the tongue of the belt is sewn together... I anticipated it being 1 peice.. I cannot imagine it lasting as long as a one piece belt..BUT--it is very attractive and I'll enjoy wearing it.often."
Review 12 for Military Officer's Belt
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Nice looking belt but not practical,
March 20, 2011
By: Damon321
Good Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"This is a very solid and nice looking belt. I like buying american made stuff and I don't mind paying the extra for it. My main issue with this belt is that it is very difficult to remove from your pants. The belt is very thick and has a leather layer sewn on top of the main belt so it snags when trying to remove it. This bends the leather and stresses the seam. It will likely reduce the life of the belt. I'd say it snags on 75% of the pants I try to wear it with. This relegates the belt to a special occasion belt and not an everyday belt."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamApril 7, 2011
Orvis Customer Service contacted this customer, apologized that the item did not meet expectations and offered a full refund or an exchange. Our goal is to make sure everything you buy from us is absolutely right. You can always shop with confidence at Orvis—everything we sell is backed by our unconditional 100% satisfaction guarantee.
Review 13 for Military Officer's Belt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great belt,
March 17, 2011
By: Devilsmane
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I'm 6' and 260 pounds. This belt looks great on me and holds up my pants, which is why I bought it. :)
No real negatives. The other reviews mentioned the fact that it catches on the belt loops when taking it off. Maybe they will finally do something about that in the future. It's not a reason not to buy the belt."
Review 14 for Military Officer's Belt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding Belt,
January 23, 2011
By: BenzGuy
from Columbus, OH
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This is an excellent belt. The double hole construction provides stability and the heavy weight, yet supple leather felt comfortable from day one."
Review 15 for Military Officer's Belt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fourth one so far............,
November 2, 2010
By: RetMil
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I wear nothing else. Perfect for those who Carry Concealed. As stated above, it does snag on belt loops but it something I'm happy to overlook. As long as Orvis keeps offering this belt, I will keep purchasing it."
Review 16 for Military Officer's Belt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Large Belt,
April 19, 2010
By: 458Steve
from NJ
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Belt is made very, very well made but the overall scale of the buckle and width goes better with larger men - 6 Ft or better. The belt width and design pulls and snags in my ultimate khaki pants belt loops when I remove it. Love to have this belt scaled down a bit to a 1 1/4 inch width. I am returning mine but if you keep it, it looks and feels like it will last a lifetime."
Review 17 for Military Officer's Belt
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Good Quality,
April 8, 2010
By: jlew
Good Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"The quality of the materials and workmanship was everything I expected in the way of an American made product. It goes on well but, the belt was made of two lenghts of leather and the seam catches on the beltloops making it hard to remove from the pants. You have to manually thread it back thru each loop.
I would recommend it but only after I made it clear about the aforementioned drawback.
"
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamJune 24, 2010
Orvis Customer Service immediately contacted this customer and apologized that the belt failed to meet his expectations. Orvis greatly appreciates your feedback as we are constantly trying to find ways to improve our clothing. We have also forwarded this customer’s comments to our product developers so the can incorporate this feedback in future product refinements.
Review 18 for Military Officer's Belt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Heavy,
February 28, 2010
By: fozzy
from Kansas
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Very flexible for such a heavy, thick leather. Nice color and accurate fit. Very nice."
Review 19 for Military Officer's Belt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great jeans belt!,
December 29, 2009
By: Crash
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I was looking for a good heavy duty jeans belt. I especially like the 1.5 inch width of this belt. This belt exceeded all my expectations. I would highly recommend this belt for anyone wanting a good heavy duty belt."
Review 20 for Military Officer's Belt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this belt,
November 10, 2009
By: SOCOM
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Best belt I've owned. Only drawback is that it can sometimes be difficult to pull through belt loops due to it's double-stiched thickness. By far my most favorite belt. If they made it in black, I would buy another."