Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Five-Pocket KHP Jeans

Classic five-pocket jeans. Constructed from KHP canvas, an 11.5-oz. all-cotton cloth modeled on that used in a favorite pair of men's hunting pants passed down through our chairman's family. KHP cloth is so sturdy, it took a pounding, heavy prewash to soften it for a broken-in appearance. The original cloth was made by an English sailmaker who, in 1860, established a company in New York. The company made sail canvas for clipper ships headed for California and for the covered wagons that surged west by land. Straight-seam rear-pocket stitch. Belt not included. Pure cotton. Washable. Imported.Even waist sizes 38, 40, 42, 46 in 30" and 34" inseam.
Average Customer Rating:
4.302 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (96 reviews)
5 stars
58
4 stars
21
3 stars
9
2 stars
4
1 star
4
83 of 96(86%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Five-Pocket KHP Jeans
Review 1 for Five-Pocket KHP Jeans
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Better with Time,
January 3, 2013
By: RickfromTN
from Tennessee
"When I first tried on these jeans I was a bit disappointed with the fit. They are well made and good looking but a bit too baggy for my taste.
I had em taken up in the waist and seat and now I wear em a lot. They are similar to Mountain Khakis but a better price..
"
Review 2 for Five-Pocket KHP Jeans
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great canvas pants,
December 29, 2012
By: whoopiewise
from Bucks county, pa
"Got these on sale & well worth the sale price. Tough & terrific and not bad looking either. Should last for years of hard wear. Color is on the light and somewhat yellow-y side, and the fit tends to be a bit loose in the derriere, but quite comfortable. All in all, an excellent buy and much recommended."
Review 3 for Five-Pocket KHP Jeans
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great jeans,
December 28, 2012
By: riverrat48009
from Birmingham, Michigan
"i have purchased three (3) pair of these jeans hoping that they would have the Orvis quality I have come to know. No surprises ! These jeans are very well made and are tough as possible. I have them at the tailors now for final alterations."
Review 4 for Five-Pocket KHP Jeans
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort and Convenience,
November 10, 2012
By: LRBJR
from Folsom, CA
"These jeans offer the comfort of jeans but double as a pant appropriate when jeans are a little too casual. Whether paired with a turtleneck, polo, t-shirt or sweater they offer comfort and the convenience of being suitable in a variety of uses."
Review 5 for Five-Pocket KHP Jeans
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
How the mighty have fallen!,
November 7, 2012
By: HunterTRW
from The Lower Forty of Hill Country
"I purchased several pair of KHP pants in 2006, and although they are beginning to show their age, they are still excellent. The material has a fine hand, the color is unique, and the fit perfect for me. These easily rate among the best pants I have ever owned.
Fast-forward to 2012. I purchased several additional pair, as they appear to be being discontinued. Now I can see why. The weave and hand of the KHP material just isn't the same, nor is the fit, making it clear to me that the supplier has changed. That's not to say that these are bad pants, but rather that I was spoiled by their predecessors.
Please bring back the KHPs that were offered in 2006. They were truly worthy of Katherine Haskell Perkins' initials; sadly the latest iteration is not."
Review 6 for Five-Pocket KHP Jeans
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Did not fit me,
November 6, 2012
By: Dan72
from Austin, TX
"If these pants had fit me, I would have rated them as a five. I like the fabric and I like the style. However, the cut was too tight for me. I like more room in my trousers."
Review 7 for Five-Pocket KHP Jeans
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just right,
November 5, 2012
By: Eglicky
from Ashland, Massachusetts
"These KHP jeans are just right.
In the fit, the style and most of all the comfort. these jeans are all RIGHT.
"
Review 8 for Five-Pocket KHP Jeans
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Jeans,
November 1, 2012
By: nwahog
from Fayetteville AR
"Really comfortable and roomy. I am considering buying another pair to put back in the closet just in case!"
Review 9 for Five-Pocket KHP Jeans
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Jeans,
November 1, 2012
By: jsyco
from El Paso Texas
"Fantastic jeans, wear like iron and feel as good as any pair of blue jeans. Goes great with a blue chambray shirt-- my every day uniform for teaching at a community college. If you can get these on sale stock up, I have one pair that is in perfect shape and entering its second decade."
Review 10 for Five-Pocket KHP Jeans
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Jeans,
October 30, 2012
By: VaDuckhunter
from Virginia
"I have a pair of KHP Marsh Pants that I have worn hunting for a couple of years, I knew this would be a good choice - comfortable jeans - what everyone wants. I wear them everywhere, from the boardroom to the barn. I am putting these pants on my Christmas list... Get a pair and see for yourself!"
Review 11 for Five-Pocket KHP Jeans
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fit,
October 24, 2012
By: coyote50
from longview,tx
"These pants were tagged 46 but were maybe 44. I will be retuning the pants."
Review 12 for Five-Pocket KHP Jeans
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good n' Baggy,
October 24, 2012
By: Esty
"Excellent quality. Well finished. But for a jeans style pant, I prefer a less full cut leg. Don't need something to make me look fatter. Cut them slimmer in the leg and I'd buy a dozen!"
Review 13 for Five-Pocket KHP Jeans
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Solid Quality,
October 24, 2012
By: Alphorn
from Calgary, Alberta, Canada
"The fabric is a very tight weave and a bit stiff, but not uncomfortable to wear. I think these pants will wear very well after an initial breaking in period. I've worn a lot of Orvis pants and these fit about the same as the others, maybe a bit less room in the seat. These are casual pants for around the house or the neighborhood, I can't see myself wearing them to a good restaurant."
Review 14 for Five-Pocket KHP Jeans
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
nice pants,
September 20, 2012
By: nords
from Georgia
"Great pair of pants. Lighter color then picture and material was hunting thickness and soft ,broke in feel>"
Review 15 for Five-Pocket KHP Jeans
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
good work pants,
September 14, 2012
By: Anonymous
from DFW
"Excellent work pants. Water repellant, wrinkle free, easy care.
I love these pants!"
Review 16 for Five-Pocket KHP Jeans
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jeans with a Difference,
August 21, 2012
By: Tuffty
from Cornwall. UK
"These looked just what I wanted on the web site and I wasn't disappointed. Excellent quality and a good fit. The material is quiet stiff but I'm sure this will be remedied after a few washes."
Review 17 for Five-Pocket KHP Jeans
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
For "paunchy" men, maybe!,
August 1, 2012
By: Sporty7
from Annapolis, MD
"Very stiff unyielding material. Made quite full in front and back, although waist sizing accurate. Work pants; beyond casual."
Review 18 for Five-Pocket KHP Jeans
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Stiff as a board,
June 27, 2012
By: allyh
from from Milwaukee Wisconsin
"I purchased 2 pair of these pants so that I wouldn't use jeans so often. I tried 2 different sizes as I could not make them fit. In the end, it was the stiffness of these pants that made them impossible to fit. They are nice to look at in a picture, but impossible to get a decent fit. I love Orvis products, but do take a pass on this one."
Review 19 for Five-Pocket KHP Jeans
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Jeans aren't supposed to be perfect:,
June 13, 2012
By: IndiaRED
from Northeastern Pennsylvania
"By their nature, jeans are designed to be worn in ways that cause them to become worn or damaged. Having a set that is "too" perfect or too expensive makes the wearer overprotective of the jeans. These are tough enough to be put to the test of hard use but still nice enough to instill pride in the wearer. The perfect mix."
Review 20 for Five-Pocket KHP Jeans
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great fit quite rugged, very comfortable,
June 12, 2012
By: Timmythefish
from Marlow, Bucks
"I purchased these on a whim, they are very smart for a casual garment great fit, sizing is good. I have not taken them off since buying."