Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Bison-Tab Surcingle Belt

Capture the spirit of fine equestrian tack in a belt that incorporates genuine American bison leather-tabs and a classic wool surcingle strap. Leather-wrapped solid brass roller-bar buckle and matching leather keeper. A perfect complement to chinos or jeans. Men's belts in olive, navy, khaki. 1¼" wide. Made in USA.Even waist sizes: 30-46. Order one size larger than pants size.
Average Customer Rating:
4.458 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
1
21 of 24(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Bison-Tab Surcingle Belt
Review 1 for Bison-Tab Surcingle Belt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Well made belt,
August 17, 2014
By: TXCK
from TX
"Very well made belt. The leather and fabric are both heavier then most other surcingle belts I have owned. Ordering up one size is goo advise they do run a little small."
Review 2 for Bison-Tab Surcingle Belt
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Really well made but....,
June 27, 2014
By: oltexan
from North Carolina
"This is great belt and exactly what I was looking for except for one thing... what is it with belt widths these days?? This belt at 1-1/4 inch wide would barely fit thru the loops on most of my khakis and shorts. And the leather ends are extra heavy so that makes it even tougher. Probably OK with jeans but that is not what I bought it for."
Review 3 for Bison-Tab Surcingle Belt
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
What is with belt widths today?,
June 15, 2014
By: oltexan
"This is a very well made belt but at 1-1/4 inches it barely fits thru the loops on any of my pants or shorts. Plus the leather is so thick that if you can get it thru the loops to wear it you have to fight to get it off the pants. Also the leather on the buckle is too big and I cut it off."
Review 4 for Bison-Tab Surcingle Belt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great summer belt,
May 16, 2014
By: TallToby
from Atlanta,Georgia
"Well made belt with good looks and will go with most summer attire"
Review 5 for Bison-Tab Surcingle Belt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tighten up,
March 6, 2014
By: Tightenupguy
from CT and FL
"If you need to tighten your belt I suggest you order one of these two belts they are excellent in price and the quality of the merchandise and they are not tight.
Tighten up"
Review 6 for Bison-Tab Surcingle Belt
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
needs better quality control,
December 21, 2013
By: WinstonsDad
"The color of the leather keeper is very different from the color of the rest of the leather on the belt. I had previously returned such a belt for the same reason. Looks like they sent it back top me. Returned the belt."
Review 7 for Bison-Tab Surcingle Belt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Favorite Khaki Belt,
December 9, 2013
By: Sarhart
from Richmond, VA
"This is the 3rd Orvis belt I've bought for my husband who is a khaki guy. This belt looks good with Mountain Khakis as well as his dress khakis. He likes to have 2 belts at a time so he can rotate them out!"
Review 8 for Bison-Tab Surcingle Belt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Bison Tab Belt,
October 6, 2013
By: FarandFine
from Alexandria, VA
"Excellent strapping, leather and hardware; I wear this belt often with khakis and jeans."
Review 9 for Bison-Tab Surcingle Belt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casual belt,
September 24, 2013
By: Tenfivefive
from Illinois
"The belt is well constructed, leather insets at the buckle, really enjoy the light weight and flexability of the belt.
Will certainly recommend it to others.
"
Review 10 for Bison-Tab Surcingle Belt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
belt,
May 29, 2013
By: lancer61
from Loveland, Colorado
"Excellent quality, good choice of colors, wears well"
Review 11 for Bison-Tab Surcingle Belt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent fit, appearance,
January 13, 2013
By: pialph59
from Chicago suburb
"In the past had this belt. Lost weight, needed a smaller size, fits very well. This style does well with casual dress, yet has an upscale appearance. Well made, too."
Review 12 for Bison-Tab Surcingle Belt
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
need better quality control,
January 1, 2013
By: WinstonsDad
"I purchased this belt since the same belt in tan was excellent. The keeper on the belt was a noticeably different color leather than the remaining leather on the belt. Should not have passed inspection if there was any."
Review 13 for Bison-Tab Surcingle Belt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Necessary belt,
December 29, 2012
By: MamaM
"My son is allergic to the nickel found in brass plated belt buckles. It is very difficult to find a nice belt with a buckle that is solid brass. Lots of retailers do not even tell you the belt buckle material. This is a great belt, wears well, and has the necessary buckle to prevent the awful allergic rash. Many thanks, Orvis!!!"
Review 14 for Bison-Tab Surcingle Belt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Third one so far,
November 13, 2012
By: BOBinSTL2
from Saint Louis, MO
"This is the third time i have purchased this same belt. First one, after many years of daily use, finally wore through the leather. The second, i still have, ready for use, just in case i overeat over the holidays. It is still in pristine shape, after years of daily wear, but now one size too large. Just received belt number three in the correct size for my flattenend (somewhat? ok somewhat rounded) tummy.
Probably could have stopped by saying this is my third purcase of the same belt...no more is really required. It is an extremely well made, durable, and comfortable belt
"
Review 15 for Bison-Tab Surcingle Belt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Belt,
September 25, 2012
By: BillA
from San Diego, CA
"Excellent belt. Better built than any other I've owned of a similar type. Long lasting too. My cell phone and measuring tape haven't damaged it and I've had them hanging off this belt for two years. It flexes with you unlike leather belts. Best all around belt you'll ever own."
Review 16 for Bison-Tab Surcingle Belt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Belt,
August 10, 2012
By: Ryanmad
from Lancaster, PA
"Sturdy belt, nice quality and weight. Not too skinny and wimpy. Buckle has a pinch of leather at end for nice look."
Review 17 for Bison-Tab Surcingle Belt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice Belt,
October 14, 2011
By: River88
"Nice belt. Two inches larger (longer) than expected."
Review 18 for Bison-Tab Surcingle Belt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
2nd Color Purchase,
March 11, 2011
By: BillieBob
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Already had the Khaki color, this purchase was for the Olive. I have a Blue one too, but i lost weight so now it's too big for me to wear!
No one else makes a quality belt made from this material anymore. The buckle and strap don't hold up on others i've bought.
A little expensive for a belt of this material, but it's a quality product, and "you get what you pay for"
"
Review 19 for Bison-Tab Surcingle Belt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
2nd purchase of this belt,
February 24, 2010
By: BobinSTL
Good Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This is my second purchase of this belt. The first belt lasted for years, but with everyday use, the holes were becoming elongated and the leather began to weaken. The quality and longevity of that belt caused me to seek out the same belt for a replacement. It is a fine, quality, comfortable, and attractive belt. I highly recommend it."
Review 20 for Bison-Tab Surcingle Belt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great for business casual,
January 19, 2010
By: Kasamar
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I have purchased all three colors and use with my business khakis at the office quite often. Belt materials are top notch quality. One little irksome trait- the bison leather tabs are cut square, making the belt frequently catch on belt loops ."