Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Lightweight Portable Pet Steps

Older dogs sometimes need help getting onto and off the couch or your bed—stiff joints, arthritis, and spine fusion are often to blame. Even younger dogs, particularly smaller breeds, can suffer injury jumping down from your bed. The rippled, sure-footed walking surface of our microfiber-covered pet ramp makes climbing up and down safe for your dog. At just over 6 lbs., our high-density foam ramp can be moved into position easily. In loden. 23"H x 30"L x 20"W. Weighs 6⅜ lbs. For dogs up to 110 lbs. Cover is washable. For pet use only. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.342 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (38 reviews)
5 stars
26
4 stars
5
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
2
32 of 38(84%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Lightweight Portable Pet Steps
Review 1 for Lightweight Portable Pet Steps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
delighted,
December 13, 2014
By: mplin
from lincoln
"I bought this for my elderly arthritic cat with some doubts about she would use it. Happily I am able to report that she took very little time to learn how to use it and access the bed, her favourite spot when she wants some peace and quiet."
Review 2 for Lightweight Portable Pet Steps
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Picky Pet,
December 6, 2014
By: mork
from Birmingham UK
"Steps as described portable and neat. All I need now is for my unwilling Westie to learn how to use them! Any suggestions?"
Review 3 for Lightweight Portable Pet Steps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
For My DOg,
December 4, 2014
By: CatR
from Atlanta, GA
"I was apprehensive about ordering these, because of the price. However, my 8 pound dog is having spinal injuries from jumping off of my tall bed. I have to remind him to use the steps, because he has been jumping off and on the bed for 8 years now, but he is learning to use them. Even though they are expensive, they look better than cheaper versions, and they won't hurt your toes if you run into them in the middle of the night."
Review 4 for Lightweight Portable Pet Steps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My pup loves it,
December 1, 2014
By: Rabbithead
from Mountain Rest, SC
"We've had the steps two weeks now, and my Cairn terrier has taken to it like a duck to water. A little worried look on her face the first time she tried it, but after that, golden. On and off, on and off, on and off.
I like its light weight and the graduated bumps as opposed to the three-step ones I've seen. This makes so much more sense."
Review 5 for Lightweight Portable Pet Steps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
mlkinsella,
November 13, 2014
By: mlkinsella
from Birmingham UK
"My dog enjoy with step to bed, easy up & down for her. Lovely!!"
Review 6 for Lightweight Portable Pet Steps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This rates right up there...,
November 13, 2014
By: GONEgirl
from Swarthmore, PA
"...with anything and everything I've purchased from Orvis. I have a Dachshund and I feel good knowing I'm doing all I can for his loooong back..thank you, Orvis!"
Review 7 for Lightweight Portable Pet Steps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
August 24, 2014
By: Cavilove
"I have three Cavaliers of varying size and age. These are terrific for them to access my bed which is quite high. They tootle happily and comfortably up and down. I much prefer them to steps which would be jarring and from which they could slip. They have good grip on it, so much better than a smooth ramp. The foam is firm with a small amount of give to absorb any shock. I have it over a year and it is like new still. Cannot recommend this enough."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Lightweight Portable Pet Steps
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Perfect for small dogs not so good for large breed,
June 22, 2014
By: Luckyandme
from Michigan
"I ordered this around Christmas time for my Golden Retriever who has a bit of arthritis but loves to sleep in bed. This indeed was tall enough for an average size bed and like all things Orvis the quality was there. My issue is they are so lightweight that they lack stability and my dog feels very uneasy on them. Another thing is they are not that long and he is a tall golden making it difficult for him to make the incline. I have been working with him on using them for the past 6 months with no success. On the other hand our smaller dog (20lbs) uses them with no problem, but he doesnt need them so they are sitting in the box. Hoping I can still return them!"
Review 9 for Lightweight Portable Pet Steps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dog step,
February 11, 2014
By: Janeymay50
from South Wales
"Thought this was a little pricey but after reading the reviews decided to purchase one for my 11 year old cairne terrier and my 9 year old norfolk terrier who are forever jumping up onto the bed and because they are getting older I thought it would be easier.
When it arrived I took the both dogs upstairs on leads and with treats and some training it did not take them long to use the steps.
Excellent product from orvis again but a little pricey.
"
Review 10 for Lightweight Portable Pet Steps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PERFECT for showcase home,
June 23, 2013
By: artjunkee2
from Louisville, KY
"the reason i LOVE these steps so much is the fact that they look fantastic in the living room for our couch.....in the bedroom for our bed....and in the basement for our various, assortment of furniture. we have FOUR of these!!!
actually, the REAL reason these are so great is because of their DESIGN. they don't require our little guy to actually JUMP on steps - but rather GLIDE up to our furniture.
those rather ugly 'steps' that you see everywhere for dogs and furniture are, in comparison, JUNK.
these actually blend into our decor and allow our little guy to
GO wherever he would like WITHOUT any effort.
to keep clean, i've never had to wash the cover - i just wipe it down with a damp cloth and run the sweeper over it.
i will ALWAYS have these steps in my home for my dog.
these are the BEST and most attractive thing on the market!!!
thank you ORVIS!!!!...not only do LOVE DOGS - but you LOVE QUALITY and you have impeccable TASTE!!
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Lightweight Portable Pet Steps
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Foam Pet Steps,
January 9, 2013
By: Sashimi
from Toronto, Canada
"Not functional for any size dog - because steps not deep enough for a dog to climb or descend. Dogs are different to cats, their claws do not cling to the fabric. The price for a piece of foam of this size is exaggeratedly high, especially that living in Canada we also had to pay over $200 in duties and taxes."
Review 12 for Lightweight Portable Pet Steps
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Faulty products,
May 23, 2012
By: CTCC
from Monroe, NC
"The lightweight portable pet steps was light, attractive and almost functional. BUT, the material was loose and little too smooth, so my 2 dogs that needed it the most, slid down it, and had to get a running start to go up.
I tested this with 6 dogs, using clicker and treats--just wasn't good for the 2 older dogs.
A friend got the same stairs with a 7 lb dog and found it to have the same loose fabric; but, with the small dog, it wasn't so much a problem.
I returned the item."
Review 13 for Lightweight Portable Pet Steps
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Back it Goes,
April 24, 2012
By: DivaSharon
"My two Japanese Chins slid right down when I tried to train them to use it. Even with treats, they could not and would not try it after sliding so much. The cover is not as conforming as it looks in the picture and it looks like a smooth slope. Fabric is smooth, not rough enough to give them traction. It actually made them very upset and they moped around when I kept trying to get them to be interested in it. My bed is 34 inches high, which is very high, and my male dog actually jumped up onto the bed to get the treat, ANYTHING to avoid using that slippery thing. He usually tries and tries and can't make it. He's 10 years old and I don't want him jumping like that, especially down, so I have to keep looking. How annoying! Also, packing was awful. The box was loosely taped shut and I could see right into it.....and the steps had no wrapping whatsoever, no plastic, no paper, nothing. I'm very surprised it didn't arrive dirty, since it was open to the elements. I expected a large plastic bag. This is going back to my local Orvis store."
Review 14 for Lightweight Portable Pet Steps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easier on My Dog and Me,
March 8, 2012
By: DGSR
from Monkton, MD
"After my pug, Miles, was diagnosed with arthritis and a pulled shoulder muscle, I needed to lessen the impact of his weight on his legs when he took steps. After one of my pet sitting customers recommended her Orvis ramp, I got mine, and have been pleased. Its foam inner material provides a great cushion effect to soften the impact on Miles' legs. I also appreciate its light weghtness for easy transport from bed to couch. The fabric is of nice quality and its color is versatile for most any room. A good recommendation!"
Review 15 for Lightweight Portable Pet Steps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great steps,
March 3, 2012
By: Linipoos
from Devon, England
"I bought this product because of all the 5* reviews. I was a bit wary because the photo shows a Westie and my boy weighs 34 kg and has large paws.
He would not use a ramp.
I found the material of the steps to appear 'dirty/grubby' looking, and the cover was not fitted correctly. Orvis kindly replaced this item for me.
My boy gave the steps a wide berth for several days and appeared to be scared of them. Treats and chocolate buttons would not tempt him up the steps.
I then put the steps at the back of the car and with me holding onto his harness he now happily goes up and down the steps. Going down the steps he does pause for a while with his feet on the bottom rungs, presumably because he is large breed and cannot bend his back. (hope this makes sense)
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Lightweight Portable Pet Steps
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
great product!,
July 1, 2011
By: veggielo
from San Francisco, CA
"i've got a 9 pound pup and while this is a bit steep for her, she likes it much better than stairs. There are no sharp edges ( so it doesn't hurt if you stub your toe on it in the middle of the night) but firm enough to support her without sagging when she goes up and down. Only problem is ( and there's not much to do about this) is that it takes up alot of floor space. Other than that, it's great!"
Review 17 for Lightweight Portable Pet Steps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Works well for long dogs,
June 28, 2011
By: Trolly
from Roswell,NM
"My Tootsie is a dachshund and they have long bodies & short legs, which make it hard for them to use the regular step products, as the steps are too short in depth. By having no steps but a ramp with bumps (for traction) it makes it soooo much easier for her to get on our bed. The cover slips a little over the bumps, but it's not a big deal. I would have liked to had a choice of colors, but again it's not a big deal and the sage color goes with everything. Tootsie & I are very happy with this purchase."
Review 18 for Lightweight Portable Pet Steps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cool Dog Ramp,
June 15, 2011
By: 3DogDad
from Southern Oregon
"We got this for our older, not so limber golden retrivers. We were worried that the foam wouldn't support them, but needn't have had a concern. The ramp works well and takes up a minimum amount of room. Both old guys use it easily and after only being shown one time. It's much easier than having to jump up to the bed. Our little border collie still jumps, but uses the ramp as a hurdle!"
Review 19 for Lightweight Portable Pet Steps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Small Dog Ramp,
June 3, 2011
By: Plumburger
"We have a high bed and our puppy is only 5 months old....the steps allow him to come up and down with no injury to his small growing legs (of course one has to want a dog on ones bed ) We all think it is a terriric product and reccommend it for Caveliers and all toy and small dogs ! Thanks for taking the worry out of jumping off the bed !"
Review 20 for Lightweight Portable Pet Steps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Not for larger dogs,
May 25, 2011
By: Petrovska
"I bought this for my basset hound, 55 pounds, she has trouble getting up unless sheis in a full sprint. Its a gorgeous product, looks great in the bedroom etc, but it really is for small dogs."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.