Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Lightweight Portable Pet Steps

Older dogs sometimes need help getting onto and off the couch or your bed—stiff joints, arthritis, and spine fusion are often to blame. Even younger dogs, particularly smaller breeds, can suffer injury jumping down from your bed. The rippled, sure-footed walking surface of our microfiber-covered pet ramp makes climbing up and down safe for your dog. At just over 6 lbs., our high-density foam ramp can be moved into position easily. In loden. 23"H x 30"L x 20"W. Weighs 6⅜ lbs. For dogs up to 110 lbs. Cover is washable. For pet use only. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.25 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (32 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
2
27 of 32(84%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Lightweight Portable Pet Steps
Review 1 for Lightweight Portable Pet Steps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
August 24, 2014
By: Cavilove
"I have three Cavaliers of varying size and age. These are terrific for them to access my bed which is quite high. They tootle happily and comfortably up and down. I much prefer them to steps which would be jarring and from which they could slip. They have good grip on it, so much better than a smooth ramp. The foam is firm with a small amount of give to absorb any shock. I have it over a year and it is like new still. Cannot recommend this enough."
Review 2 for Lightweight Portable Pet Steps
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Perfect for small dogs not so good for large breed,
June 22, 2014
By: Luckyandme
from Michigan
"I ordered this around Christmas time for my Golden Retriever who has a bit of arthritis but loves to sleep in bed. This indeed was tall enough for an average size bed and like all things Orvis the quality was there. My issue is they are so lightweight that they lack stability and my dog feels very uneasy on them. Another thing is they are not that long and he is a tall golden making it difficult for him to make the incline. I have been working with him on using them for the past 6 months with no success. On the other hand our smaller dog (20lbs) uses them with no problem, but he doesnt need them so they are sitting in the box. Hoping I can still return them!"
Review 3 for Lightweight Portable Pet Steps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dog step,
February 11, 2014
By: Janeymay50
from South Wales
"Thought this was a little pricey but after reading the reviews decided to purchase one for my 11 year old cairne terrier and my 9 year old norfolk terrier who are forever jumping up onto the bed and because they are getting older I thought it would be easier.
When it arrived I took the both dogs upstairs on leads and with treats and some training it did not take them long to use the steps.
Excellent product from orvis again but a little pricey.
"
Review 4 for Lightweight Portable Pet Steps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PERFECT for showcase home,
June 23, 2013
By: artjunkee2
from Louisville, KY
"the reason i LOVE these steps so much is the fact that they look fantastic in the living room for our couch.....in the bedroom for our bed....and in the basement for our various, assortment of furniture. we have FOUR of these!!!
actually, the REAL reason these are so great is because of their DESIGN. they don't require our little guy to actually JUMP on steps - but rather GLIDE up to our furniture.
those rather ugly 'steps' that you see everywhere for dogs and furniture are, in comparison, JUNK.
these actually blend into our decor and allow our little guy to
GO wherever he would like WITHOUT any effort.
to keep clean, i've never had to wash the cover - i just wipe it down with a damp cloth and run the sweeper over it.
i will ALWAYS have these steps in my home for my dog.
these are the BEST and most attractive thing on the market!!!
thank you ORVIS!!!!...not only do LOVE DOGS - but you LOVE QUALITY and you have impeccable TASTE!!
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Lightweight Portable Pet Steps
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Foam Pet Steps,
January 9, 2013
By: Sashimi
from Toronto, Canada
"Not functional for any size dog - because steps not deep enough for a dog to climb or descend. Dogs are different to cats, their claws do not cling to the fabric. The price for a piece of foam of this size is exaggeratedly high, especially that living in Canada we also had to pay over $200 in duties and taxes."
Review 6 for Lightweight Portable Pet Steps
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Faulty products,
May 23, 2012
By: CTCC
from Monroe, NC
"The lightweight portable pet steps was light, attractive and almost functional. BUT, the material was loose and little too smooth, so my 2 dogs that needed it the most, slid down it, and had to get a running start to go up.
I tested this with 6 dogs, using clicker and treats--just wasn't good for the 2 older dogs.
A friend got the same stairs with a 7 lb dog and found it to have the same loose fabric; but, with the small dog, it wasn't so much a problem.
I returned the item."
Review 7 for Lightweight Portable Pet Steps
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Back it Goes,
April 24, 2012
By: DivaSharon
"My two Japanese Chins slid right down when I tried to train them to use it. Even with treats, they could not and would not try it after sliding so much. The cover is not as conforming as it looks in the picture and it looks like a smooth slope. Fabric is smooth, not rough enough to give them traction. It actually made them very upset and they moped around when I kept trying to get them to be interested in it. My bed is 34 inches high, which is very high, and my male dog actually jumped up onto the bed to get the treat, ANYTHING to avoid using that slippery thing. He usually tries and tries and can't make it. He's 10 years old and I don't want him jumping like that, especially down, so I have to keep looking. How annoying! Also, packing was awful. The box was loosely taped shut and I could see right into it.....and the steps had no wrapping whatsoever, no plastic, no paper, nothing. I'm very surprised it didn't arrive dirty, since it was open to the elements. I expected a large plastic bag. This is going back to my local Orvis store."
Review 8 for Lightweight Portable Pet Steps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easier on My Dog and Me,
March 8, 2012
By: DGSR
from Monkton, MD
"After my pug, Miles, was diagnosed with arthritis and a pulled shoulder muscle, I needed to lessen the impact of his weight on his legs when he took steps. After one of my pet sitting customers recommended her Orvis ramp, I got mine, and have been pleased. Its foam inner material provides a great cushion effect to soften the impact on Miles' legs. I also appreciate its light weghtness for easy transport from bed to couch. The fabric is of nice quality and its color is versatile for most any room. A good recommendation!"
Review 9 for Lightweight Portable Pet Steps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great steps,
March 3, 2012
By: Linipoos
from Devon, England
"I bought this product because of all the 5* reviews. I was a bit wary because the photo shows a Westie and my boy weighs 34 kg and has large paws.
He would not use a ramp.
I found the material of the steps to appear 'dirty/grubby' looking, and the cover was not fitted correctly. Orvis kindly replaced this item for me.
My boy gave the steps a wide berth for several days and appeared to be scared of them. Treats and chocolate buttons would not tempt him up the steps.
I then put the steps at the back of the car and with me holding onto his harness he now happily goes up and down the steps. Going down the steps he does pause for a while with his feet on the bottom rungs, presumably because he is large breed and cannot bend his back. (hope this makes sense)
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Lightweight Portable Pet Steps
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
great product!,
July 1, 2011
By: veggielo
from San Francisco, CA
"i've got a 9 pound pup and while this is a bit steep for her, she likes it much better than stairs. There are no sharp edges ( so it doesn't hurt if you stub your toe on it in the middle of the night) but firm enough to support her without sagging when she goes up and down. Only problem is ( and there's not much to do about this) is that it takes up alot of floor space. Other than that, it's great!"
Review 11 for Lightweight Portable Pet Steps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Works well for long dogs,
June 28, 2011
By: Trolly
from Roswell,NM
"My Tootsie is a dachshund and they have long bodies & short legs, which make it hard for them to use the regular step products, as the steps are too short in depth. By having no steps but a ramp with bumps (for traction) it makes it soooo much easier for her to get on our bed. The cover slips a little over the bumps, but it's not a big deal. I would have liked to had a choice of colors, but again it's not a big deal and the sage color goes with everything. Tootsie & I are very happy with this purchase."
Review 12 for Lightweight Portable Pet Steps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cool Dog Ramp,
June 15, 2011
By: 3DogDad
from Southern Oregon
"We got this for our older, not so limber golden retrivers. We were worried that the foam wouldn't support them, but needn't have had a concern. The ramp works well and takes up a minimum amount of room. Both old guys use it easily and after only being shown one time. It's much easier than having to jump up to the bed. Our little border collie still jumps, but uses the ramp as a hurdle!"
Review 13 for Lightweight Portable Pet Steps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Small Dog Ramp,
June 3, 2011
By: Plumburger
"We have a high bed and our puppy is only 5 months old....the steps allow him to come up and down with no injury to his small growing legs (of course one has to want a dog on ones bed ) We all think it is a terriric product and reccommend it for Caveliers and all toy and small dogs ! Thanks for taking the worry out of jumping off the bed !"
Review 14 for Lightweight Portable Pet Steps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Not for larger dogs,
May 25, 2011
By: Petrovska
"I bought this for my basset hound, 55 pounds, she has trouble getting up unless sheis in a full sprint. Its a gorgeous product, looks great in the bedroom etc, but it really is for small dogs."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Lightweight Portable Pet Steps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Solid Product,
May 17, 2011
By: Catechumen
from Marietta, GA
"OK, first off, this is (in my opinion) expensive. That being said, I could find nothing comaprable for less money and I had confidence in buying from Orvis (for durability and functionality) as I know they stand behind their products.
I bought this to make it easy for my 11 year old Lab to get on the bed - she's been struggling to jump high enough (bed is realtively high) and I was worried that she'd "blow out" a knee or elbow in her old age or injur herself in some other way. She has a profound wariness of stairs and will not willingly go up any except for the flight in our house. I tried mini-wood stairs that led to the bed, but she would NOT use them. So, this product was attractive as being not quite stairs - but a hybrid stairs/ramp. I also contemplated wood ramps, but they all took up more room and would have been more burdensome to move.
As promised the stairs do support her 85-90 pounds (a concern of mine when purchasing) and it doesn't cave or become unstable under her weight, but provides her with solid footing. Because of the "waived" surface, she's not as weirded out by it as she would be by conventional stairs, but it also gives her paws a purchase on the surface and she can move up the ramp easily (though, I'm still working on training her to only use this ramp and not to jump up).
I've only had it for two weeks so, no comment on durability - I suspect there will be no issue, though I wish Ovis would offer replacement covers for this - just in case. I could forsee dog nails wearing through the cover with lots of use. In my opinion, it's pricey, but I could find nothing comparable to support an approximately 85 pound dog and it performs as I had hoped and alleviates my dog's stairphobia and will hopefully diminish the odds of injury as she gets older - that makes it worth the money for me."
Review 16 for Lightweight Portable Pet Steps
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Dog stairs,
May 10, 2011
By: Wicks
"the product is light weight and designed well, with a removable and washable cover. I haven't yet been able to get my 60lb lab to use it consistently yet. We have a high bed, so a model that was a bit higher but not so steep might be nice."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamJune 1, 2011
Orvis Customer Service immediately contacted this customer and apologized that they were not fully satisfied with these steps. Orvis offered to exchange this item or give a complete refund. We will cheerfully exchange or refund your purchase at any time, for any reason. Our 100% Satisfaction Guarantee is the strongest in the business. Orvis has also passed the customer's concerns on to our product developers for further review.
Review 17 for Lightweight Portable Pet Steps
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good product,
April 30, 2011
By: Tobydog
from Jackson, MI
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"This looked like a good product it just was not tall enough for what I needed it for. I do think the steps should have been square not rounded."
Review 18 for Lightweight Portable Pet Steps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bed Access Relief for Corgi & His Owner!,
April 15, 2011
By: JustJayne
from Portland & Gleneden Beach Oregon
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My older mail corgi is a wonderful dog, but not the most graceful of corgis. Training him to use a ramp was hard, but with this Orvis set of steps, he quickly overcame his initial concern and made it up on the bed first try. Coming back down took just a little persuasion, but then he was quick to go back up and down. Love it! A bit expensive, but worth it."
Review 19 for Lightweight Portable Pet Steps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
AWESOME RAMP!,
April 12, 2011
By: CotonMama
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"My dogs just love this ramp!! They are both under 25 pounds and have the easiest time getting up and down now with this awesome ramp...keep up the good work!"
Review 20 for Lightweight Portable Pet Steps
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Too steep for our high bed,
January 15, 2011
By: baileydog
Good Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Our aging cairn needed some help getting on our high bed so thought the pet steps would be a good idea. However, with the height of the bed and with his poor eyesight the steps were too steep. Unfortunately, the steps had to be sent back. Our cairn wanted to tell you that even though the steps did not work ---he loves his new Orvis orthopedic bed."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Service TeamJanuary 19, 2011
Orvis Customer Care contacted this customer to express thanks for this feedback. We apologized these steps did not work out for their cairn but are happy to know the dog bed was a success!