Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Lightweight Portable Pet Steps

Older dogs sometimes need help getting onto and off the couch or your bed—stiff joints, arthritis, and spine fusion are often to blame. Even younger dogs, particularly smaller breeds, can suffer injury jumping down from your bed. The rippled, sure-footed walking surface of our microfiber-covered pet ramp makes climbing up and down safe for your dog. At just over 6 lbs., our high-density foam ramp can be moved into position easily. In taupe. Cover is washable. For pet use only. Imported.23"H x 30"L x 20"W. Weighs 6⅜ lbs. For dogs up to 110 lbs.
Average Customer Rating:
4.152 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (46 reviews)
5 stars
28
4 stars
7
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 star
4
37 of 46(80%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Lightweight Portable Pet Steps
Review 1 for Lightweight Portable Pet Steps
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
May 12, 2015
By: butlerl
from Northport, NY
"Not good for a big dog, too soft .
It sinks and scares the dog, steps should be wider.
"
Review 2 for Lightweight Portable Pet Steps
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Not Workable for Large Dogs,
April 23, 2015
By: Gr8saboo
from Muskegon MI
"In the picture the steps seem larger and my Boxer/Lab could not feel steady on it. It may support 100 lbs but I found it unworkable with my large dog. The return was smooth and it may be very workable for small and mid-size dogs! I would not recommend for larger dogs"
Review 3 for Lightweight Portable Pet Steps
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Stairs To Steep,
April 22, 2015
By: ARVCRV
from San Diego, CA
"These stairs were advertised as good for older and small dogs. The are far too steep for small dogs and especially small, older dogs. Orvis carries many great products and I am a consumer of their dog products."
Review 4 for Lightweight Portable Pet Steps
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Not suitable for 70 Lb dog,
April 17, 2015
By: MyDogRocks
from Northern California
"I do not agree that this product is suitable for dogs up to 110 Lbs. I bought these steps for my 75 Lb lab mix, and placed them next to my bed with web netting below the steps to minimize slippage on the hardwood floor. The steps are foam and the structure is not rigid enough to support my dog's weight, and she is extremely reluctant to even try. The two times she did with my help, the steps folded and moved, and she got caught between the steps and bed. So I am returning this. I am disappointed because I really like Orvis products; my dog's bed is an Orvis, and she absolutely loves it!!! But these steps are a bust for her.... I can see where they would work for little dogs though."
Review 5 for Lightweight Portable Pet Steps
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good product,
February 27, 2015
By: Sydney3301
"The pet steps are user friendly and it took my dogs only a couple of days to adjust. Had previously used an ottoman. My only suggestion is that that make a taller version. I have a high bed and could use another 8 to 12 inches in height. Other than that I am very satisfied. Another quality Orvis product."
Review 6 for Lightweight Portable Pet Steps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
smashing steps,
February 2, 2015
By: KarenCruickshank
from Aberdeen
"These steps are just perfect for my little schnauzer. She took to them right away. It has made a big difference to her mobility."
Review 7 for Lightweight Portable Pet Steps
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Useful Product,
December 24, 2014
By: Fugglebug
from Klamath Falls, OR
"I purchased this item for my German Shepherd who has developed spondylosis in her spine and can no longer easily jump on the bed. The fabric is very good quality for providing purchase for the dog. I only wish there was a larger model as this one is not tall enough and I will have to make a base for it."
Review 8 for Lightweight Portable Pet Steps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Thrilled!,
December 22, 2014
By: Tune
"We had tried other steps for our 2 Havenese to get up and down off of our high bed, but they kept jumping... until these lightweight steps. The angle is great and it is more like a bumpy ramp causing no impact. Thank you!"
Review 9 for Lightweight Portable Pet Steps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
delighted,
December 13, 2014
By: mplin
from lincoln
"I bought this for my elderly arthritic cat with some doubts about she would use it. Happily I am able to report that she took very little time to learn how to use it and access the bed, her favourite spot when she wants some peace and quiet."
Review 10 for Lightweight Portable Pet Steps
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Picky Pet,
December 6, 2014
By: mork
from Birmingham UK
"Steps as described portable and neat. All I need now is for my unwilling Westie to learn how to use them! Any suggestions?"
Review 11 for Lightweight Portable Pet Steps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
For My DOg,
December 4, 2014
By: CatR
from Atlanta, GA
"I was apprehensive about ordering these, because of the price. However, my 8 pound dog is having spinal injuries from jumping off of my tall bed. I have to remind him to use the steps, because he has been jumping off and on the bed for 8 years now, but he is learning to use them. Even though they are expensive, they look better than cheaper versions, and they won't hurt your toes if you run into them in the middle of the night."
Review 12 for Lightweight Portable Pet Steps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My pup loves it,
December 1, 2014
By: Rabbithead
from Mountain Rest, SC
"We've had the steps two weeks now, and my Cairn terrier has taken to it like a duck to water. A little worried look on her face the first time she tried it, but after that, golden. On and off, on and off, on and off.
I like its light weight and the graduated bumps as opposed to the three-step ones I've seen. This makes so much more sense."
Review 13 for Lightweight Portable Pet Steps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
mlkinsella,
November 13, 2014
By: mlkinsella
from Birmingham UK
"My dog enjoy with step to bed, easy up & down for her. Lovely!!"
Review 14 for Lightweight Portable Pet Steps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This rates right up there...,
November 13, 2014
By: GONEgirl
from Swarthmore, PA
"...with anything and everything I've purchased from Orvis. I have a Dachshund and I feel good knowing I'm doing all I can for his loooong back..thank you, Orvis!"
Review 15 for Lightweight Portable Pet Steps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
August 24, 2014
By: Cavilove
"I have three Cavaliers of varying size and age. These are terrific for them to access my bed which is quite high. They tootle happily and comfortably up and down. I much prefer them to steps which would be jarring and from which they could slip. They have good grip on it, so much better than a smooth ramp. The foam is firm with a small amount of give to absorb any shock. I have it over a year and it is like new still. Cannot recommend this enough."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Lightweight Portable Pet Steps
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Perfect for small dogs not so good for large breed,
June 22, 2014
By: Luckyandme
from Michigan
"I ordered this around Christmas time for my Golden Retriever who has a bit of arthritis but loves to sleep in bed. This indeed was tall enough for an average size bed and like all things Orvis the quality was there. My issue is they are so lightweight that they lack stability and my dog feels very uneasy on them. Another thing is they are not that long and he is a tall golden making it difficult for him to make the incline. I have been working with him on using them for the past 6 months with no success. On the other hand our smaller dog (20lbs) uses them with no problem, but he doesnt need them so they are sitting in the box. Hoping I can still return them!"
Review 17 for Lightweight Portable Pet Steps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dog step,
February 11, 2014
By: Janeymay50
from South Wales
"Thought this was a little pricey but after reading the reviews decided to purchase one for my 11 year old cairne terrier and my 9 year old norfolk terrier who are forever jumping up onto the bed and because they are getting older I thought it would be easier.
When it arrived I took the both dogs upstairs on leads and with treats and some training it did not take them long to use the steps.
Excellent product from orvis again but a little pricey.
"
Review 18 for Lightweight Portable Pet Steps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PERFECT for showcase home,
June 23, 2013
By: artjunkee2
from Louisville, KY
"the reason i LOVE these steps so much is the fact that they look fantastic in the living room for our couch.....in the bedroom for our bed....and in the basement for our various, assortment of furniture. we have FOUR of these!!!
actually, the REAL reason these are so great is because of their DESIGN. they don't require our little guy to actually JUMP on steps - but rather GLIDE up to our furniture.
those rather ugly 'steps' that you see everywhere for dogs and furniture are, in comparison, JUNK.
these actually blend into our decor and allow our little guy to
GO wherever he would like WITHOUT any effort.
to keep clean, i've never had to wash the cover - i just wipe it down with a damp cloth and run the sweeper over it.
i will ALWAYS have these steps in my home for my dog.
these are the BEST and most attractive thing on the market!!!
thank you ORVIS!!!!...not only do LOVE DOGS - but you LOVE QUALITY and you have impeccable TASTE!!
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Lightweight Portable Pet Steps
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Foam Pet Steps,
January 9, 2013
By: Sashimi
from Toronto, Canada
"Not functional for any size dog - because steps not deep enough for a dog to climb or descend. Dogs are different to cats, their claws do not cling to the fabric. The price for a piece of foam of this size is exaggeratedly high, especially that living in Canada we also had to pay over $200 in duties and taxes."
Review 20 for Lightweight Portable Pet Steps
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Faulty products,
May 23, 2012
By: CTCC
from Monroe, NC
"The lightweight portable pet steps was light, attractive and almost functional. BUT, the material was loose and little too smooth, so my 2 dogs that needed it the most, slid down it, and had to get a running start to go up.
I tested this with 6 dogs, using clicker and treats--just wasn't good for the 2 older dogs.
A friend got the same stairs with a 7 lb dog and found it to have the same loose fabric; but, with the small dog, it wasn't so much a problem.
I returned the item."