Orvis Ratings and Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Orvis Linenweave Dress

These linen casual dresses are specially stitched with shaping bodice tucks that gently open as soft pleats below the waist. Our unique Linenweave combines the texture of linen with the silky drape of rayon. Button front with ocean pearl buttons, high V-neckline. Darts gently shape the back. Casual dresses in black, natural, navy. Linen/rayon. Washable. Imported.Regular sizes: 6-20; about 33" long from waist. Petite sizes: 4-16; about 30" long from waist.
Average Customer Rating:
3.67 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (109 reviews)
5 stars
47
4 stars
22
3 stars
13
2 stars
11
1 star
16
71 of 109(65%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Orvis Linenweave Dress
Review 1 for Orvis Linenweave Dress
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
stylish and comfortable,
September 13, 2013
By: VIOLAV
"An elegant dress which looks very good and is very comfortable. I feel very smart when wearing it. It would be lovely if it also came in a longer length and in other colours such as deep red or bottle green."
Review 2 for Orvis Linenweave Dress
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Disappointed in the purchase.,
July 3, 2013
By: dress
"I was very disappointed in the material of the dress ... was very thin and not worth the price. Also, the length was suppose to be 33 inches, but wasn't."
Review 3 for Orvis Linenweave Dress
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
simple but effective,
July 2, 2013
By: happinessfairy
from worcs
"I am not a 'dress' person, but sometimes you just have to have one. This will dress up and dress down to match the occasion."
Review 4 for Orvis Linenweave Dress
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Needs some "tweeking",
June 26, 2013
By: Travels
from Cody, Wyoming
"This dress (similar) first appeared in your line about ten years ago. It had the advantage of a tie in back and a more generous front (allowing for a more individualized fit) The fit of this dress (and probable greater customer satisfaction resulting) would benefit from the buttons going further down the front as has been the case in previous year's models. I own this dress in Yellow, Red, Navy Blue, Black, . ...and wish it was in white. it washes well in the machine and the original dress (from 2002) is still going strong! Thanks for a great "go to" dress."
Review 5 for Orvis Linenweave Dress
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort and Class,
June 25, 2013
By: CaGo
from On Line
"I'm always comfortable in this dress,because it looks great and fits as advertised. This is a dress that is appropriate for many occasions and I appreciate that.Typical Orvis quality. I highly recommend it."
Review 6 for Orvis Linenweave Dress
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
BUTTONS BEWARE!,
June 23, 2013
By: Leicester
"I love the comfortable style of this dress.
However I did not think the price was cheap, so consequently was disappointed with the lack of thread on each button.
Consequently, one button fell off before I'd worn it and after the 2nd fell off as I was sitting quietly the 1st time I wore it; I then had to take the precautionary measure of sewing on each button more firmly. A bit of a laborious job; so I hope Orvis takes note|
"
Review 7 for Orvis Linenweave Dress
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fits well,
June 19, 2013
By: Minya
from Oxford
"The Linen dress I purchassed looks nice,fits very well, delivered quickly."
Review 8 for Orvis Linenweave Dress
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
disappointed,
May 18, 2013
By: plamb
"I have had this dress in Navy for years and decided to order both the black and natural because I really liked the fit and comfort.
When the new dresses came I was very disappointed. Instead of having 18 buttons down the front, like the original dress, it only had f14 buttons, so the dress split open at the bottom up above my knees. That will not be comfortable to wear, so I had to send them both back.
"
Review 9 for Orvis Linenweave Dress
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Not the same dress,
May 1, 2013
By: AnonymousMD
"The image is the same as the dress I bought years ago and loved. I wanted to buy another one as back-up for when the original wears out. This dress is not at the same dress. The fabric is poorer quality. The cut is different - the side seams fell behind me and it bunches oddly in the front when you walk. (I'm thin so weight is not a factor.) Buttons are dark, not the previous white and end further up from the bottom of the dress than before. Misleading for Orvis to advertise this as the same dress when it doesn't share any of the qualities of the previous version."
Review 10 for Orvis Linenweave Dress
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
freally disappointed,
April 19, 2013
By: momjack
from Newington, CT
"I purchased this dress first in zize 14 and it was too tight. I returned it and rodered size 18. I wore the dress once and within an hour a button came off. A couple of hours later while driving I saw that the bottom button hole was pulling away from the shoddy fabric. Very nice in the picture but very poor quality. Sending it back. I expect far better of ORVIS"
Review 11 for Orvis Linenweave Dress
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Disappointing fit,
April 10, 2013
By: CazD
from UK
"I ordered a UK size 12 Petite fit. The dress was fine in all respects apart from being too small across the bust. As I am a normal size 12 and have been for all my life (I am now 55!) I found this frustrating. I measured the bust with a tape which told me it was closer to a size 10. I did not want to order the larger size as the rest of the dress fitted fine so have returned it altogether."
Review 12 for Orvis Linenweave Dress
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
linen dress,
April 1, 2013
By: Appleseed
"I have had this linen dress in beige for about ten years and it is still in great shape"
Review 13 for Orvis Linenweave Dress
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not as expected,
March 25, 2013
By: Anonymous
from Worcester, UK
"I had considered buying this dress for some time but the fabric was not the quality I expected and a button came off as soon as I put it on. I have returned the dress."
Review 14 for Orvis Linenweave Dress
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Great dress; poorly made,
March 25, 2013
By: mxopks
from Overland Park, Ks
"I took this dress out of the box, and off the hanger to try on and the first button I undid came off in my hands. Looking at several others, 2-3 were hanging on perhaps 1/4" + threads that looked ready to come off. Some sewing was over other sewing where they had run out of thread and started over; on the side placket than held the buttons, there was an inch long horizontal mark of what appeared to be black felt tip marker (I assume this would have washed out?) but never should have been sent out that way. Even though I loved the look and fit of this dress, I returned it. I feel a dress at this price should be well made and quality checked?"
Review 15 for Orvis Linenweave Dress
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
March 25, 2013
By: 1CaliforniaCustomer
"I purchased this dress several years ago, when it was 'Made in the USA', and I was a larger size. Loved the style, the soft fabric feel, the quality of garment construction. I needed to buy a smaller size, and ordered another instead of taking the one I have to a seamstress for alterations. The dress being sold now is a foreign import. Fabric feel/quality has suffered. There are many fewer buttons down the front length than before, so the lower part of the dress, between knees and hem fits poorly [flares apart]. I guess I will return this and take the older model to a seamstress after all! I have loved the Orvis linenweave garments I have owned, and am disappointed that this doesn't meet the quality of previous purchases."
Review 16 for Orvis Linenweave Dress
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful dress!,
December 30, 2012
By: Riognach
from Glen Cove, NY
"Classic, elegant... I can teach in it and see patients in the office and then dress it up for dinner. Very comfortable, except for the very hottest days. Love the dress in black and will order the sand coloured version for this summer."
Review 17 for Orvis Linenweave Dress
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Not happy with quality of fabric.,
September 16, 2012
By: LADH
"I have this dress in a different color. I love it. I thought I would order it in a dark color for fall. I received it and was not happy with the quality of the fabric. It is not at all like the one I have. It was very cheap, not Orvis quality. It is the second dress that I have ordered and returned in the last month. I will think twice about ordering another dress from Orvis."
Review 18 for Orvis Linenweave Dress
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lovely fit,
September 3, 2012
By: squarepeg
from Portland, OR
"Well-tailored and elegantly styled dress for work or an evening out. Can easily dress up with accessories or go casual. Some wrinkling but not as badly as some linen fabrics. I plan to buy in another color. Recommend!"
Review 19 for Orvis Linenweave Dress
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What I was looking for,
September 3, 2012
By: missmaltie24
from Washington State
"Summer linen midi dresses are very hard to find. This is the only one I was actually able to locate, and it lived up to my expectations!"
Review 20 for Orvis Linenweave Dress
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lovely dress, lovely fabric,
August 17, 2012
By: Truffle
from Niagara on the Lake, ON
"I love this dress so much, I purchased an other one in different color. Perfect length and perfect fit."