Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

World's Coolest® Cotton Madras Shirt

You'll stay cool and comfortable in this handsome Madras shirt, cut from our open, square-woven cotton fabric very nearly as lightweight as our World's Coolest shirting material for breathability and a relaxed fit. Dyed in a rainbow of muted colors—subtle variations ensure that no two shirts are exactly alike—this Madras shirt boasts a button-through patch pocket, center front placket, and back box pleat. Spread collar. Pure cotton. Washable. Imported. Sizes: M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.3 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (90 reviews)
5 stars
56
4 stars
19
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 star
5
74 of 90(82%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for World's Coolest® Cotton Madras Shirt
Review 1 for World's Coolest® Cotton Madras Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cool Shirt,
July 21, 2014
By: jettyjumper
from Wilmington, NC
"Lightweight and deep colors. Can be worn with numerous different pants for either very casual or business casual wear."
Review 2 for World's Coolest® Cotton Madras Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best shirt ever,
July 21, 2014
By: Kritter2
from Rochester N.Y.
"After having many shirts in my life time, I would rate this as my favorite. Cool and very comfortable. I am hoping more colors of the same shirt show up, I will be in the buying mode."
Review 3 for World's Coolest® Cotton Madras Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
To Cool For School,
July 21, 2014
By: COWBOY13
from Morrison, Colorado
"Having been informed that I was attending a seminar in Orlando, Fl. in the middle of July (ugh), I knew I had to have something cool, comfortable and classic to wear for the 3 day affair. As fate would have it, I had just recieved my Orvis catalogue and found what I was looking for. My sessions were cool, comfortable and best of all, the complements only made me more confident. Thank you Orvis!"
Review 4 for World's Coolest® Cotton Madras Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great value for its price,
July 19, 2014
By: Samat
from Singapore
"It is light and comfortable in the warm humid weather"
Review 5 for World's Coolest® Cotton Madras Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
July 16, 2014
By: jsb2
"Quality construction. No issues, outside of price."
Review 6 for World's Coolest® Cotton Madras Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fine looking, great quality,
July 14, 2014
By: JAGolden
from Boston, MA
"I'm new to buying from Orvis, I didn't think they made clothes that fit my size. Boy was I wrong. This and another 2XL shirt I bought fit great even after washing. And the look and feel of them is top-notch. This shirt is casual and a little dressy at the same time and will fit many uses. Have ordered 3 more items from them, can't wait for them to arrive."
Review 7 for World's Coolest® Cotton Madras Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great shirt,
July 10, 2014
By: Outdoorsy12
from Roseville California
"Have several Orvis shirts, thought I would try a cool short sleeve summer shirt...does not disappoint! Great fabric...feels good to the touch and is very breathable. The cut is similar to other Orvis shirts...fits great, as expected. Wife loves it! Another treasured member of the Orvis collection in my closet..."
Review 8 for World's Coolest® Cotton Madras Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Not like the madras of old,
July 8, 2014
By: RickR
from southern California
"When the madras shirt showed up the 60s and 70s I found the dyes stained even my body, let alone the T shirt I was wearing. Not so with the new generation of the madras shirt from Orvis. I have to admit that most the shirts I have purchased from Orvis are wrinkle free, yet I knew this was not. When I did my normal wash and dry, I immediately pulled it out of the dryer and hung it to help keep its shape. Further I noticed that it did not have the usual puckering that most non-wrinkle-free shirts display. It does tend to keep me cooler and the weight is just right for my wearing it literally at all types of situations, without a tie, of course. I'm back to liking Madras shirts from Orvis. Try one, you will be amazed."
Review 9 for World's Coolest® Cotton Madras Shirt
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
inconsistent sizing,
July 8, 2014
By: dorislillian
from denver
"This shirt is made of such cool and colorful fabric. My husband loved those aspects. However, we ordered his usual size and it went down to his knees in length. It was also quite large through the body. We ordered the next size down and while the length was more appropriate he could not even close the chest to button it. Quite a disappointment but the other two shirts ordered have given good service!"
Review 10 for World's Coolest® Cotton Madras Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A New Favorite,
June 27, 2014
By: WatchfulEye103
from Port Jefferson, NY
"Bought this madras shirt for my husband and it instantly became his go to, favorite one. He says it is extremely comfortable, it washes beautifully and is true to size. Would love if it were available in some other nice colors in the future."
Review 11 for World's Coolest® Cotton Madras Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What a beautiful shirt,
June 17, 2014
By: Cheri311
from Naples, Florida
"I am so happy that I ordered this shirt for my husband for Father's Day. We both love it! The different colors are beautiful and not too bright. This shirt will look great with khakis and it is the nicest madras shirt I have seen. It is so well made I know it will wash and iron beautifully. Also, the size is perfect. I ordered I large and it is a large. Big plus for my husband is the shirt is cotton. Thank you Orvis for such a beautiful shirt."
Review 12 for World's Coolest® Cotton Madras Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cool looking shirt,
June 17, 2014
By: MargoK
"Great rich colors, youthful, casual and classy. Bought this one for my husband and he's been wearing it for all kinds of occassions. The fit is great for him--depending on the shirt, he wears a large, extra large or large tall. This one is the perfect fit. It shrunk a tad after first washing (he put it in a hot dryer)--but in this case, made it even better."
Review 13 for World's Coolest® Cotton Madras Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very comforable shirt,
June 16, 2014
By: JimmyDD707
from Danville, VA
"I am broad in the shoulders and this shirt fits me very well. This is the second one for me."
Review 14 for World's Coolest® Cotton Madras Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
As attctive and "cool" as advertised!,
June 16, 2014
By: Linden
from Memphis TN
"As always...better than even expected. Handsome shirt, nice detailing, and as cool to wear as advertised. I get lots of compliments, and inquiries about where I purchased."
Review 15 for World's Coolest® Cotton Madras Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great summer shirt,
June 13, 2014
By: THEOLDROT
from Stafford, VA
"This shirt is cool and comfortable in hot weather. The fit is perfect. Buy it!"
Review 16 for World's Coolest® Cotton Madras Shirt
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Looks are Deceiving.,
June 13, 2014
By: ICastaFly45
from Oakland, Michigan
"Looked good on line but in hand very poor Orvis quality."
Review 17 for World's Coolest® Cotton Madras Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Madras shirt,
June 4, 2014
By: JackBlack
from Tulsa, OK
"Distinctive muted colors. Longer in tail. At 6'2' 185 lbs. a large fits perfectly. Cool fabric. Really looks good."
Review 18 for World's Coolest® Cotton Madras Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
AAA quality,
May 19, 2014
By: Beewarm2
from Needham, MA
"Finally a great fitting and well made casual shirt. Easy care and great looking. Quality always tells."
Review 19 for World's Coolest® Cotton Madras Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Cool looking Madras,
May 7, 2014
By: bisonfan
from Harrisburg, PA
"Nice lightweight Madras shirt with cool color pattern > I would have given it 5 stars, but the blue does not pop out as bright as it does on web pictures..."
Review 20 for World's Coolest® Cotton Madras Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The perfect summer shirt,
April 29, 2014
By: Kabby
from Joliet IL
"Beautiful soft cotton shirt! Has a nice stright bottom so it can be worn tucked in or out! Love the shirt!"