Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

World's Coolest® Cotton Madras Shirt

You'll stay cool and comfortable in this handsome Madras shirt, cut from our open, square-woven cotton fabric very nearly as lightweight as our World's Coolest shirting material for breathability and a relaxed fit. Dyed in a rainbow of muted colors—subtle variations ensure that no two shirts are exactly alike—this Madras shirt boasts a button-through patch pocket, center front placket, and back box pleat. Spread collar. Pure cotton. Washable. Imported. Sizes: M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.299 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (97 reviews)
5 stars
60
4 stars
21
3 stars
6
2 stars
5
1 star
5
80 of 97(82%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for World's Coolest® Cotton Madras Shirt
Review 1 for World's Coolest® Cotton Madras Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very nice/comfortable fabric,
August 12, 2014
By: LudsGrandson
from Bozeman, MT
"While haven't laundered yet very nice, comfortable ... Very pleased with everything about it!"
Review 2 for World's Coolest® Cotton Madras Shirt
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Disappointed,
July 31, 2014
By: Dick631705
from Bay City, Michigan
"Liked the shirt, but don't understand a Medium having a 16 3/4" collar. Then when I attempted to replace it with a Small ... it was out of stock / no longer available. As a first time customer ... have to say, I am not impressed."
Review 3 for World's Coolest® Cotton Madras Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
good product and service,
July 28, 2014
By: RIbuyer
"easy on-line purchase and prompt delivery. shirt was however stained. customer service was very responsive in return and in sending out a replacement at no additional cost. I like the site and will use it again."
Review 4 for World's Coolest® Cotton Madras Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice shirt,
July 23, 2014
By: dpjones
"I'm very pleased with this shirt. A great color combination goes with many pant options. Classy."
Review 5 for World's Coolest® Cotton Madras Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice shirt,
July 23, 2014
By: Brassman
from N Babylon, NY
"True to size, material a little heavier than expected, but well made, nicely finished."
Review 6 for World's Coolest® Cotton Madras Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cool Shirt,
July 21, 2014
By: jettyjumper
from Wilmington, NC
"Lightweight and deep colors. Can be worn with numerous different pants for either very casual or business casual wear."
Review 7 for World's Coolest® Cotton Madras Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best shirt ever,
July 21, 2014
By: Kritter2
from Rochester N.Y.
"After having many shirts in my life time, I would rate this as my favorite. Cool and very comfortable. I am hoping more colors of the same shirt show up, I will be in the buying mode."
Review 8 for World's Coolest® Cotton Madras Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
To Cool For School,
July 21, 2014
By: COWBOY13
from Morrison, Colorado
"Having been informed that I was attending a seminar in Orlando, Fl. in the middle of July (ugh), I knew I had to have something cool, comfortable and classic to wear for the 3 day affair. As fate would have it, I had just recieved my Orvis catalogue and found what I was looking for. My sessions were cool, comfortable and best of all, the complements only made me more confident. Thank you Orvis!"
Review 9 for World's Coolest® Cotton Madras Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great value for its price,
July 19, 2014
By: Samat
from Singapore
"It is light and comfortable in the warm humid weather"
Review 10 for World's Coolest® Cotton Madras Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
July 16, 2014
By: jsb2
"Quality construction. No issues, outside of price."
Review 11 for World's Coolest® Cotton Madras Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fine looking, great quality,
July 14, 2014
By: JAGolden
from Boston, MA
"I'm new to buying from Orvis, I didn't think they made clothes that fit my size. Boy was I wrong. This and another 2XL shirt I bought fit great even after washing. And the look and feel of them is top-notch. This shirt is casual and a little dressy at the same time and will fit many uses. Have ordered 3 more items from them, can't wait for them to arrive."
Review 12 for World's Coolest® Cotton Madras Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great shirt,
July 10, 2014
By: Outdoorsy12
from Roseville California
"Have several Orvis shirts, thought I would try a cool short sleeve summer shirt...does not disappoint! Great fabric...feels good to the touch and is very breathable. The cut is similar to other Orvis shirts...fits great, as expected. Wife loves it! Another treasured member of the Orvis collection in my closet..."
Review 13 for World's Coolest® Cotton Madras Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Not like the madras of old,
July 8, 2014
By: RickR
from southern California
"When the madras shirt showed up the 60s and 70s I found the dyes stained even my body, let alone the T shirt I was wearing. Not so with the new generation of the madras shirt from Orvis. I have to admit that most the shirts I have purchased from Orvis are wrinkle free, yet I knew this was not. When I did my normal wash and dry, I immediately pulled it out of the dryer and hung it to help keep its shape. Further I noticed that it did not have the usual puckering that most non-wrinkle-free shirts display. It does tend to keep me cooler and the weight is just right for my wearing it literally at all types of situations, without a tie, of course. I'm back to liking Madras shirts from Orvis. Try one, you will be amazed."
Review 14 for World's Coolest® Cotton Madras Shirt
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
inconsistent sizing,
July 8, 2014
By: dorislillian
from denver
"This shirt is made of such cool and colorful fabric. My husband loved those aspects. However, we ordered his usual size and it went down to his knees in length. It was also quite large through the body. We ordered the next size down and while the length was more appropriate he could not even close the chest to button it. Quite a disappointment but the other two shirts ordered have given good service!"
Review 15 for World's Coolest® Cotton Madras Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A New Favorite,
June 27, 2014
By: WatchfulEye103
from Port Jefferson, NY
"Bought this madras shirt for my husband and it instantly became his go to, favorite one. He says it is extremely comfortable, it washes beautifully and is true to size. Would love if it were available in some other nice colors in the future."
Review 16 for World's Coolest® Cotton Madras Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What a beautiful shirt,
June 17, 2014
By: Cheri311
from Naples, Florida
"I am so happy that I ordered this shirt for my husband for Father's Day. We both love it! The different colors are beautiful and not too bright. This shirt will look great with khakis and it is the nicest madras shirt I have seen. It is so well made I know it will wash and iron beautifully. Also, the size is perfect. I ordered I large and it is a large. Big plus for my husband is the shirt is cotton. Thank you Orvis for such a beautiful shirt."
Review 17 for World's Coolest® Cotton Madras Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cool looking shirt,
June 17, 2014
By: MargoK
"Great rich colors, youthful, casual and classy. Bought this one for my husband and he's been wearing it for all kinds of occassions. The fit is great for him--depending on the shirt, he wears a large, extra large or large tall. This one is the perfect fit. It shrunk a tad after first washing (he put it in a hot dryer)--but in this case, made it even better."
Review 18 for World's Coolest® Cotton Madras Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very comforable shirt,
June 16, 2014
By: JimmyDD707
from Danville, VA
"I am broad in the shoulders and this shirt fits me very well. This is the second one for me."
Review 19 for World's Coolest® Cotton Madras Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
As attctive and "cool" as advertised!,
June 16, 2014
By: Linden
from Memphis TN
"As always...better than even expected. Handsome shirt, nice detailing, and as cool to wear as advertised. I get lots of compliments, and inquiries about where I purchased."
Review 20 for World's Coolest® Cotton Madras Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great summer shirt,
June 13, 2014
By: THEOLDROT
from Stafford, VA
"This shirt is cool and comfortable in hot weather. The fit is perfect. Buy it!"