Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

World's Coolest® Cotton Madras Shirt

You'll stay cool and comfortable in this handsome Madras shirt, cut from our open, square-woven cotton fabric very nearly as lightweight as our World's Coolest shirting material for breathability and a relaxed fit. Dyed in a rainbow of muted colors—subtle variations ensure that no two shirts are exactly alike—this Madras shirt boasts a button-through patch pocket, center front placket, and back box pleat. Spread collar. Pure cotton. Washable. Imported. Sizes: M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.232 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (69 reviews)
5 stars
40
4 stars
16
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
4
55 of 69(80%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for World's Coolest® Cotton Madras Shirt
Review 1 for World's Coolest® Cotton Madras Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My husband loves this shirt!,
September 17, 2013
By: JennyLou
from Poconos, PA
"He put it on when it arrived. Loves the feel of the cloth and the colors. I probably won't see any other shirt on hjm when we go out now."
Review 2 for World's Coolest® Cotton Madras Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Holiday must have,
September 16, 2013
By: Alfilo
from Bolton, UK
"Excellent colours more vibrant than on web without being OTT. Fit and feel excellent"
Review 3 for World's Coolest® Cotton Madras Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Summer Shirt,
September 8, 2013
By: MaineandBuffalo
"This is a great shirt for warm weather. Very distinctive and comfortable. I had thought that chambray shirts were the best in warm weather, but this is even cooler. I like the color combination as well."
Review 4 for World's Coolest® Cotton Madras Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love it!,
September 7, 2013
By: mtnborn
"Very comfortable and my wife likes it because she says it's easy to iron. Very happy with the purchase."
Review 5 for World's Coolest® Cotton Madras Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very good Purchase,
August 14, 2013
By: Carolus
"The World's Coolest Cotton Madras Shirt actually turned out to be the coolest shirt I have so far experienced. Excellent."
Review 6 for World's Coolest® Cotton Madras Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
about size,
July 29, 2013
By: hirosiAK
"the color of shirts is Highest.
My domestic size is L.But this shirts is S.
.
"
Review 7 for World's Coolest® Cotton Madras Shirt
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
tail,
July 24, 2013
By: toolong
"This shirt is beautiful, the material is fine but the tail is 6 inches too long. I am 6-1 and it is the longest shirt I have seen in size large."
Review 8 for World's Coolest® Cotton Madras Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exactly right,
July 15, 2013
By: Finiky
from Rockville MD
"outstanding in all respects, just like everything I have gotten from Orvis over the past how many years"
Review 9 for World's Coolest® Cotton Madras Shirt
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Nice shirt But,
July 12, 2013
By: PeterSAZ
from Arizona
"On line the colors appear to be bright, actually the shirt colors are faded & dull. More of the mustard color than appears in the on line picture.
Great jean shirt, i was just disappointed in the color tones.
"
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamJuly 24, 2013
Orvis Customer Service immediately contacted this customer and apologized that this shirt imagery did not meet his expectations. We have added that the colors are muted in the description. Orvis greatly appreciates your feedback about the things we sell—we are constantly trying to find ways to improve them.
Review 10 for World's Coolest® Cotton Madras Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Shirt,
July 11, 2013
By: HandsomeEndeavor
from Rio Rancho, New Mexico
"I enjoy the shirt. It's comfortable and wears well. I already washed and ironed it and again it wears well.
What I would like to see are lower prices for your shirts, then I would purchase more."
Review 11 for World's Coolest® Cotton Madras Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Birthday present,
July 11, 2013
By: hurt
from Ohio
"We bought this shirt as a birthday present for our son in VA. It got to his house in time. He liked the shirt a lot. My only disappointment was to see the shirt on sale in a catalog we received yesterday$10 off."
Review 12 for World's Coolest® Cotton Madras Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Cool Madras,
July 10, 2013
By: Pete13
from Midlands
"A nicely produced shirt with good pattern matching and lightweight fabric; therefore comfortable to wear!
Colouring works well with "hot-hot" casual slacks or shorts - as well as cocktail-time lounge trousers.
Downside: pricey against high street prices for similar shirts.
"
Review 13 for World's Coolest® Cotton Madras Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Impressive and attractive,
July 9, 2013
By: HappyTallMan
from Somerset
"My wife talked me into my first Orvis purchase, this madras shirt. It is not only beautifully coloured but feels good on the skin. She says it makes me look 10 years younger! I am pleased to find an alternative to high street shopping."
Review 14 for World's Coolest® Cotton Madras Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lots of compliments,
July 9, 2013
By: Cubbear
from Northern , MI
"Perfect fit!
Shipping a little slow but wait was worth it.
Beautiful colors.
"
Review 15 for World's Coolest® Cotton Madras Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
beautiful colors,
June 29, 2013
By: Hollybear
"This shirt is a beautiful combination of colors that any man would look handsome in!"
Review 16 for World's Coolest® Cotton Madras Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Madras as it Should Be,
June 19, 2013
By: ComfortCarl
from Pittsburgh, PA
"From years ago, Bleeding Madras was extremely comfortable and cool to wear in the summer. This shirt brings back those memories. I have not washed it yet, but I will make sure it is in cold water, with a color catcher. I am new to ORVIS, and was unaware the men's shirts that they carry, are cut very generously. If you are used to an XL, a Large should be just fine. The weave of the colors is very attractive and the shirt is so comfortable you may not want to take it off."
Review 17 for World's Coolest® Cotton Madras Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Summer Shirt,
June 18, 2013
By: DrJHP
from Lansdale, PA
"I purchased this as a replacement for a similar Madras shirt I owned from another manufacturer. The colors on this are so bright and unusual and the shirt fits perfectly. I am proud to wear it most anyplace."
Review 18 for World's Coolest® Cotton Madras Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Really Good Buy,
June 7, 2013
By: martysmarty
from Pinetop, Arizona
"I chose this shirt for my husband because it will look fantastic on him whether he wears khakis or jeans. Where we live, it's a casual community but I continue to feel it's important to look your best. This shirt does it!"
Review 19 for World's Coolest® Cotton Madras Shirt
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Sizing,
May 29, 2013
By: eamark
"Sizing of this shirt is not consistent
with your other shirts.
I purchased size large which turned out to be equal to your size medium.
Also, the sleeve length was very short.
"
Review 20 for World's Coolest® Cotton Madras Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Solid fashion statement,
March 12, 2013
By: Johna32
from Chicago Burbs IL
"Great looking shirt with a really nice (and unusual) coloration. Goes with almost anything. Quality fabric and tailoring. As with all Orvis apparel, it is a little pricey but the quality/value is obvious. I'd buy another one."