Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts

Soft, strong, and breathable, yet—at 6.2 oz.—one-third lighter than the weight of our chino fabric, Expedition 100% cotton poplin holds up to your outdoor adventures while keeping you cooler and more comfortable than any other lightweight shorts of their kind. 14 pockets keep just about all you need on hand for a day on the trail. Our men's lightweight cargo shorts feature elastic sides and adjustable straps for an extremely comfortable fit. Pleat front. Pure cotton. Washable. Imported. Even waist sizes: 30-46; inseam 8".
Average Customer Rating:
4.363 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (168 reviews)
5 stars
99
4 stars
47
3 stars
12
2 stars
4
1 star
6
153 of 168(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Review 1 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Great but problem,
August 30, 2015
By: Cincyjimm
from Cincinnati OH
"Love the shorts, but the small metal loop on the bottom of right hand side pocket must be removed because it will wear a hole in the leg material., problem during washing. Orvis DID replace my damaged shorts and I've removed the metal loop on the new ones."
Review 2 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well Constructed,
August 27, 2015
By: aquaman2
from Grosse Pointe, MI
"Good construction. Great cotton weight for shorts. Should last a long time."
Review 3 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Too Short,
August 17, 2015
By: jtgold
"Quality was Outstanding
However were it fell short
was in the leg drop.
Just to Short
Need to add 2" more of a drop on
the inseam. Had to return them.
Might buy the pants and have A taylor cut it to the right size.
"
Review 4 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Shorts,
August 14, 2015
By: Galifrey50
"After admiring them in the catalog for some time, I finally ordered a pair of the 14-pocket expedition poplin cargo shorts. The fit is spot on, the fabric is nice and light and I am still finding pockets! This will not be my last pair of these shorts!"
Review 5 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding,
August 13, 2015
By: Willfred
from Madison Wi
"Great fit and as always great fabrics that Orvis is so we'll known for."
Review 6 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Shorts,
August 12, 2015
By: WMacK
from High Rock Lake, NC
"Great fit, quality construction and light weight. Dress them down or up depending on style shirt. Tremendous storage potential with well placed pockets. Versatile and comfortable shorts."
Review 7 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great multi-pocket shorts,
August 9, 2015
By: Talon38
from Austin, TX
"I purchase these as I really like the 14 pocket pants. They are similarly very comfortable and useful. No problems with cells phone or any other devices you'd like and look and feel great as well."
Review 8 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
best shorts ever,
August 7, 2015
By: phun1
from pennsylvania
"excellent fit, comfortable and stylish
and priced fair
"
Review 9 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
2nd pair,
July 28, 2015
By: Brknclays
from San Antonio
"Purchased my first pair in Houston a few weeks ago on sale. Like them so much that I had to have a second pair."
Review 10 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great shorts,
July 14, 2015
By: Hawk6364
from PA
"Very versatile lots of pockets and dries fast. Expandable waist."
Review 11 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Glad I bought these,
July 10, 2015
By: JHF3
from Daphne, AL
"Really happy with the look, fit and quality of these shorts. I have never been disappointed with an Orvis purchase."
Review 12 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
just like i wanted,
July 6, 2015
By: scotty62
from Morristown, New Jersey
"The colors and sizes were true to life. the colors and the sizes were just like the advertisement. Many times "what you see" is not what you get>"
Review 13 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
All day Colorado,
July 3, 2015
By: Sporting
from Houston, TX
"Great shorts! From morning hikes in the mountains, add a nicer shirt and wear into Breckenridge for lunch or dinner. Great light weight. Extra pockets come in handy. Typical Orvis quality."
Review 14 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great replacement for Zambezi,
June 22, 2015
By: Sparty81
from Cleveland, OH
"I had purchased a few pair of Zambezi Twill cargo shorts many years ago and they have always been my favorite summer shorts. Since they are no longer being produced the 14 pocket Expedition shorts are a GREAT replacement. Also, the fit is very similar."
Review 15 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Shorts,
June 16, 2015
By: WMacK
from High Rock Lake, NC
"Had these Cargo Shorts years ago and found them to be well made and durable. They did shrink >10% due to the natural fibers. Returned the latest order due to sizing; too large for my usual size. Did not wish to risk more mailing charges for another mistake. Their inseam is long if that makes a difference. Otherwise good shorts."
Review 16 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
June 10, 2015
By: WEdward2
from Fl
"I liked the prior heavier weight material pants that you used to have over these."
Review 17 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Shorts,
June 5, 2015
By: Scully11
from online purchase
"This pair of shorts was not only stylish but very roomy with plenty of deep pockets."
Review 18 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The most pockets!,
June 2, 2015
By: Divisor
from Florida panhandle
"There are so many pockets, the memory becomes challenged to remember which I placed what in. And, since these pockets require more material, the weight is a little higher than advertising might lead one to expect. But they are made very well, though the sewn on tag was difficult to remove. The velcroix fasteners are excellent quality. Lastly, the price is a little high."
Review 19 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My new shorts,
May 29, 2015
By: marchbrownfly
from Bury
"My new shorts fit me perfectly I like the many pockets and look forward to wearing them on my holidays"
Review 20 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
14 pocket cargo shorts,
May 19, 2015
By: Dekinjack
from West Seneca, NY
"I am so pleased with these shorts. The fit is perfect and the material is very comfortable. I have always been pleased with Orvis. I highly recommend these shorts."