Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts

Soft, strong, and breathable, yet—at 6.2 oz.—one-third lighter than the weight of our chino fabric, Expedition 100% cotton poplin holds up to your outdoor adventures while keeping you cooler and more comfortable than any other lightweight shorts of their kind. 14 pockets keep just about all you need on hand for a day on the trail. Our men's lightweight cargo shorts feature elastic sides and adjustable straps for an extremely comfortable fit. Pleat front. Pure cotton. Washable. Imported. Even waist sizes: 30-46; inseam 8".
Average Customer Rating:
4.179 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (95 reviews)
5 stars
48
4 stars
30
3 stars
8
2 stars
4
1 star
5
82 of 95(86%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Review 1 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great everyday short,
April 7, 2014
By: HomeRun
from Retired & Happy in Colorado & Arizona
"Good fit. Nice and roomy with plenty of pockets for all the extra golf balls needed because of my impossible to fix slice."
Review 2 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well Worth It!,
April 2, 2014
By: luaulou
from AZ
"My husband had two of these shorts and wore them faithfully until they finally gave out. When I saw them again I knew that I had to get him two more. He's ecstatic to get his "old" new shorts again! Thanks."
Review 3 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Shorts,
March 24, 2014
By: EricT
from Dallas, TX
"These are well built shorts, that will last. I got the Stone color, and they are lighter in color than I expected. Still I am very happy with the purchase."
Review 4 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not orv is quality,
March 21, 2014
By: rookieflier
from Pendleton IN
"Was so happy when you reintroduced the sand color and purchased two. One pair has a defective sipper so won't stay closed . Certainly a surprise coming from Orvis"
Review 5 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very Nice Shorts,
March 10, 2014
By: mwfish
"Size was true to fit, fabric was soft after a trip through the wash. Very comfortable shorts, another fine product from Orvis."
Review 6 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Shorts Ever,
March 3, 2014
By: RichardSM
from Northwestern CT
"I have owned multiple pairs of these shorts over the years and love them. They are durable, wash well and have plenty of room for "stuff". They are supremely comfortable with plenty or room to move."
Review 7 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect Purchase for Antigua,
February 12, 2014
By: Clancy16
from Essex Junction VT
"Going on vacation to Antigua and needed light weight shorts to take alon....these are perfect. Esp. nice are the many pockets when we go sight seeing. Easy to obtain, they came directly to the house within a couple of days."
Review 8 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Shorts,
January 27, 2014
By: Beef48
from Columbus, Indiana
"I now own 4 pair. They are wonderful. I normally wear a long rise. These fit just fine. Love the elastic waist."
Review 9 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great shorts,
December 14, 2013
By: nele
from oakville, ontario, canada
"excellent material and perfect design.
shorts you can dream about...
"
Review 10 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Perfect,
November 3, 2013
By: Gibbs0311
"Wish you would bring back the canvas short & trousers as well."
Review 11 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Great Surprise,
October 12, 2013
By: NETN
from NETN
"The Expedition Short is awesome. It fits well, and is extremely comfortable and functional. The short washes well, retains its shape, and seems to get softer with each wash. A great short!"
Review 12 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good shorts,
August 31, 2013
By: TJJO
from NJ
"I liked the shorts version more than the pants version, the weight felt much better. Great pocket coverage."
Review 13 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent shorts,
August 23, 2013
By: Donnell3
from ARL., VA.
"These shorts are very well made, comfortable & have numerous useful pockets!"
Review 14 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent,
August 23, 2013
By: Mrshorts
from Manchester, UK
"Excellent pair of shorts. But would have preferred more color options, such as red or pink"
Review 15 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic,
August 15, 2013
By: dab66
"Very comfortable, roomy, and ample pockets. I love these."
Review 16 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Most utilitarian,
August 6, 2013
By: 1kayaker
from Northern California
"Over the past few years I've purchased 5 of these shorts; 3 in khaki, 1 in stone and 1 in olive. They are the most utilitarian shorts I've ever owned. I can carry just about everything I need in them for any type of activity. I wear them daily about 7 months per year. The reason I have purchased so many in khaki is that they keep wearing out at the hem. They have deteriorated at the stitching on the hem and at the end of the hem. That's the only reason they don't get 5 stars. When they go on sale, I'll buy some more."
Review 17 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect cargos for my guy!,
July 30, 2013
By: StarryVTGirl
from Pomfret, VT
"Although my guy wasn't sure these shorts would be worth the price, he's become a believer: sturdy fabric that's wearing well, tons of great pockets, adjustable waist, washes well, they're perfect!---and well worth the price. These shorts are why we'll be back for more."
Review 18 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Shorts for Hot Texas Summer,
July 30, 2013
By: blucrzr
from Austin,TX
"I already had the expedition pants and when I saw the shorts on line I thought I would try them. Glad I did! They fit perfectly and are light as a feather. Plenty of pockets for my stuff. I liked them so much I ordered a second pair."
Review 19 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
pockets to spare,
July 26, 2013
By: ChicB
from Worcester, MA
"Great shorts. You have your choice of many many pockets and pocket sizes to put your stuff in. Nice material, could be a little more light weight though."
Review 20 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The Shorts are excellent,
July 25, 2013
By: Kawin
from Spokane, WA
"Very well made. Should last a long time. After ordering one pair and using them I ordered another pair, I did not like the button rear pockets, should have been hook and loop. Cargo pockets inner pocket difficult to use unless you are paying attention. It's like seperating two pieces of paper."