Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts

Soft, strong, and breathable, yet—at 6.2 oz.—one-third lighter than the weight of our chino fabric, Expedition 100% cotton poplin holds up to your outdoor adventures while keeping you cooler and more comfortable than any other lightweight shorts of their kind. 14 pockets keep just about all you need on hand for a day on the trail. Our men's lightweight cargo shorts feature elastic sides and adjustable straps for an extremely comfortable fit. Pleat front. Pure cotton. Washable. Imported. Even waist sizes: 30-46; inseam 8".
Average Customer Rating:
4.321 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (131 reviews)
5 stars
74
4 stars
39
3 stars
9
2 stars
4
1 star
5
118 of 131(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Review 1 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great hiking and camping shorts,
September 17, 2014
By: ArtieMcFly
from Bainbridge Island, Washngton
"The best comfort waist cargo shorts I was able to find on the internet. I have never been disappointed with anything I have purchased from Orvis and these shorts were no exception, Lots of storage pockets and extremely comfortable, These shorts look good on any trail you want to take. Five stars!
Black Bart of Bainbridge Island
"
Review 2 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great shorts,
September 12, 2014
By: Beef48
from Columbus, Indiana
"I love these shorts! Bought 1 pair to try, then ordered another. Loved them last year so bought 2 more this summer. I also have 2 pair on back order. Enough said? Love them"
Review 3 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best "shorts ever".,
September 9, 2014
By: wsv1
from Scottsdale AZ
"Quality product, Well made. Seams perfectly sewn. Zipper works. Inside waist button sewn on really strong. Pocket velcro strong-almost can't open. Belt loops allow for many belt options.
Bring back the leather trimmed design."
Review 4 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
4th pair bought,
September 8, 2014
By: auntiem1
from knoxville,tn
"My husband is sometimes hard to fit in pants or shorts but these are great. He was wearing them all the time so I had to order more so I wouldn't have to was every other day"
Review 5 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love these shorts,
September 6, 2014
By: GSOLE69
from Littleton, CO
"I've owned the 14-pocks Expedition Cargo Shorts for a number of years. Due to weight loss, I had to replace them with this pair. These are my favorites, comfortable and great for someone that carry's both work and personal iPhones. They are durable and show no wear over the years."
Review 6 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My Oldest & Best Friends,
September 2, 2014
By: Mike33
from Bingham Farms, MI
"Orvis' Cargo Shorts are my oldest
and most regular friends. I am now into my fourth pair, and the strong
yet playable cotton makes them feel
as though I have always worn them
and that they are a great comfort to me. I feel the same way about the
8 1/2" Gokey hunting boots I bought
from Orvis several years ago. MK
"
Review 7 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Shorts ever,
September 2, 2014
By: Skiw
from Seabrook, Texas
"Bought a pair and loved them so much ordered a second pair"
Review 8 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Purse in the shorts.,
August 25, 2014
By: glennno
from Online
"I always thought how nice it would be to carry a purse. I have been down the fanny pack road only to have my teenage girls tease me about it. I can't help it, I carry a lot of stuff around with me. Not only can I carry my large cellular phone and wallet, now my knife, flashlight, and still conceal my cash without looking bulky with plenty pockets to spare. My favorite shorts and the purse I always wanted."
Review 9 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Casual Dress,
August 21, 2014
By: onlytwolettersED
from Hartford, CT
"to many pockets. Have to search for everythong. Could use at least one zippered pocket.
In general liked them and will wear them.
"
Review 10 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Icky Color,
August 11, 2014
By: nicknamer
from Ossining, NY
"Quality of product is good,as usual, however color , supposedly olive, is more brown than olive. I would not have purchased this color in store.
Shipping method (UPS handing off to USPS) is not very efficient. Takes a day longer to arrive.
"
Review 11 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding shorts,
August 10, 2014
By: Ddotte
from Mandeville LA
"Outstanding shorts; comfortable; heavy fabric is good for wear all year"
Review 12 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Shorts,
August 5, 2014
By: 9999
from Columbus, Ohio
"This is the 5th pair of shorts I have ordered from Orvis and the 2nd pair of the same style. I wear these all summer long and need multiple pairs. They wear like iron and are stylish. I am stopped many times by both men and women asking where I got them. So obviously I have recommended Orvis many time."
Review 13 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Long-life fishing shorts,
August 4, 2014
By: Modon
from Liberty, MO
"I've been wearing 2 pair of these 14-pocket shorts for more than 30 years on fly fishing trips all over the West. I even wear just the shorts instead of waders in hot summer months in Idaho & Montana. But they finally wore out. I'm so happy that Orvis still offers these because I've replaced the original 2 pairs with identical new ones. They still offer the same quality & comfort as the originals. Thank you Orvis. Not everyone offers the same quality gear over this many years."
Review 14 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Poplin Cargo Shorts,
July 30, 2014
By: colusmcret
from Bend, Oregon
"Really great summer wear -- light-weight, comfortable fit with adjustable waist, almost too many pockets! I have four pair and love them!"
Review 15 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great shorts,
July 23, 2014
By: Jmin2000
from Nashville, TN
"….and the olive color is more brown than green. I kept them because the fit so well. I bought the natural color too."
Review 16 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best shorts ever,
July 21, 2014
By: Blutick1
"Love these shorts. Only drawback is remembering which pocket holds what."
Review 17 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Hiking Shorts,
July 16, 2014
By: SFMedic764
from Tampa, FL
"Best shorts I own for hiking. Sized true. Extremely comfortable with plenty of pockets for storage. Finishes well in the laundry."
Review 18 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Functional,
July 15, 2014
By: georgepollard
from Natick, Ma.
"As usual when I buy a product from you guys I've found them to be of the best quality and I always get a lot of positive feedback from family and friends."
Review 19 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great shorts,
July 15, 2014
By: Corgidogowner
from Montville, NJ
"Use them when I walk my dog. Pockets allow plenty of room to carry stuff. These are lighter than an older pair which is great for summer."
Review 20 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
July 12, 2014
By: heythatsmine
"I am going to order another pair of these shorts. However, I would prefer a nylon coil YKK zipper. No real problem since I can apply bees wax over the metal teeth after laundering."