Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts

Soft, strong, and breathable, yet—at 6.2 oz.—one-third lighter than the weight of our chino fabric, Expedition 100% cotton poplin holds up to your outdoor adventures while keeping you cooler and more comfortable than any other lightweight shorts of their kind. 14 pockets keep just about all you need on hand for a day on the trail. Our men's lightweight cargo shorts feature elastic sides and adjustable straps for an extremely comfortable fit. Pleat front. Pure cotton. Washable. Imported. Even waist sizes: 30-46; inseam 8".
Average Customer Rating:
4.338 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (154 reviews)
5 stars
89
4 stars
44
3 stars
11
2 stars
4
1 star
6
140 of 154(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Review 1 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great replacement for Zambezi,
June 22, 2015
By: Sparty81
from Cleveland, OH
"I had purchased a few pair of Zambezi Twill cargo shorts many years ago and they have always been my favorite summer shorts. Since they are no longer being produced the 14 pocket Expedition shorts are a GREAT replacement. Also, the fit is very similar."
Review 2 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Shorts,
June 16, 2015
By: WMacK
from High Rock Lake, NC
"Had these Cargo Shorts years ago and found them to be well made and durable. They did shrink >10% due to the natural fibers. Returned the latest order due to sizing; too large for my usual size. Did not wish to risk more mailing charges for another mistake. Their inseam is long if that makes a difference. Otherwise good shorts."
Review 3 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
June 10, 2015
By: WEdward2
from Fl
"I liked the prior heavier weight material pants that you used to have over these."
Review 4 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Shorts,
June 5, 2015
By: Scully11
from online purchase
"This pair of shorts was not only stylish but very roomy with plenty of deep pockets."
Review 5 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The most pockets!,
June 2, 2015
By: Divisor
from Florida panhandle
"There are so many pockets, the memory becomes challenged to remember which I placed what in. And, since these pockets require more material, the weight is a little higher than advertising might lead one to expect. But they are made very well, though the sewn on tag was difficult to remove. The velcroix fasteners are excellent quality. Lastly, the price is a little high."
Review 6 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My new shorts,
May 29, 2015
By: marchbrownfly
from Bury
"My new shorts fit me perfectly I like the many pockets and look forward to wearing them on my holidays"
Review 7 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
14 pocket cargo shorts,
May 19, 2015
By: Dekinjack
from West Seneca, NY
"I am so pleased with these shorts. The fit is perfect and the material is very comfortable. I have always been pleased with Orvis. I highly recommend these shorts."
Review 8 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
superb,
April 28, 2015
By: Floabbo
from Blackpool
"Hubby loves them says they fit well and feel very comfortable. Will be getting some more."
Review 9 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
So glad I purchased them,
April 27, 2015
By: Floabbo
from Blackpool
"Bought shorts for hubby. Wow they look good on. He says they feel great. He's happy so am I."
Review 10 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Size too small,
April 13, 2015
By: 45888
from Decatur IL
"Does not fit to what size chart describes. At Keats 2 sizes too smal"
Review 11 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My go to shorts,
April 8, 2015
By: CJay
from Grafton, WV
"I love the consistency of fit throughout the entire Orvis product line ane these shorts were no exception. The fit was perfect for my lean build. The soft and broken in texture of the cloth is like slipping on your favorite blue jeans. You know, the ones everyone says you should throw away. I am really warm natured so I wore these shorts last weekend during some "wet wading" on a high mountain trout steam. The many convenient pockets held everyting that wasn't on my lanyard. These shorts dry quickly too. Yep, I got them wet to the crotch in one deep hole and it was very cold. Though it was a little early and really too cold for wet wading, I had a ball. Great multipurpose shorts!"
Review 12 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
best shorts ever owned,
April 8, 2015
By: dennis101042
from Ball Ground GA
"there are more pockets than I could ever fill on these shorts, the are very comfortable. just wish they had suspender buttons to hold them up they carry so much."
Review 13 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Form and function,
April 6, 2015
By: Iota
from Devon UK
"well Madeleine generous fit. a useful pair of shorts that also look smart"
Review 14 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Always the best,
March 27, 2015
By: Willyboy
from Ohio
"Orvis always has the best bush clothing. I miss the Zambezi line, but these shorts are quite nice."
Review 15 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Cargo Shorts,
March 12, 2015
By: josiPTC
from East Anglia
"Purchased for my husband for our Summer holidays. Not yet worn, but look to be really good quality product. Would be very happy to recommend just on looking at the product manufacture."
Review 16 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very comfortable!,
February 4, 2015
By: LaszloL
from Los Angeles
"These pants are very comfortable to wear. The color is very unique, the sewing is very well done - no cutting corners - and I love all the pockets."
Review 17 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I still haven't found all 14 pockets...,
December 21, 2014
By: clintond
from Birmingham
"...but then, I'm sure that they're there! Unbelievably comfortable, particularly in warmer climates, this is a "do everything" pair of shorts. Although I ordered a larger waist size that I normally wear, the snaps on each side made a good tightness, even without a belt. They make excellent travel shorts as well as lounging shorts. Highly recommended."
Review 18 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
November 17, 2014
By: Harry1357
"The best shorts i ever had. a little bit wide for my size but very comfortable and practical."
Review 19 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
shorts,
November 14, 2014
By: 54321abcd
from berks
"very good and practical shorts, they did loosen after wearing for a day ,luckily..but
...at first they felt too small!!
price a little high though.....
"
Review 20 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Superb shorts.,
November 14, 2014
By: Whisperer
from Essex UK
"Very pleased with soft but durable material. Very well made and an excellent fit.
Washes well and easy to iron.
Thigh is a little baggy for me but otherwise delighted.
Would buy again.
"