Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts

Soft, strong, and breathable, yet—at 6.2 oz.—one-third lighter than the weight of our chino fabric, Expedition 100% cotton poplin holds up to your outdoor adventures while keeping you cooler and more comfortable than any other lightweight shorts of their kind. 14 pockets keep just about all you need on hand for a day on the trail. Our men's lightweight cargo shorts feature elastic sides and adjustable straps for an extremely comfortable fit. Pleat front. Pure cotton. Washable. Imported. Even waist sizes: 30-46; inseam 8".
Average Customer Rating:
4.281 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (121 reviews)
5 stars
66
4 stars
37
3 stars
9
2 stars
4
1 star
5
108 of 121(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Review 1 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Icky Color,
August 11, 2014
By: nicknamer
from Ossining, NY
"Quality of product is good,as usual, however color , supposedly olive, is more brown than olive. I would not have purchased this color in store.
Shipping method (UPS handing off to USPS) is not very efficient. Takes a day longer to arrive.
"
Review 2 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding shorts,
August 10, 2014
By: Ddotte
from Mandeville LA
"Outstanding shorts; comfortable; heavy fabric is good for wear all year"
Review 3 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Shorts,
August 5, 2014
By: 9999
from Columbus, Ohio
"This is the 5th pair of shorts I have ordered from Orvis and the 2nd pair of the same style. I wear these all summer long and need multiple pairs. They wear like iron and are stylish. I am stopped many times by both men and women asking where I got them. So obviously I have recommended Orvis many time."
Review 4 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Long-life fishing shorts,
August 4, 2014
By: Modon
from Liberty, MO
"I've been wearing 2 pair of these 14-pocket shorts for more than 30 years on fly fishing trips all over the West. I even wear just the shorts instead of waders in hot summer months in Idaho & Montana. But they finally wore out. I'm so happy that Orvis still offers these because I've replaced the original 2 pairs with identical new ones. They still offer the same quality & comfort as the originals. Thank you Orvis. Not everyone offers the same quality gear over this many years."
Review 5 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Poplin Cargo Shorts,
July 30, 2014
By: colusmcret
from Bend, Oregon
"Really great summer wear -- light-weight, comfortable fit with adjustable waist, almost too many pockets! I have four pair and love them!"
Review 6 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great shorts,
July 23, 2014
By: Jmin2000
from Nashville, TN
"….and the olive color is more brown than green. I kept them because the fit so well. I bought the natural color too."
Review 7 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best shorts ever,
July 21, 2014
By: Blutick1
"Love these shorts. Only drawback is remembering which pocket holds what."
Review 8 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Hiking Shorts,
July 16, 2014
By: SFMedic764
from Tampa, FL
"Best shorts I own for hiking. Sized true. Extremely comfortable with plenty of pockets for storage. Finishes well in the laundry."
Review 9 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Functional,
July 15, 2014
By: georgepollard
from Natick, Ma.
"As usual when I buy a product from you guys I've found them to be of the best quality and I always get a lot of positive feedback from family and friends."
Review 10 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great shorts,
July 15, 2014
By: Corgidogowner
from Montville, NJ
"Use them when I walk my dog. Pockets allow plenty of room to carry stuff. These are lighter than an older pair which is great for summer."
Review 11 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
July 12, 2014
By: heythatsmine
"I am going to order another pair of these shorts. However, I would prefer a nylon coil YKK zipper. No real problem since I can apply bees wax over the metal teeth after laundering."
Review 12 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Lots of Pockets,
July 8, 2014
By: CBART
"My husband has three pair of these shorts. He wears them everyday for golfing--a place for balls, tees, scorecard, phone, wallet, etc. He loves them."
Review 13 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Close to perfection,
June 25, 2014
By: Kneatles
"My husband has test driven many brands of cargo pants in his pursuit of finding the perfect pair. I finally scored a win when I found these. Just moments after slipping on the shorts my husband declared them the winner so I quickly placed an order for a second pair. He couldn't be happier."
Review 14 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Shorts,
June 16, 2014
By: Ebank
from Fl
"Fits great. Look good. Pockets for every need. Great for summer weather."
Review 15 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best shorts available,
June 13, 2014
By: sgm105
from on-line
"These shorts have everything one could want in shorts. They launder well and require little ironing. All the pockets carry so much, they would probably weigh you down."
Review 16 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Purchase,
May 29, 2014
By: KentJackman
"These are my 4th and 5th pair of these shorts. Very comfortable, practical."
Review 17 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
No Regrets Purchase,
May 28, 2014
By: Teakwinters
from Syracuse NY.
"These shorts have been fantastic. My family and I went on a trip to Boston. I wore those shorts almost every day because they were so comfortable and sharp looking. I got a compliment every time I wore them. Plus I had plenty of pockets to put my phone , change , and bus tokens in. Great shorts! Sincerely An anonymous walker. : )"
Review 18 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MY NEW FAVORITE,
May 28, 2014
By: DOWDY
from GEORGETOWN, TEXAS
"After the first wearing of my Orvis Expedition cargo shorts, they are my new favorite. They are adjustable to achieve a "just right" fit in my waist and they have more than enough pockets for my "stuff". I will be cool and comfortable this summer, because I have asked for another pair for Father's Day."
Review 19 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sizes,
May 20, 2014
By: Mike98
from Seattle,WA
"I used the chat room function to ask about the sizing on the adjustable waist. I was told a 34 actually measured 35. Well, it does, on the maximum adjustment. So, I returned the 34 for a 36, which sizes down to my 35, and allows for shrinkage or a heavier shirt tucked in. Nicely made, great product, once you get the right size."
Review 20 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Shorts Ever,
May 19, 2014
By: Skiw
from Seabrook, Texas
"Ordered thses and they were really terrific. Frir=ends have asked where to get them. They fit and feel great and stood up to a long day of boating"