Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts

Soft, strong, and breathable, yet—at 6.2 oz.—one-third lighter than the weight of our chino fabric, Expedition 100% cotton poplin holds up to your outdoor adventures while keeping you cooler and more comfortable than any other lightweight shorts of their kind. 14 pockets keep just about all you need on hand for a day on the trail. Our men's lightweight cargo shorts feature elastic sides and adjustable straps for an extremely comfortable fit. Pleat front. Pure cotton. Washable. Imported. Even waist sizes: 30-46; inseam 8".
Average Customer Rating:
4.267 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (116 reviews)
5 stars
62
4 stars
37
3 stars
8
2 stars
4
1 star
5
103 of 116(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Review 1 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great shorts,
July 23, 2014
By: Jmin2000
from Nashville, TN
"….and the olive color is more brown than green. I kept them because the fit so well. I bought the natural color too."
Review 2 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best shorts ever,
July 21, 2014
By: Blutick1
"Love these shorts. Only drawback is remembering which pocket holds what."
Review 3 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Hiking Shorts,
July 16, 2014
By: SFMedic764
from Tampa, FL
"Best shorts I own for hiking. Sized true. Extremely comfortable with plenty of pockets for storage. Finishes well in the laundry."
Review 4 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Functional,
July 15, 2014
By: georgepollard
from Natick, Ma.
"As usual when I buy a product from you guys I've found them to be of the best quality and I always get a lot of positive feedback from family and friends."
Review 5 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great shorts,
July 15, 2014
By: Corgidogowner
from Montville, NJ
"Use them when I walk my dog. Pockets allow plenty of room to carry stuff. These are lighter than an older pair which is great for summer."
Review 6 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
July 12, 2014
By: heythatsmine
"I am going to order another pair of these shorts. However, I would prefer a nylon coil YKK zipper. No real problem since I can apply bees wax over the metal teeth after laundering."
Review 7 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Lots of Pockets,
July 8, 2014
By: CBART
"My husband has three pair of these shorts. He wears them everyday for golfing--a place for balls, tees, scorecard, phone, wallet, etc. He loves them."
Review 8 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Close to perfection,
June 25, 2014
By: Kneatles
"My husband has test driven many brands of cargo pants in his pursuit of finding the perfect pair. I finally scored a win when I found these. Just moments after slipping on the shorts my husband declared them the winner so I quickly placed an order for a second pair. He couldn't be happier."
Review 9 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Shorts,
June 16, 2014
By: Ebank
from Fl
"Fits great. Look good. Pockets for every need. Great for summer weather."
Review 10 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best shorts available,
June 13, 2014
By: sgm105
from on-line
"These shorts have everything one could want in shorts. They launder well and require little ironing. All the pockets carry so much, they would probably weigh you down."
Review 11 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Purchase,
May 29, 2014
By: KentJackman
"These are my 4th and 5th pair of these shorts. Very comfortable, practical."
Review 12 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
No Regrets Purchase,
May 28, 2014
By: Teakwinters
from Syracuse NY.
"These shorts have been fantastic. My family and I went on a trip to Boston. I wore those shorts almost every day because they were so comfortable and sharp looking. I got a compliment every time I wore them. Plus I had plenty of pockets to put my phone , change , and bus tokens in. Great shorts! Sincerely An anonymous walker. : )"
Review 13 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MY NEW FAVORITE,
May 28, 2014
By: DOWDY
from GEORGETOWN, TEXAS
"After the first wearing of my Orvis Expedition cargo shorts, they are my new favorite. They are adjustable to achieve a "just right" fit in my waist and they have more than enough pockets for my "stuff". I will be cool and comfortable this summer, because I have asked for another pair for Father's Day."
Review 14 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sizes,
May 20, 2014
By: Mike98
from Seattle,WA
"I used the chat room function to ask about the sizing on the adjustable waist. I was told a 34 actually measured 35. Well, it does, on the maximum adjustment. So, I returned the 34 for a 36, which sizes down to my 35, and allows for shrinkage or a heavier shirt tucked in. Nicely made, great product, once you get the right size."
Review 15 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Shorts Ever,
May 19, 2014
By: Skiw
from Seabrook, Texas
"Ordered thses and they were really terrific. Frir=ends have asked where to get them. They fit and feel great and stood up to a long day of boating"
Review 16 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lots of Pockets,
May 16, 2014
By: carlswife
from Hertford, NC
"Love these shorts. I going to order another pair in another color."
Review 17 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great short,
May 5, 2014
By: RobAsh
"Shorts are great as far as pockets and comfort go. Legs are a little too generous, though."
Review 18 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Shorts,
May 2, 2014
By: Heffe
from Northern CA
"Well made, good fitting shorts with lots of pockets. Have 4 pairs, just bought two more, and they will not wear out."
Review 19 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great shorts,
May 1, 2014
By: BDP65
from MA
"Was pleasantly surprised by the heft and quality of construction of these shorts. I've many similar shorts which rip, tear, or otherwise get damaged when snagged on bushes, gear, etc.. We'll see how they hold up in the coming year, but initial impressions are very positive."
Review 20 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great everyday short,
April 7, 2014
By: HomeRun
from Retired & Happy in Colorado & Arizona
"Good fit. Nice and roomy with plenty of pockets for all the extra golf balls needed because of my impossible to fix slice."