Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts

Soft, strong, and breathable, yet—at 6.2 oz.—one-third lighter than the weight of our chino fabric, Expedition 100% cotton poplin holds up to your outdoor adventures while keeping you cooler and more comfortable than any other lightweight shorts of their kind. 14 pockets keep just about all you need on hand for a day on the trail. Our men's lightweight cargo shorts feature elastic sides and adjustable straps for an extremely comfortable fit. Pleat front. Pure cotton. Washable. Imported. Even waist sizes: 30-46; inseam 8".
Average Customer Rating:
4.324 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (145 reviews)
5 stars
83
4 stars
42
3 stars
10
2 stars
4
1 star
6
131 of 145(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Review 1 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Size too small,
April 13, 2015
By: 45888
from Decatur IL
"Does not fit to what size chart describes. At Keats 2 sizes too smal"
Review 2 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My go to shorts,
April 8, 2015
By: CJay
from Grafton, WV
"I love the consistency of fit throughout the entire Orvis product line ane these shorts were no exception. The fit was perfect for my lean build. The soft and broken in texture of the cloth is like slipping on your favorite blue jeans. You know, the ones everyone says you should throw away. I am really warm natured so I wore these shorts last weekend during some "wet wading" on a high mountain trout steam. The many convenient pockets held everyting that wasn't on my lanyard. These shorts dry quickly too. Yep, I got them wet to the crotch in one deep hole and it was very cold. Though it was a little early and really too cold for wet wading, I had a ball. Great multipurpose shorts!"
Review 3 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
best shorts ever owned,
April 8, 2015
By: dennis101042
from Ball Ground GA
"there are more pockets than I could ever fill on these shorts, the are very comfortable. just wish they had suspender buttons to hold them up they carry so much."
Review 4 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Form and function,
April 6, 2015
By: Iota
from Devon UK
"well Madeleine generous fit. a useful pair of shorts that also look smart"
Review 5 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Always the best,
March 27, 2015
By: Willyboy
from Ohio
"Orvis always has the best bush clothing. I miss the Zambezi line, but these shorts are quite nice."
Review 6 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Cargo Shorts,
March 12, 2015
By: josiPTC
from East Anglia
"Purchased for my husband for our Summer holidays. Not yet worn, but look to be really good quality product. Would be very happy to recommend just on looking at the product manufacture."
Review 7 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very comfortable!,
February 4, 2015
By: LaszloL
from Los Angeles
"These pants are very comfortable to wear. The color is very unique, the sewing is very well done - no cutting corners - and I love all the pockets."
Review 8 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I still haven't found all 14 pockets...,
December 21, 2014
By: clintond
from Birmingham
"...but then, I'm sure that they're there! Unbelievably comfortable, particularly in warmer climates, this is a "do everything" pair of shorts. Although I ordered a larger waist size that I normally wear, the snaps on each side made a good tightness, even without a belt. They make excellent travel shorts as well as lounging shorts. Highly recommended."
Review 9 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
November 17, 2014
By: Harry1357
"The best shorts i ever had. a little bit wide for my size but very comfortable and practical."
Review 10 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
shorts,
November 14, 2014
By: 54321abcd
from berks
"very good and practical shorts, they did loosen after wearing for a day ,luckily..but
...at first they felt too small!!
price a little high though.....
"
Review 11 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Superb shorts.,
November 14, 2014
By: Whisperer
from Essex UK
"Very pleased with soft but durable material. Very well made and an excellent fit.
Washes well and easy to iron.
Thigh is a little baggy for me but otherwise delighted.
Would buy again.
"
Review 12 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very good shorts !,
November 13, 2014
By: 4950
from UK
"They're not the cheapest but they are definitely the best I've worn by a long way"
Review 13 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Expedition Shorts,
October 13, 2014
By: Strongman46
from Carbondale, IL
"These shorts are well constructed. I wore them while touring the Gettysburg battlefield and appreciated the capacity afforded by the many pockets. They are a bit overpriced and the shipping is outrageously high but, what the hey, the tag says Orvis!"
Review 14 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A lot of pockets,
October 11, 2014
By: Valuefordollar
from Bevercreek, Ohio
"There are so many pockets that I forget which pocket I put things. One of my snaps broke and had the shorts replaced without problems."
Review 15 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great hiking and camping shorts,
September 17, 2014
By: ArtieMcFly
from Bainbridge Island, Washngton
"The best comfort waist cargo shorts I was able to find on the internet. I have never been disappointed with anything I have purchased from Orvis and these shorts were no exception, Lots of storage pockets and extremely comfortable, These shorts look good on any trail you want to take. Five stars!
Black Bart of Bainbridge Island
"
Review 16 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great shorts,
September 12, 2014
By: Beef48
from Columbus, Indiana
"I love these shorts! Bought 1 pair to try, then ordered another. Loved them last year so bought 2 more this summer. I also have 2 pair on back order. Enough said? Love them"
Review 17 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best "shorts ever".,
September 9, 2014
By: wsv1
from Scottsdale AZ
"Quality product, Well made. Seams perfectly sewn. Zipper works. Inside waist button sewn on really strong. Pocket velcro strong-almost can't open. Belt loops allow for many belt options.
Bring back the leather trimmed design."
Review 18 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
4th pair bought,
September 8, 2014
By: auntiem1
from knoxville,tn
"My husband is sometimes hard to fit in pants or shorts but these are great. He was wearing them all the time so I had to order more so I wouldn't have to was every other day"
Review 19 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love these shorts,
September 6, 2014
By: GSOLE69
from Littleton, CO
"I've owned the 14-pocks Expedition Cargo Shorts for a number of years. Due to weight loss, I had to replace them with this pair. These are my favorites, comfortable and great for someone that carry's both work and personal iPhones. They are durable and show no wear over the years."
Review 20 for 14-Pocket Expedition Poplin Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My Oldest & Best Friends,
September 2, 2014
By: Mike33
from Bingham Farms, MI
"Orvis' Cargo Shorts are my oldest
and most regular friends. I am now into my fourth pair, and the strong
yet playable cotton makes them feel
as though I have always worn them
and that they are a great comfort to me. I feel the same way about the
8 1/2" Gokey hunting boots I bought
from Orvis several years ago. MK
"