Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Fold-Over Fleece Gloves

These convertible gloves will keep your hands warm without sacrificing dexterity. We matched windproof, three-layer poly fleece on the back with an anti-pilling, double-layer poly fleece on the palm to create a convertible glove that keeps your hands warm when you need it, and provides unimpeded access to your fingers when working with small flies or fine leader. Gloves have a trim, comfortable fit. Embossed polyurethane palm for sure grip. Convertible gloves available in black. Polyester. Imported.Convertible glove sizes: S, M, L, XL.
Average Customer Rating:
4.438 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (32 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
5
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
0
28 of 32(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Fold-Over Fleece Gloves
Review 1 for Fold-Over Fleece Gloves
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Disappointed in quality,
December 7, 2014
By: DMH0218
from Cleveland, OH
"I recently purchased the Fold-Over Fleece Gloves and I am really disappointed in the quality. After one wearing, the stitching on the seam began to unravel on the fold-over piece of the gloves attaching it to the glove and was hanging by a few stitches which I will have to re-sew to prevent further unravelling or losing this piece all together. The idea of this particular style of glove is a great idea but it is a shame the quality leaves much to be desired. We are loyal customers of Orvis and have always enjoyed the quality of items we have purchased for a long time; but I cannot say the same for the gloves"
Review 2 for Fold-Over Fleece Gloves
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect gloves,
November 21, 2014
By: Cyclemartin
from Bristol
"I use these gloves for recording cycle routes in all weathers. The mitts allow me to use my fingers to record data on a handheld computer before popping the cover back on to keep them warm. A perfect solution. Waterproof and windproof."
Review 3 for Fold-Over Fleece Gloves
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great gloves,
January 16, 2014
By: snarf18
"I bought these fingerless gloves (without the foldover) as a gift for my boyfriend and he really likes them. They are very warm and fit well. He told me that he usually wears a size large but for some reason I ordered the extra large and as it turned out they fit perfectly."
Review 4 for Fold-Over Fleece Gloves
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fold over fleece gloves,
December 17, 2013
By: invisable999
from yorkshire GB
"Cold weather fishing, your hands are exposed to cold air so when I had chance to try on these Orvis fold over fleece gloves I was impressed with the thought fit to put into the design. which work efficiently, with out spoiling the fishing experience."
Review 5 for Fold-Over Fleece Gloves
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Does not dry well,
November 20, 2013
By: Boloni
"The wool gloves I bought from Orvis which were great shrunk so I looked for a new pair of gloves. Finger cut gloves so I can use them for fly fishing. I bought these because they had the mitten cover as well and thought they would perform well in the cold. These were nowhere near as good as the Orvis lambswool gloves. I fished in 30 degree weather and it worked fine, until I dipped my fingers in water. It was so cold! Felt like I almost got frost bitten that morning. Even with the mitten pull over on, it was reallly cold!!! Anyways, I returned them. I love fishing all through winter so these did not work well for me since I get my hands wet often, but who doesn't get their hands wet if they are fly fishing??? I'm sticking with the wool going forward."
Review 6 for Fold-Over Fleece Gloves
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great fishing gloves,
November 11, 2013
By: willowkid
from Carmel, NY
"These are actually a replacement for a pair I bought years ago. I like these gloves because they are light weight enough to not bind my fingers when tying on small flies but they are warm enough to use except on the coldest days.
They are a great buy and very functional."
Review 7 for Fold-Over Fleece Gloves
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great cold weather fishing glove,
November 1, 2013
By: Lunkers
from Bend, Oregon
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I used these gloves while fishing the Madison this fall in Yellowstone, they kept my hands warm during the very cold morning hours of fishing, great being able to fold the finger covers back. The only problem I had was the material on the palms would not grip fish, I had to take them off every time I landed one or it would slide out of my hands."
Review 8 for Fold-Over Fleece Gloves
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Good fingerless gloves,
February 20, 2013
By: Imago
from North Yorkshire, UK
"I've got 2 pairs of these now and find them excellent for winter grayling fishing. They keep you reasonably warm even when wet and also dry out quickly. Without the fingers they retain the mobility in the fingers that you need. There are a lot of similar gloves around made from the same material - thinsulate - but I find these are a better fit and thicker. The only negative is that they are very expensive compared with similar models elsewhere. But in the end I feel their quality is worth it."
Review 9 for Fold-Over Fleece Gloves
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Winter fishing easier,
January 31, 2013
By: Socrat
from SW VA
"The gloves are warm and comfortable. I haven't gotten them wet yet, which is the only reason I hesitate in giving them a five."
Review 10 for Fold-Over Fleece Gloves
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great fingerless fleece gloves,
January 3, 2013
By: connorquinn
from wilsonville, or
"i love these gloves to use around the barn!! my hands stay warm yet i don't have to take them off to tack up a horse!! the competition no longer makes fingerless gloves so i had to look around when someone suggested orvis and look under the gloves for fishing"
Review 11 for Fold-Over Fleece Gloves
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Guide Rcommended,
December 30, 2012
By: Marknews
from Bangor, Maine
"Casting on Maine's big rivers in early spring and late fall, the wind bites wet fingers and exposed hands. Coming off the water one blustery October evening, I asked a guide what he wears to keep his hands warm, and he held up his pair of Orvis fleece gloves. My own pair arrived today, and I'm impressed by the comfort, and the supple palm designed to grip as it repels water and keeps you warm. Efficient and thoughtful."
Review 12 for Fold-Over Fleece Gloves
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Fly Fishing Gloves Ever,
November 20, 2012
By: Aggie44
"Awesome fly fishing gloves for the winter. Have the option for mittens if I get really cold. Lots of flexibility, easy tying flies etc. Great pair to have for the fall/winter season."
Review 13 for Fold-Over Fleece Gloves
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warm and effective,
August 26, 2012
By: Pagan
from Cardiff
"Purchased for a holiday in Svalbard, they were up to the job. Great for easy use of camera and binoculars, and quick drying too."
Review 14 for Fold-Over Fleece Gloves
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
A bit,
June 11, 2012
By: FlyFisherMike
"These arn't a bad pair of gloves, however, I wouldn't go as far as to call them a good pair of gloves either. The removable finger tip covers are somewhat cumbersome and poorly stitched and the general feel of the glove is that i'd be lucky if they lasted one season. I do agree on the gloves being warm."
Review 15 for Fold-Over Fleece Gloves
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Foldover part of glove not so warm,
June 10, 2012
By: Reviewer2
"The gloves didn't fit that well - felt a bit baggy - although it could have been that a Small would have done in this case rather than my usual Medium. However I would say that the 'foldover' portion of the gloves isn't as warm and windproof as the main part of the glove, so fingers still get a bit cold. I was wearing them on a boat off Greenland though - perhaps they're OK for fishing in Britain."
Review 16 for Fold-Over Fleece Gloves
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
the closest thing so far,
May 28, 2012
By: hotfoot
from Galway, Ireland
"These gloves are the warmest and the best I have found so far to use while fishing on cold days. The velcro to keep the finger tips open is most valuable."
Review 17 for Fold-Over Fleece Gloves
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cold Weather Comfort,
January 12, 2012
By: 4TroutOhio
from Ohio
"I used these gloves fishing for Ohio Steelhed and found them to be very warm and comfortable. They are warmer than other mits of this style. It takes a bit of getting used to but the extra warmpth is worth the effort."
Review 18 for Fold-Over Fleece Gloves
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Gloves,
December 31, 2011
By: KathieG
from Northern Virginia
"Bought a pair for my son and husband since they do a lot of work in a unheated garage and outside. My son liked them so much he wore them inside too!"
Review 19 for Fold-Over Fleece Gloves
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
2nd pair,
December 29, 2011
By: Rugby10
from Upstate NY
"I purchased these to replace a previous pair that I had lost. These do the job just as well as some other brands that cost almost twice as much. Wearing them primarily for Steelheading and they are warm, comfortable, and dry quickly if you get them wet."
Review 20 for Fold-Over Fleece Gloves
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Clumsy,
December 29, 2011
By: bwonymph
"Hinged finger cover gets in the way of line management. Gloves were warm and comfortable - but would do away with the "mitten look"."