Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Mountain River Guide Lanyard

An ergonomic fishing neck lanyard crafted in the USA. THE GUIDE: Adjustable foam neck strap with break away feature for safety. Tubular foam fly patch on both left and right side. Bottom clip to secure to shirt to prevent lanyard swing. Horizontal tippet carrier, floatant caddy, fly drying chamois, four accessory snaps for your tools.Lanyard may come in blue or natural beads. Fully-loaded comes with Hy-Flote gel floatant, 4x, 5x, 6x Super Strong Tippet, mini nipper, micro scissor forceps, fly box. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.753 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (97 reviews)
5 stars
82
4 stars
10
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
2
95 of 97(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Mountain River Guide Lanyard
Review 1 for Mountain River Guide Lanyard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great addition for fly fishing,
May 21, 2015
By: Larry42
from Evans, GA
"No more heavy chest pack or vest. This works great !"
Review 2 for Mountain River Guide Lanyard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Simplicity,
April 6, 2015
By: dgr14
from Georgia
"At my age I seem to be trying to simplify my life. The Orvis Mountain River Guide Lanyard is just the ticket for my desire. Everything one needs and light. A simple idea worth trying."
Review 3 for Mountain River Guide Lanyard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome,
March 3, 2015
By: Flatsbrats66
from Westminster, Ma
"I just purchased the loaded Mountain river guide lanyard, I've only used it once and I have to say it's awesome. I usually wear a fishing vest with to many fly boxes and tools that just weigh me down. With this lanyard I can put a few of my favorite flies in the convient fly box attached to the lanyard and all the tools I need to fish with are right there. It's light weight and right there so your not going through your pockets looking for items and dropping stuff on the ground. I should of bought this lanyard years ago."
Review 4 for Mountain River Guide Lanyard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quick and Slick,
February 9, 2015
By: TEBIII
from Alabama
"Especially for a quick trip to the stream or for waters you know. A lot quicker and easier to manage than carrying gear bags full of reels, tools, tippets, leaders. Superb item for a few-hour jaunt to the river; minimalist in concept, efficient in use, this lanyard organizes exactly what's needed; no excesses, nothing extra or big to slow you down. I carry mine in the back seat pocket of my vehicle; and with a 4 piece travel rod packed along side, what I need is at hand and takes up no space. I joint the rod, slip the lanyard over my head and I'm in the water.
I used to think I needed "all my stuff" every time I had a few hours to spend exploring a new spot. Not any more!"
Review 5 for Mountain River Guide Lanyard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lanyard,
January 27, 2015
By: Chad50
from Marble Falls, Tx
"A great compliment to my new vest, exactly what I wanted."
Review 6 for Mountain River Guide Lanyard
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Product,
January 6, 2015
By: WYflyfishing2015
from Wyoming
"I bought this product fully-loaded and was impressed with the quality of its craftmanship. It will allow for a quick and easy way to get out on the water without bringing all of your supplies for a short trip."
Review 7 for Mountain River Guide Lanyard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Piece of Kit,
December 29, 2014
By: welshflyfisherman
from Undy, Wales
"Having seen the River Guide lanyard around the neck of a guide I knew I had to have one. Add a few zingers to allow connection of a longer set of forceps and a fly box to take a select few larger/heavier flies (the one that comes with the product can only take smaller flies) and you have everything you could need for a day's fishing. Highly recommended"
Review 8 for Mountain River Guide Lanyard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Less is More!,
December 23, 2014
By: dlaurend
"I bought the fully loaded Lanyard. It's the simplicity that makes it shine. Lightweight but extremely functional for a morning (or all day) on the river. I particularly like being able to clip it to my waders so it doesn't swing. Nice work Orvis!"
Review 9 for Mountain River Guide Lanyard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mountain River Guide Lanyard,
December 15, 2014
By: WBDB
"I purchased this as a gift for my husband and he loves it."
Review 10 for Mountain River Guide Lanyard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Has everything I need,
December 14, 2014
By: Troutfinder1
from Argyle, TX, USA
"This lanyard is very nice and has everything I need on a small stream at my fingertips. Very good value with the quality that you expect from an Orvis product."
Review 11 for Mountain River Guide Lanyard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great gift,
December 13, 2014
By: Mekback
from New Jersey
"I had no idea what to get my adult son for Christmas. My daughter-in-law suggested this item. I arrived quickly and looks great. I don't know about these things, but I seems to have everything that my son will need."
Review 12 for Mountain River Guide Lanyard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice Gift,
December 9, 2014
By: jdavidson3115
from Texas
"I bought this as a gift for my father and was pleasantly surprised when it arrived in the mail. It is more durable than what I expected from looking at the picture. I think he is really going to be pleased."
Review 13 for Mountain River Guide Lanyard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect Christmas Present,
December 4, 2014
By: Present
from Denver, CO
"My son is an expert fly fisherman so I bought this for his Christmas present."
Review 14 for Mountain River Guide Lanyard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Doesn't Get Better!,
November 5, 2014
By: DavidKY2R
from central New Jersey
"Michael's, my son-in-law, birthday. Wrapping paper gently removed, slow recognition and a big smile: "It's loaded!"
Outstanding gift, Orvis."
Review 15 for Mountain River Guide Lanyard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great lanyard!!,
October 15, 2014
By: jimdandy
"A friend of mine had this lanyard and after seeing how convenient and complete it was, I had to buy one. The main thing I like is that you can carry everything you need for a short fishing venture on your lanyard.
Great purchase!!!!
"
Review 16 for Mountain River Guide Lanyard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great equipment for pick up and GO,
September 28, 2014
By: Jimtoo
from Colorado
"I thoroughly enjoy being able to grab my lanyard and pole and head to the Platte or the Arkansas for one our two hours of quick fishing. No fuss no muss it is all with me."
Review 17 for Mountain River Guide Lanyard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great gift!,
September 24, 2014
By: Steelheadhusband
from Pittsburgh, PA
"I purchased this for my husband and he was very pleased with all the items that were preloaded. It made a really nice gift."
Review 18 for Mountain River Guide Lanyard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Minimal but powerful,
September 7, 2014
By: msk21
"Has everything you need in a great design. Love the fact there is no bulk. I added some zingers for some small tools and works like a charm. I keep wanting to buy a sling pack, but this keeps holding me back."
Review 19 for Mountain River Guide Lanyard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Handy,
August 29, 2014
By: guppygrabber
from OKC, OK
"All your basics at hand. Even if you have a vest or pack these essentials are in front of you in a lightweight package that does not get in the way, and if you forget something you can add it."
Review 20 for Mountain River Guide Lanyard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very pleased,
August 25, 2014
By: Waggyj
"Impressed with the quality and functionality of this product"