Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Mountain River Guide Lanyard

An ergonomic fishing neck lanyard crafted in the USA. THE GUIDE: Adjustable foam neck strap with break away feature for safety. Tubular foam fly patch on both left and right side. Bottom clip to secure to shirt to prevent lanyard swing. Horizontal tippet carrier, floatant caddy, fly drying chamois, four accessory snaps for your tools.Lanyard may come in black, blue, green, or natural beads. Fully-loaded comes with Hy-Flote gel floatant, 4x, 5x, 6x Super Strong Tippet, mini nipper, micro scissor forceps, fly box. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.672 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (61 reviews)
5 stars
49
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
2
59 of 61(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Mountain River Guide Lanyard
Review 1 for Mountain River Guide Lanyard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
WAITING FOR WARMER WEATHER,
April 9, 2014
By: UDONTWANTME
from Mahopac Falls, N.Y.
"Even though I have not used this item "a-stream", just putting it on, as if I were stream side, in a warmer clime, it feels the part. Each piece of gear I have installed on the lanyard is in the right-east-to-reach place, and out of my way while making those carefully placed casts. A home run for this happy angler, as Spring is just a short "cast" away."
Review 2 for Mountain River Guide Lanyard
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Packable tackle solution,
February 3, 2014
By: SeirraDreamin
from San Francisco, CA
"Nice product, good for a backpacking flyfisherman. The only gripe is the floatant holder is connected to the lanyard by a small strap that is attached to the holder by a few flimsy stiches. It pulled right off upon trying to remove the container of floatant. Easy enough to fix but for that price a detail like that should not be overlooked. Otherwise a great product."
Review 3 for Mountain River Guide Lanyard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Vest Around Your Neck,
January 20, 2014
By: Dondo
from Hailey, Idaho
"I live within 3-5 minutes of the Big Wood River in Central Idaho. As such I do a lot of spur of the minute visits to my favorite fishing spot. I keep the lanyard equipped specifically for this river so when the urge strikes, I grab my rod, sling the lanyard around my neck and am on the river in minutes. No hassel with a vest and having to sort through the pockets.
Great piece of fishing equipment.
"
Review 4 for Mountain River Guide Lanyard
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Not exactly as shown,
January 20, 2014
By: GirPat
from Girard, PA
"Overall I,m pleased with the lanyard, but I was looking forward to the smaller snips and a green fly box. I guess you tend to get what they have available in stock."
Review 5 for Mountain River Guide Lanyard
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
poor quality,
January 13, 2014
By: chjacobs
"I used this lanyard for about four outings. I attrached my favorite fishing tool to one of the hooks, an Abel Perfect toll, which is no longer made. The lanyard broke without any presuure being applied, so I did not know, and lost all of my attachments including my tool. When I looked at the monufilament line that the beads were strung on, it was old and rotted! I am wishing my tools were still on the shoestring that I used before buying this lanyard."
Review 6 for Mountain River Guide Lanyard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fly fishing wonder,
December 28, 2013
By: MNOutdoorGal
from Twin Cities, MN
"This is the best setup for fly fishing without the bulk of a loaded down vest or pack. Everything you need is hung from the lanyard. The best part of this particular item from Orvis is it can be purchased fully loaded so you don't have to sort around to find all the gadgets needed for your day on the water. Great present for my husband who couldn't find anything in his vest prior to this gift."
Review 7 for Mountain River Guide Lanyard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
More Minimalism,
December 27, 2013
By: Otch
from Grosse Pointe Farms, Michigan
"If you think less is more, like I do, you will love using this lanyard. Allows you to keep everything you need at your fingertips."
Review 8 for Mountain River Guide Lanyard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
an extra hand,
December 24, 2013
By: battler
from Manchester United Kingdom
"when you are waist deep in a trout stream, rod in hand , net on your back and wading stick in p0lay having all the essential small items, flies tippet, snips , floatant accessible and readily deployable is worth an extra hand"
Review 9 for Mountain River Guide Lanyard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
excellant,
December 23, 2013
By: FishingRanger
from Huntington Beach
"Can't wait for fishing season to open to give it a try."
Review 10 for Mountain River Guide Lanyard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Quality,
December 18, 2013
By: Biggrandma
from Fort Lauderdale, FL
"This was a gift to my husband who is new to fly fishing. He very much liked the lanyard and its accompanying accessories."
Review 11 for Mountain River Guide Lanyard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lots of features for the price,
December 16, 2013
By: BCMO
"Haven't had it on the stream yet, but overall I'm very impressed with the Mountain River Guide Lanyard - especially that it comes with the tippet holder at the price! Looking forward to giving it a run soon."
Review 12 for Mountain River Guide Lanyard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product,
December 14, 2013
By: jafb
"I bought this as a gift for the fisherman in my life. The lanyard comes with all the things he needs so they are right at hand. The lanyard is adjustable and very functional. Seemingly a luxury, but a very high quality one!"
Review 13 for Mountain River Guide Lanyard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A great product,
November 4, 2013
By: Rookhawk
from Chicago, IL
"I love this product. Just grab and go with your tackle all in one spot around your neck! Probably the best accessory Orvis has ever made."
Review 14 for Mountain River Guide Lanyard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
September 27, 2013
By: chezhoy
from Hanscom AFB, MA
"Getting into fly fishing later in life and wanted an all-inclusive product and this definitely fits the bill."
Review 15 for Mountain River Guide Lanyard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It's all right there,
September 15, 2013
By: 101Fisher
from Worcester, MA
"I bought the loaded lanyard and couldn't be happier. Nearly everything you need to swap flies is here, including a compact fly box.
My sling pack is now free to carry my lunch and a bottle of water."
Review 16 for Mountain River Guide Lanyard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
better than Ithought,
September 10, 2013
By: pontpil
from south yorkshire.
"been thinking of buying this product for some time,visited a orvis store, still resisted.returned home.behold £25 pound voucher on line.it was my birthday that day too.could't resist any longer.glad i did't."
Review 17 for Mountain River Guide Lanyard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Fishing Lanyard,
August 6, 2013
By: FarandFine
from Alexandria, VA
"I purchased the “unloaded” Mountain River Guide lanyard and equipped it myself for UL spin and pan fish fly fishing. This lanyard has been up to the task and frankly has caused me to stop using a vest for day trips to my local ponds and streams. The lanyard features quality construction, convenient gear attach points, adjustable length, a safety break-away feature and a comfortable behind the neck cushion. The foam side pieces hold a bunch of flies at the ready, and the spring clip secures the lower portion of the lanyard to your shirt or jacket to minimize movement and shifting. Strategically placing your gear on the lanyard can also reduce noise when moving about. Excellent USA-made product."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Mountain River Guide Lanyard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Could have saved a lot of money!,
May 16, 2013
By: Neanderthal
from Puyallup, WA
"I bought the fully loaded lanyard so I wouldn't have to keep switching my gear around and I absolutely love the thing. It caries almost everything I need for a day onthe river. I liked it so much I have bought and gifted five more. Everyone I have given one to uses them instead of a vest...I could have saved everyone a lot of money!"
Review 19 for Mountain River Guide Lanyard
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great for quick trips!,
April 22, 2013
By: LukeM
from New Orleans, LA
"I just ordered the fully loaded lanyard and really like it. I tend to do a lot of quick fishing trips when I'm out running errands or for a quick lunch break.
I wound up getting a few different tippet materials and a large version of the fly box that came with it (found on another website.) The one that came with it is fine but I like to carry some poppers with me so the larger version works better for me. I just sat down and tied up a few of the flies I normally use to stock the box up.
It doesn't come with the min-nippers anymore but come with a metal set of nippers which I'm fine with.
So this lanyard has found a home in my truck where I know I can grab it and a rod and head out for a few minutes and not be lugging around a bunch of gear."
Review 20 for Mountain River Guide Lanyard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
All you need,
April 21, 2013
By: Gentleman
from Lower Gwynedd, PA
"We picked one of these lanyards up at the Plymouth Meeting store and found ourselves wondering if a vest was even necessary. The fly box is small but actually just right for a day in the field. Tom & Scott at the store were most helpful."