Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Mountain River Guide Lanyard

An ergonomic fishing neck lanyard crafted in the USA. THE GUIDE: Adjustable foam neck strap with break away feature for safety. Tubular foam fly patch on both left and right side. Bottom clip to secure to shirt to prevent lanyard swing. Horizontal tippet carrier, floatant caddy, fly drying chamois, four accessory snaps for your tools.Lanyard may come in blue or natural beads. Fully-loaded comes with Hy-Flote gel floatant, 4x, 5x, 6x Super Strong Tippet, mini nipper, micro scissor forceps, fly box. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.739 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (88 reviews)
5 stars
74
4 stars
9
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
2
86 of 88(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Mountain River Guide Lanyard
Review 1 for Mountain River Guide Lanyard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mountain River Guide Lanyard,
December 15, 2014
By: WBDB
"I purchased this as a gift for my husband and he loves it."
Review 2 for Mountain River Guide Lanyard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Has everything I need,
December 14, 2014
By: Troutfinder1
from Argyle, TX, USA
"This lanyard is very nice and has everything I need on a small stream at my fingertips. Very good value with the quality that you expect from an Orvis product."
Review 3 for Mountain River Guide Lanyard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great gift,
December 13, 2014
By: Mekback
from New Jersey
"I had no idea what to get my adult son for Christmas. My daughter-in-law suggested this item. I arrived quickly and looks great. I don't know about these things, but I seems to have everything that my son will need."
Review 4 for Mountain River Guide Lanyard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice Gift,
December 9, 2014
By: jdavidson3115
from Texas
"I bought this as a gift for my father and was pleasantly surprised when it arrived in the mail. It is more durable than what I expected from looking at the picture. I think he is really going to be pleased."
Review 5 for Mountain River Guide Lanyard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect Christmas Present,
December 4, 2014
By: Present
from Denver, CO
"My son is an expert fly fisherman so I bought this for his Christmas present."
Review 6 for Mountain River Guide Lanyard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Doesn't Get Better!,
November 5, 2014
By: DavidKY2R
from central New Jersey
"Michael's, my son-in-law, birthday. Wrapping paper gently removed, slow recognition and a big smile: "It's loaded!"
Outstanding gift, Orvis."
Review 7 for Mountain River Guide Lanyard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great lanyard!!,
October 15, 2014
By: jimdandy
"A friend of mine had this lanyard and after seeing how convenient and complete it was, I had to buy one. The main thing I like is that you can carry everything you need for a short fishing venture on your lanyard.
Great purchase!!!!
"
Review 8 for Mountain River Guide Lanyard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great equipment for pick up and GO,
September 28, 2014
By: Jimtoo
from Colorado
"I thoroughly enjoy being able to grab my lanyard and pole and head to the Platte or the Arkansas for one our two hours of quick fishing. No fuss no muss it is all with me."
Review 9 for Mountain River Guide Lanyard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great gift!,
September 24, 2014
By: Steelheadhusband
from Pittsburgh, PA
"I purchased this for my husband and he was very pleased with all the items that were preloaded. It made a really nice gift."
Review 10 for Mountain River Guide Lanyard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Minimal but powerful,
September 7, 2014
By: msk21
"Has everything you need in a great design. Love the fact there is no bulk. I added some zingers for some small tools and works like a charm. I keep wanting to buy a sling pack, but this keeps holding me back."
Review 11 for Mountain River Guide Lanyard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Handy,
August 29, 2014
By: guppygrabber
from OKC, OK
"All your basics at hand. Even if you have a vest or pack these essentials are in front of you in a lightweight package that does not get in the way, and if you forget something you can add it."
Review 12 for Mountain River Guide Lanyard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very pleased,
August 25, 2014
By: Waggyj
"Impressed with the quality and functionality of this product"
Review 13 for Mountain River Guide Lanyard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Client LOVED this,
August 25, 2014
By: CoreyS
from Dallas, TX
"I ourchased this for a client who said that he liked to fly fish, I do not know anything about fishing and was hpong that this would be a good choice based on other reviews. Client absolutely loved it. He said that he goes to some obscure areas to fish and that his vest gets caught sometimes and is not always the best choice. He said he cannot wait to go to his place in CO to try it out, as he thinks it will be the answer to his vest issues. Yay!"
Review 14 for Mountain River Guide Lanyard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
No more vests,
August 18, 2014
By: rbenn
from Franklin, tn
"This is big change for me. No more hot vest in the summer, but I still have everything I need. I really like the freedom the lanyard provides. I should have switched years ago."
Review 15 for Mountain River Guide Lanyard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cant fish without it!,
August 11, 2014
By: BrockLobster
from Gardner, MA
"I purchased this laynard and a Clearwater ll combo after taking flyfishing 101 at the Orvis store and im not disappointed with the results. First off i'm a beginner fly fisherman but hooked for life. I have never fished without this laynard but I would be lost without it. This laynard is a complete tackle box hanging around your neck and has everything you need and nothing you don't. The fly box will hold more flies than you could possibly use as well as some shot if you need it. The chamois does a great job at keeping your flies dry and the floatant keeps the dry flies above the water for a long time! The tools are more than adequate for the job and you get three spools of great quality tippett as well. The laynard is adjustable and fits comfortably around your neck thanks to the foam pads. You would easily spend more than the cost of this laynard if you bought the pieces separately. Good job Orvis for putting all of the fishing essentials in this awesome laynard. I couldnt fish without it!"
Review 16 for Mountain River Guide Lanyard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Must Have!,
July 8, 2014
By: Mishky
from OH
"Saw this with my uncle at the Rockwell Springs Trout Club and after a weekend of Fishing without it. I rushed to purchase one when I got home. A must have for a weekend on the streams and light rivers. A must for fisherman and women who like traveling light!"
Review 17 for Mountain River Guide Lanyard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A lot better than expected,
July 3, 2014
By: euh2o
"Bought this primarily for use by visiters I've invited to fish with me, but who may not have brought their own gear. After using it once myself, I found that I like it a lot more than i thought I would. I now prefer it over my fully stocked vest, especially when fishing familiar waters."
Review 18 for Mountain River Guide Lanyard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Must for lightwieght fishing,
June 20, 2014
By: AussieLuke
from Wagga Wagga, Australia
"Well made and everything is in place to enable a quick setup to hit the streams. I would not hesitate to recommend to my fishing mates."
Review 19 for Mountain River Guide Lanyard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
best purchase,
May 28, 2014
By: graysonfisher
"Best purchase ever easy to use whole fishing.all your needs are met"
Review 20 for Mountain River Guide Lanyard
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very good quality,
May 16, 2014
By: William0847
"Very good quality and much thought went into selecting the various included tools."