Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Mountain River Guide Lanyard

An ergonomic fishing neck lanyard crafted in the USA. THE GUIDE: Adjustable foam neck strap with break away feature for safety. Tubular foam fly patch on both left and right side. Bottom clip to secure to shirt to prevent lanyard swing. Horizontal tippet carrier, floatant caddy, fly drying chamois, four accessory snaps for your tools.Lanyard may come in black, blue, green, or natural beads. Fully-loaded comes with Hy-Flote gel floatant, 4x, 5x, 6x Super Strong Tippet, mini nipper, micro scissor forceps, fly box. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.685 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (73 reviews)
5 stars
59
4 stars
9
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
2
71 of 73(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Mountain River Guide Lanyard
Review 1 for Mountain River Guide Lanyard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Must Have!,
July 8, 2014
By: Mishky
from OH
"Saw this with my uncle at the Rockwell Springs Trout Club and after a weekend of Fishing without it. I rushed to purchase one when I got home. A must have for a weekend on the streams and light rivers. A must for fisherman and women who like traveling light!"
Review 2 for Mountain River Guide Lanyard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A lot better than expected,
July 3, 2014
By: euh2o
"Bought this primarily for use by visiters I've invited to fish with me, but who may not have brought their own gear. After using it once myself, I found that I like it a lot more than i thought I would. I now prefer it over my fully stocked vest, especially when fishing familiar waters."
Review 3 for Mountain River Guide Lanyard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Must for lightwieght fishing,
June 20, 2014
By: AussieLuke
from Wagga Wagga, Australia
"Well made and everything is in place to enable a quick setup to hit the streams. I would not hesitate to recommend to my fishing mates."
Review 4 for Mountain River Guide Lanyard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
best purchase,
May 28, 2014
By: graysonfisher
"Best purchase ever easy to use whole fishing.all your needs are met"
Review 5 for Mountain River Guide Lanyard
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very good quality,
May 16, 2014
By: William0847
"Very good quality and much thought went into selecting the various included tools."
Review 6 for Mountain River Guide Lanyard
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
For a minimalistic day out,
May 15, 2014
By: Michael1
from Germany
"Pros: For a day out on your local trout stream that you know well and no unexpected flies are needed its good. Good for wading without a vest/ pack in deeper waters as well
Cons: The make of the springs that hold your gadgets are at best average as they are either too easy or too difficult to open. The ones that carry more expensive snippers I permanently closed with a drop of super-glue.
Thats why its 3 stars today only.
I prefer my ORVIS SLING PACK.
"
Review 7 for Mountain River Guide Lanyard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lite & Easy,
May 7, 2014
By: CJay
"The Mountain River Guide Lanyard is one of the best fly fishing purchases that I have ever made. Everything that I need on the stream is contained in the light wieght lanyard system. With a casting t-shirt and the lanyard I am free to fish all day without tiring from carrying around the weight of a vest or a backpack or other unnecessary equipment. Great system."
Review 8 for Mountain River Guide Lanyard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
High quality good useful stuff!,
April 30, 2014
By: verbose
"Awesome, all the little stuff you need right there around your neck!"
Review 9 for Mountain River Guide Lanyard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect for the quick outting,
April 18, 2014
By: yofly
from St. Marks, FL
"This lanyard has all the key features for a quick outing. Living close to the water, it is convenient for me to grab my gear and head out. Everything I need is ready to go on the lanyard, and close at hand when needed."
Review 10 for Mountain River Guide Lanyard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good bye Chest pack!,
April 17, 2014
By: Crocket
from Cold Spring, NY
"Everything you need is right there! Could not be more happier with Mountain River Lanyard."
Review 11 for Mountain River Guide Lanyard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
WAITING FOR WARMER WEATHER,
April 9, 2014
By: UDONTWANTME
from Mahopac Falls, N.Y.
"Even though I have not used this item "a-stream", just putting it on, as if I were stream side, in a warmer clime, it feels the part. Each piece of gear I have installed on the lanyard is in the right-east-to-reach place, and out of my way while making those carefully placed casts. A home run for this happy angler, as Spring is just a short "cast" away."
Review 12 for Mountain River Guide Lanyard
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Packable tackle solution,
February 3, 2014
By: SeirraDreamin
from San Francisco, CA
"Nice product, good for a backpacking flyfisherman. The only gripe is the floatant holder is connected to the lanyard by a small strap that is attached to the holder by a few flimsy stiches. It pulled right off upon trying to remove the container of floatant. Easy enough to fix but for that price a detail like that should not be overlooked. Otherwise a great product."
Review 13 for Mountain River Guide Lanyard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Vest Around Your Neck,
January 20, 2014
By: Dondo
from Hailey, Idaho
"I live within 3-5 minutes of the Big Wood River in Central Idaho. As such I do a lot of spur of the minute visits to my favorite fishing spot. I keep the lanyard equipped specifically for this river so when the urge strikes, I grab my rod, sling the lanyard around my neck and am on the river in minutes. No hassel with a vest and having to sort through the pockets.
Great piece of fishing equipment.
"
Review 14 for Mountain River Guide Lanyard
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Not exactly as shown,
January 20, 2014
By: GirPat
from Girard, PA
"Overall I,m pleased with the lanyard, but I was looking forward to the smaller snips and a green fly box. I guess you tend to get what they have available in stock."
Review 15 for Mountain River Guide Lanyard
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
poor quality,
January 13, 2014
By: chjacobs
"I used this lanyard for about four outings. I attrached my favorite fishing tool to one of the hooks, an Abel Perfect toll, which is no longer made. The lanyard broke without any presuure being applied, so I did not know, and lost all of my attachments including my tool. When I looked at the monufilament line that the beads were strung on, it was old and rotted! I am wishing my tools were still on the shoestring that I used before buying this lanyard."
Review 16 for Mountain River Guide Lanyard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fly fishing wonder,
December 28, 2013
By: MNOutdoorGal
from Twin Cities, MN
"This is the best setup for fly fishing without the bulk of a loaded down vest or pack. Everything you need is hung from the lanyard. The best part of this particular item from Orvis is it can be purchased fully loaded so you don't have to sort around to find all the gadgets needed for your day on the water. Great present for my husband who couldn't find anything in his vest prior to this gift."
Review 17 for Mountain River Guide Lanyard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
More Minimalism,
December 27, 2013
By: Otch
from Grosse Pointe Farms, Michigan
"If you think less is more, like I do, you will love using this lanyard. Allows you to keep everything you need at your fingertips."
Review 18 for Mountain River Guide Lanyard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
an extra hand,
December 24, 2013
By: battler
from Manchester United Kingdom
"when you are waist deep in a trout stream, rod in hand , net on your back and wading stick in p0lay having all the essential small items, flies tippet, snips , floatant accessible and readily deployable is worth an extra hand"
Review 19 for Mountain River Guide Lanyard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
excellant,
December 23, 2013
By: FishingRanger
from Huntington Beach
"Can't wait for fishing season to open to give it a try."
Review 20 for Mountain River Guide Lanyard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Quality,
December 18, 2013
By: Biggrandma
from Fort Lauderdale, FL
"This was a gift to my husband who is new to fly fishing. He very much liked the lanyard and its accompanying accessories."