Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Shooting Head Line for Single Hand Rods

Get great distance and incredible flexibility, and change up line quickly in saltwater and lake situations without having to swap spools or reels. The Shooting Head loads your rod easily and lets you shoot line for distance. Attaches quickly to the running line by a welded loop on both ends to let you go from deep to surface fishing fast. Great for stripers, blues, jetty fishing, blue water, steelheading, and big lakes. 28' fast-sinking tip (3"/second sink rate) only. Wallet and other line heads shown are not currently available. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
3.842 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
3
15 of 19(79%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Shooting Head Line for Single Hand Rods
Review 1 for Shooting Head Line for Single Hand Rods
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing shooting head.,
November 17, 2013
By: Whalehead
from Portland, OR.
"This was a great shooting head. I also used the intermediate sink shooting head and both performed perfectly casting on my single hand fly rod for chinook salmon just in off the ocean.
Of the dozen or so fly casters around me, two asked "what line are you using?", because my casts were longer and the line laid out nice and straight with less effort.
I sure wish you would find a way to not discontinue this product.
The staff at the Portland, Oregon store were a big help because they knew the water I was going to fish first hand. Thank you.
"
Review 2 for Shooting Head Line for Single Hand Rods
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
returned,
November 5, 2013
By: Mynamealso
from South Carolina
"ordered two shooting heads-- seeing the small wallet and ordering two I thought I should have received one--but no so I sent back-- will read more carefully next time to ensure what all I will receiver"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Shooting Head Line for Single Hand Rods
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
well made,
November 5, 2013
By: wsc1964
from New Orleans, La.
"Not much to say, if you need a shooting head, this is a good one"
Review 4 for Shooting Head Line for Single Hand Rods
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
shooting head,
October 17, 2013
By: steelhead11
from poughkeepsie, new york
"I brought this head with me last week for streamer fishing wild browns. It worked ok....But i didnt catch any lunkers (not the equipments fault..lol)"
Review 5 for Shooting Head Line for Single Hand Rods
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
best line I've bought this year.,
September 17, 2013
By: Dudewithfish
from Streamside, Md
"Nice line and the coating feels great. Loops are not welded, but have some solid nail knots. Casts like a cannon."
Review 6 for Shooting Head Line for Single Hand Rods
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Poor quality,
June 19, 2013
By: Wilson77
from Oregon Coast
"Oops...loops at both ends are poor and had to be replaced."
Review 7 for Shooting Head Line for Single Hand Rods
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
flys,
April 17, 2013
By: Fluata
from Northern VA
"For the price and use of this line I'd say it's a good deal. I don't use sinking line often enough to buy a whole reel worth, but this does the trick in getting the fly down deep enough for fish to hit. Only issue would be casting between the fly line and sinking line. Sometimes the line gets caught and doesn't unfold perfectly, yet still works."
Review 8 for Shooting Head Line for Single Hand Rods
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Much needed for an angler that has everything,
April 4, 2013
By: Anonymous
from Littleton, NH
"It casts like a dream and it allows me to fish where people kayak. Yes and I catch fish there !! It allows me to get to the bottom of fast pocket water when coupled with a short leader. A must have for every fly fisherman."
Review 9 for Shooting Head Line for Single Hand Rods
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Shooting Head System,
October 30, 2012
By: Kayaker1
from Wilmington, NC
"Shooting heads provide a versatile saltwater system. I purchased a 9 weight system and bought all four 11 weight shooting heads to go with it using the same running line. My reels on my 9 weight and 11 weight use interchangeable spools so I am ready for just about anything that swims! Great system. Running line has a welded loop. Welded loops on the shooting heads would be a huge improvement. Tight Lines!"
Review 10 for Shooting Head Line for Single Hand Rods
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Not as advertised,
July 20, 2012
By: LTMSWM
"One of the reasons I purchased this system is because the description states that the shooting heads have welded loops at each end. None of the shooting heads I received had welded loops on either end, and the only welded loop on any component was at the back end of the shooting line (which will be subject to the least wear). All other loops are either braided loops or a folded over line tip secured with monofilament. Braided loops do not hold up well in my experience and I would not have purchased this product if I had known the ends were not welded knots. It casts nicely but I'm disappointed that the construction is not as advertised."
Review 11 for Shooting Head Line for Single Hand Rods
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Separate spools are better,
May 21, 2012
By: Zip85
from Colorado Springs, CO
"I was intrigued by the possibility of simply switching short sections for various fishing conditions, but I found that I was not happy with the performance of this product. The major problem was that the point where the two loops linked the heads to the running line invariably hung on the tip and the individual stripping guides - this made for a VERY jerky retrieve, and, unfortunately, the connection was almost exactly at the typical casting distance for rivers here in Colorado – perhaps if the switchable sections were between 40 and 50 feet, it would cause fewer problems. I decided to purchase spare spools for each of my reels and load them with floating and sinking tip lines."
Review 12 for Shooting Head Line for Single Hand Rods
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great when you are not sure what you will need.,
August 30, 2011
By: Minkie
from Stevenage
"Extremely useful when you are not quite sure what you will need on a holiday. 4 shooting heads in one compact wallet. This should ensure you will have the right line when miles from nowhere."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Shooting Head Line for Single Hand Rods
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Wonderline shooting head kit,
August 25, 2010
By: Anonymous
Good Value: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I purchased this kit in june and allready i have lost 2 of the braided loops from the slow sinking and the floating head , also the floating head (blue) from day one has been like a spring with memory i have left it streched for days on end and to of no avail , the overall casting ,delivery etc is second to none the distance you can achive is paramount but unfortunatly the quality of this product is truly not up to the standard of the "ORVIS" trademark we all know and love.
I am extreemly disapointed on my latest ORVIS buy because i have spent thousands on the brand and up to this have been more than happy in chosing this brand
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamOctober 26, 2010
We appreciate our customer's feedback and are reviewing these quality concerns. Our goal is to make sure it is absolutely right. You can always shop with confidence at Orvis—everything we sell is backed by our unconditional 100% satisfaction guarantee.
Review 14 for Shooting Head Line for Single Hand Rods
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Orvis Shooting heads,
June 26, 2008
By: Jlcorwin
from California
"It love the way these lines cast.They shoot a country mile.Very easy to use and change heads.I would recommend the whole kit .Super product. JC"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Shooting Head Line for Single Hand Rods
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Shooting Heads,
October 8, 2007
By: NESportsman
from Byfield, MA
"I recommend the shooting heads with the wonderline running line. This is my preferred setup for fishing Stripers and Blues along the New England coast. You need to watch the loop to loop connection after a couple of years because the loops begin to wear."
Ratings-Only Reviews for Shooting Head Line for Single Hand Rods
Based on the average of (4) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
4.5 / 5
4.5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 4 out of 4