Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Original Magnetic Net Holder

The patented Orvis-exclusive coiled lanyard provides plenty of reach when needed, and retracts out of the way when not in use. The magnets have 5 lbs. of straight pull for good holding strength. Aluminum split rings for attachment. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.495 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (91 reviews)
5 stars
65
4 stars
17
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
4
83 of 91(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Original Magnetic Net Holder
Review 1 for Original Magnetic Net Holder
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Net Holder Works but...,
November 19, 2014
By: FishOBX
from Charlotte, NC, USA
"This is my second magnetic net holder. I like the simplicity of the Orvis design.
My other holder has a carabiner and leash to attach to my wading belt in order to assure my net isn't lost if I drop it in the stream or it gets separated while working my way through streamside brush. The carabiner & leash works but it does have a tendency to get tangled with my wading staff. The Orvis coiled leash is simpler & better in that respect.
The magnet on my other holder is definitely stronger but the Orvis magnet has worked well. So stronger doesn't necessarily mean better.
My only concern with the Orvis setup is the welded loop on the coiled cord. It looks like it could easily separate if enough pressure were applied, such as when snagging it on brush as you're hiking to your next spot.
Some earlier reviews indicated this was a problem and resulted in lost nets. So I took the precaution of reinforcing the coil.
I would have given this product a 5 rating if not for this issue."
Review 2 for Original Magnetic Net Holder
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
October 3, 2014
By: alaskamike
"very useful, slightly longer stretch cord might be helpful"
Review 3 for Original Magnetic Net Holder
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product,
September 19, 2014
By: Rickstr
from Hernando FL
"Completely pleased with this product. I'm amazed with the strength of the magnets, no groping when reattaching, just put the net behind you and the magnets snap together. There is plenty of reach on the coiled lanyard. Great quality at a reasonable price."
Review 4 for Original Magnetic Net Holder
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Net holder,
September 17, 2014
By: Xack
from Hanover, MA
"Net holder works great for the most part. My only concern is the strength of the magnet. When I jumped only 2 feet down from a bank to the waters edge, the magnet let go and my new expensive wooden dropped on a rock
and caused some damage to it. As long as you are just wading, it's perfect.
"
Review 5 for Original Magnetic Net Holder
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A needed purchase,
August 31, 2014
By: Sophie33
from Pullman, WA
"I bought a net last year and it dangled, caught on trees and bushes, dragged in the water. After purchasing the magnetic net holder none of that is a problem. It just took a couple of fishing trips to figure out how to connect the magnets. But not a big deal and now working just as I imagined."
Review 6 for Original Magnetic Net Holder
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Worth the price,
August 16, 2014
By: Larrydtour
from SLO, California
"Just received my magnetic net holder. I was questioning the price compared to others I looked at. Once I set it up on my vest I am stoked! Great magnetic strength and ease of use. Orvis you rock!"
Review 7 for Original Magnetic Net Holder
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Works great,
August 12, 2014
By: Zesurgeon
from Little rock arkansas
"I don't know how I survived on the river without this net holder. It has made managing my net on the river so much easier and has even kept me from losing my net a couple of times. I highly recommend this over other similar products"
Review 8 for Original Magnetic Net Holder
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great item,
July 31, 2014
By: pace58
"magnet is extremely strong, keeps net out of the way but accessible"
Review 9 for Original Magnetic Net Holder
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
magnet,
July 15, 2014
By: smdoc
from Brookline, MA
"I use it to hold my metal wading staff to my side rather than my net
works great
"
Review 10 for Original Magnetic Net Holder
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Orvis Does it Again,
June 22, 2014
By: oldguardvet
from Portland, OR
"This is a great product. The magnet is very strong and the retractable cable is heavy duty."
Review 11 for Original Magnetic Net Holder
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A tried and true ORVIS classic,
June 14, 2014
By: Michael1
from Germany
"I use this product since 20 years. It is best working when you can see the holder when attaching to the net. e.g. somewhere near the hip.
The make of them is outstanding and they last long. The magnets are of exactly the needed force not too weak nor too strong.
I prefer this over my ORVIS gear keeper net retractor when I want to save weight.
The best magnetic net holder and also the original.
"
Review 12 for Original Magnetic Net Holder
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Works awesome,
May 16, 2014
By: Canadafisherman
"Magnet works great not to strong or to weak. Makes storing your net quick and easy and it's always within reach."
Review 13 for Original Magnetic Net Holder
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another perfect present for my awesome husband.,
May 6, 2014
By: McGuig
from Glfd., Ct.
"When my husband opened this his eyes were dancing. I had also given him the net.
After he used it, he said he did not even feel it hanging off his vest and when he needed it, it was so easy to get. And, when he dropped one of the flies he had tied, he used the magnet to locate it. I love buying him presents from Orvis.
"
Review 14 for Original Magnetic Net Holder
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pricey but solid,
March 26, 2014
By: RocDoc
"Well made and works well. The magnets hold solidly and the no-rust brass split rings are non-magnetic and don't interfere with the magnet function like steel would. I rigged mine with zip ties holding one magnet to net hoop (opposite handle end) and the other magnet at D-ring at neck of my vest. The way the net hangs handle-down along my back- out of the way and easy to grab. The plastic coil is fixed to handle of net and the other end to a d-ring at side of vest- allowing plenty of reach to the fish. Works great."
Review 15 for Original Magnetic Net Holder
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great magnet,
March 26, 2014
By: flygrl
"This is the only magnetic net holder that works to perfection!"
Review 16 for Original Magnetic Net Holder
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tried and true,
March 23, 2014
By: ScottSr
from Watauga river Tn.
"This is my third magnetic net holder.
But the first was used this weekend.
This one went to a new vest I bought my son
"
Review 17 for Original Magnetic Net Holder
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Worked great, but coil snapped,
March 19, 2014
By: ChrisR
from NC
"I loved this net holder for the year and a half that I owned it. However, out fishing last weekend the net was somehow caught to a branch without me noticing, and I heard a snap and, well, the coil had broken.
It does seem high quality and as I can't say exactly what happened, I can't very well blame it on the product completely, but, it happened, so, just thought I'd let people know.
Still and always an avid Orvis customer."
Review 18 for Original Magnetic Net Holder
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well built and high quality...,
January 7, 2014
By: KLCE
"Very well built and high quality. Holds a net with no problem. Well worth the cost."
Review 19 for Original Magnetic Net Holder
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect solution for all wading fisherman,
December 7, 2013
By: Pills09
from Franklin, Tn.
"This product is the perfect solution to the problem of carrying and availability of your net for wading fisherman. Other solutions provide one or the other but Orvis is the only company to solve this issue."
Review 20 for Original Magnetic Net Holder
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome Innovative Gift,
December 4, 2013
By: AnnT
from Atlanta, GA
"We LOVE our magnetic net holder SO much, we've purchased one for our son! No more juggling while struggling with the fish!! We actually lost a nice net before we knew that there was such a thing as a magnetic net holder!!! Never again!"