Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Original Magnetic Net Holder

The patented Orvis-exclusive coiled lanyard provides plenty of reach when needed, and retracts out of the way when not in use. The magnets have 5 lbs. of straight pull for good holding strength. Aluminum split rings for attachment. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (86 reviews)
5 stars
63
4 stars
14
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
4
78 of 86(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Original Magnetic Net Holder
Review 1 for Original Magnetic Net Holder
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Worth the price,
August 16, 2014
By: Larrydtour
from SLO, California
"Just received my magnetic net holder. I was questioning the price compared to others I looked at. Once I set it up on my vest I am stoked! Great magnetic strength and ease of use. Orvis you rock!"
Review 2 for Original Magnetic Net Holder
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Works great,
August 12, 2014
By: Zesurgeon
from Little rock arkansas
"I don't know how I survived on the river without this net holder. It has made managing my net on the river so much easier and has even kept me from losing my net a couple of times. I highly recommend this over other similar products"
Review 3 for Original Magnetic Net Holder
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great item,
July 31, 2014
By: pace58
"magnet is extremely strong, keeps net out of the way but accessible"
Review 4 for Original Magnetic Net Holder
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
magnet,
July 15, 2014
By: smdoc
from Brookline, MA
"I use it to hold my metal wading staff to my side rather than my net
works great
"
Review 5 for Original Magnetic Net Holder
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Orvis Does it Again,
June 22, 2014
By: oldguardvet
from Portland, OR
"This is a great product. The magnet is very strong and the retractable cable is heavy duty."
Review 6 for Original Magnetic Net Holder
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A tried and true ORVIS classic,
June 14, 2014
By: Michael1
from Germany
"I use this product since 20 years. It is best working when you can see the holder when attaching to the net. e.g. somewhere near the hip.
The make of them is outstanding and they last long. The magnets are of exactly the needed force not too weak nor too strong.
I prefer this over my ORVIS gear keeper net retractor when I want to save weight.
The best magnetic net holder and also the original.
"
Review 7 for Original Magnetic Net Holder
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Works awesome,
May 16, 2014
By: Canadafisherman
"Magnet works great not to strong or to weak. Makes storing your net quick and easy and it's always within reach."
Review 8 for Original Magnetic Net Holder
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another perfect present for my awesome husband.,
May 6, 2014
By: McGuig
from Glfd., Ct.
"When my husband opened this his eyes were dancing. I had also given him the net.
After he used it, he said he did not even feel it hanging off his vest and when he needed it, it was so easy to get. And, when he dropped one of the flies he had tied, he used the magnet to locate it. I love buying him presents from Orvis.
"
Review 9 for Original Magnetic Net Holder
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pricey but solid,
March 26, 2014
By: RocDoc
"Well made and works well. The magnets hold solidly and the no-rust brass split rings are non-magnetic and don't interfere with the magnet function like steel would. I rigged mine with zip ties holding one magnet to net hoop (opposite handle end) and the other magnet at D-ring at neck of my vest. The way the net hangs handle-down along my back- out of the way and easy to grab. The plastic coil is fixed to handle of net and the other end to a d-ring at side of vest- allowing plenty of reach to the fish. Works great."
Review 10 for Original Magnetic Net Holder
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great magnet,
March 26, 2014
By: flygrl
"This is the only magnetic net holder that works to perfection!"
Review 11 for Original Magnetic Net Holder
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tried and true,
March 23, 2014
By: ScottSr
from Watauga river Tn.
"This is my third magnetic net holder.
But the first was used this weekend.
This one went to a new vest I bought my son
"
Review 12 for Original Magnetic Net Holder
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Worked great, but coil snapped,
March 19, 2014
By: ChrisR
from NC
"I loved this net holder for the year and a half that I owned it. However, out fishing last weekend the net was somehow caught to a branch without me noticing, and I heard a snap and, well, the coil had broken.
It does seem high quality and as I can't say exactly what happened, I can't very well blame it on the product completely, but, it happened, so, just thought I'd let people know.
Still and always an avid Orvis customer."
Review 13 for Original Magnetic Net Holder
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well built and high quality...,
January 7, 2014
By: KLCE
"Very well built and high quality. Holds a net with no problem. Well worth the cost."
Review 14 for Original Magnetic Net Holder
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect solution for all wading fisherman,
December 7, 2013
By: Pills09
from Franklin, Tn.
"This product is the perfect solution to the problem of carrying and availability of your net for wading fisherman. Other solutions provide one or the other but Orvis is the only company to solve this issue."
Review 15 for Original Magnetic Net Holder
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome Innovative Gift,
December 4, 2013
By: AnnT
from Atlanta, GA
"We LOVE our magnetic net holder SO much, we've purchased one for our son! No more juggling while struggling with the fish!! We actually lost a nice net before we knew that there was such a thing as a magnetic net holder!!! Never again!"
Review 16 for Original Magnetic Net Holder
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Magnetic net holder,
October 5, 2013
By: Carlitto
from Dublin, Ireland
"This is a great hands free product and allows you to quickly deploy your wooden net one handed while still playing a fish. The magnets are self locating and are very strong so watch your swiss timepiece!"
Review 17 for Original Magnetic Net Holder
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome magnetic net holder,
September 3, 2013
By: socalh2oskier
from Southern California
"I just purchased my third magnetic net holder. The magnets are strong and come apart only with a firm tug, so your net doesn't accidentally come off until you are ready to use it--then, all it takes is a firm tug and the net comes off easily for quick use in landing your fish. Highly recommended."
Review 18 for Original Magnetic Net Holder
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
a magnetic purchase,
July 31, 2013
By: rdpmt
from Billings Mt
"I have used the magnetic net holder for many years and recently purchased two more for my wife and daughter. Simplicity is the key with this holder since the magnetic action keeps the net out of the way for important business. It is easy to retrieve the net for use and even easier to get it back in place. Overall a great solution for anyone who wants to concentrate on fishing not fumbling."
Review 19 for Original Magnetic Net Holder
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Works well,
July 23, 2013
By: babydoc
from Hendersonville, NC
"Performs as advertised. Magnets hold well but to too strong to be difficult to separate when needed"
Review 20 for Original Magnetic Net Holder
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great catch,
April 6, 2013
By: hootcher
"This worked just like advertised... More convenient than a large net zinger."