Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Quick-Sight™ Fluorescent Orange Backing

This high-visibility fluorescent orange backing lets you see the backing in the water. Tested extensively by Orvis' saltwater guides, who found it helped them locate a fish when it was changing direction. The round Dacron backing won't rot or mildew, and stores well on the reel. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.35 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (40 reviews)
5 stars
28
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
4
35 of 40(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Stories:
Customer Reviews for Quick-Sight™ Fluorescent Orange Backing
Review 1 for Quick-Sight™ Fluorescent Orange Backing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
July 21, 2014
By: fish10
from New Jersey
"Purchased this backing to put on a Clear Water II reel for a 6wt Orvis Frequent Flyer rod. I like the color contrast and it gives me an indication of where
the fish is going. Also will not bury itself like gel spun backing.
"
Review 2 for Quick-Sight™ Fluorescent Orange Backing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another Fine Product from Orvis,
April 29, 2014
By: GaryOwen15
from Louisville Ky
"I'll admit backing isn't the most glamorous part of fly fishing since it hides out barely noticed on your reel and only does it's job when you've got a really frisky fish on the line. But when you need it you really (no pun intended) need it.
I love the bright orange color. It's strong well made and affordable.
I've done quite a lot of business with Orvis in the past and their service and support is outstanding. Will look forward to doing more business with them
"
Review 3 for Quick-Sight™ Fluorescent Orange Backing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best underwrap,
April 11, 2014
By: Smokinjoe
from Long Island Surf
"I use this as an underwrap when using expensive braid on my surf reel. The larger diameter fills quickly and the orange color looks great."
Review 4 for Quick-Sight™ Fluorescent Orange Backing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Backing,
April 4, 2014
By: Steelhead13
from Akron, OH
"I had this but on my reel for fishing steelhead in the Great Lkaes and it has held up to many strong fish. This backing has more of a backbone than a 30 inch steelhead! Great product and would recommend to anyone."
Review 5 for Quick-Sight™ Fluorescent Orange Backing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
December 31, 2013
By: MCollier
from Wilmington, De
"The best backing I've ever used. The orange is a differnt color then fly making it easy to see when you are getting into the backing"
Review 6 for Quick-Sight™ Fluorescent Orange Backing
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
It Makes sense,
December 14, 2013
By: JackLN
from on line
"I've never been lucky enough to hook a fish the took me to the backing. I bought this line because because it looks good and because if I ever do hook a fish that takes a lot of line, color contrast will let me know when I'm getting close to the backing. As long as I'm not using bright orange fly line, it just makes sense to me."
Review 7 for Quick-Sight™ Fluorescent Orange Backing
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Not good!,
September 28, 2013
By: Bogus1
from Sweden
"I bought the fluorescent backing from Orvis, I thought it would match the quality of their other products. It was a disappointment. After two fishingtrips in Baltic sea, I took it of and dumped it in the trash bin. It discoloured my fly line and that is not what I expected."
Review 8 for Quick-Sight™ Fluorescent Orange Backing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Backing,
June 11, 2013
By: Revist
"The backing is great. It fits well on the reels and is color fast. Is color makes it easy to track your line and know when you've reached the backing when the fish wants to run. Highly recommended."
Review 9 for Quick-Sight™ Fluorescent Orange Backing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Orange is lucky,
March 15, 2013
By: Stimulator
from Hawaii
"Use it on all my reels. I take it off after a tip and clean and put it back and it like new."
Review 10 for Quick-Sight™ Fluorescent Orange Backing
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Get just what you ordered,
January 15, 2013
By: Anonymous
from Oakland, MD
"I ordered the Hi-Vis Dacron backing and am happy quite with the product so far. I like the orange color to give my reel a little POP."
Review 11 for Quick-Sight™ Fluorescent Orange Backing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bullet Proof Backing,
January 9, 2013
By: HarleyFlyFishGuy
from Port Washington, NY
"I've been using this backing for several years in both 20lb and 30lb . Its great! it stores exceptionally well on the reel spools, doesn't rot and is color fast.
On the stream its very easy to see and track your line.
"
Review 12 for Quick-Sight™ Fluorescent Orange Backing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Favorite backing,
December 18, 2012
By: Soldat15
from Denver, CO
"I really enjoy this backing. I like how visible it is, as well as how it looks on the reel. I haven't had any problems with it staining the fly line like others have, but I noticed that when I was putting it on the reel I did get a bit of orange on my fingers."
Review 13 for Quick-Sight™ Fluorescent Orange Backing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Normal Purchase,
December 15, 2012
By: Gudgeononfly
from New Zealand
"Orange backing is as i would expect . The delivery time was excellent."
Review 14 for Quick-Sight™ Fluorescent Orange Backing
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Color Bleeds- Stains Fly Line,
October 20, 2012
By: PatrickP
from Western MD
"This is JUNK. After one outing, the orange color bled all over my new switch line. UNHAPPY."
Review 15 for Quick-Sight™ Fluorescent Orange Backing
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
You gotta be kidding,
October 7, 2012
By: Grunt0302
from Colorado
"Just got around to loading a saltwater reel after purchasing 500yds earlier this year. Started spooling and at about 200yds the backing was spliced together with a simple knot making the entire spool worthless for the 325 yards I needed. Couldn't believe it. If it was the end of a run they should have ditched the 200yds for scrap and started a new spool. Won't make this mistake again. First issue with Orvis lines, leaders or backing. Normally e erything is perfect."
Review 16 for Quick-Sight™ Fluorescent Orange Backing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
consistently excellent,
July 31, 2012
By: Mstal
from FL
"I have this backing on another reel and it is fine. I appreciate Orvis mounting the correct amount for me on my new reel."
Review 17 for Quick-Sight™ Fluorescent Orange Backing
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Discoloration,
July 12, 2012
By: LJeremy
from San Juan, Puerto Rico
"Backing works as advertised except the color dyed my yellow line, orange. It actually looked kinda cool! but it's not supposed to happen. I'm changing to del spun hi viz as I write, only to increase the capacity of the reel."
Review 18 for Quick-Sight™ Fluorescent Orange Backing
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great equipment,
June 6, 2012
By: Anonymous
from Beaufort, SC
"More than good backing and great visibility in the green/murky water where I fish and easy to tell where the fish is headed."
Review 19 for Quick-Sight™ Fluorescent Orange Backing
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Looks good however...,
April 30, 2012
By: y0ukn0wit
"Nice looking on the reel however the orange bled on to my brand new fly line. Pretty ticked off because I now have orange spots on it that don't come off with fly line cleaner."
Review 20 for Quick-Sight™ Fluorescent Orange Backing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
April 24, 2012
By: tedp
from Pearl Harbor Hawaii
"I use this backing for Bone Fish in Hawaii. works outstanding with long runs by bone."