Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Quick-Sight™ Fluorescent Orange Backing

This high-visibility fluorescent orange backing lets you see the backing in the water. Tested extensively by Orvis' saltwater guides, who found it helped them locate a fish when it was changing direction. The round Dacron backing won't rot or mildew, and stores well on the reel. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.435 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (46 reviews)
5 stars
34
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
4
41 of 46(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Stories:
Customer Reviews for Quick-Sight™ Fluorescent Orange Backing
Review 1 for Quick-Sight™ Fluorescent Orange Backing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good backing,
June 27, 2015
By: Ichthyocentric
"If you're seeking fish that take you into your backing and prefer dacron, it's worth a little extra for the Hi-Viz orange. Good product."
Review 2 for Quick-Sight™ Fluorescent Orange Backing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great backing for any reel,
June 23, 2015
By: baseball4life26
from Maryville Missouri
"the backing is great and can hold nice fish. I have used it on my two weight and my eight weight. It was probably overkill on the two but it's what I had and it worked awesome!"
Review 3 for Quick-Sight™ Fluorescent Orange Backing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent customer service,
May 8, 2015
By: MatiH
from Paris, France
"Not much you can say about backing line apart from it's the usual high quality you'd expect from Orvis. More impressive was the customer service. I ordered the line over the phone a few days after having ordered a spare spool and when being told that it was too late to include the second purchase with the first shipment I expected to be charged p&p again. But no, I was told that this would not be the case by a very friendly lady - cool. Wouldn't get that kind of approach in France where I live!"
Review 4 for Quick-Sight™ Fluorescent Orange Backing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Penny wise investment,
March 26, 2015
By: gehb
from MT
"A lot of us rarely, if ever, see the backing come off the spool so its great to have this bright orange to wake us up - not that the flailing at the end of the line isn't enough.
I really prefer this to the white backing that came on another reel I had - its a minor difference that makes the distinction.
"
Review 5 for Quick-Sight™ Fluorescent Orange Backing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product for a sensible price,
March 9, 2015
By: AKC50
from UK
"Does what is says on the tin. A high quality braid at a sensible price.
Looks fit for years of service in tough conditions.
"
Review 6 for Quick-Sight™ Fluorescent Orange Backing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
July 21, 2014
By: fish10
from New Jersey
"Purchased this backing to put on a Clear Water II reel for a 6wt Orvis Frequent Flyer rod. I like the color contrast and it gives me an indication of where
the fish is going. Also will not bury itself like gel spun backing.
"
Review 7 for Quick-Sight™ Fluorescent Orange Backing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another Fine Product from Orvis,
April 29, 2014
By: GaryOwen15
from Louisville Ky
"I'll admit backing isn't the most glamorous part of fly fishing since it hides out barely noticed on your reel and only does it's job when you've got a really frisky fish on the line. But when you need it you really (no pun intended) need it.
I love the bright orange color. It's strong well made and affordable.
I've done quite a lot of business with Orvis in the past and their service and support is outstanding. Will look forward to doing more business with them
"
Review 8 for Quick-Sight™ Fluorescent Orange Backing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best underwrap,
April 11, 2014
By: Smokinjoe
from Long Island Surf
"I use this as an underwrap when using expensive braid on my surf reel. The larger diameter fills quickly and the orange color looks great."
Review 9 for Quick-Sight™ Fluorescent Orange Backing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Backing,
April 4, 2014
By: Steelhead13
from Akron, OH
"I had this but on my reel for fishing steelhead in the Great Lkaes and it has held up to many strong fish. This backing has more of a backbone than a 30 inch steelhead! Great product and would recommend to anyone."
Review 10 for Quick-Sight™ Fluorescent Orange Backing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
December 31, 2013
By: MCollier
from Wilmington, De
"The best backing I've ever used. The orange is a differnt color then fly making it easy to see when you are getting into the backing"
Review 11 for Quick-Sight™ Fluorescent Orange Backing
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
It Makes sense,
December 14, 2013
By: JackLN
from on line
"I've never been lucky enough to hook a fish the took me to the backing. I bought this line because because it looks good and because if I ever do hook a fish that takes a lot of line, color contrast will let me know when I'm getting close to the backing. As long as I'm not using bright orange fly line, it just makes sense to me."
Review 12 for Quick-Sight™ Fluorescent Orange Backing
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Not good!,
September 28, 2013
By: Bogus1
from Sweden
"I bought the fluorescent backing from Orvis, I thought it would match the quality of their other products. It was a disappointment. After two fishingtrips in Baltic sea, I took it of and dumped it in the trash bin. It discoloured my fly line and that is not what I expected."
Review 13 for Quick-Sight™ Fluorescent Orange Backing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Backing,
June 11, 2013
By: Revist
"The backing is great. It fits well on the reels and is color fast. Is color makes it easy to track your line and know when you've reached the backing when the fish wants to run. Highly recommended."
Review 14 for Quick-Sight™ Fluorescent Orange Backing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Orange is lucky,
March 15, 2013
By: Stimulator
from Hawaii
"Use it on all my reels. I take it off after a tip and clean and put it back and it like new."
Review 15 for Quick-Sight™ Fluorescent Orange Backing
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Get just what you ordered,
January 15, 2013
By: Anonymous
from Oakland, MD
"I ordered the Hi-Vis Dacron backing and am happy quite with the product so far. I like the orange color to give my reel a little POP."
Review 16 for Quick-Sight™ Fluorescent Orange Backing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bullet Proof Backing,
January 9, 2013
By: HarleyFlyFishGuy
from Port Washington, NY
"I've been using this backing for several years in both 20lb and 30lb . Its great! it stores exceptionally well on the reel spools, doesn't rot and is color fast.
On the stream its very easy to see and track your line.
"
Review 17 for Quick-Sight™ Fluorescent Orange Backing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Favorite backing,
December 18, 2012
By: Soldat15
from Denver, CO
"I really enjoy this backing. I like how visible it is, as well as how it looks on the reel. I haven't had any problems with it staining the fly line like others have, but I noticed that when I was putting it on the reel I did get a bit of orange on my fingers."
Review 18 for Quick-Sight™ Fluorescent Orange Backing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Normal Purchase,
December 15, 2012
By: Gudgeononfly
from New Zealand
"Orange backing is as i would expect . The delivery time was excellent."
Review 19 for Quick-Sight™ Fluorescent Orange Backing
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Color Bleeds- Stains Fly Line,
October 20, 2012
By: PatrickP
from Western MD
"This is JUNK. After one outing, the orange color bled all over my new switch line. UNHAPPY."
Review 20 for Quick-Sight™ Fluorescent Orange Backing
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
You gotta be kidding,
October 7, 2012
By: Grunt0302
from Colorado
"Just got around to loading a saltwater reel after purchasing 500yds earlier this year. Started spooling and at about 200yds the backing was spliced together with a simple knot making the entire spool worthless for the 325 yards I needed. Couldn't believe it. If it was the end of a run they should have ditched the 200yds for scrap and started a new spool. Won't make this mistake again. First issue with Orvis lines, leaders or backing. Normally e erything is perfect."