Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Gokey® Classic Upland Boots

“So comfortable you will have no desire to take them off after the hunt.” Lightweight, comfortable, and durable. An ideal boot for all types of upland hunting. 9-oz. oil-tanned American bullhide bottoms and 10" 6-oz. oil-tanned American bullhide uppers. Gusseted full-length tongue keeps dirt and moisture out. Brass eyelets and easy-lace hooks. Gro-Cord sole provides positive traction and long wear. Made in USA.Men's sizes 8-13. Specify width D or E. 10" high and pair weighs 3.56 lbs. in size 10.
Average Customer Rating:
4.174 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
5
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
0
18 of 23(78%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Gokey® Classic Upland Boots
Review 1 for Gokey® Classic Upland Boots
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Boot,
March 13, 2014
By: TaylorG
from Little Mtn. SC
"Just a really good boot. Craftmanship is evident...Only complaint is the breaking in process seems to be a little longer than other boots of this caliber."
Review 2 for Gokey® Classic Upland Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Product,
September 30, 2013
By: Evinrude
from Warren, TX
"I have owned these boots for about two years, they are exceptional. Well made, comfortable, and good looking. Wear them afield, then wipe 'em down with a cold biscuit and they're ready to go to town!"
Review 3 for Gokey® Classic Upland Boots
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Excellent Boot....,
September 24, 2013
By: HunterTOM
from Jacksonville, Florida
"These boots are great . The quality is the best I have ever found. They are well worth the money. Caution though.....order the boots at least one width wider than you normally take in a dress shoe or other brand of boot. Since they are "hand made" they run narrow. I ordered the first pair in my regular size of 9.5 D and had to return for 9.5 E. The D width was way too narrow. They really look good with Upland Hunting Jeans.....I have been wearing them around even though I am not in the field. These boots should last for years with proper care. Also for those concerned about water proofing...Sno-Seal with give you all the protection you need to keep your feet dry when wearing these boots in the rain or wet hunting conditions."
Review 4 for Gokey® Classic Upland Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Solid, traditional boot,
July 11, 2013
By: customeroflongdate
from Montreal, Canada
"The strength of this boot is its leather, which is very heavy, oil-tanned, and plainly will stand up to a lot of hard use. In general it's a traditional type of construction, though there is some padding in the insole, enough for myself and I think most wearers. The sizes run slightly small--that is to say, a 10 fits like a 91/2 from most makers. They are also slightly on the narrow side: the D-width is about halfway between D and C, as most shoemakers understand D and C."
Review 5 for Gokey® Classic Upland Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gokey Quality,
May 3, 2013
By: Oz45
from GA
"I just purchased these boots for the upcoming fall hunting season
. Although they are yet to be used in the field, I have worn them on several outings. Having owned and worn a pair of Gokey oxfords for years with complete satisfaction, I expect nothing less from these boots. The quality of construction and materials is evident in these boots. I am certain they will perform as well as they look.
"
Review 6 for Gokey® Classic Upland Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
best boots ever made,
January 2, 2013
By: randalls6283
from Memphis TN
"I own 3 pair of the Gokey boots and have had them since 1982. I have walked literally hundreds of miles in these boots and totally love them! They are very comfortable and very well made. I actually got to see them being made at the original Gokey factory and which was very impressive. All made by hand! Finally, this year, I will be sending one pair back to have them re-soled if Orvis still does that. Awesome boots!!"
Review 7 for Gokey® Classic Upland Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Don't change a thing,
May 27, 2012
By: Arcticbot
from Alaska
"Terrific boots. Don't make any changes. So well done these boots are works of art as well as being practical, durable.Good looking and functional. I wear them daily."
Review 8 for Gokey® Classic Upland Boots
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Leak Big Drops,
April 15, 2012
By: WAhunter
from Burbank, WA
"Why anyone would make and sell a $400+ Upland boot that leaks is beyond me. I will hunt with these boots and will spend hours walking through wet grass, or snow, or rain. When I received these boots the first thing I did was put them on, they fit wonderfully, I loved them. The next thing was the 3" of water in the sink test. Within 30 seconds I had lagre drops of water entering both boots! These leaks were not something that conditioner or waterproofing oil could help for long. I sent them back and ordered the Gokey boots that are adverstised as waterprooof, these make no mention of waterproofing in the ads. I now have the replacement "waterproof" boots and like them very much. I am hard on Gortex, the big test now is to see how long the Gortex holds up in the replacement boots.
One more thing. Orvis was great to work with both on the intial order and the return. When I ordered these boots they came in 4 days, I was very happy with that. When I returned them Orvis paid for the returning shipping and for the shipping of the new boots, very nice again. However the new boots took 9 days to get to me, don't let Orvis ship them UPS Sure Post."
Review 9 for Gokey® Classic Upland Boots
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Way too small for a wide,
February 13, 2012
By: CakalakaRon
"It doesn't matter how wide the bottom of the boot is, if you can't get your foot through the top of the boot. One would think that a wide boot would have a wide stove pipe, but not so with this one. The tongue is joined to the boot about half way up the eyelets. Returned. Second Gokey return, tried the 10 regular on advice of an Orvis consultant, returned it, then ordered this one."
Review 10 for Gokey® Classic Upland Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful Boots,
October 25, 2011
By: Anonymous
from Kentucky
"I have two paIrs of these boots, one some 25 years old and the other 20. I just returned from six days in South Dakota and Nebraska with many miles of walking each day. The boots never rubbed in the slightest and were light, comfortable and gripped the ground well in the Sandhills. After this many years, the boots are scratched and battered, but as sound as when they were new."
Review 11 for Gokey® Classic Upland Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding Quality,
October 15, 2011
By: BirdHunter50
from Annandale, Virginia
"I have considered the purchase of these boots for years but like many customers probably are was hesitant because of the price. I finally bought them for a bird hunting trip to Montana this fall and now wish I had bought them years ago so I would have had the pleasure of wearing them longer. I'm 50 and have no doubt that they will last me another 25 or 30 years (my father, who is 81, still wears a pair of Gokey's he bought about 1962 on a regular basis). These are outstanding boots -- tough, comfortable, and of the highest quality. The heel counter made walking on rough hilly terrain no problem, and they kept my feet dry while sloshing through ankle deep water in heavy cover. You will not regret the purchase of these boots, and they may well last you the rest of your hunting life."
Review 12 for Gokey® Classic Upland Boots
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Beutiful boot,
September 16, 2011
By: Johan
from Upstate NY
"I Just walked in from training my pointer while wearing the Gokey boots. On the plus side: the bull hide is thick, beutiful, tuff, soft, and easy to break in, The leather lining is soft and plush, The heel hold is great and the traction of the sole is good enough for upland hunting but not as agressive as I would like. As beutiful and well made as these boots are they LEAK!!! Let me be clear, not just a little, they are entirely wet on the inside and this is after I used almost a full jar of Gokey waterproof dreasing on them. I guess this is no surprise considering the exposed 360 degree wrap around exposed seam. This is after training in wet knee high grass, no river crossings, no rain, no snow. I have not decided if I am going to keep the boots, I hate to let them go as the fit so well and are so well made but I do not know if my hunting conditions are arid enought to warrant keeping the boots. For sizing purposes I am a true size 11 C. The Length is perfect however I needed an E width for proper fit. No big deal, just be aware that these boots run VERY narrow when ordering. In conclusion if you hunt in very dry conditions this boot would be hard to beat."
Review 13 for Gokey® Classic Upland Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful, comfortable boots!,
June 22, 2011
By: fvfgregg
from Florida
"I love these boots! I always use boot socks, so I ordered a 1/2-size larger. They feel amazingly soft on my feet, almost like my favorite boat shoes. They'll be my boots in the field, but as well, these will be my rough weather and travelling boots. They look great with khaki slacks and a blazer, and can stand up to the cold and wet without falling apart. Thanks to Orvis for making it such a pleasant purchase!"
Review 14 for Gokey® Classic Upland Boots
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
A Great Disappointment,
September 24, 2010
By: PutDownThatAxeEugene
from San Diego, CA
Good Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"So there I was, staring at two winter weeks in New York with a bad ankle. I desperately needed something stylish yet durable and suited for a little foul weather that would also support my ankle. These seemed the perfect solution - not the case, my friend. As soon as I stepped off the curb into a puddle barely over the sole of the boot and felt cold water soaking into my sock, I knew this was not going to be good. I mean, I thought an upland boot would at least have some resistance to water, right? Well, I kept them. Can't wear them in the summer because they are pretty warm (haven't really had to test them outdoors in snow) so I saved them for cooler weather and they still run pretty hot for me. Also, most of my white socks now have a nice reddish-brown tinge to them. So, I have these expensive boots that I seldom wear. Not Orvis's fault, I should have returned them after that first puddle."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamOctober 26, 2010
Orvis Customer Service immediately contacted this customer and apologized that the boots didn't perform as he expected. Orvis greatly appreciates your feedback as we are constantly trying to find ways to improve our items. Customer Service also forwarded the customer’s comments to the product developers so they are aware of this feedback.
Review 15 for Gokey® Classic Upland Boots
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
excellent boots,
June 25, 2010
By: Pokeboater
from Macon, GA
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This is the 2nd pair of Gokey boots I have and the only thing I don't like is the new Vibram sole. My other pair has the Gro Cord sole. I live in Georgia and the clay is almost impossible to get out of the Vibram soles, otherwise I would give it 5 stars. Please bring back the old soles! I'm trying to find a place to get the soles replaced so I can wear them inside without tracking mud/dirt everywhere."
Review 16 for Gokey® Classic Upland Boots
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Good Boot,
April 18, 2010
By: RickB
from Dallas, TX
Good Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Bought my Gokey boots from Orvis about 10 years ago. Have held up very well and are very comfortable with one caveat - these boots have zero arch support or cushioning and the Gro-Cord soles, although very tough and durable, provide no cushion themselves. If you need arch support you will need to order a larger size for your inserts. The boots run a bit narrow."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamJune 24, 2010
Orvis Customer Service contacted this customer and thanked him for his honest feedback. We greatly appreciate customer feedback on our items—we are constantly trying to find ways to improve them. Orvis has also forwarded our customer's feedback to our product developers so they can be aware of the comments.
Review 17 for Gokey® Classic Upland Boots
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
My third Gokey footwear,
January 7, 2010
By: Blethook
from Dorset, UK
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"So, after owning the Sauvage Oxford & Hiker for a few years, I decided to "complete" the collection by getting the upland boots.
These boots are well-made as you'd expect from Gokey.
They're stiff when new (in fact, my feet suffered from the worst blisters) so there will be breaking in period... For me it was about a month...
Best to break in the boots by wearing them indoors to start with so that you wouldn't suffer from blisters like what happened to me. The boots are still stiff now, but they've started to conform to my feet and I can walk long distance for hours on end without any discomfort.
The Gokey boots tend to have narrow fit. I normally would go for Medium width (D) but with these I went for E. They seem to have upgraded the soles to Vibram now. I would prefer the more traditional gro-cord soles.
I just love the reddish colour of the leather!!"
Review 18 for Gokey® Classic Upland Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well worth the money!,
February 21, 2009
By: OhioHunter
from Southern Ohio
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I don't really know where to start. Everything about these boots are wonderful. Have had them for about three months and worn them hunting about 30 days in the field. Great comfort and value. I clean them about every two weeks of hard use and put Gokey leather conditioner on them, and they still look brand new. As hard as it is to believe this might be my last upland boot I will ever need. Very tough boots. Thank you Orvis and Gokey for selling an excellent product."
Review 19 for Gokey® Classic Upland Boots
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sent Wrong Size,
December 4, 2008
By: Wyatt
"I purchased a pair of Gokey Uplanders in size 13 EE, but I was sent the wrong size, 13 E. When I noticed the problem I had already been wearing them. I called customer service and they offered to replace them by charging me for a new pair and refunding me when they got the old ones back. Or sending them back to exchange. I decided that I would keep the original pair as opposed to charging another $500 on my credit card or being with out my boots. Other than the size mix up, these are a quality product, that will obviously last for years. I would definitely buy another pair."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Gokey® Classic Upland Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Most comfortable boot,
August 18, 2008
By: mlmettry
from Oklahoma City, OK
"I purchased a pair of Classic Upland Boots in 2006. The boots were comfortable when I first put my feet in them. I have worn these boots two years hunting deer and turkey.
An excellent product.
"