Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Sandanona Pull-On Boots

Ten-inch-high oil-tanned brown leather boots with a lower made from 9-oz. bullhide and a lighter-weight, 6-oz. bullhide upper. Brown leather boots have cinch straps at ankle and top. Weighs 3.83 lbs. per pair in size 10. Made in USA.Whole and half sizes: 7-13½. Widths D, E.
Average Customer Rating:
4.579 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (38 reviews)
5 stars
31
4 stars
1
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
1
35 of 38(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sandanona Pull-On Boots
Review 1 for Sandanona Pull-On Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I waited to long!,
December 8, 2014
By: Yelof
from Joliet IL
"I literally have waited 6 years to purchase my first Gokey product. Expensive, did not want to deal with exchanges if sizing was wrong or there was a product issue. I waited 5 years and 363 days to long! I wear a 9 D in most shoes/boots and these fit well right out of the box. I wore them for 8-10 hours a day for 5 days (I'm serious about proper break in times in good shoes/boots). Little stiff out of the box but now feel great. I will wear these most days unless I need to wear a dressier shoe. I'm already shopping for my next pair of Gokeys. Most likely go with the custom fit to see if I can maximize the already existing comfort."
Review 2 for Sandanona Pull-On Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
December 4, 2014
By: Augustus444
"Have wanted a pair for years and finally bit the bullet. Have worn off and on for a week and they are breaking in nicely. Classy looking boot. Only gripe would be that the top of one boot is lighter than the other. That is the nature with leather and the cream/conditioner has helped in the short time I have had them."
Review 3 for Sandanona Pull-On Boots
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Good boot,
November 28, 2014
By: MRB1248
from Princeton, NJ
"I've had these boots for a year now, and they are a good quality boot. However, for a "field" boot, I would have expected them to be slightly more water resistant than they are. If using them in snow or wet, your feet will be soaked in a matter of minutes resulting in a very long day."
Review 4 for Sandanona Pull-On Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great boots!,
November 20, 2014
By: Len4604
from Philadelphia, PA
"I got these boots to replace a pair of roping boots that had worn out- I wish i had gotten them sooner. After a short break in period, I wear them all the time. I've also gotten rid of a couple other pairs of shoes and boots, as these are versatile. Great boot!"
Review 5 for Sandanona Pull-On Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding boot !,
October 18, 2014
By: Snakeman
from West Virginia
"My Sandanomas arrived today..they are perfect ! Fit, style and quality all tops. I am a herpetology professor in rattlesnake country so these boots will be perfect in the field and then transition without any problem to the classroom. I have Gokey Oxfords, Gokey Sauvage Hikers and now Sandanomas..my collection is complete, I'll never need another pair of shoes or boots !!"
Review 6 for Sandanona Pull-On Boots
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Horrible,
September 10, 2014
By: Builder
"Absolute worst boot ever. Uncomfortable, hard to get on and off, and very expensive."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Sandanona Pull-On Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Boot,
July 23, 2014
By: JRoe
"Still breaking-in seems to be a very comfortable boot for the office and in the field."
Review 8 for Sandanona Pull-On Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Customer Service,
June 16, 2014
By: ChesapeakeWingshooter
from Baltimore, Md
"I ordered these boots, and the quality is exactly what I have come to expect of Gokey. Have owned briefcase and snake proof boots in past.
Given the past reviews of these boots, I ordered a half size larger to accommodate. When I received them, they were true to size, and I had to exchange them. Orvis was very responsive through their online chat option, and I received the new boots before I even received credit for the first pair that was returned."
Review 9 for Sandanona Pull-On Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sandanona,
May 21, 2014
By: Mrjb56
from Braselton, GA
"Great pair of boots, comfortable but took about 5 days to break in. The only problem is that I have a high arch and it is difficult to get my feet into them. I use a boot pull to get on and a boot jack to get off. Not as easy as the cowboy boots I typically wear. Once on they are comfortable as any shoe or boot I have worn."
Review 10 for Sandanona Pull-On Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Forever boots,
May 20, 2014
By: RollTideRoller
from AL
"I bought this pair for my son. I was tired of him wearing mine which are 20 years old. This is some of the finest footwear available. A light, sturdy, comfortable and great looking boot."
Review 11 for Sandanona Pull-On Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love these boots,
May 18, 2014
By: Phonman
from Tracy Mn.
"I've wanted these Gokey boots since 1983, I finally got them and I wish I hadn't waited sooo long! They're comfortable and very stylish! Thanks Orvis!"
Review 12 for Sandanona Pull-On Boots
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
should have gone custom sizing,
March 17, 2014
By: JackBalanta
from Pine Level, Ga.
"Even after a three week break-in the boots are not as comfortable as expected. The sizing is correct as to my other boots/shoes. Heel slip is a problem even with the straps pulled tight. I hope more wear time will help. To be fair, I have always had narrow heels. Should have gone with the custom made Sandanona."
Review 13 for Sandanona Pull-On Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Boot,
March 11, 2014
By: eccrichmond
"I had wanted a pair of Gokey boots for years and finally decided that it was time to pull the trigger, I really wish I had done it sooner. The boots look great, perfect in the field and easily transition to the office or happy hour. Brush pants or khakis, they work. I bought my standard size and width and was hesitant when I tried them on the first time, they were a little tight and took a little bit of struggle to pull on but I know that most leather boots need time to break in, I've worn cowboy boots for 4 or 5 months before they feel right. These started to feel right by the third day and after a week they are some of the most comfortable boots I've ever worn. Beyond comfortable, they feel like an old pair of slippers. I can also tell that this is a pair of boots that I will own the rest of my life, durable, well built American boots. I highly recommend them."
Review 14 for Sandanona Pull-On Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Classic, handsome,
January 29, 2014
By: brockvond
from San Francisco, CA
"Solid engineering, strong leather with friendly feel, adapting to my particular foot size/shape right on schedule. Feels good to walk out wearing these customers, and I look forward to a long relationship."
Review 15 for Sandanona Pull-On Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Third Pair!,
January 16, 2014
By: Motherofboys
from Tuscaloosa, Alabama
"These boots are a must have for any outdoorsman or someone who wants to be able to go from the field to a casual office. They are comfortable and my Go To Boots for my husband and two sons. Highly recommend them!"
Review 16 for Sandanona Pull-On Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect Fit,
November 18, 2013
By: SeaHunt
from Augusta, GA
"I ordered my Gokeys off of the Orvis website and was exited for their arrival. They were delivered promptly in 3 days and were everything I expected. They a perfect fit I simply ordered my normal shoe size which is a 10 and they were right on the money. I did order the EE width to ensure the boot was wide enough which it fit perfect. I would recomend ordering the wider size even though I don't have a wide fit the wide boot is still snug. Great looking boot and will stand up to anything!"
Review 17 for Sandanona Pull-On Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
So Far So Good,
September 4, 2013
By: rt123
from Alabama
"I have only had my boots a few weeks, but so far I am impressed. The size issue mentioned by others seems to have been cured. I ordered my regular boot size and they fit perfectly right out of the box. The construction and materials seem to be top notch. As long as they hold up as they should, I don't think there is one thing to improve on."
Review 18 for Sandanona Pull-On Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect purchase,
December 29, 2012
By: dd59
from Midland, GA
"The Gokey boots that we gave our son are awesome! Unbelievable craftsmanship and well worth the money. My husband has had his for quite some time and they have held up extremely well. Perfect boots !"
Review 19 for Sandanona Pull-On Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SANDANORA PULL-ON BOOTS,
December 28, 2012
By: proto
from OCEAN VIEW VIRGINIA
"I PURCHASED A PAIR OF THE SANDANORA BOOTS AT THE ORVIS TENT SALE ABOUT 10 YEARS AGO AND WORE THEM FOR FIELD ENGINEERING GROUND WORK ON SEVERAL INDIAN RESERVATIONS WHERE NATIVE AMERICANS WERE WEARING STEEL TOE BOOTS WITH THE SOLES CUT OUT OF THEM FOR TRADITIONAL REASONS. THE HIGH STEEL WORKERS IN NEW YORK AND SWITZERLAND WERE MEMBERS OF THE TRIBE I VISITED TO DO VERTICLE CORRECTIONS TO AIR FIELD CODES. THEY LIKE THE BOOTS AND SMILED AND SAID STAY OFF THE SIDEWALKS. THAT'S EXACTLY WHAT I DID AND THE BOOTS FELT LIKE SURE PAWS ON POINT FOR A RANGER PATROL IN THE TENNESSEE VALLEY AUTHORITY MOUNTAIN TANGLE FOOTS RIDGE LINES. I REORDERED A NEW PAIR THIS CHRISTMAS AND SENT THEM BACK BECAUSE THEY WERE SIZED FOR CASUAL WEAR AND I STILL NEED A TIGHT FOOTBALL KLEAT FITTING. I AM GOING TO SEND IN MY PAW PRINTS AS SOON AS I MAKE THE INSURANCE PAYMENT ON THE LAMBORGHINI AND GET A NEW PAIR IN CUSTOME ONLY SWARTZ TO GO WITH MY PENGUIN SUIT. I WOULD HAZARD A GUESS THAT IF THE ECONOMY CONTINUES TO PLUNGE, THESE BOOTS WILL BE WORTH $3000 ON THE BLACK MARKET IN TEN YEARS IF YOU CAN GET THEM IN QUE FROM GOKEY AT ALL."
Review 20 for Sandanona Pull-On Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gokey Sandanona boots,
December 28, 2012
By: Iowaalfa
from Coralville, IA
"I have owned a pair of Gokey Sauvage hilers for about 15 years - the most comfortable and well made footwear I've owned. Based on my satisfaction with the Sauvage hikers, I bit the ($$$) bullet and ordered a pair of Gokey's Sandnona pullon boots. Couldn't be more impressed: gorgeous craftsmanship, beautiful leather, perfect fit. I'm sure they will last a lifetime, and my son will get a legacy gift when I can no longer pull them on my feet."