Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Sandanona Pull-On Boots

Ten-inch-high oil-tanned brown leather boots with a lower made from 9-oz. bullhide and a lighter-weight, 6-oz. bullhide upper. Brown leather boots have cinch straps at ankle and top. Weighs 3.83 lbs. per pair in size 10. Made in USA.Whole and half sizes: 7-13½. Widths D, E.
Average Customer Rating:
4.63 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (27 reviews)
5 stars
22
4 stars
1
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
0
26 of 27(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sandanona Pull-On Boots
Review 1 for Sandanona Pull-On Boots
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
should have gone custom sizing,
March 17, 2014
By: JackBalanta
from Pine Level, Ga.
"Even after a three week break-in the boots are not as comfortable as expected. The sizing is correct as to my other boots/shoes. Heel slip is a problem even with the straps pulled tight. I hope more wear time will help. To be fair, I have always had narrow heels. Should have gone with the custom made Sandanona."
Review 2 for Sandanona Pull-On Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Boot,
March 11, 2014
By: eccrichmond
"I had wanted a pair of Gokey boots for years and finally decided that it was time to pull the trigger, I really wish I had done it sooner. The boots look great, perfect in the field and easily transition to the office or happy hour. Brush pants or khakis, they work. I bought my standard size and width and was hesitant when I tried them on the first time, they were a little tight and took a little bit of struggle to pull on but I know that most leather boots need time to break in, I've worn cowboy boots for 4 or 5 months before they feel right. These started to feel right by the third day and after a week they are some of the most comfortable boots I've ever worn. Beyond comfortable, they feel like an old pair of slippers. I can also tell that this is a pair of boots that I will own the rest of my life, durable, well built American boots. I highly recommend them."
Review 3 for Sandanona Pull-On Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Classic, handsome,
January 29, 2014
By: brockvond
from San Francisco, CA
"Solid engineering, strong leather with friendly feel, adapting to my particular foot size/shape right on schedule. Feels good to walk out wearing these customers, and I look forward to a long relationship."
Review 4 for Sandanona Pull-On Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Third Pair!,
January 16, 2014
By: Motherofboys
from Tuscaloosa, Alabama
"These boots are a must have for any outdoorsman or someone who wants to be able to go from the field to a casual office. They are comfortable and my Go To Boots for my husband and two sons. Highly recommend them!"
Review 5 for Sandanona Pull-On Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect Fit,
November 18, 2013
By: SeaHunt
from Augusta, GA
"I ordered my Gokeys off of the Orvis website and was exited for their arrival. They were delivered promptly in 3 days and were everything I expected. They a perfect fit I simply ordered my normal shoe size which is a 10 and they were right on the money. I did order the EE width to ensure the boot was wide enough which it fit perfect. I would recomend ordering the wider size even though I don't have a wide fit the wide boot is still snug. Great looking boot and will stand up to anything!"
Review 6 for Sandanona Pull-On Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
So Far So Good,
September 4, 2013
By: rt123
from Alabama
"I have only had my boots a few weeks, but so far I am impressed. The size issue mentioned by others seems to have been cured. I ordered my regular boot size and they fit perfectly right out of the box. The construction and materials seem to be top notch. As long as they hold up as they should, I don't think there is one thing to improve on."
Review 7 for Sandanona Pull-On Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect purchase,
December 29, 2012
By: dd59
from Midland, GA
"The Gokey boots that we gave our son are awesome! Unbelievable craftsmanship and well worth the money. My husband has had his for quite some time and they have held up extremely well. Perfect boots !"
Review 8 for Sandanona Pull-On Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SANDANORA PULL-ON BOOTS,
December 28, 2012
By: proto
from OCEAN VIEW VIRGINIA
"I PURCHASED A PAIR OF THE SANDANORA BOOTS AT THE ORVIS TENT SALE ABOUT 10 YEARS AGO AND WORE THEM FOR FIELD ENGINEERING GROUND WORK ON SEVERAL INDIAN RESERVATIONS WHERE NATIVE AMERICANS WERE WEARING STEEL TOE BOOTS WITH THE SOLES CUT OUT OF THEM FOR TRADITIONAL REASONS. THE HIGH STEEL WORKERS IN NEW YORK AND SWITZERLAND WERE MEMBERS OF THE TRIBE I VISITED TO DO VERTICLE CORRECTIONS TO AIR FIELD CODES. THEY LIKE THE BOOTS AND SMILED AND SAID STAY OFF THE SIDEWALKS. THAT'S EXACTLY WHAT I DID AND THE BOOTS FELT LIKE SURE PAWS ON POINT FOR A RANGER PATROL IN THE TENNESSEE VALLEY AUTHORITY MOUNTAIN TANGLE FOOTS RIDGE LINES. I REORDERED A NEW PAIR THIS CHRISTMAS AND SENT THEM BACK BECAUSE THEY WERE SIZED FOR CASUAL WEAR AND I STILL NEED A TIGHT FOOTBALL KLEAT FITTING. I AM GOING TO SEND IN MY PAW PRINTS AS SOON AS I MAKE THE INSURANCE PAYMENT ON THE LAMBORGHINI AND GET A NEW PAIR IN CUSTOME ONLY SWARTZ TO GO WITH MY PENGUIN SUIT. I WOULD HAZARD A GUESS THAT IF THE ECONOMY CONTINUES TO PLUNGE, THESE BOOTS WILL BE WORTH $3000 ON THE BLACK MARKET IN TEN YEARS IF YOU CAN GET THEM IN QUE FROM GOKEY AT ALL."
Review 9 for Sandanona Pull-On Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gokey Sandanona boots,
December 28, 2012
By: Iowaalfa
from Coralville, IA
"I have owned a pair of Gokey Sauvage hilers for about 15 years - the most comfortable and well made footwear I've owned. Based on my satisfaction with the Sauvage hikers, I bit the ($$$) bullet and ordered a pair of Gokey's Sandnona pullon boots. Couldn't be more impressed: gorgeous craftsmanship, beautiful leather, perfect fit. I'm sure they will last a lifetime, and my son will get a legacy gift when I can no longer pull them on my feet."
Review 10 for Sandanona Pull-On Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing Boots,
December 8, 2012
By: GONATS
from Bethesda, MD
"These boots are simply terrific. Very well built and comfortable. Prior reviews have referred to a size issue and so I initially ordered a 2 sizes above my usual. It took several returns to get the correct size (1/2 size smaller than usual) but the fit is perfect. The store made the return process seamless, it just took a while to get it right."
Review 11 for Sandanona Pull-On Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best money I've ever spent,
October 8, 2012
By: Kregbo
from Hokes Bluff , AL
"I was skeptical of paying $380 for a pair of boots but now that I've worn them I'm glad I did."
Review 12 for Sandanona Pull-On Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Better Than Ever,
September 26, 2012
By: Warden
from Essex, CT
"This is my second pair of Gokey boots and they have already satisfied me greatly. The first pair have been used for twelve years and will continue to be worn by another owner. I just wanted a new pair."
Review 13 for Sandanona Pull-On Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great boot, bad sizing,
August 21, 2012
By: Quailkiller
from Midland, GA
"These are excellent, very well made boots. I had owned a pair previously and the sizing has apparently changed to better conform to one's regular shoe size. Gokey/Orvis needs to update their information to reflect this change as my new pair fits perfectly in my lifelong adult size of 9D where before it required some oddball size to get the boots to fit."
Review 14 for Sandanona Pull-On Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Favorite boots,
February 6, 2012
By: Mark110
"I have never written a review before, but I Loved these boots so much I felt I had to. The initial high price has been forgotten as the longer I wear these boots the more I like them. I've worn them from Alabama to Afghanistan. Mine weren't as tight when new as some others have posted. However, the more I wear them the better they feel."
Review 15 for Sandanona Pull-On Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
New Gokeys,
December 31, 2011
By: Sidde5
from Shreveport, La.
"My sons are now on their third pair of Gokeys...They loved getting a new pair! Orvis has been so easy to shop with, and made it easy for me to exchange one pair for another size."
Review 16 for Sandanona Pull-On Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Boots,
December 14, 2011
By: Schrades
from Wisonson
"I purchased these boots in my normal size, and like many others have posted, the size was off and they were difficult to get on. I sent them back, and ordered a half size up. Fit and function are great. It's unfortunate these boots get poor reviews simply due to size. So they run small, send them back! Quality, durability, and comfort are first rate... trates that are difficult to achieve. These boots are definitely the exception, and definitely recommended."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Sandanona Pull-On Boots
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I wanted to love these boots...,
November 4, 2011
By: wagman
from Annapolis, MD
"I really wanted to love these boots. They are obviously well-made, made in America and have a great look. I love pull-on boots when not at work, and I figured this was the pair that would replace the cheap pair I was wearing and last forever. I had read other reviews that talked about sizing issues, but I have a narrow foot, so I figured I would not have any problems.
When they arrived, I could not get the 11-D on my 11-B/C foot. I called the 800 line, decided to try an 11.5 EE, partially because they had this size in stock. I returned the 11-D to the Bethesda (not close, but the closest) store with no problems.
When the 11.5 EEs arrived, I was able to get them on my feet with some effort and wore them around the house for an hour. At the end of the hour, I realized this was never going to work-they were still too tight.
I am returning this pair with regret, as I really wanted them to fit. I certainly haven't given up on the Orvis/Gokey brand, as they make a great product, but I am going to have to find my pull-on boots elsewhere."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Sandanona Pull-On Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
miracle on my feet!,
October 17, 2011
By: italianovero
from Winthrop,Mass
"Before I did buy this boots,I did some research regarding Gokey and what they have to offer.I was personally convinced that these pair of boots was going to "ROCK",and matter of fact I do wear them anywhere I go !The leather is soft,the hand stich is well done and most of all,they feel like sleepers instead of boots!!This is a true miracle on my feet.I raccomend this product to anyone I know."
Review 19 for Sandanona Pull-On Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Second to None,
October 15, 2011
By: Chadwick
from Baldwin Co Alabama
"These boots are by far the best shoes/boots I have ever owned. I am very hard on footwear and typically wear out shoes/boots long before their expected life ends. I am in my 6th year of of owning these boots and they look brand new but fit like I have had them forever. The soles are hardly worn. Not only do I wear them in the field but I wear them almost everyday. The quality construction and its durability Make these boots literally second to none! I highly reccomend them to anyone debating if they should purchase these boots. You will not be dissapointed."
Review 20 for Sandanona Pull-On Boots
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Boot didn't fit,
August 9, 2010
By: unhappycamper
Good Value: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I was really looking forward to receiving my boots. I have been wanting a pair for about 3 years. However, when they arrived I was disappointed. I ordered a 10E and could not even get my foot in the boot. My foot would only go down the neck of the boot about half way. I called orvis and they said they would send me another size or that I could order a custom pair. Since the neck of the boot was the problem and not the size I chose to just return them. Hopefully orvis can design a pair of these beauties with a zipper in the back. I would definitely reorder if they did."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamAugust 10, 2010
Orvis Customer Service immediately contacted this customer and apologized for the issue with the sizing. Orvis greatly appreciates your feedback about our shoe sizing—we are constantly trying to find ways to improve our fit.