Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Sandanona Pull-On Boots

Ten-inch-high oil-tanned brown leather boots with a lower made from 9-oz. bullhide and a lighter-weight, 6-oz. bullhide upper. Brown leather boots have cinch straps at ankle and top. Weighs 3.83 lbs. per pair in size 10. Made in USA.Whole and half sizes: 7-13½. Widths D, E.
Average Customer Rating:
4.595 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (42 reviews)
5 stars
34
4 stars
2
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
1
39 of 42(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sandanona Pull-On Boots
Review 1 for Sandanona Pull-On Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size,
February 9, 2015
By: SGKDHK
from Mississippi
"I always wear a size 12D in Alden's, Allen Edmonds, Chippewa. The 12 D was way to tight and went with the 12 E which fits just right. The throat of the boot is tight so hard to get on but after a weeks wear and many applications of leather conditioner they are a little easier to get on and off. The bottom leather is very thick and will take time to break in but will be worth it. I will probably get rid of most of my other boots now. I have the Growcord sole which I like as they don't track the mud and hold small rocks like the Vibram soles do. Going to get the Chukka boot next."
Review 2 for Sandanona Pull-On Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Recommend,
January 26, 2015
By: SarahR1215
"Definitely a good purchase. Fit true to size. Good quality."
Review 3 for Sandanona Pull-On Boots
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
brutally handsome,
January 20, 2015
By: 4WDFlyfisher
from Ostrander, OH
"Time to pull out the shearling-lined Pull-On Gokeys I purchased twenty years ago, give them a quick once-over with Gokey Leather Conditioner (which I did before putting them away at the end of last winter, with a pair of expanding shoe-trees inside, just for good measure), and keep them on the boot mat by the front door. (These are NOT your back-door boots!) I know the majority of people who might notice them on my feet have no idea what they are, their pedigree, their workmanship (and price!), their age, but I am now of an age myself to allow myself the secret of a little smugness about the quality of gear I wear, and the comfort it affords me in the out-of-doors, especially when everybody else is complaining about the weather. They're not for everyone, but neither is country living. Some day the grandkids will fight over them."
Review 4 for Sandanona Pull-On Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
one happy grandson,
January 2, 2015
By: joe708
from south Alabama
"17 year old grandson is styling in his new boots. He has not taken them off sence Christmas morning."
Review 5 for Sandanona Pull-On Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I waited to long!,
December 8, 2014
By: Yelof
from Joliet IL
"I literally have waited 6 years to purchase my first Gokey product. Expensive, did not want to deal with exchanges if sizing was wrong or there was a product issue. I waited 5 years and 363 days to long! I wear a 9 D in most shoes/boots and these fit well right out of the box. I wore them for 8-10 hours a day for 5 days (I'm serious about proper break in times in good shoes/boots). Little stiff out of the box but now feel great. I will wear these most days unless I need to wear a dressier shoe. I'm already shopping for my next pair of Gokeys. Most likely go with the custom fit to see if I can maximize the already existing comfort."
Review 6 for Sandanona Pull-On Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
December 4, 2014
By: Augustus444
"Have wanted a pair for years and finally bit the bullet. Have worn off and on for a week and they are breaking in nicely. Classy looking boot. Only gripe would be that the top of one boot is lighter than the other. That is the nature with leather and the cream/conditioner has helped in the short time I have had them."
Review 7 for Sandanona Pull-On Boots
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Good boot,
November 28, 2014
By: MRB1248
from Princeton, NJ
"I've had these boots for a year now, and they are a good quality boot. However, for a "field" boot, I would have expected them to be slightly more water resistant than they are. If using them in snow or wet, your feet will be soaked in a matter of minutes resulting in a very long day."
Review 8 for Sandanona Pull-On Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great boots!,
November 20, 2014
By: Len4604
from Philadelphia, PA
"I got these boots to replace a pair of roping boots that had worn out- I wish i had gotten them sooner. After a short break in period, I wear them all the time. I've also gotten rid of a couple other pairs of shoes and boots, as these are versatile. Great boot!"
Review 9 for Sandanona Pull-On Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding boot !,
October 18, 2014
By: Snakeman
from West Virginia
"My Sandanomas arrived today..they are perfect ! Fit, style and quality all tops. I am a herpetology professor in rattlesnake country so these boots will be perfect in the field and then transition without any problem to the classroom. I have Gokey Oxfords, Gokey Sauvage Hikers and now Sandanomas..my collection is complete, I'll never need another pair of shoes or boots !!"
Review 10 for Sandanona Pull-On Boots
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Horrible,
September 10, 2014
By: Builder
"Absolute worst boot ever. Uncomfortable, hard to get on and off, and very expensive."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Sandanona Pull-On Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Boot,
July 23, 2014
By: JRoe
"Still breaking-in seems to be a very comfortable boot for the office and in the field."
Review 12 for Sandanona Pull-On Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Customer Service,
June 16, 2014
By: ChesapeakeWingshooter
from Baltimore, Md
"I ordered these boots, and the quality is exactly what I have come to expect of Gokey. Have owned briefcase and snake proof boots in past.
Given the past reviews of these boots, I ordered a half size larger to accommodate. When I received them, they were true to size, and I had to exchange them. Orvis was very responsive through their online chat option, and I received the new boots before I even received credit for the first pair that was returned."
Review 13 for Sandanona Pull-On Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sandanona,
May 21, 2014
By: Mrjb56
from Braselton, GA
"Great pair of boots, comfortable but took about 5 days to break in. The only problem is that I have a high arch and it is difficult to get my feet into them. I use a boot pull to get on and a boot jack to get off. Not as easy as the cowboy boots I typically wear. Once on they are comfortable as any shoe or boot I have worn."
Review 14 for Sandanona Pull-On Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Forever boots,
May 20, 2014
By: RollTideRoller
from AL
"I bought this pair for my son. I was tired of him wearing mine which are 20 years old. This is some of the finest footwear available. A light, sturdy, comfortable and great looking boot."
Review 15 for Sandanona Pull-On Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love these boots,
May 18, 2014
By: Phonman
from Tracy Mn.
"I've wanted these Gokey boots since 1983, I finally got them and I wish I hadn't waited sooo long! They're comfortable and very stylish! Thanks Orvis!"
Review 16 for Sandanona Pull-On Boots
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
should have gone custom sizing,
March 17, 2014
By: JackBalanta
from Pine Level, Ga.
"Even after a three week break-in the boots are not as comfortable as expected. The sizing is correct as to my other boots/shoes. Heel slip is a problem even with the straps pulled tight. I hope more wear time will help. To be fair, I have always had narrow heels. Should have gone with the custom made Sandanona."
Review 17 for Sandanona Pull-On Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Boot,
March 11, 2014
By: eccrichmond
"I had wanted a pair of Gokey boots for years and finally decided that it was time to pull the trigger, I really wish I had done it sooner. The boots look great, perfect in the field and easily transition to the office or happy hour. Brush pants or khakis, they work. I bought my standard size and width and was hesitant when I tried them on the first time, they were a little tight and took a little bit of struggle to pull on but I know that most leather boots need time to break in, I've worn cowboy boots for 4 or 5 months before they feel right. These started to feel right by the third day and after a week they are some of the most comfortable boots I've ever worn. Beyond comfortable, they feel like an old pair of slippers. I can also tell that this is a pair of boots that I will own the rest of my life, durable, well built American boots. I highly recommend them."
Review 18 for Sandanona Pull-On Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Classic, handsome,
January 29, 2014
By: brockvond
from San Francisco, CA
"Solid engineering, strong leather with friendly feel, adapting to my particular foot size/shape right on schedule. Feels good to walk out wearing these customers, and I look forward to a long relationship."
Review 19 for Sandanona Pull-On Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Third Pair!,
January 16, 2014
By: Motherofboys
from Tuscaloosa, Alabama
"These boots are a must have for any outdoorsman or someone who wants to be able to go from the field to a casual office. They are comfortable and my Go To Boots for my husband and two sons. Highly recommend them!"
Review 20 for Sandanona Pull-On Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect Fit,
November 18, 2013
By: SeaHunt
from Augusta, GA
"I ordered my Gokeys off of the Orvis website and was exited for their arrival. They were delivered promptly in 3 days and were everything I expected. They a perfect fit I simply ordered my normal shoe size which is a 10 and they were right on the money. I did order the EE width to ensure the boot was wide enough which it fit perfect. I would recomend ordering the wider size even though I don't have a wide fit the wide boot is still snug. Great looking boot and will stand up to anything!"