Orvis Ratings and Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Premium Zinger

The rugged stainless-steel housing and clip of this fly fishing Zinger won't corrode. Retractable cord. Zinger features a covered pinpoint that prevents accidental pokes.
Average Customer Rating:
3.16 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (25 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
8
13 of 25(52%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Premium Zinger
Review 1 for Premium Zinger
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Still the Best!,
November 9, 2012
By: Puck1577
"This zinger is still the most durable on the market. Mine have lasted for years so I've added a couple more at a great price."
Review 2 for Premium Zinger
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Zinger is simply perfect,
November 6, 2012
By: zamrika
from NY
"Zinger is simply perfect to use, high quality as always you may expect from Orvis"
Review 3 for Premium Zinger
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GREAT PURCHASE,
October 29, 2012
By: Troutman301
"I have several of these for my fishing vest, my floation vest for kayak fishing, and on my lanyard. Never had a failure or lost anything attached to them because of opening."
Review 4 for Premium Zinger
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great gift gadget,
October 22, 2012
By: GreggM
from Birmingham, AL
"Gave boss on bosses day; really excited about the gadget, then from Orvis. Thanks Orvis"
Review 5 for Premium Zinger
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good quality,
October 22, 2012
By: sportndogart
from mahopac, NY
"This zinger seems to be of good quality, an seems durable, Extended usage in the field will tell the tale. If my opinion changes, I will repost."
Review 6 for Premium Zinger
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excelent Zinger,
October 19, 2012
By: CaptainHank
from Newbury Park, CA
"Another excellent product from Orvis. I would like to see a little bit longer pin like the plastic Wire-Cord Zinger from Orvis. This would make it a little easier to put it on the Hypalon patch for zinger attachment on the Safe Passage Micro Chest Pack."
Review 7 for Premium Zinger
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality Item,
September 11, 2012
By: Leo111
from Southern England
"This is a top quality jacket accessory well made strong cord with an easy to operate clasp."
Review 8 for Premium Zinger
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Time will tell,
July 31, 2012
By: HUMORME
from Butler, NJ
"For a premium zinger, the latch mechanism holding the attached gear had to be bent to feel comfortable the latch would hold. As presented, the latch was easy to pop open which wouldn't be expected on a product that leads off with the word “premium” in the name. Time will tell."
Review 9 for Premium Zinger
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sharp,
June 6, 2012
By: AceCurry
from Charleston, West Virginia
"Sharp looking zinger. This is my second one and I have never had any issues with them breaking."
Review 10 for Premium Zinger
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Awful!,
January 23, 2012
By: DeGrazIV
from Carmel, NY
"I bought this zinger, and used to for a pair of $9 nips, and $12 Forcepts. I plced it on my tailwaters jacket where the holes that were made especially for this. The pin latch came undone, and I lost all three things while fishing in Pulaski, NY for Steelhead. So in addition to the $12.95 I paid in the new Orvis store in Yonkers, NY, I lost another $21 worth of things."
Review 11 for Premium Zinger
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Very poor example of "Premium",
October 26, 2011
By: Mountainflier
from Placerville CA
"I must admit that I purchased this zinger because it appeared to of better quality, and definitely looked nicer than the plastic zingers I've used before.
Coming home from the Orvis store my six year old asked if he could look at it. I handed it too him in the car and within a minute he said "sorry daddy" and handed it back to me in two pieces. It seems the metal loop that holds the clip to the zinger cable had opened and allowed the clip to fall off. I noticed that the ring was not welded or overlapped in any way making it an obvious weak point in the connection. I bent the ring back into place and repaired the zinger.
I was using the zinger to hold a pair of nippers. At some point I let go of the nippers with tension on the cable. The nippers retracted and struck the gold "Orvis" faceplate- knocking the faceplate off onto the ground. I noticed that the faceplate only had a small amount of glue holding it onto the actual zinger body.
So now I had a ugly silver zinger with a questionable ring holding onto my tool.
Orvis seriously, if this is what you want to brand "premium" I'm going to have to seriously question your quality control. This product is garbage.
I may mention that I had these problems and I've only taken it on one fishing trip. I have yet to use it enough to get to experience the broken back pin that others have complained about."
Review 12 for Premium Zinger
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Needs more work!,
September 12, 2011
By: Covington
"I had hoped that the metal cable would promise a zinger that would last longer. However the assembly screw fell out, the housing came apart and the pieces fell to my feet. I collected the pieces and attempted to reassemble the unit myself on the river. Wasting valuable fishing time, I gave up and stuffed everything in my vest pocket to be returned to my local Orvis shop."
Review 13 for Premium Zinger
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ok product,
September 11, 2011
By: jammysland
"The mechanism that retrieves the string on this product is of good quality however the clip which attaches your object to it is poor. It comes open by itself sometimes. I lost a pair of forceps through it until i figured to tape the clip shut with electricians tape."
Review 14 for Premium Zinger
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Stay Away,
August 25, 2011
By: dryflyguy238
"Typically love Orvis quality & attention to detail. Can't say anything new that hasn't been said -- my nearly brand new (3nd time on the water) "premium quality" zinger broke in the same fashion that others have described -- (fastening pin attachment pulled away from body of zinger) luckily I was in shallow clear water & felt/heard my forceps drop into the water. Bad juju -- stay away"
Review 15 for Premium Zinger
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Poor quality pin,
July 21, 2011
By: NYFlyfisher
"The zinger itself is well made, but the pin on the back of it is poor quality. It opens very easily by itself and can then fall off your vest. I had to manually crush the pin mechanism after pinning it onto my vest, so that it wouldn't open. The upside of doing this is that the zinger now can't fall off. The downside of doing this, though, is that the zinger is now permanently attached to my vest and I can not remove it if I wanted to."
Review 16 for Premium Zinger
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Not up ot Orvis Standards,
July 20, 2011
By: ScottS
from Longview, TX
"Bought the premium zinger thinking it would last. Well the zinger lasted for a couple of years but I constantly had to pay attention to the pin keeper that kept coming loose. It finally broke and I lost a pair of scissor forceps in the Canadian Rockies. I will not purchase another zinger with such a weak pin connetion."
Review 17 for Premium Zinger
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Poor quality,
July 5, 2011
By: Pedro01
"Being an Orvis product I assumed this zinger would be of top quality - alas no, the pin at rear broke off after only a couple of months use, very disappointing."
Review 18 for Premium Zinger
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice zinger,
June 23, 2011
By: StevenO
"This zinger is heavier duty than other ones I have used in the past. I bought six."
Review 19 for Premium Zinger
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mine Still Work,
April 25, 2011
By: Agiclone
from Derbyshire, England
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I have four of these zingers and they have performed excellently but have not been near sea water, maybe that's a factor. They appear well made to me."
Review 20 for Premium Zinger
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Not up to standard,
October 11, 2010
By: Steeliechick
Good Value: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I bought two of the zingers expecting them to wear well in the salt. Well, as we all know, frequent exposure to salt water will test your gear. These fell apart quickly--surprisingly fast and I was disappointed in my purchase. That's not something I say about Orvis products!"
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamOctober 28, 2010
Orvis Customer Service contacted this customer and apologized that her zingers did not hold up as well as expected. Orvis thanked the customer for the valuable feedback and passed it to the product developer for review. Of course, Orvis offered to exchange this item or give a complete refund. We will cheerfully exchange or refund your purchase at any time, for any reason. Our 100% Satisfaction Guarantee is the strongest in the business.