Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Gokey® Sauvage Oxfords

In the more–than–150–year–old Gokey® tradition, these comfortable classic oxfords with rolled ankle collar for everyday wear are handcrafted in the USA of the highest-quality leather. Leather shoes for men in brown. Made in USA.Whole and half sizes: 7½, 9, 10, 13. In D, EE widths.
Average Customer Rating:
4.266 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (64 reviews)
5 stars
40
4 stars
11
3 stars
7
2 stars
2
1 star
4
51 of 64(80%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Gokey® Sauvage Oxfords
Review 1 for Gokey® Sauvage Oxfords
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Finally a traditional camp blucher,
August 26, 2012
By: Cubanchem73
from TX
"I've searched high and low for a traditional camp blucher made in the USA, and I finally found it. I'm somewhat obsessed with camp mocs and bluchers and probably own two dozen pair. One thing I've noticed over the last 10-15 years is that the design of these shoes increasingly developed a shorter and shorter vamp ( the top part of the shoe that the tongue extends out from). Wish I could explain why, but this phenomenon and the awful squared toe design has really ruined modern shoe designs. I have many USA made "classic" shoe company shoes and the Gokey model is one of the few, if not the only one that has maintained the traditional and better looking, in my opinion, long vamp that is so reminiscent of days gone bye. No one buys these shoes because they want to be trendy, they buy these shoes for classical, purposeful and practical reasons. This shoe fits all those bills. The shoe uses thick but supple bullhide that molds to the foot quickly. The sole is no longer the Grocord sole, but the Vibram (430 model, I think) is an excellent sole for traction, comfort and not too much bulk. The heavy waxed laces really allow you to cinch down and they don't loosen over time. The show fits true to size in length and marginally narrow. It's traditional moccasin design wraps the foot nicely and it will conform to your gait quickly. Some people have mentioned that the heel area is loose but in fact it has reinforced heel counters which I found to be quite snug, not loose at all. The top opening just below the ankle is probably what people are saying is too open, but that's inherent to a moccasin. This model has no lacing that wraps around the back of the foot, but I don't think it needs them. If you can't tell, I'm quite pleased with these and when the chukkas are available in my size, I'll be getting these too."
Review 2 for Gokey® Sauvage Oxfords
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality,
February 5, 2015
By: Rider357
from Vt
"Comfortable right out of the box, even better after a few weeks. Perfect shoes for any occasion except the most formal. The last time I saw shoes of this quality was more years ago than I care to mention. American workmanship at it's best."
Review 3 for Gokey® Sauvage Oxfords
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
rugged everyday wear,
January 29, 2015
By: 4WDFlyfisher
from Ostrander, OH
"finally needed to replace the original pair of Gokey Oxfords purchased fifteen or twenty years ago. (yes, they can easily last that long, and longer.) probably just need to send the old pair in for reconditioning, but I am very happy with the new pair. Same great design -- totally classic and old-school -- but with a better tread on the sole, and a richer texture to the leather (and darker than I remember the old pair having been, just out of the box). Not really a great walking shoe or hiking shoe, given the alternatives on the market today. (See some of the Merrells advertised elsewhere in Orvis.) Just great for wearing to school and the office and in town, with blazer, tweed, jeans, flannel, sweater, with or without a hat or tie."
Review 4 for Gokey® Sauvage Oxfords
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Great shoe, wrong width,
December 8, 2014
By: Nellieandgeorge
from Virginia
"I love these shoes and had a another pair earlier. I recently purchased a new model but unfortunately will have to return them. A "D" width is the narrowest they come and it is two wide for me -- I lace the shoe as tight as possible but it still is too loose."
Review 5 for Gokey® Sauvage Oxfords
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great shoes,
December 8, 2014
By: GeoffN
from Addison VT
"These are great shoes, rugged and well made. It's nice to find footwear made in the US."
Review 6 for Gokey® Sauvage Oxfords
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
read the directions,
December 5, 2014
By: Tommmm
from Lexington, Ky
"At first I thought shoes were too small. I was going to return them.
Then I read a little enclosed card that said to wear them for three days and they would conform to my feet. I did as directed and they are fine now.
I do not know yet how they will do for a long walk but I suspect they will be OK.
I rated them a 4 because of the directons being a little obscure and not wearing them long enough.
"
Review 7 for Gokey® Sauvage Oxfords
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Good Purchase,
December 1, 2014
By: SteveJob
"The shoes fit well right out of the box. Have been in use for about a month and they are very comfortable and provide a smart appearance."
Review 8 for Gokey® Sauvage Oxfords
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Shoes -,
November 30, 2014
By: Matt6416
"Great shoes - laces are too long. The long laces require double knots which is cumbersome."
Review 9 for Gokey® Sauvage Oxfords
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Antique look,
October 19, 2014
By: Gentleman
from Lower Gwynedd, PA
"Very pleased with this ancient design and cut. My pair was in the traditional rough cut form with no insert. I added a gel cushion from a prior boot and the fit is fine. The EE is a good size wide and not too loose."
Review 10 for Gokey® Sauvage Oxfords
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Third Sauvage Oxfords,
September 17, 2014
By: Gilbert
from Minneapolis, MN
"I really like these shoes. First pair in 1970's, then another following. Had a major gap in time until today simply putting up with other moc styles. My same shoe size still fits just fine. Even comfortable with about a weeks use..I like they look dressy and still casual. Only change is that the leather touches each side when you lace the shoe tight. I am still on summer weight socks. Shoes are 9 D."
Review 11 for Gokey® Sauvage Oxfords
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Shoes,
July 9, 2014
By: Gokeyshoefan
"My first pair of Gokey Sauvage Oxfords lasted for 10 years. They are excellent shoes that can fit most any occasion."
Review 12 for Gokey® Sauvage Oxfords
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality Product,
June 13, 2014
By: GusW
"Gokey does it well. A first rate product that performs head and shoulders above other like shoes. Orvis, please keep providing the opportunity to purchase quality products. Thanks."
Review 13 for Gokey® Sauvage Oxfords
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Solid buy,
January 15, 2014
By: Rcws
"Pleased with these. Comfortable out of the box. I liked their heft . They are heavy and clearly built to last."
Review 14 for Gokey® Sauvage Oxfords
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Great, but...,
December 26, 2013
By: MikeN
"These are low tech shoes that look they were made 80 years ago. I like the style, but not for everyone. I loved them for over a year until the nails from the heels began to push through into the inside of both shoes. Very disappointing. I sent them back for a refund. I am not confident enough to recommend them but I may order them again."
Review 15 for Gokey® Sauvage Oxfords
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very Satisfied,
October 21, 2013
By: BigTexMike
from Texas Hill Country
"Greta footwear. Very much in the tradition of Gokey quality. I ordered my exact size and they fit perfectly. Comfortable the first time I wore them. The second time I had them on for over 12 hrs straight and had no discomfort; my feet were fine at the end of an active day. The Vibram soles are a little stiff, but I've had them on other shoes and expected that.
I've now had them a little over a month and worn them 6-8 times. They look good enough to wear with chinos and a blazer, yet are tough and supportive enough to hike in.
The only thing preventing me from giving them 5 stars is that the laces are way too long. If you don't tie a double knot they drag the ground. I changed them out for shorter ones after a couple of wearings.
"
Review 16 for Gokey® Sauvage Oxfords
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Superior Product,
July 10, 2013
By: rochesterfisher
from Rochester, NY
"Gokey makes low-tech old-fashioned footwear of superior materials and craftsmanship. I have five pairs of Gokey shoes, including another pair of Sauvage Oxfords which I have so beaten up from travel and outdoor use that they will no longer double for dressier occasions. These shoes provide superb support and foot protection, and wear like iron. An easy application of Gokey Leather Conditioner restores them to nearly new. Although they are not light in weight, these shoes provide the pride of ownership that only a truly quality product can offer. I hope that Orvis continues to sell them forever."
Review 17 for Gokey® Sauvage Oxfords
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
So good I bought a 2nd pair,
July 9, 2013
By: Rhino88
from Florida/North Carolina
"These are great shoes to go with jeans, Khaki's and semi dress-up occasions. I bought a second pair when my size went on sale. I like to wear them in rugged terrain, snow, ice - anywhere where a bit more grip is desirable. Great looking shoe, too."
Review 18 for Gokey® Sauvage Oxfords
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fine shoe,
July 5, 2013
By: shoehead
from Ohio
"I've worn these shoes 5 days so far. The (EE) width is true to size--not always true with other shoes bought elsewhere. I already have the Chukka which I use in cooler weather and wanted a summer shoe for outdoor activities, including during light rain. It seems that these fit the bill very well, with one exception: I expected and hoped for a shoe which is notably lighter than the chukka, but this is not. Otherwise, seems to be excellent: good craftsmanship, good design, long-lasting."
Review 19 for Gokey® Sauvage Oxfords
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good looking and well made,
January 24, 2013
By: Aileron
from MD Eastern Shore
"It took a couple tries to get the right size. I ended up ordering a width larger than I normally wear. Took a couple of days to break in and they are well on the way to a perfect fit. The soles are now Vibram with the familiar yellow symbol. The shoe is well made and should last for a long time. It's nice to be able to buy a made in USA product."
Review 20 for Gokey® Sauvage Oxfords
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The shoe that won't die,
October 25, 2012
By: CanoeJosh
from Virginia
"The leather is the thickest I've ever seen. The sole has barely any evidance of wear. I have worn these shoes for 4 years now and they will not die.
Best part: On the inside of the shoe, there is a finished piece of leather behind the heal (as opposed to rough suede. So wear them without socks and they are very comfortable. This bit of extra detail adds to the comfort factor, which shows they are really serious about making not just a really good shoe, but THE BEST shoe. And you are buying american!"