Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Gokey® Sauvage Oxfords

In the more-than-150-year-old Gokey® tradition, these comfortable classic oxfords with rolled ankle collar for everyday wear are handcrafted in the USA of the highest-quality leather. Leather shoes for men in brown. Made in USA.Whole and half sizes: 7½, 9, 10, 13. In D, EE widths.
Average Customer Rating:
4.258 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (62 reviews)
5 stars
39
4 stars
10
3 stars
7
2 stars
2
1 star
4
49 of 62(79%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Gokey® Sauvage Oxfords
Review 1 for Gokey® Sauvage Oxfords
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Finally a traditional camp blucher,
August 26, 2012
By: Cubanchem73
from TX
"I've searched high and low for a traditional camp blucher made in the USA, and I finally found it. I'm somewhat obsessed with camp mocs and bluchers and probably own two dozen pair. One thing I've noticed over the last 10-15 years is that the design of these shoes increasingly developed a shorter and shorter vamp ( the top part of the shoe that the tongue extends out from). Wish I could explain why, but this phenomenon and the awful squared toe design has really ruined modern shoe designs. I have many USA made "classic" shoe company shoes and the Gokey model is one of the few, if not the only one that has maintained the traditional and better looking, in my opinion, long vamp that is so reminiscent of days gone bye. No one buys these shoes because they want to be trendy, they buy these shoes for classical, purposeful and practical reasons. This shoe fits all those bills. The shoe uses thick but supple bullhide that molds to the foot quickly. The sole is no longer the Grocord sole, but the Vibram (430 model, I think) is an excellent sole for traction, comfort and not too much bulk. The heavy waxed laces really allow you to cinch down and they don't loosen over time. The show fits true to size in length and marginally narrow. It's traditional moccasin design wraps the foot nicely and it will conform to your gait quickly. Some people have mentioned that the heel area is loose but in fact it has reinforced heel counters which I found to be quite snug, not loose at all. The top opening just below the ankle is probably what people are saying is too open, but that's inherent to a moccasin. This model has no lacing that wraps around the back of the foot, but I don't think it needs them. If you can't tell, I'm quite pleased with these and when the chukkas are available in my size, I'll be getting these too."
Review 2 for Gokey® Sauvage Oxfords
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Great shoe, wrong width,
December 8, 2014
By: Nellieandgeorge
from Virginia
"I love these shoes and had a another pair earlier. I recently purchased a new model but unfortunately will have to return them. A "D" width is the narrowest they come and it is two wide for me -- I lace the shoe as tight as possible but it still is too loose."
Review 3 for Gokey® Sauvage Oxfords
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great shoes,
December 8, 2014
By: GeoffN
from Addison VT
"These are great shoes, rugged and well made. It's nice to find footwear made in the US."
Review 4 for Gokey® Sauvage Oxfords
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
read the directions,
December 5, 2014
By: Tommmm
from Lexington, Ky
"At first I thought shoes were too small. I was going to return them.
Then I read a little enclosed card that said to wear them for three days and they would conform to my feet. I did as directed and they are fine now.
I do not know yet how they will do for a long walk but I suspect they will be OK.
I rated them a 4 because of the directons being a little obscure and not wearing them long enough.
"
Review 5 for Gokey® Sauvage Oxfords
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Good Purchase,
December 1, 2014
By: SteveJob
"The shoes fit well right out of the box. Have been in use for about a month and they are very comfortable and provide a smart appearance."
Review 6 for Gokey® Sauvage Oxfords
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Shoes -,
November 30, 2014
By: Matt6416
"Great shoes - laces are too long. The long laces require double knots which is cumbersome."
Review 7 for Gokey® Sauvage Oxfords
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Antique look,
October 19, 2014
By: Gentleman
from Lower Gwynedd, PA
"Very pleased with this ancient design and cut. My pair was in the traditional rough cut form with no insert. I added a gel cushion from a prior boot and the fit is fine. The EE is a good size wide and not too loose."
Review 8 for Gokey® Sauvage Oxfords
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Third Sauvage Oxfords,
September 17, 2014
By: Gilbert
from Minneapolis, MN
"I really like these shoes. First pair in 1970's, then another following. Had a major gap in time until today simply putting up with other moc styles. My same shoe size still fits just fine. Even comfortable with about a weeks use..I like they look dressy and still casual. Only change is that the leather touches each side when you lace the shoe tight. I am still on summer weight socks. Shoes are 9 D."
Review 9 for Gokey® Sauvage Oxfords
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Shoes,
July 9, 2014
By: Gokeyshoefan
"My first pair of Gokey Sauvage Oxfords lasted for 10 years. They are excellent shoes that can fit most any occasion."
Review 10 for Gokey® Sauvage Oxfords
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality Product,
June 13, 2014
By: GusW
"Gokey does it well. A first rate product that performs head and shoulders above other like shoes. Orvis, please keep providing the opportunity to purchase quality products. Thanks."
Review 11 for Gokey® Sauvage Oxfords
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Solid buy,
January 15, 2014
By: Rcws
"Pleased with these. Comfortable out of the box. I liked their heft . They are heavy and clearly built to last."
Review 12 for Gokey® Sauvage Oxfords
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Great, but...,
December 26, 2013
By: MikeN
"These are low tech shoes that look they were made 80 years ago. I like the style, but not for everyone. I loved them for over a year until the nails from the heels began to push through into the inside of both shoes. Very disappointing. I sent them back for a refund. I am not confident enough to recommend them but I may order them again."
Review 13 for Gokey® Sauvage Oxfords
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very Satisfied,
October 21, 2013
By: BigTexMike
from Texas Hill Country
"Greta footwear. Very much in the tradition of Gokey quality. I ordered my exact size and they fit perfectly. Comfortable the first time I wore them. The second time I had them on for over 12 hrs straight and had no discomfort; my feet were fine at the end of an active day. The Vibram soles are a little stiff, but I've had them on other shoes and expected that.
I've now had them a little over a month and worn them 6-8 times. They look good enough to wear with chinos and a blazer, yet are tough and supportive enough to hike in.
The only thing preventing me from giving them 5 stars is that the laces are way too long. If you don't tie a double knot they drag the ground. I changed them out for shorter ones after a couple of wearings.
"
Review 14 for Gokey® Sauvage Oxfords
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Superior Product,
July 10, 2013
By: rochesterfisher
from Rochester, NY
"Gokey makes low-tech old-fashioned footwear of superior materials and craftsmanship. I have five pairs of Gokey shoes, including another pair of Sauvage Oxfords which I have so beaten up from travel and outdoor use that they will no longer double for dressier occasions. These shoes provide superb support and foot protection, and wear like iron. An easy application of Gokey Leather Conditioner restores them to nearly new. Although they are not light in weight, these shoes provide the pride of ownership that only a truly quality product can offer. I hope that Orvis continues to sell them forever."
Review 15 for Gokey® Sauvage Oxfords
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
So good I bought a 2nd pair,
July 9, 2013
By: Rhino88
from Florida/North Carolina
"These are great shoes to go with jeans, Khaki's and semi dress-up occasions. I bought a second pair when my size went on sale. I like to wear them in rugged terrain, snow, ice - anywhere where a bit more grip is desirable. Great looking shoe, too."
Review 16 for Gokey® Sauvage Oxfords
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fine shoe,
July 5, 2013
By: shoehead
from Ohio
"I've worn these shoes 5 days so far. The (EE) width is true to size--not always true with other shoes bought elsewhere. I already have the Chukka which I use in cooler weather and wanted a summer shoe for outdoor activities, including during light rain. It seems that these fit the bill very well, with one exception: I expected and hoped for a shoe which is notably lighter than the chukka, but this is not. Otherwise, seems to be excellent: good craftsmanship, good design, long-lasting."
Review 17 for Gokey® Sauvage Oxfords
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good looking and well made,
January 24, 2013
By: Aileron
from MD Eastern Shore
"It took a couple tries to get the right size. I ended up ordering a width larger than I normally wear. Took a couple of days to break in and they are well on the way to a perfect fit. The soles are now Vibram with the familiar yellow symbol. The shoe is well made and should last for a long time. It's nice to be able to buy a made in USA product."
Review 18 for Gokey® Sauvage Oxfords
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The shoe that won't die,
October 25, 2012
By: CanoeJosh
from Virginia
"The leather is the thickest I've ever seen. The sole has barely any evidance of wear. I have worn these shoes for 4 years now and they will not die.
Best part: On the inside of the shoe, there is a finished piece of leather behind the heal (as opposed to rough suede. So wear them without socks and they are very comfortable. This bit of extra detail adds to the comfort factor, which shows they are really serious about making not just a really good shoe, but THE BEST shoe. And you are buying american!"
Review 19 for Gokey® Sauvage Oxfords
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Big Disappointment,
October 22, 2012
By: HJohn
"I wanted to like these shoes. They are American made. They are beautiful and the materials and workmanship are excellent. However, I found two serous problems with them. First, they are hard to break in. The instructions that come with them say that you need to wear them three times to do the basic break in. Who are they kidding? Maybe they meant wear them on three expeditions climbing up Mt. Everest. Anyway, I finally did get them broken in before they hurt my feet too badly, so that problem at least was temporary. The second problem is that they have a very peculiar fit. They are very narrow in front and very loose in back--kind of the shoe equivalent of a mullet haircut. The heels are so loose that wearing these shoes is like wearing house slippers or flipflops. I just cannot get used to that feeling for walking shoes. I don't know why anyone would design a walking shoe to fit that way. When I tried to wear they for trail walking, the heels were so loose that dirt and rocks wre constantly being thrown up and falling into the shoes. I had to stop every 50 feet and empty pebbles out of them. I am very disappointed in these shoes, escpecially for the price."
Review 20 for Gokey® Sauvage Oxfords
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Worth the cost,
August 13, 2012
By: SMSNY
from Upstate NY
"I have a very difficult time finding comfortable shoes to wear because of nerve damage to my feet that causes pain, tingling, numbness, and slight paralysis. (An autoimmune disease: CIDP.)
I knew beforehand that buying the Gokey Sauvage shoe was a risk, and that I would likely return them because they hurt my feet; nevertheless, I ordered a pair.
In this case, my fear was groundless. A card that came with the shoes says you need to wear them at least three times before they get comfortable. I actually needed to wear the shoes four or five times before they began to feel comfortable to my very sensitive feet.
After the fifth time, they became very comfortable, indeed. I have the feeling these shoes and I are going to be friends for a long time.
In addition, they are good-looking and extremely well made. The leather is first class, the workmanship ditto.
Be aware, though, that these shoes are heavier than sneakers, and the extra weight will take getting used to. But you do get used to it.
I know it sounds odd to fall in love with a pair of shoes, but I've fallen in love with these Gokey Sauvage shoes.
Icing on the cake: they were made in the USA"