Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Safe Passage® Carry-it-all Rod and Gear Case

Don't trust your gear to the airlines. This case is the perfect solution. Hard-sided construction keeps your gear safe when gate checking the bag. Interior padded dividers are removable for customizable organization of reels and fly boxes. Easily holds up to six fly rods in socks. Comfortable handle grip. Three front zip pockets for added storage. Adjustable and removable pivoting shoulder strap. Perforated foam pad in shoulder strap. In red. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.64 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (161 reviews)
5 stars
123
4 stars
26
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 star
2
154 of 161(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Safe Passage® Carry-it-all Rod and Gear Case
Review 1 for Safe Passage® Carry-it-all Rod and Gear Case
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect for any trip,
March 12, 2012
By: JimHickey
"My Safe Passage Carry-it-all Case has inspection stickers on it from all over the world. From Key West to Mongolia, it carries all of my rods and reels to all of my fishing destinations. I carry it on board planes, vehicles and boats, so my gear is safe. When someone asks me what they need for a rod or reel case, I point them straight to the Carry-it-all Case. The name says it all, and I personally recommend it as the best rod-and-reel case available.
-Jim Hickey
Outfitter/Guide, Worldcast Anglers, Jackson Hole, WY
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Safe Passage® Carry-it-all Rod and Gear Case
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Rod Case Carry On,
May 19, 2015
By: Anonymous
from Casper, WY
"I'm a guide from Casper, WY. I'm headed to Mexico, and using the safe passage carry all as a carry on. I like the bag, the top storage rod compartment in particular is a great improvement. There are two things that would take this item from good to excelent.
1) The cross body strap is horribly awkward, especially when moving through narrow isles. If this bag had vertical backpack style straps it would be much more comfortable.
2) It really needs a passport/ wallet/ cell phone sized exterior pocket.
Overall a nice piece of equipment."
Review 3 for Safe Passage® Carry-it-all Rod and Gear Case
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Impressive product,
March 2, 2015
By: PL67
from Ludlow UK
"I am really pleased with this quality case, as it will save and protect rods and equipment when on holiday"
Review 4 for Safe Passage® Carry-it-all Rod and Gear Case
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Solid Carry On,
February 16, 2015
By: GoldenAllan
from Golden, CO
"Bought the large Carry-all as I have several 10 and 11 foot rods for saltwater. They all fit and the case seems very sold and sturdy."
Review 5 for Safe Passage® Carry-it-all Rod and Gear Case
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
So Useful,
January 28, 2015
By: Jerseyman39
from Manchester UK
"Well made as you would expect from Orvis, better than I expected for both storing and transporting a range of rods to the river, with space for anything else you could possibly need all in one place."
Review 6 for Safe Passage® Carry-it-all Rod and Gear Case
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Security,
January 5, 2015
By: DaFatboy
from West Texas
"This item made a great addition to my luggage while traveling on those far away Bones Fishing adventures. It eliminates multiple tubes and soft boxes and still has room for all the extras."
Review 7 for Safe Passage® Carry-it-all Rod and Gear Case
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Too short,
December 31, 2014
By: Marlinfish
from Albuquerque, NM 87111
"You made this travel box for 9 ft. 4 pc. rods. I, and I would think many others, have a rod that is 9.5 ft. 4 piece. The box would just need to be 1/2 or 2/3 inch longer to accommodate these rods."
Review 8 for Safe Passage® Carry-it-all Rod and Gear Case
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great purchase,
December 31, 2014
By: redfish65
from texas
"This was a great item, it holds rod tubes,reels and extra items in one package.you just grab it and go fishing."
Review 9 for Safe Passage® Carry-it-all Rod and Gear Case
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gear case,
December 29, 2014
By: Baboo01
from Carmel IN
"Provides all the space I need to carry and store all my Orvis rods and reels. Great place for winter storage and airline travel."
Review 10 for Safe Passage® Carry-it-all Rod and Gear Case
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent for travel,
December 24, 2014
By: Riccit
"The travel case helps protect you fly rods during traveling. The case will be airplan proof."
Review 11 for Safe Passage® Carry-it-all Rod and Gear Case
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Case,
December 18, 2014
By: shooterSLO
from Truckee
"This is the ONLY case I've ever found for fly rods longer than 9'. It's fantastic. Has room for several rods, reels, and assorted stuff."
Review 12 for Safe Passage® Carry-it-all Rod and Gear Case
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Carry it All,
December 17, 2014
By: Steelfly
from Toledo, Ohio
"A very handy bag to carry a variety of rods and reels and other
necessities. It is nice not to have to carry three tubes to get a variety of rods to your fishing spot. And you never have to unpack it and wonder were did I put my eight weight reel.
"
Review 13 for Safe Passage® Carry-it-all Rod and Gear Case
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Safe Passage - Very Versatile,
December 15, 2014
By: Dinkslayer
from Pittsburgh, PA
"Just received it. It definitely seems sturdy enough for airline travel - either as a carry-on or checked in.
The partitions are all adjustable and can be removed if desired, even the lengthwise one.
All in all, a very versatile product that should accommodate many needs."
Review 14 for Safe Passage® Carry-it-all Rod and Gear Case
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just What I needed,
December 12, 2014
By: 1Fishbwana
from Delta,British Columbia
"This item functions as advertised. All my rods, reels, and accessories are all safe with me when I travel to my favorite fishing hole. It is easy to carry and does the job of protecting my equipment. Only draw back is that the Airlines will not allow the lines to be carried in it if it is used as carry on. Otherwise PERFECT"
Review 15 for Safe Passage® Carry-it-all Rod and Gear Case
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
All in one place,
December 7, 2014
By: gforcegerry
from Suffolk, UK
"Perfect for keeping everything together when travelling. I managed to get a huge amount of gear in it.
My only complaint would be the weight which is heavy even when empty. The other is a recommendation... Could Orvis put lockable zip pulls on it. Outside of the USA particularly Europe Middle East etc you can't carry rods as hand luggage so it has to go in the hold. Would be nice if it could be locked. Hence the 4 stars rather than 5.
"
Review 16 for Safe Passage® Carry-it-all Rod and Gear Case
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Large is good,
November 29, 2014
By: Leicadave
from Hamden, Ct.
"I wrote a critical review of the smaller version and traded it in for the larger one.
It has become my go to case for most of my fishing, whether traveling to S. America, Canada, or locally.
The strap issue remains: Would be better to have D rings so you could fit another strap of your choice to it.
Lockability is still an issue. I use nylon ties to keep it more secure when checking it (I always check it).
Its luggage size is an advantage when checking luggage as it won't roll into a corner of the hold and get lost.
I pack 2-4 rods in it with reels and leaders, flies sometimes too. It even holds my 5 piece 11 and 13 foot spey rods.
The largest size has a couple of issues but is still highly recommended."
Review 17 for Safe Passage® Carry-it-all Rod and Gear Case
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
awesome gift,
November 24, 2014
By: corinne3266
"perfect gift for my 16 year old who has lots of gear and likes to travel with it."
Review 18 for Safe Passage® Carry-it-all Rod and Gear Case
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
finest example of fishing bag,
November 11, 2014
By: madog
from Barry
"this is the sort of fishing case that I have been looking for, for a long time, it holds all my travel fly rods and reels along with my tackle in one bag.
would definitely recommend it to my friends.
"
Review 19 for Safe Passage® Carry-it-all Rod and Gear Case
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Pack,
October 28, 2014
By: SouthFork
from Lost in Montana
"In the past, I have always brought my rods in there individual tubes, and reels in a bag. This summer I purchased this case before a trip to Alaska. It worked out great for the trip. The larger pack held my Switch perfect as well as the four other rods I put in there. Since I was fishing for anything from pike to grayling, to rainbows and salmon, it was nice to have a selection of rods and reels with me. It keeps everything very organized and in easy reach. I would highly recommend this case for traveling or even just very organized storage."
Review 20 for Safe Passage® Carry-it-all Rod and Gear Case
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
October 8, 2014
By: CaptCurt
from Point Judith, Rhode Island
"A nice well made product. However, I was really disappointed to find that my 3 piece, 9' rod would not fit in the case. This was the main reason I purchased it."