Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Safe Passage Angler's Day Pack

Our new eco-friendly Safe Passage® Day Pack is the perfect pack for the backcountry angler. Compatible with the Micro Chest Pack (3H6X), Vertical Chest Pack (3H6Y), and Standard Chest Pack (3H60). Chest packs can be attached to front shoulder straps while fishing or attached to back of pack while hiking. Streamlined form is designed to minimize fly line snags. Adjustable perforated mesh shoulder straps and tension-curved back panel with frame sheet keeps pack off the wearer's back for maximum comfort. Easy-access side mesh pockets. Large main compartment with small zippered front pocket. Insulated cooler compartment. Hydration bladder compatible. Compression straps to hold rod tube. Fly-fishing packs in slate blue, digital camo. 18"H x 12"W x 9"D; 1,944 cu. in. Weight: 2.3 lbs. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.462 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
13 of 13(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Safe Passage Angler's Day Pack
Review 1 for Safe Passage Angler's Day Pack
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
expensive and smaller than I thought,
April 4, 2014
By: NorCalPatrick
from Northern California
"It's a well made pack, no question. I recommend it but only if you have cash to burn. It's expensive for what you get. I'm going to keep it... but I'm slightly annoyed because I expected more.
I expected it to be a bit larger and I would like it to have more pockets to access from the outside. I would also like it if it had locations to attach zingers on each shoulder strap. On its own, it's really just a back pack without any of the nice fishing-specific components that I would expect from an "angler's" pack."
Review 2 for Safe Passage Angler's Day Pack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Small but well made.,
March 31, 2014
By: Allan1234
from Covina, CA
"I purchased this angler,s day pack for my son-in-law so that we could use it as a carry on. The day pack turned out to be very small, causing me to return it for a larger back pack. The angler's day pack is great if you just want to carry a few items such as water an a snack. Like all Orvis items I found the day pack to be well made."
Review 3 for Safe Passage Angler's Day Pack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Close to Perfect,
March 22, 2014
By: Otch
from Grosse Pointe Farms, Michigan
"This pack is the closest to my idea of an ideal pack, with a couple of exceptions. Rather than detail all the positive elements, which the other reviewers have done well, I would like to make my suggestions to Orvis as to what small changes they could make that would make this the best selling pack of all time. First, start with the understanding that people that wear packs typically do so for two reasons - first, because they expect to spend a fair time on the water, and they want to have enough supplies, food, fly boxes and maybe a spare reel/spoul or two; and second because we hate having anything in fron of us except a lanyard. The problems with most packs are: (1) you don't have anyplace in front to keep a single fly box (so you have to take your pack off just to access your fly boxes (probably what inspired the sling pack)); and (2) most nets attach with a D ring, which results in the net swinging into your head or face whenver you bend over. So here is how to make the perfect pack. First, attach a very thin case horizonally on the front belt - just big enough to hold a full size fly box and some spare tippets. The case should have some places on the outside to slip in forceps, etc. That way you have everything you need to fish in front of you, and the only time you need to take off your pack is to access your lunch, rain gear or change to a sinking line and swith out your dry fly box in front with your streamer box. The other monmumental feature would be to add a tight sack over a portion of the back of the pack, where you can slip in the your net with the handle sticking out of the top, so you can just reach back and grab the handle, but without the net hitting you in the face when you bend over.
If Orvis wants the specific design, call the Manager - Rich at the Orvis Store in Royal Oak Michigan, and have him call me. We talk new designs all the time.
"
Review 4 for Safe Passage Angler's Day Pack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Orvis Day Pack,
April 13, 2013
By: Pulse
from Alberta Canada
"This product is a leap in technology.
I love how they designed the packpack to never rest on your back and lets your back breathe. I fully loaded this to see how it would hold up and I was shocked on how light it felt. The only drawback I have on this product is the lack of pockets and more room to hold stuff. It is pretty tight in there but You can fit the majority of stuff you need on a day trip but it will get tight when you got your camera, lunch, extra clothes, ETC. It is meant to take only the essentials onto your trip.
"
Review 5 for Safe Passage Angler's Day Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best birthday present ever!,
March 27, 2013
By: IvorTheTiger
from Johannesburg, South Africa
"Outstanding quality, workmanship and thought went into the creation of this. Looks great, feels great, has place for everything, the perfect bag for those long hikes to the pool less fished. The seamless connection with the chest bag is perfect. Love them! Thank you, Orvis, for all your products I have either bought myself or received as gifts over the years. You have made me very brand loyal indeed."
Review 6 for Safe Passage Angler's Day Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect!,
December 4, 2012
By: lespaul
from CT
"Just received this and it looks great. I loaded it already with my gear for my next trip. Seems a bit smaller than the original safe passage"
Review 7 for Safe Passage Angler's Day Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent pack,
September 10, 2012
By: JTee
from New York, NY
"I've used this on numerous wading trips and it functions well. It has, along with the chest pack, replaced my vest. I can carry far more than I need to with this pack. I never feel limited."
Review 8 for Safe Passage Angler's Day Pack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good but not Great,
July 6, 2012
By: Anonymous
from MD
"The bag is well constructed. The insulated bottom compartment is a bonus and the pack has support which keeps the bag off of the back. It also looks good. It is a little smaller than I thought it would be, but it will serve my needs. Maybe a little small for a long day trip worth of gear, water & food, particularly in a colder season. Nice pack though."
Review 9 for Safe Passage Angler's Day Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
good day pack,
June 5, 2012
By: Chris195
from Kent, United Kingdom
"this is the one I use if out walking, it will carry everything you need , very comfortable as well, highly recommended"
Review 10 for Safe Passage Angler's Day Pack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great pack for you gear, not your rods,
August 24, 2011
By: fshnl8
from High Desert, USA
"Just finished a 10 day trip and this pack fit the bill. The pack has plenty of room for all the "other" gear you need when spending a whole day on the river far from camp or your car. The pack stays off your back to allow improved air flow, works great with any of the other safe passage chest packs. Only complaint... the rod tube holders are useless. In my opinion, the rods stick too far out above your head and are constantly getting snagged on low hanging branches/brush... I used the two rod tube holders for extra water bottles instead."
Review 11 for Safe Passage Angler's Day Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Fly Fishing Pack,
June 20, 2011
By: joee
"Really comfortable pack that does not get hot on your back. Plenty of storage of your equipment too."
Review 12 for Safe Passage Angler's Day Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Really like this pack,
June 14, 2011
By: FeatherFly
from Northern California
"I had been using an old pack purchased for school books for a few years and finally upgraded to this one... I wish I hadn't waited so long. This pack is simply perfect for the hiking fly fisherman. More than enough room for all your gear and then some. The side pocket and securing strap snuggly holds my fly case without feeling like it's flopping around behind me. I also really appreciate the ability to attach the safe passage chest pack for extra and organized storage that easily moves to the front when fishing. The shoulder straps are extremely comfortable and don't dig in to my chest and shoulders.
I've actually worn this pack while fishing mountain streams and small mountain lakes and forgotten I had it on. Although my friends will tell you I can be oblivious to nearly anything while fishing. :)
Very satisfied with this purchase."
Review 13 for Safe Passage Angler's Day Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The perfect hiking day pack.,
April 7, 2011
By: ThreeRiversRanch
from Warm River, Idaho
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I have two earlier versions of the Safe Passage Anglers Backpack, I tell you what, this one is by far the best!
1: There is enough room for your essentials in the main compartment.
2: The clips on the front & back of the pack allows you attach a chest pack or another pice of safe passage gear. It is still very comfortable hiking and you don't have to make room for the equipment in your main compartment.
3: Feels nice on your back. Very ergonomic & adjustable, the mesh also helps keep the pack off your back & allows for good airflow.
4: The rod holder works well. The mesh at the bottom is a bit longer than the last models, it holds the rod securely even if you fall down. The strap at the top of the pack allows a secure hold, without having to loose anything. My only concern is the longevity of the mesh. I fear this could wear out over time.
5: The insulated cooler at the bottom is my favorite part of this one! Enough room to fit a six pack!
Overall, my favorite day-hiker pack. Great looking and it's made for the avid fly-fisher!"