Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Safe Passage Angler's Day Pack

Our new eco-friendly Safe Passage® Day Pack is the perfect pack for the backcountry angler. Compatible with the Micro Chest Pack (3H6X), Vertical Chest Pack (3H6Y), and Standard Chest Pack (3H60). Chest packs can be attached to front shoulder straps while fishing or attached to back of pack while hiking. Streamlined form is designed to minimize fly line snags. Adjustable perforated mesh shoulder straps and tension-curved back panel with frame sheet keeps pack off the wearer's back for maximum comfort. Easy-access side mesh pockets. Large main compartment with small zippered front pocket. Insulated cooler compartment. Hydration bladder compatible. Compression straps to hold rod tube. Fly-fishing packs in slate blue, digital camo. 18"H x 12"W x 9"D; 1,944 cu. in. Weight: 2.3 lbs. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.636 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
22 of 22(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Safe Passage Angler's Day Pack
Review 1 for Safe Passage Angler's Day Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A class backpack,
November 18, 2014
By: Bergomi
from Oslo, Norway
"Love this backpack Orvis! Ventilated backpanel, awsome cooler at the bottom, great for hot days by the river. Not to mention that you can attach your chestpack both in front and back of pack. All you need for a days worth of fishing. There is space for an extra jacket, food, beverages, spools, and stuff. Even 2 rods, or one rod and one water bottle. And i like that there is no hip belt. That would interfere with the waderbelt. Fabulous!!"
Review 2 for Safe Passage Angler's Day Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My Son Was Very Excited,
November 18, 2014
By: DanoC
from Ventura, Ca
"We purchased a backpack with the ability to hold my sons fly fishing pole. We loaded it up and went on a wonderful outing. He loved the camo color and was so happy he did not have to carry his fishing pole. The rod holding area worked great."
Review 3 for Safe Passage Angler's Day Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best ever!,
November 12, 2014
By: Jay97
from Ariss, Ontario, Canada
"I have now been using this pack for 10 months. It is amazing and comfortable! I wear it 100% of my fishing time and I think it helps my posture having it on. I fish full day excursions mainly but I will wear it even for a short session.
I decided to write the review because it has been the BEST purchase to date. I have packs vests etc and nothing beats it. Reasons being,the separate lower cooler compartment, IT KEEPS BEER COLD for a whole 8 hours!(If put in really cold) Lol.
Second being I can now carry so much cold weather gear. My buddy fell in last week and he was frozen! I had a base layer and a sweater vacuum sealed in the bottom! Third being I can carry the "I may need this" gear(which can make your day), and still pack a lunch. Also I use the straps to carry tippet and snips and such...no need for a vest anymore.
The only wish I have, is that they offered accessories for the clips that's not being used if you don't strap on other packs. I made my own. And that they don't take advantage of the straps for forceps and such...
Still by far a 5 star purchase, Especially for the serious angler and guide.
"
Review 4 for Safe Passage Angler's Day Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Ultimate Day Pack,
October 29, 2014
By: Spyda
from Ewa Beach HI
"When you think of "Day Packs" usually it's simple, "enough to get by with" just a place to carry your extra stuff. The Safe Passage Angler's Day Pack changes that. Feature rich, my favorite is the Tension-curved back panel that keeps the pack off of your back. I bought the pack with the intention of using it for hiking streams and rivers with my buddy in California, but, I've been using it regularly here at home in Hawaii wading flats fishing for bones and trevally where keeping cool is real important. It carries all I need and more in complete comfort!"
Review 5 for Safe Passage Angler's Day Pack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great purchase,
October 16, 2014
By: PtreeCornersFlyFisher
from Atlanta, Ga
"I was looking for a good fly fishing backpack to take with me out West and to take on longer day trips here in the N. Georgia mountains. It has plenty of room, connectors, and you can clip extra waste packs to it. Also, the insulated compartment for lunch is really cool. The only feature that I wish had been added is an extension for the pockets that hold the fishing rods so that they aren't sticking up so high to avoid hitting trees & bushes...."
Review 6 for Safe Passage Angler's Day Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Safe Passage Angler's Day Pack,
September 18, 2014
By: wolfpackjim
from Lebanon, NH
"This is the best item I have purchase for fly fishing! Now I can go out on my motorcycle and carry my and gear and not worry about losing it on the road. I can see my rod in rear view mirror and everything else is in bag or strapped behind me on seat!"
Review 7 for Safe Passage Angler's Day Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
packer,
June 27, 2014
By: graysonfisher
"This back pack was a great purchase .great to have while hiking back into the mtns and looking for all the great trout."
Review 8 for Safe Passage Angler's Day Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
best pack i have ever owned,
June 2, 2014
By: tnnovicezach
from Clinton, TN
"this pack is great it is lightweight simple never slides of your shoulders and keeps things dry or cold if needed. i am a bigger guy too and this pack fits perfect its large enough to keep some of my bigger tackle setups as well as a spare set of clothes and my wadding boots when i am moving to different sections of the river its a must for hike and fish type anglers"
Review 9 for Safe Passage Angler's Day Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Pack for all day fishing!!,
April 19, 2014
By: UncleTeddVA
from Shenandoah Region, VA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"This pack fills the bill on so many levels. I've used it on numerous trips. It is especially good when it comes to the backcountry streams. It is all day comfortable and has enough volume to hold everything you need and a lot you don't. The "cooler" in the bottom can keep sandwiches and drinks cool all day and having that weight low is good for your center of gravity and stability. There are also provisions for a hydration bladder if you so choose, nice touch. I use the vertical chest pack along with it and it works great. You forget you have it on until.... and this is the only problem. The rod tube holders are really nice except for the fact that they allow the rod tube to stick up too high and snag on the inevitable tree branch or stream bridging log. I would like to see the lower rod tube pocket extended so it would drop the rod tub down to head level. In the meanwhile I've taken to just securing the upper rod tube strap through the tube handle and that solves it. Other than this small improvement I think this pack has been one of my best equipment purchases. I love it!"
Review 10 for Safe Passage Angler's Day Pack
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
expensive and smaller than I thought,
April 4, 2014
By: NorCalPatrick
from Northern California
"It's a well made pack, no question. I recommend it but only if you have cash to burn. It's expensive for what you get. I'm going to keep it... but I'm slightly annoyed because I expected more.
I expected it to be a bit larger and I would like it to have more pockets to access from the outside. I would also like it if it had locations to attach zingers on each shoulder strap. On its own, it's really just a back pack without any of the nice fishing-specific components that I would expect from an "angler's" pack."
Review 11 for Safe Passage Angler's Day Pack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Small but well made.,
March 31, 2014
By: Allan1234
from Covina, CA
"I purchased this angler,s day pack for my son-in-law so that we could use it as a carry on. The day pack turned out to be very small, causing me to return it for a larger back pack. The angler's day pack is great if you just want to carry a few items such as water an a snack. Like all Orvis items I found the day pack to be well made."
Review 12 for Safe Passage Angler's Day Pack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Close to Perfect,
March 22, 2014
By: Otch
from Grosse Pointe Farms, Michigan
"This pack is the closest to my idea of an ideal pack, with a couple of exceptions. Rather than detail all the positive elements, which the other reviewers have done well, I would like to make my suggestions to Orvis as to what small changes they could make that would make this the best selling pack of all time. First, start with the understanding that people that wear packs typically do so for two reasons - first, because they expect to spend a fair time on the water, and they want to have enough supplies, food, fly boxes and maybe a spare reel/spoul or two; and second because we hate having anything in fron of us except a lanyard. The problems with most packs are: (1) you don't have anyplace in front to keep a single fly box (so you have to take your pack off just to access your fly boxes (probably what inspired the sling pack)); and (2) most nets attach with a D ring, which results in the net swinging into your head or face whenver you bend over. So here is how to make the perfect pack. First, attach a very thin case horizonally on the front belt - just big enough to hold a full size fly box and some spare tippets. The case should have some places on the outside to slip in forceps, etc. That way you have everything you need to fish in front of you, and the only time you need to take off your pack is to access your lunch, rain gear or change to a sinking line and swith out your dry fly box in front with your streamer box. The other monmumental feature would be to add a tight sack over a portion of the back of the pack, where you can slip in the your net with the handle sticking out of the top, so you can just reach back and grab the handle, but without the net hitting you in the face when you bend over.
If Orvis wants the specific design, call the Manager - Rich at the Orvis Store in Royal Oak Michigan, and have him call me. We talk new designs all the time.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Safe Passage Angler's Day Pack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Orvis Day Pack,
April 13, 2013
By: Pulse
from Alberta Canada
"This product is a leap in technology.
I love how they designed the packpack to never rest on your back and lets your back breathe. I fully loaded this to see how it would hold up and I was shocked on how light it felt. The only drawback I have on this product is the lack of pockets and more room to hold stuff. It is pretty tight in there but You can fit the majority of stuff you need on a day trip but it will get tight when you got your camera, lunch, extra clothes, ETC. It is meant to take only the essentials onto your trip.
"
Review 14 for Safe Passage Angler's Day Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best birthday present ever!,
March 27, 2013
By: IvorTheTiger
from Johannesburg, South Africa
"Outstanding quality, workmanship and thought went into the creation of this. Looks great, feels great, has place for everything, the perfect bag for those long hikes to the pool less fished. The seamless connection with the chest bag is perfect. Love them! Thank you, Orvis, for all your products I have either bought myself or received as gifts over the years. You have made me very brand loyal indeed."
Review 15 for Safe Passage Angler's Day Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect!,
December 4, 2012
By: lespaul
from CT
"Just received this and it looks great. I loaded it already with my gear for my next trip. Seems a bit smaller than the original safe passage"
Review 16 for Safe Passage Angler's Day Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent pack,
September 10, 2012
By: JTee
from New York, NY
"I've used this on numerous wading trips and it functions well. It has, along with the chest pack, replaced my vest. I can carry far more than I need to with this pack. I never feel limited."
Review 17 for Safe Passage Angler's Day Pack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good but not Great,
July 6, 2012
By: Anonymous
from MD
"The bag is well constructed. The insulated bottom compartment is a bonus and the pack has support which keeps the bag off of the back. It also looks good. It is a little smaller than I thought it would be, but it will serve my needs. Maybe a little small for a long day trip worth of gear, water & food, particularly in a colder season. Nice pack though."
Review 18 for Safe Passage Angler's Day Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
good day pack,
June 5, 2012
By: Chris195
from Kent, United Kingdom
"this is the one I use if out walking, it will carry everything you need , very comfortable as well, highly recommended"
Review 19 for Safe Passage Angler's Day Pack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great pack for you gear, not your rods,
August 24, 2011
By: fshnl8
from High Desert, USA
"Just finished a 10 day trip and this pack fit the bill. The pack has plenty of room for all the "other" gear you need when spending a whole day on the river far from camp or your car. The pack stays off your back to allow improved air flow, works great with any of the other safe passage chest packs. Only complaint... the rod tube holders are useless. In my opinion, the rods stick too far out above your head and are constantly getting snagged on low hanging branches/brush... I used the two rod tube holders for extra water bottles instead."
Review 20 for Safe Passage Angler's Day Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Fly Fishing Pack,
June 20, 2011
By: joee
"Really comfortable pack that does not get hot on your back. Plenty of storage of your equipment too."