Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

UV Buff®

Protect yourself from the sun's rays while minimizing moisture loss with a simple accessory that's even more versatile than you might think. Made of high-tech Coolmax® Extreme fabric, the UV fishing Buff helps regulate your body's temperature, too, keeping you warm on chilly morning outings, and promoting cooling on hot days. Effectively blocks 95% of harmful UV radiation. Odor-resistant Polygiene® technology. Fishing buff can be worn in a variety of configurations, including as a face mask, hood, beanie, neckerchief, headband, or balaclava. Polyester. Washable. Spain. Fishing buff one size; 20⅓" x 9⅝".
Average Customer Rating:
4.766 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (94 reviews)
5 stars
73
4 stars
20
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
93 of 94(99%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for UV Buff®
Review 1 for UV Buff®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
UV Buff Rocks,
February 17, 2015
By: dfmarks
from Winter Park, FL
"needed something to provide a bit of warmth in the winter and sun protection in the summer, and the Orvis buff is perfect for both applications. Slightly stretchy makes for an easy and comfortable fit, works like a charm and looks very spiffy."
Review 2 for UV Buff®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good protection,
February 10, 2015
By: FishermanMontana
from Montana
"Although fishing season has not yet begun this year, I plan to use this product to protect my skin from the sun. I think it will do the job well."
Review 3 for UV Buff®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very comfortable UV Buff,
February 2, 2015
By: DevNull
from Salt Lake City, UT
"Extremely comfortable buff. After wearing it for an hour I almost forgot it was on. Light weight so I don't expect it to be too warm to wear on hot days. Long enough and stretches enough to wear in many formats."
Review 4 for UV Buff®
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Buff,
January 23, 2015
By: tocold
from Sheffield
"Brought to protect from sun not used yet but seam ok fits well and say it had uv protection"
Review 5 for UV Buff®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Multiple Uses,
January 12, 2015
By: PaulWilkinsFromScotland
from West Lothian, Scotland
"I just love this product. I bought this as I am from Scotland and the weather here can never make its mind up. I don't like wearing scarfs are they are too bulky and restricting, so I opted for a Buff and I'm so glad I did. It can be pulled over the face when there is a cold wind and it really does make a difference and breathing through the material is not a problem. I know this is a UV protection product, but it's so much more than that. Buy one and don't be dissapointed."
Review 6 for UV Buff®
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Useful and adaptable,
January 1, 2015
By: fionn
from Scotland
"I have worn Buff neck 'gaiters' for several years and find them a useful item; spring, summer, autumn and winter. Once on, you tend to forget they are there unless you choose to cover up more than just your neck.
I particularly like the range of patterns that Orvis has made available.
"
Review 7 for UV Buff®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product,
December 9, 2014
By: troutfly
from Australia
"In Australia with our burning hot summer sun, this product provides wonderful protection whether fishing the flats of the north to the high country streams and rivers. It is also cool to wear with lots of configurations and looks great !"
Review 8 for UV Buff®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Facesaver,
November 18, 2014
By: NNCC
from San Jose, CA
"Who would have thought something so simple would make life on the water so much better. I have always been reluctant to give one of these a try until I went on a redfish trip in Louisiana. Pull this over your face when jetting out to spots to prevent wind lash, getting sunburns, and to keep your face warmer when it's cold outside. The light material is super breathable and doesn't restrict breathing at all. I'm even using it to prevent mosquito bites in particularly buggy trout rivers and use it when I'm fishing the surf. Wonderful product!"
Review 9 for UV Buff®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
In the Buff,
October 31, 2014
By: TNBud
from Smoky Mountains, TN
"I've spent days on the flats and pounding river banks on local waters without ever getting my face/neck burnt. These are great for sun protection and some can even be stylish, if that's your thing. Very lightweight. Only problem I've ever experienced is fogging up sunglasses when pulled up too high. Still, the benefits are much greater than the one negative."
Review 10 for UV Buff®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Must Must Have!,
October 28, 2014
By: Bolous
from SE Minnesota
"Wear them year round. Can't wait for winter season fly fishing."
Review 11 for UV Buff®
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
well made and useful,
October 15, 2014
By: 550mara
from New Orleans and Key West,FL
"With a dermatologist as my wife, I hear less about sun damage after purchasing and using this product."
Review 12 for UV Buff®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My Buff is best bang for the buck in the universe.,
October 3, 2014
By: Poodie
from Chatham, Cape Cod, MA
"With my camo Buff, I'm the coolest and most comfortable guy on the rugged waters off Cape Cod. Tuna, striped bass, big blues and friends can't wait to get to my boat!"
Review 13 for UV Buff®
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is a quality product, no regrets.,
September 29, 2014
By: Fredrik
"Delivers what it says it will. It keeps sun and bugs off your face. I've even started wearing it while sleeping during cooler weather camping"
Review 14 for UV Buff®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect for all seasons,
September 25, 2014
By: irishflyer
from Pittsburgh, PA
"Really have enjoyed using my UV Buff from Orvis. As someone with fair skin I use it all the time to prevent sun damage. It also does a great job keeping you warm during the fall into winter. I even use it running or hiking."
Review 15 for UV Buff®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
An Indispensable Item,
September 16, 2014
By: SRCTom
from Gig Harbor, WA
"I wear my buff every time I'm on the water. From providing a bit of warmth when wrapped around my neck in the pre-dawn hours to covering my face, ears and neck when the sun is up - this is now one item I never leave behind.
Its very light and sized to cover everything. I also was surprised how cool it is when worn over my face and head.
And I really like the pattern on my Steelhead buff."
Review 16 for UV Buff®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fabulous protection,
August 27, 2014
By: Ghostbuster
"The Buff protective neck/headwear was truly a lifesaver on a recent flyfishing trip in the Caribbean. We waded for bonefish all day every day for a week in flat sandy bottom water. With my Buff and a hat I was totally comfortable and didn't fry at all. I had recently had some skin surgery and was cautioned not to be in the sun at all. Thank you for this terrific product--it totally saved my trip and allowed me to catch a lot of beautiful bonefish! I knew I was on the right track when I met our guide and to my surprise he was wearing one too! They are just terrific."
Review 17 for UV Buff®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
very impressed,
August 11, 2014
By: michigantroutfanatic
"Product shipped fast and arrived before predicted date the material is very soft and the detail is outstanding looks just like the picture and really does keep you cool. Water droplets roll right off and it dries very fast. I have multiple fishing buffs and this one is my favorite by far. For sure buying more from Orvis, you won't regret it. Highly recommended."
Review 18 for UV Buff®
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
the Lone Ranger,
August 5, 2014
By: bambooBDP
from Vermont
"Black flies, buzzing female mosquitoes, bright sun on dappled water, or just hiding from your spouse while bending a rod, this is the configurable answer. Just don't wear it into the bank."
Review 19 for UV Buff®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wicked Awesome!,
August 1, 2014
By: telern
"I upgraded to an original Buff from a smaller/shorter neck gaiter.
To have the Vermont logo on it makes this purchase one of my best finds!
Fishing here in CO the Buff does what the other reviews report; it keeps the bugs off my neck/face/ears and protects me from the sun.
You won't be disappointed. Especially if you're from Vermont!"
Review 20 for UV Buff®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Surprised,
July 29, 2014
By: DrBothwell
from Punta Gorda, FL
"The UV Buff greatly extended my fishing time. I was able to fish all day in the hot Florida sun in the Gulf of Mexico no sunburn, and less dehydration.
Will probably purchase another so I have one in the boat and one in my tacklebox."