Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Windswept Canvas Shirt

Pure cotton canvas—one of the toughest, most breathable natural fabrics available—makes our shirt long wearing and handsome. A lighter version of the tough canvas used in our Foundry Cloth Trousers, this breathable fabric is pigment dyed and thoroughly washed for a comfortable, gently weathered look and feel. Casual spread collar. Button-flap pockets. Adjustable cuffs. Box-stitched shoulder pleat. 100% cotton. Washable. Sizes: XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.444 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
0
16 of 18(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Windswept Canvas Shirt
Review 1 for Windswept Canvas Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
5 Star Shirt,
March 4, 2013
By: Dawgmom
from PA
"Excellent quality shirt; perfect fit; retains color and sizing after washing."
Review 2 for Windswept Canvas Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First Class!,
November 21, 2012
By: methy12
from Derby, England
"Comfortable, well made and delivered extremely quickly. What's not to like?!"
Review 3 for Windswept Canvas Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
difficult to get,
October 24, 2012
By: probus
from Co Durham UK
"At Last! somewhere thats sells some quality goods,
my last two purchases[foundry jeans] and[ canvas shirt ]were of the hard wearing and quality material that I thought you could not buy anymore, style and fit "perfect"
I would recommend" Orvis" and their products to anyone.
"
Review 4 for Windswept Canvas Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Choice,
December 30, 2011
By: golferwon
from Roswell, Georgia
"My wife and I bought this shirt as a Christmas gift for both our son and our son in law. They LOVED it and it was a HUGE hit. Sometimes we are not as successful so this seemed too good to be true that they were thrilled with our choice. They each mentioned how much they liked the outdoorsy look and feel."
Review 5 for Windswept Canvas Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent choose,
December 30, 2011
By: Jasonob
from Flat Rock, NC
"Well made. Look forward to years of wear. Perfect shirt for hiking."
Review 6 for Windswept Canvas Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It Doesn't Get Better Then This!,
December 30, 2011
By: Fivek
from Westchester County New York
"This shirt is fabulous, comfortable well made and looks great. I wear this with the Ultimate Khaki pants, the Shot Shell belt, the Gokey Oxfords and the weathered red Montana Morning long tee. It's amazing how many compliments I receive on this outfit."
Review 7 for Windswept Canvas Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Shirt,
December 29, 2011
By: Tt1947
from Murrells Inlet, SC
"Nice heavy shirt, comfortable and warm. Very well made and should last for a long time."
Review 8 for Windswept Canvas Shirt
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Poor product,
November 22, 2011
By: ALPFFM
from Germany
"There were two problems with the shirt and I sent it back.
It was much too big. It says on the website that Orvis shirts are generously cut, but this was extreme. The collar size was correct but the rest of the shirt was excessively large (I'm not particularly thin). I assume if I ordered a smaller size, the collar would be too tight.
The cloth used was good and robust but I was disappointed with the overall quality, in particular the button holes were badly stitched - already fraying before I'd unpacked the shirt. Considering the price of the shirt and the image of quality this website creates, that's not what I expected.
Customer service was great, and my money was refunded promptly. My original order was for two different shirts. One of them I'm still waiting for, so Orvis has got a second chance to impress me...."
Review 9 for Windswept Canvas Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Really pleased with this shirt,
November 12, 2011
By: cochranr
from Birmingham UK
"This is a very comfortable and well-made shirt. Good fabric with a nice weight and feel to it, casual but OK to wear anywhere. Will probably buy one in the other colour if I can afforf it."
Review 10 for Windswept Canvas Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
quality first,
November 7, 2011
By: thechoice
from Toms River, NJ
"Lightweight, full cut cotton canvas is hard to find, this product is a classic, strength of construction, and subdued colors add to the appeal of this garment."
Review 11 for Windswept Canvas Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome shirt,
September 27, 2011
By: RWhy
"My ultra-picky husband loves this shirt. The fabric and quality are superb. I only wish it came in more colors!"
Review 12 for Windswept Canvas Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Windswept canvas shirt,
September 5, 2011
By: Ulsterman
from Belfast
"I have never had a convas shirt before.I bought one just to try them, I bought another of these shirts shortly afterwards with an eye to the coming autumn/winter. As this dreadful summer closes I bought them just in time.
I wear them as casual weekend clothing and find them both comfortable and robust.
The colours, one tan one brick, seemed slightly darker than on the website. But no harm in that."
Review 13 for Windswept Canvas Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just Right!,
March 2, 2011
By: MosbyDog
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I like a good canvas shirt. The Orvis Windswept Canvas Shirt is just what I like about this fabric and this style. It is soft, comfortable, wears like iron, and - if you're quick when the dryer cycle ends - almost never needs ironing. With a turtleneck underneath, the shirt is great for a casual party. It's also just right for working in the house or around the yard. That pretty much sums it up: "Just Right.""
Review 14 for Windswept Canvas Shirt
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Sleeves too short for a big man,
March 2, 2011
By: MollysHelper
from Birmingham, Alabama
Good Value: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"Orvis continues to make its long-sleeved shirts with sleeve lengths that are not at all proportionate to the size of the chest and shoulders. I wonder why an XX Large sized shirt has a sleeve length much the same -- if not the same -- as an X Large? I bought this shirt in the XXL size and the overall size of the shirt fits me well, but the sleeves "just" fit over my wrists and I dare not wash the shirt in warm water or dry it in a dryer lest the sleeves shrink up and made me look like Gomer Pyle his first day at boot camp."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamMarch 14, 2011

Orvis contacted this customer and thanked him for his honest feedback. We are sorry to hear that the sleeve length on the Windswept Canvas Shirt didn't fit as expected. We let our customer know our customer service agents would be happy to go over specific measurements for any of our garments before he places an order. And, of course, Orvis will happily exchange or refund any item; we want our customers to be happy with all of their Orvis purchases.
Review 15 for Windswept Canvas Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfection,
January 4, 2011
By: 35mmShooter
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This is my favorite shirt...even better than my old Orvis Bush Shirt. The fabric has a nicer hand and is as comfortable as anything in my closet from any other supplier. Fit is generous. I'd suggest $59 retail when you buy 2 or more. Thanks for not adding buttons to collar. i hate that in a work shirt."
Review 16 for Windswept Canvas Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Some Shrinkage. Material a bit rough.,
December 30, 2010
By: WBH1
Good Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"This is the second "Canvas" shirt I have purchased, although the first one was from another company. This shirt, from Orvis, is, as expected, a very good product and well made. However, it showed some shrinkage, and I would have been better to order a size "up". In addition, the material was a little "rough", more like "canvas", than I expected, even after the first washing. Nevertheless, is a very well made, and appears to be a durable product."
Review 17 for Windswept Canvas Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Color Not as Pictured,
December 7, 2010
By: wrbtu
from Long Island Motor Parkway
Good Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I purchased this shirt in blue, which appears on the website as a light, chambray blue. In reality, this shirt is a dark blue, nothing at all like the color shown. The material is comfortable & moderately soft. I like the buttoned flap pockets & the locker loop. What I least like is the price, which is expensive for a shirt of this type."
Ratings-Only Reviews for Windswept Canvas Shirt
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1