Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Posi-Grip™ Replacement Studs

Get more traction with screw-in studs with our exclusive tunsgsten-carbide tips. Easily inserted in felt- or rubber-sole wading boots with a minimum of ½" outsole/midsoles. 20 studs per package. Stud key included.
Average Customer Rating:
4.85 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
20 of 20(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Posi-Grip™ Replacement Studs
Review 1 for Posi-Grip™ Replacement Studs
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
won't leave home without them,
March 12, 2014
By: papheasantman
from Pa.
"I've used these on just about all my wading boots and for me, they give the best footing on the streams. They are doubly good in conjunction with felt soles(where they are still legal)"
Review 2 for Posi-Grip™ Replacement Studs
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've Owned Many of These,
March 4, 2014
By: MPohlenz
from Denver, CO
"When I switched from felt to vibram soles a few years back, I bought my first set of Posi-Grip Replacement Studs on the advice of my local Orvis fly shop manager. I was considering the studs designed to be worn with my new wading boots, but when he described how these Orvis studs claw and grip the granite rocks that frequent the South Platte here in Colorado, I decided to give them a try. I've bought several sets since for myself and others because I've never had any problem with them on the river. I recommend them without reservation. Because they are sharp, they help me navigate the South Platte with minimal risk."
Review 3 for Posi-Grip™ Replacement Studs
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Trip I Did Not Take!,
February 21, 2014
By: Gummie
from Casper, WY
"Since I have installed the new studs on my felt sole boots, I don't miss sliding or tripping in the River. This actually the second set of studs in another pair of felt sole wading boot. the surface is flat and not like the "pointed" tungsten carbide studs installed at the factory which will poke through the bottoms and cause discomfort. the flat, sure-grip studs avoid that pain and the pain that comes from a cold, wet, unexpected dunking... John"
Review 4 for Posi-Grip™ Replacement Studs
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love the studs!,
February 3, 2014
By: trapperT
from Port Allegany,PA
"I added some of these studs, to a couple pairs of RiverGuard 2's with EcoTrax soles, Since I wear these with neoprene stocking foot waders while beaver trapping, I can be assured of my traction on ice. The only other recommendation I can say, is use a 1/4 inch socket on a quarter inch nut driver to screw them into the soles. Wear gloves too!"
Review 5 for Posi-Grip™ Replacement Studs
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
safer wading,
February 2, 2014
By: charliehorse
from carthage, mo
"I have these studs on my orvis wading shoes. They provide great traction, which makes for safer wading on slick creek bottoms."
Review 6 for Posi-Grip™ Replacement Studs
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great product,
January 25, 2014
By: fishable
from Portland, OR
"Adding additional studs to my wading boots made them virtually slip-proof"
Review 7 for Posi-Grip™ Replacement Studs
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Luv the studs.,
January 19, 2014
By: trapperT
from Port Allegany,PA
"I have a pair of Orvis' River Guard Ultralight Wading Boots with EcoTraX Soles. With the neoprene waders I have, the studs on the bottom of these shoes, gripped beautifully on the rocks, and ice, of the stream I have been setting beaver traps along. Just need a couple more in strategic places on the soles to really have these shoes gripping.! They hold up very well, for the abuse I put them through!"
Review 8 for Posi-Grip™ Replacement Studs
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Purchase Ever,
January 15, 2014
By: SJTbum
from El Paso, Tx
"The studs do not wear down! Used on difficult "snot" rocks and traction was excellent! Foot hold was super on fast current."
Review 9 for Posi-Grip™ Replacement Studs
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Best,
November 18, 2013
By: flymax
from Northern New York
"I bought these studs to add to a pair of old Orvis Battenkill Brogues. The Orvis studs work the best of any type of stud I have used in the past. They grip and wear well which is important on the hard rock found in the Adirondack streams where spend most of my time."
Review 10 for Posi-Grip™ Replacement Studs
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
They Work,
May 18, 2013
By: cwoods
from MD/VA
"I have several pairs of wading shoes; some from Orvis: some from other vendors. The studs had worn smooth on all of them. The Orvis replacement studs worked on all of the shoes and I have much better traction with them."
Review 11 for Posi-Grip™ Replacement Studs
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wow!,
May 4, 2013
By: Dwhead2
from West Chester, PA
"Just installed the studs on my felt bottom shoes and what a difference. I was on Pine Creek this past week and my shoes really gripped the slippery rocks in a stream that had fast water. A real improvement!"
Review 12 for Posi-Grip™ Replacement Studs
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Studs,
December 15, 2012
By: ArtH
"Installed these studs on another brand's wading boots. I would have given these studs 5 stars if they came with an installation driver for a screw gun. The installation tool provided is completely inadequate."
Review 13 for Posi-Grip™ Replacement Studs
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Best!,
November 28, 2012
By: FishResearchLinda
"Well worth the price! Each year, we outfit 100+ seasonal fish & habitat researchers who tromp the waterways of Oregon. Under heavy use, these studs bite better and last longer than any others we've tried."
Review 14 for Posi-Grip™ Replacement Studs
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Top Studs,
November 5, 2012
By: Agiclone
from Derbyshire, England
"Excellent and easy to fit, only used a few times and still working fine with little wear. Would win hands down against a fly line though, beware!"
Review 15 for Posi-Grip™ Replacement Studs
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
awesome product,
September 19, 2012
By: centerpin
from Erie pa
"These studs work great best investment I have made"
Review 16 for Posi-Grip™ Replacement Studs
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It's not just the studs, Stud,
September 10, 2012
By: grampus
from Yorktown Heights, NY
"I purchased the extra studs for my River Guard Brogues which are superb........comfy and warm and the right support for 72 year old ankles and feet. The extra studs will assure that I do not re-dunk next August on the Lower Deans 'Cutbank Pool'.
Grampus the Sure Footed
"
Review 17 for Posi-Grip™ Replacement Studs
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good buy,
September 7, 2012
By: doctorbob
from Anchorage, Alaska
"These give good traction on slippery rocks. They are a must on the new non-felt soles."
Review 18 for Posi-Grip™ Replacement Studs
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great purchase,
December 7, 2011
By: foolfishin
from lewiston id
"snake river gets real slick in nov, dec.
there cleats have given my confidence a real boost. without them i would not be fishing this tine of year..
"
Review 19 for Posi-Grip™ Replacement Studs
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just Fantastic,
February 3, 2011
By: Fong
from New Zealand,Otago,Ranfurly
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I am a Kiwi guide and these studs are fantastic, we are unable to use felt in New Zealand anymore and these studs are a great replacement.
They really bite into the rocks and if you are worried about spooking trout don't worry I am 308 lbs and I don't spook fish some people have a hang up on that sort of thing and need to get over it.
Its better to be safe!
"
Review 20 for Posi-Grip™ Replacement Studs
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
good purchase,
October 14, 2010
By: drrxnupe
from Tennessee
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I fish an area that sometimes has muddy trails and banks leading up to the river. I have slipped up and fallen on several occassions. On one such fall, I broke my camera and ripped a hole in my waders.
Since installing these studs on my boots, I stiil slip from time to time. However, I'm better able to maintain my balance to prevent falling. The studs give me just enough traction on slippery surfaces to keep from tumbling down."