Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Boat Box for Streamers and Saltwater Patterns

High-capacity boxes designed to make sure you don't leave home without the correct fly pattern. Two slim sizes—small and large—plus a thick version for bulky fly patterns. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.765 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
17 of 17(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Boat Box for Streamers and Saltwater Patterns
Review 1 for Boat Box for Streamers and Saltwater Patterns
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good, but not perfect,
September 24, 2013
By: duncs406
from Helena, MT
"This is a sweet box for large streamers and big dries. The latches and hinge has worked flawlessly for me. However do not keep these boxes in the heat and direct sunlight. Whatever adhesive used to hold the foam on does stick to the box in these conditions. Otherwise these boxes would be a 5 star rating for me."
Review 2 for Boat Box for Streamers and Saltwater Patterns
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
durable and slim with high capacity,
August 28, 2013
By: DaveMCL
from North Carolina
"I have this box in the small and it holds a suprising amount of streamers. It is relatively slim and lightweight, but has proved to be very durable. I highly recommend this boat box and will be purchasing more in the 'small' size."
Review 3 for Boat Box for Streamers and Saltwater Patterns
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
best box for my flies,
July 16, 2013
By: pikemaster
"THis box is perfect for my pike flies! Really easy to hook them in, and the background color on BOTH sides of the box makes it easy to see all the variations on each fly. It opens and closes simply. Best box ever."
Review 4 for Boat Box for Streamers and Saltwater Patterns
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
good box,
June 26, 2013
By: bugchecker
from Down south inTiger Land
"I got the medium sized boat box for all my bass flies. I t does a good job holding large flies. Medium is plenty big enough."
Review 5 for Boat Box for Streamers and Saltwater Patterns
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
what you need for streamers,
May 29, 2013
By: phlyphshrphil
from Hamilton Montana
"I am a guide who uses streamers a lot. I found the Orvis boat box to be exactly what I needed to keep my streamers organized and separated. Just the right size for me to keep a good supply of large flies in order."
Review 6 for Boat Box for Streamers and Saltwater Patterns
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A quality product,
April 22, 2013
By: Nottoway
from Richmond, Va
"This is a high quality boat box and made in the USA. I plan to purchase the larger size also."
Review 7 for Boat Box for Streamers and Saltwater Patterns
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Boxes,
March 5, 2013
By: troutbum25
from Central, Pa
"I bought the medium style box and it is everything I can ask for. I bought the medium style because it is thicker and has foam on both sides of the box. It's big enough to handle a bunch of my musky flies but yet small enough to fit into my pack. If you need a box to pack away some big flies or a lot of flies, then look no further. Will probably buy more later for sure!"
Review 8 for Boat Box for Streamers and Saltwater Patterns
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just What I Needed,
January 24, 2013
By: ESMan
"I tie lots of flies in my spare time. I have lots of boxes filled with lots of varieties. Keeping them neat and well organized is a real challenge. My streamers and terrestrials take up too much room in my smaller boxes. The Boatbox turned out to be exactly what I needed and wanted. This is the perfect box for the bigger flies is anyone's arsenal."
Review 9 for Boat Box for Streamers and Saltwater Patterns
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect,
December 29, 2012
By: present2012
"This was a gift for an avid fisherman. He was extremely pleased with the quality."
Review 10 for Boat Box for Streamers and Saltwater Patterns
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice Big Fly Box,
August 15, 2012
By: woozyboy
from Flagstaff, AZ
"Good piece of quality gear. So far it seems to be well made, solid, with no issues. Would be nice to have an xtra piece of foam. I have the Medium size box. It is a bit big for freshwater but perfect for my saltwater flies!"
Review 11 for Boat Box for Streamers and Saltwater Patterns
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Accurately described,
May 31, 2012
By: fionn
from Scotland
"The large model really is large. This is clearly going to last for years. It is not inexpensive but it is solidly constructed. Yes, it would be good for a boat but it will also fit in a hold-all type fishing bag. I also bought the small version, which will fit in all bags."
Review 12 for Boat Box for Streamers and Saltwater Patterns
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Fly Box,
September 2, 2011
By: FishfulThinking
from Florida South West Gulf Coast
"Love this fly box. Good quality. I bought the medium size and it has lots of room, foam (top & bottom) to hold the flies in place with room to toss in a few packages of leaders and then some. What would make this even better is if they would throw in one loose flat piece of the foam ....I could double stack my flies in there and not ever need another box. Still....great box for my saltwater fly fishing."
Review 13 for Boat Box for Streamers and Saltwater Patterns
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Waiting to See,
September 1, 2011
By: Muzz
"I purchased these boxes to replace the green floating foam Orvis boxes that I have used for years. I see the following three advantages: 1) The small box fits perfectly, standing up, in the old gray Orvis waterproof bag, Great for float fishing. 2) The box is clear which means you can see the contents and do not need to label and 3) I am hopeful that these boxes will solve a problem I have had with the previous Orvis foam boxes i.e. flies that are spit out of the foam when they travel by air. I don't know what causes this but my old foam boxes were a mess when I opened them up after a flight. Other fly fisherman have had the same problem. Something to do with air pressure I am sure. I will know better how these boxes preform in a few weeks after my next flight."
Review 14 for Boat Box for Streamers and Saltwater Patterns
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Boxes,
August 30, 2011
By: Tuko
"I recently purchased all three sizes in these boxes and they perform their function as advertised. Quality made and should last a long time."
Review 15 for Boat Box for Streamers and Saltwater Patterns
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Best streamer box ever,
May 11, 2011
By: Tryme
"This box is fantastic for holding saltwater-streamer flies.Handy,waterproof and easy to open and stow.What a great product.Can't wait to use it on my annual flyfishing trip for lake trout this June"
Review 16 for Boat Box for Streamers and Saltwater Patterns
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Medium fly box,
November 15, 2010
By: Onetahoe
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Great box for large saltwater flies. It is too thick to use for fresh water, unless you carry a lot of big streamers.
The medium box is twice as thick as the other two.
"
Ratings-Only Reviews for Boat Box for Streamers and Saltwater Patterns
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1