Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Frye® Roper Boot

From the venerable American shoe company comes this true working leather roper boot. American made and as authentically pure as a cowhand's life. Full-grain oiled leather upper with oil-resistant Biltrite rubber outsole. Matching leather pull-tabs on shaft of the boot. 11"H. Frye leather roper boots in dark brown. Leather. Made in USA.Men's whole and half sizes: 8-12, 13.
Average Customer Rating:
4.2 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
12 of 15(80%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Frye® Roper Boot
Review 1 for Frye® Roper Boot
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Shoe horn,
October 15, 2014
By: CmaeronS
from Nyc
"I had to get a shoe horn to get the boot on, but once on my feet the boots are spectacular. great for and great style!"
Review 2 for Frye® Roper Boot
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
quality boots,
August 19, 2014
By: Ritter
"Nice basic style that goes with jeans and any kind of shirt, from polo to dress or short sleeve, w/o being classified into purely "cowboy mode.""
Review 3 for Frye® Roper Boot
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Misrepresented…,
June 18, 2014
By: Blactino
"Although these Boots are very nice, they look a lot better in the photograph than when I received them. I though they would be a very smooth and dressy-type Boot. I find that the leather was not smooth and as impressive as I would have liked them to be."
Review 4 for Frye® Roper Boot
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not what I had expected,
May 12, 2014
By: JRoe
"I ordered a 1/2 size smaller than usual and the boot did not fit. The upper part of the boot was to small for my big ole calves."
Review 5 for Frye® Roper Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Purchase and experience.,
March 15, 2014
By: BrhineinNC
from Fuquay Varina, NC
"These boots are very comfortable. I did purchase one half size smaller than my actual size and they fit perfectly. Great value and shopping experience with Orvis."
Review 6 for Frye® Roper Boot
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
nice boots,
February 24, 2014
By: mconnolly
"I like the quality of the boots, but they were too tight for me. They will be returned for an even exchange."
Review 7 for Frye® Roper Boot
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
comfortable,
January 20, 2014
By: ChuLai
from spokane, washington
"Ordered normal size and one size smaller. Definitely needs to be one size smaller to fit. Very roomy but very comfortable . I have a high arch and these boots give enough room to for that problem to be solved. Good quality."
Review 8 for Frye® Roper Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Earlier reviews did help!,
December 10, 2013
By: Tautog
from Pittsford, NY
"Earlier reviews said, "sizes tend to run a half size larger"; so, I ordered the boots accordingly ( 9 vs. 9.5). When I first tried to pull them on, I failed. The next day, before I was going to return the boots, I tried again, this time with success. The fit was very good.
I suspect – remember my experience is limited to one time– Frye is balancing the sizing against two issues: one of pulling the boots on, the other of boot fit. With a good hard pull and a pair of wool socks, I was very satisfied with the fit and quality of the boots. Now that they are broken-in, pulling on the boots is easy.
"
Review 9 for Frye® Roper Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just what I wanted,
September 24, 2013
By: Arizonaman
from Toledo, OH
"Boots ran about 1/2 size too large. Once I had the correct size the fit was great. They are made very well and look top notch. And, they are US made!"
Review 10 for Frye® Roper Boot
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Not dressy boots,
November 7, 2012
By: Mgiles
from Missoula, Montana
"Unfortunately, these boots do not look very much like the photograph. They are work boots and not what I was looking for. I would recommend them as work boots only.
They also run wide. I have a narrow foot and even ordering a half size smaller did not help."
Review 11 for Frye® Roper Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just as Expected,
October 30, 2012
By: RobN
"The boots are excellent and fit perfectly. Just what I would expect from Orvis and Frye."
Review 12 for Frye® Roper Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great value,
September 26, 2011
By: Johnthehunter
from West Virginia
"These boots are a great value. I have looked for years for Wellingtons, but have had no luck! I have tried the recent offering from Orvis' competitors, and their boots where either too heavy, overly insulated or simply too expensive for a knock-around boot. The Frye boots are well made without being "over-made". These are simple, functional boots that are comfortable and handsome. For the money, I am very satisfied!"
Review 13 for Frye® Roper Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well made,
November 9, 2010
By: Thom
from Buffalo
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"First this Roper style boot can pass for a Wellington and is made in the USA. The boot appears to be very well made and is excellent looking. This brown is more of a mahogany...very deep brown color and is very classic and classy looking.
If your width is less than about a D, I would recommend that you order a half size smaller. The boot is roomy from the heel all the way forward and while my normal size 11 was was loose, the 10.5 fits and feels perfect.
Also, while the pictures do not show it, the sole is not slick leather on the bottom and has texture so these are ok to wear in areas you get weather. I have been looking for a pair of boots this style for a good while, and consider these a good value for the quality.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Frye® Roper Boot
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
4.5 / 5
4.5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 2