Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Vintage Chronograph

Based on the model sent by the Red Cross to POWs in WWII of which only a handful are known to exist. This men's chronograph watch has a quartz movement with second and hour secondary dials and a date indicator. Italian leather in a richly textured croc print. Mock gold case. Men's quartz chronograph watch has a 42mm case diameter. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
3.877 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (57 reviews)
5 stars
26
4 stars
14
3 stars
6
2 stars
6
1 star
5
42 of 57(74%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Vintage Chronograph
Review 1 for Vintage Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not what I expected,
August 7, 2015
By: GHH6
"This watch quality does not mhave the quality that I would expect of Orvis.."
Review 2 for Vintage Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best watch ever,
August 4, 2015
By: Wolfpackmun
"This watch looked great online and even better in person! I have not had any problems with it yet and it was very easy to set up. It is an everyday watch; I find myself wearing to work and on the weekends. When I opened the package, the watch came in a very nice leather case that can be used for storage. Also, the shipping said 5-7 days but it actually came in 2! I highly recommend getting this watch!"
Review 3 for Vintage Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great watch,
August 3, 2015
By: Elizabethm
from New York
"I recently purchased the vintage chronograph for my fiancé. He was beyond pleased. The watch came in a beautiful leather box he was just as excited about. The Italian leather bands looked as good as they smelled. The metal is tarnished a bit to give the watch a vintage feel. Also the text and hands are not as bright as they appear in the photo, again to give the piece that worn old appeal. The size is perfect and the leather has already worn in nicely. The chronograph feature is pretty cool and my fiancé keeps looking for reasons to use it. This watch is classic, exactly what I'd been looking for and an amazing quality for the price. He's worn it everyday since it arrived, able to dress it up and down."
Review 4 for Vintage Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great piece!,
July 15, 2015
By: Patrick1836
from Midland, TX
"I buy a lot of items from Orvis because it's great quality gear. It always shows up on time (Closest store is about a 5 hour drive, so I order online or direct form the store to save the shipping cost) and as advertised! Most watches these days are big, heavy bulky. This item is a little thicker than some but not so thick that it won't fit under a dress shirt. It has a great band that is nice enough to wear to a business formal occasion and remains functional for most every day wear. The only down side to this watch is that the dark face hides the subdued numerals. This makes it a little difficult to see all the numbers in low light but fine in full day light. I would've given it 4-1/2 stars but could only do hole numbers. I would recommend this item. If you want a little more sportier watch check out the MI6."
Review 5 for Vintage Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Watch Review,
July 9, 2015
By: BertBertelson
from Castle Rock, Colorado
"I have waited to get this watch for a very long time, it is very impressive."
Review 6 for Vintage Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Watch,
July 7, 2015
By: WellsL
from Portland, Maine
"Excellent craftsmanship, refined details, simply a remarkable piece. Easy to adjust and the chronograph works perfectly."
Review 7 for Vintage Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gave it another try,
April 3, 2015
By: drewnardo
"I had purchased one of these a while ago and didn't like how the pushers on the actual watch are recessed vs. how they are shown in the catalog photo where they are shown extended. Anyway, got another one and I really like it overall. Works perfectly, nice large size and the great vintage look. I even found the stories about the POW connection during WWII. Very cool. They call them the Great Escape chronographs. And got my initial engraved on it. Highly recommended!"
Review 8 for Vintage Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent,
June 26, 2014
By: DosiDo
"As some of the post have stated, the second hand did not properly return to the start position. This is a very simple fix if they would simply read the instructions that came with their watch. This has been a great watch!"
Review 9 for Vintage Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great purchase,
May 20, 2014
By: Kthom
"Great watch for any occasion and everyday wear. Very comfortable"
Review 10 for Vintage Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Beautiful Watch,
May 2, 2014
By: tacomolly
"As the title of this review states, it is a beautiful product--on the page and on my wrist.
Unfortunately, it does not work properly. The second hand in the stopwatch function does not return to the proper 12 O'clock starting position upon reset. I just sent the second one back and have requested a refund. Both units had the same problem."
Review 11 for Vintage Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My Dad loved it!,
March 25, 2014
By: smran
from Santa Ana, CA
"This is a very nice vintage looking chronograph watch. It's a nice size, not too large. It's the perfect, sporty, classic accessory."
Review 12 for Vintage Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great watch,
March 11, 2014
By: danfos
from Washington, Il
"Looks good and feels good. Keeping accurate time so far. Many people have commented on the watch - all positive."
Review 13 for Vintage Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
eye catching,
March 6, 2014
By: Rick48
from Worcs
"Particularly like the retro/antique look and finish.
Comfortable to wear for a large watch
"
Review 14 for Vintage Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Classic time piece,
March 4, 2014
By: WesleyA
from California
"Only drawback is that it is difficult in low light to see the numbers on the dark watch face."
Review 15 for Vintage Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Watch,
February 27, 2014
By: steelheadman1
"I am a watch nut. I don't need another watch, but when I saw the Vintage Chronograph in the online catalog, I had to have it. I normally would not make a purchase like this on line, but I took a chance and wasn't disappointed. The look, the feel, the weight and the quality of its manufacture were just right, Signed, Very Satisfied Customer"
Review 16 for Vintage Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It Tells Time!,
February 26, 2014
By: Aggie2013
from Dallas, TX
"I received this watch for my birthday this year and was initially frustrated because it wasn't keeping time. I took it into the Orvis store and asked them if I was doing something wrong and they told me they will just replace it since it was running slow. No questions asked.
I received my new one, it works great and looks great. I'm very happy with this watch."
Review 17 for Vintage Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good all around watch,
February 11, 2014
By: Howe
from New Hampshire
"Caught my eye in the brochure.....it looks great and doesn't disappoint.
Time piece size is up to date and not too large like some of the new watches on the market.
"
Review 18 for Vintage Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Vintage Chronograph Watch,
February 7, 2014
By: Bobb68
from The Woodlands, Texas
"Excellent decision for me to buy this watch. I own a Rolex and wanted something a little different and exciting. It's dressy and casual and it comes in a beautiful exactly as is shown in the ad. Good job Orvis.
Bob Hebert"
Review 19 for Vintage Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best gift ever!!,
January 15, 2014
By: Sunflower1223
from New Jersey
"This watch was a gift for my boyfriend, and he loved it. He had never even heard of Orvis until I got him this watch, and now he is all about it. Great quality, durability, and style. I could not find this vintage looking style anywhere else."
Review 20 for Vintage Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Vintage chronograph was a bit disappointing,
January 15, 2014
By: drewnardo
"The watch was pretty much as described but differed from the photo shown on the website. I'm a vintage chronograph nut and my favorite style are the older round waterproof pushers which were shown in the photo. When I received the watch, the pushers were changed and did not match the photo. I was able to return the watch with no problems. I do appreciate Orvis for offering some interesting watches though. Keep it up!!"