Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Oilcloth Outback Hat

Oil seeps into the fabric better than wax to better repel water. This men's outback style hat is excellent for variable weather. Dry Zone elastic sweatband wicks moisture. Interior is lined with houndstooth check. Three brass eyelets in crown for ventilation and a built-in Koala pouch in the top for hunting license. Cotton/leather/nylon. Cold sponge. Imported.Sizes: M(7-7⅛), L(7¼-7⅜), XL(7½-7⅝).
Average Customer Rating:
4.552 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (29 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
28 of 29(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Oilcloth Outback Hat
Review 1 for Oilcloth Outback Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Hat!,
January 6, 2015
By: AuburnTiger
from Roswell, GA
"If you need a hat for almost everything in the cooler or rainy weather, this is it. Comes broken in and ready for any occasion. I bought on in each color for me and one more for a gift."
Review 2 for Oilcloth Outback Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great hat for the rain,
December 30, 2014
By: gerryj19
from Marblehead, MA
"This hat is a great alternative to a hood in light rain. Goes well with the Barbour jackets or the Heritage Coat. I find the fit to be good with the band having some give to it and it stays put in moderate wind. I haven't had to try to use it in high winds yet."
Review 3 for Oilcloth Outback Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best rain hat around!,
December 30, 2014
By: SuzanneW
from Tigard, Oregon
"I bought this hat for my husband’s Christmas gift this year to wear in the rain while walking our Airedale. After wearing it he was very pleased with the comfort and style of hat so much so that he wears it when it isn’t raining! Besides, looking stylish and great on him it is easy to take care of with a soft quality to it. The hat is lined with a type of wicking to help keep moisture away from the head along with a small hidden pocket. This hat turned out to be his favorite present this year. I must say I would highly recommend buying this wonderful hat!"
Review 4 for Oilcloth Outback Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Oilcloth hat review,
December 27, 2014
By: Lisa123456
"Comfort is great!
Very stylish.
Fit is true to size .
"
Review 5 for Oilcloth Outback Hat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Orvis Hat,
December 14, 2014
By: jdkno
"I have purchased several hats from Orvis and have been very happy with their appearance a d performance."
Review 6 for Oilcloth Outback Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nicer than Filson,
December 9, 2014
By: TvGuyJake
from Lier, BE
"Nicely finished with lining, neatly stitched, well constructed sportsman's hat. Filson is unlined and stitching is sloppy. Only caveat,,,hat size runs a bit tight; so order one size up. Orvis should also offer this model in black."
Review 7 for Oilcloth Outback Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Most Awesome Hat!,
November 29, 2014
By: thanksgivingman
from Clinton, MS
"I have a small collection of these type hats. I have two OD Felt versions from other providers. This Oilcloth Outback Hat is the most awesome Hat I have ever seen! AWESOME!!!!!"
Review 8 for Oilcloth Outback Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hats off to this hat,
November 28, 2014
By: cyberdoc
from West Nyack, NY
"Rain or shine, all occasions, year round, this Oilcloth Outback Hat looks good, feels good and works good! My bst a out of many."
Review 9 for Oilcloth Outback Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
very cool hat,
November 10, 2014
By: NickK
from White Plains, NY
"I bought three of these for myself and family...nice construction and details."
Review 10 for Oilcloth Outback Hat
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
hat,
March 9, 2014
By: dlb7885
from Manassas, VA
"very nice, but you need to have hat sizes, not S M L"
Review 11 for Oilcloth Outback Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
everyday comfort,
March 7, 2014
By: 44022
from chagrin falls, ohio
"Great very day hat for rain, snow and outdoor activities. A great find and a great value."
Review 12 for Oilcloth Outback Hat
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality hat,
March 2, 2014
By: Activedad
"I liked the hat, but decided it would be too heavy for intended use in the islands."
Review 13 for Oilcloth Outback Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Rain Hat,
February 27, 2014
By: GAtiger
from Georgia
"Needed a hat to go with a Barbour coat for rainy weather. This hat works great. Well made and looks good too."
Review 14 for Oilcloth Outback Hat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
very nice hat,
January 31, 2014
By: copenhagencowboy
from Pleasnat Plain, Ohio
"Only 4 stars for now because I have not worn it in the rain yet. Otherwise its a very well made and comfortable hat. I have a filson that I of had for 12 years and the its looking like 12 years. The Orvis very soft unlike the other one which has shrunk and has gotten stiff. The brim on the orvis is not stiff or soft but just right. No need to adjust if crushed. If crushed the crown does pop back but you will see lines that a visible but to me it just the character starting to come through. I hope come summer the hat will not be to hot but will see once summer the rain come. I will then review it again. "Git ya one!"
Review 15 for Oilcloth Outback Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great hat,
January 27, 2014
By: magicmerlin
from austin tx
"perfect gift, top quality material and workmanship,I get good compliments every time I wear my new hat"
Review 16 for Oilcloth Outback Hat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The right hat,
January 13, 2014
By: Troutbum58
from Ohio
"Has a classic look,just like my old orvis guide hat. Comfort fit, even on my bald head. Protects well from sun and rain. Holds on snug but could wear all day. Used mostly when fly fishing."
Review 17 for Oilcloth Outback Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I hat of such designs were looking for.,
December 25, 2013
By: VoiceOfNature
from Kanagawa, Japan
"I do not speak English.
Please forgive the mistake of grammar.
I was looking for in Japan, but it was not able to find.
When the friend went on a trip to the United States, he has bought for him.
And liked when I saw it at a glance, I was I purchased two different colors in the Orvis shop.
This is a great hat."
Review 18 for Oilcloth Outback Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What a nice hat.,
October 22, 2011
By: Eglicky
from Ashland, Massachusetts
"Purchased this hat in an Orvis retail store
in MA. I chose the tan which is darker and does not have the yellowish tone that appears on the on line picture. I wear a medium and this hat fits. I have been wearing it for about a week and the compliments I've received have reinforced my decision to buy "what, another hat.". Nice fit, nice style, nice hat and by the way it does keeps the rain out.
"
Review 19 for Oilcloth Outback Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ear protection,
August 22, 2011
By: Thom
from Buffalo
"I usually wear a baseball cap but got tired of suncreen/or burnt ears. I wanted a brim hat, but one that if I got caught in a rain, I could put a hood on without water running down my back.
The brim on this is flexible but sturdy enough that you can raise the back brim and put a hood over it, with the rain running off the front.
I it not overly hot, and does a good job of protecting your ears from the sun. It was surprisingly comfortable and takes/maintains shape well. Not sure what the issue was on the one review with the hat mashed. You literally just stick your hand inside and mine pops right back into shape and looks good.
"
Review 20 for Oilcloth Outback Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Favorite Hat,
April 12, 2011
By: milkman82
from South Coast, MA
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Rugged hat with an excellent fit and what's more, it looks great too!"