Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Oilcloth Outback Hat

Oil seeps into the fabric better than wax to better repel water. This men's outback style hat is excellent for variable weather. Dry Zone elastic sweatband wicks moisture. Interior is lined with houndstooth check. Three brass eyelets in crown for ventilation and a built-in Koala pouch in the top for hunting license. Cotton/leather/nylon. Cold sponge. Imported.Sizes: M(7-7⅛), L(7¼-7⅜), XL(7½-7⅝).
Average Customer Rating:
4.333 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
17 of 18(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Oilcloth Outback Hat
Review 1 for Oilcloth Outback Hat
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
hat,
March 9, 2014
By: dlb7885
from Manassas, VA
"very nice, but you need to have hat sizes, not S M L"
Review 2 for Oilcloth Outback Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
everyday comfort,
March 7, 2014
By: 44022
from chagrin falls, ohio
"Great very day hat for rain, snow and outdoor activities. A great find and a great value."
Review 3 for Oilcloth Outback Hat
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality hat,
March 2, 2014
By: Activedad
"I liked the hat, but decided it would be too heavy for intended use in the islands."
Review 4 for Oilcloth Outback Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Rain Hat,
February 27, 2014
By: GAtiger
from Georgia
"Needed a hat to go with a Barbour coat for rainy weather. This hat works great. Well made and looks good too."
Review 5 for Oilcloth Outback Hat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
very nice hat,
January 31, 2014
By: copenhagencowboy
from Pleasnat Plain, Ohio
"Only 4 stars for now because I have not worn it in the rain yet. Otherwise its a very well made and comfortable hat. I have a filson that I of had for 12 years and the its looking like 12 years. The Orvis very soft unlike the other one which has shrunk and has gotten stiff. The brim on the orvis is not stiff or soft but just right. No need to adjust if crushed. If crushed the crown does pop back but you will see lines that a visible but to me it just the character starting to come through. I hope come summer the hat will not be to hot but will see once summer the rain come. I will then review it again. "Git ya one!"
Review 6 for Oilcloth Outback Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great hat,
January 27, 2014
By: magicmerlin
from austin tx
"perfect gift, top quality material and workmanship,I get good compliments every time I wear my new hat"
Review 7 for Oilcloth Outback Hat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The right hat,
January 13, 2014
By: Troutbum58
from Ohio
"Has a classic look,just like my old orvis guide hat. Comfort fit, even on my bald head. Protects well from sun and rain. Holds on snug but could wear all day. Used mostly when fly fishing."
Review 8 for Oilcloth Outback Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I hat of such designs were looking for.,
December 25, 2013
By: VoiceOfNature
from Kanagawa, Japan
"I do not speak English.
Please forgive the mistake of grammar.
I was looking for in Japan, but it was not able to find.
When the friend went on a trip to the United States, he has bought for him.
And liked when I saw it at a glance, I was I purchased two different colors in the Orvis shop.
This is a great hat."
Review 9 for Oilcloth Outback Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What a nice hat.,
October 22, 2011
By: Eglicky
from Ashland, Massachusetts
"Purchased this hat in an Orvis retail store
in MA. I chose the tan which is darker and does not have the yellowish tone that appears on the on line picture. I wear a medium and this hat fits. I have been wearing it for about a week and the compliments I've received have reinforced my decision to buy "what, another hat.". Nice fit, nice style, nice hat and by the way it does keeps the rain out.
"
Review 10 for Oilcloth Outback Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ear protection,
August 22, 2011
By: Thom
from Buffalo
"I usually wear a baseball cap but got tired of suncreen/or burnt ears. I wanted a brim hat, but one that if I got caught in a rain, I could put a hood on without water running down my back.
The brim on this is flexible but sturdy enough that you can raise the back brim and put a hood over it, with the rain running off the front.
I it not overly hot, and does a good job of protecting your ears from the sun. It was surprisingly comfortable and takes/maintains shape well. Not sure what the issue was on the one review with the hat mashed. You literally just stick your hand inside and mine pops right back into shape and looks good.
"
Review 11 for Oilcloth Outback Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Favorite Hat,
April 12, 2011
By: milkman82
from South Coast, MA
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Rugged hat with an excellent fit and what's more, it looks great too!"
Review 12 for Oilcloth Outback Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just the hat I was looking for,
March 14, 2011
By: coalcracker
from Shamokin PA
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"The oilcloth outback hat was better than I expected. It is made with good materials & craftsmanship. It was sized just right at extra-large and looks good on top of my head too. Orvis only needs a bigger box to ship them in as mine arrived slightly crushed (though it popped pack into shape)."
Review 13 for Oilcloth Outback Hat
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
No it was not absolutely right,
March 9, 2011
By: toflyanytime
Good Value: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"The attached pictures tell the story. As with many of my recent purchases from Orvis a total disappointment."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamMarch 18, 2011
Orvis contacted this customer and let him know we were sorry to hear he wasn't happy with his purchase. We thanked him for his honest feedback. We are always striving to improve the products we offer and learn a great deal from our customers; we have forwarded his comment on to our product developers, who will take it into consideration in future product refinements.
Review 14 for Oilcloth Outback Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
awesome,
March 1, 2011
By: hoosierboy
from Indiana
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I have both colors plus a black one and so I don't have to detail my feelings,I truly use my hats all the time.Get them on sale and you will always be grateful."
Review 15 for Oilcloth Outback Hat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great on style and value,
February 27, 2011
By: Wingnut
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I am one of those guys who usually doesn't look good in a hat. After looking around at all kinds of styles and materials I found this one (and it was on sale!)
It is a very well made oilcloth hat with moderate brim and pinch crown. The edge of the brim does not have a wire to help hold its shape. The hat is crushable or rollable but with the nature of oilcloth it will develop some "character" marks where the wrinkles lay.
I wear a 7 1/8-71/4 hat, the large fits just right. It does have an elastic sweatband for some sizing flexibility.
Finally a good looking hat that doesn't make me look like a goof."
Review 16 for Oilcloth Outback Hat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
great winter golf hat,
December 31, 2010
By: caltrans
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"The hat is near perfect, except the sizing runs small. I generally take a large, so ordered large/extra large. The fit is tight, so that was a disappointment. I can live with the tight fit because of all the other excellent features, such as easily pliable, good head protection from the elements, and good appearance."
Ratings-Only Reviews for Oilcloth Outback Hat
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 2 out of 2