Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Dakota Softshell Jacket

Technology meets tradition. Softshell jackets are the latest in lightweight windproof and waterproof protection. We've taken a high-tech breathable softshell and added a layer of our new Dakota Wax cotton across the yoke and down the arms to offer even more protection from rain and briars. Full zip with two slash pockets. High collar protects the neck. Men's waterproof hunting jacket in olive brown. Nylon/wax cotton shell. Polyester lining. Cold sponge. Imported.Sizes: M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.444 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
2
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
0
17 of 18(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Dakota Softshell Jacket
Review 1 for Dakota Softshell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
dakota tough,
February 24, 2014
By: oldtexofsc
from south carolina
"Jacket has performed in a most excellent fashion in the rain and in the brutal cold and ice. A very good quality product and now one of my favorite items in my outdoor wardrobe."
Review 2 for Dakota Softshell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Layer,
January 29, 2014
By: Texasbirdhunter53
from Bellville, TX 77418, USA
"This jacket is light but protects against wind and some rain. True fit and well made. Can layer under or over this jacket."
Review 3 for Dakota Softshell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cuts the wind-Keeps me dry and warm,
January 21, 2014
By: PrimusMaximus
from Central, PA
"Jacket has plenty of useful pockets.
The brush guards on the sleeves function exactly as designed.
Jacket cuts out the wind, yet breathes.
"
Review 4 for Dakota Softshell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Incredible warmth and rain protection,
November 15, 2013
By: wisco233
"I purchased this jacket to wear under my upland vest in cold and rainy weather. The first time out it rained, of course. The jacket performed beautifully by being incredibly warm for the bulk, yet fully waterproof. I also wore it under my duck hunting shell in SK, rather than the holifill liner I usually use."
Review 5 for Dakota Softshell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Didn't Fit/Feel Quite Right For Me,
March 5, 2013
By: drew3287
from San Antonio, TX
"This jacket seemed like it would be good for busting through briers or other thick stuff while hunting. I'm 6'1", weigh around 175 lbs, and purchased a large. The overall length, sleeve length, and chest of the jacket fit me pretty well, but fit more loosely through the midsection than I would have liked. I didn't feel like I had 100% free range of motion through my shoulder are due to the waxed cotton across the yoke. It wasn't too bad though and it may have broken in over time, but I decided to utilize the Easy Exchange for the Wet Weather Upland Shell in the Tan/Olive combination. I would recommend the Dakota Softshell Jacket as long as you personally like how it fits. The Easy Exhange process has gone smoothly so far, just waiting for the Upland Shell to arrive."
Review 6 for Dakota Softshell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Juries still out,
February 26, 2013
By: Whitesetter
from Western UP of Michigan
"High quality garment similar to the upland shell but not quite. That's why I bought. Unfortunately, does not have the gusset ties a the bottom and wind blows under the garment. Also lacks either dedicated cell phone pocket or zippered pocket for valuables. Fortunately, Orvis will stand behind the product."
Review 7 for Dakota Softshell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good if it fits,
February 19, 2013
By: bostonhunter
from MA
"Nice jacket. Well made, very stylish. I think it's a better casual jacket than hunting jacket. I'm tall/thin (6'2", 180), and usually fall between a medium and large. Customer support gave me the actual measurements, so I went with medium. Chest fit was good, but the waxed cotton panel on the back doesn't stretch, so it was restrictive across the shoulders. Overall it was too short for a hunting coat. I exchanged it for the Wet Weather Upland Jacket, which is great. A little longer and more stretch."
Review 8 for Dakota Softshell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Versitile Jacket,
January 11, 2013
By: Radiusj
from Columbia, SC
"I purchased this jacket for my son-in-law and once i saw it, ordered another for myself. My reason for buying was i needed a light weight, water resistant jacket for hunting & casual wear. When I first tried it on I was concerned that the fit, particularly in the shoulders, was too restrictive and would impede shooting. I used it recently on a quali hunt and was pleasently surprised by it's flexibiility and resistance to briars. If it works as good in the rain as it looks, I'll be very pleased."
Review 9 for Dakota Softshell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice Jacket,
December 25, 2012
By: Robby123
from North Carolina
"I have always liked Orvis products and this Dakota jacket is exactly what I hoped for. I needed a lightweight jacket that could take on the briars and not be too bulky while wearing a strap vest over it. The jacket looks great and the fit alows me to mount my gun freely. Thanks Orvis!"
Review 10 for Dakota Softshell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pleasantly pleased,
December 15, 2012
By: RockyGSP
from Easton, MD
"I bought this jacket strictly as a hunting shell or dog training jacket. It turns out its my go-to cool weather casual everywhere jacket! I love it!"
Review 11 for Dakota Softshell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My New Favorite Jacket,
December 6, 2012
By: browndogeating
from Atlanta, GA
"This jacket looks and feels great. The first day I wore it I received to complements! The inner liner gives just enough wind/cold protection but not so much that it really needs to be freezing to wear it. I can't wait for it to rain so I can test the water resistance out! I highly recommend buying this jacket. You will be happy."
Review 12 for Dakota Softshell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Godd, not great,
May 16, 2012
By: AcmeHunting
from NH
"This is a rugged, reasonably waterproof softshell jacket. I wish they had made the arms bigger or articulated since they are a little tight and the material a little stiff for a smooth, easy gun mount. The waxed cotton on the arms adds durability but also makes the arms stiffer and gives the jacket that characteristic waxed smell. A better solution would be to add another layer of softshell material for durability in the briars. However the contrasting color makes the jacket look sharp and I wear it as much if not more around town than in the field."
Review 13 for Dakota Softshell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
good looking and warm,
February 14, 2012
By: aluders
"I thought it would actually be more lightweight as a "shell" but it's a nice warm jacket. Seems somewhat waterproof and blocks the wind."
Review 14 for Dakota Softshell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Wasn't for me,
January 18, 2012
By: SeaMagna
from Denver, CO
"I took a chance ordering this product without seeing it first in an Orvis store. Unfortunately, my local store didn't carry it. As a result, I didn't care for the padding or the fit in the jacket, although it certainly was a quality product. I do a lot of purchasing through Orvis, so occasionally returns such as this will occur. Overall, I still enjoy Orvis products very much!"
Review 15 for Dakota Softshell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Nice,
January 4, 2012
By: Hootiemae
"Nice, quality coat. Runs true to size. Can't get it off my husband."
Review 16 for Dakota Softshell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very good product,
April 8, 2011
By: TexasHunter
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"The product is what I expected and will work very well with my Dakota Wax Bibs"
Ratings-Only Reviews for Dakota Softshell Jacket
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 2 out of 2