Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Dakota Softshell Jacket

Technology meets tradition. Softshell jackets are the latest in lightweight windproof and waterproof protection. We've taken a high-tech breathable softshell and added a layer of our new Dakota Wax cotton across the yoke and down the arms to offer even more protection from rain and briars. Full zip with two slash pockets. High collar protects the neck. Men's waterproof hunting jacket in olive brown. Nylon/wax cotton shell. Polyester lining. Cold sponge. Imported.Sizes: M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.615 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (26 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
2
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
0
25 of 26(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Dakota Softshell Jacket
Review 1 for Dakota Softshell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great rain jacket for hunting or casual...,
August 13, 2014
By: JoeT58
from Saratoga Springs, NY
"Great quality, and great style. When the cooler weather arrives it will become my "go to"."
Review 2 for Dakota Softshell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
DAKOTA SOFTSHELL JACKET,
August 9, 2014
By: Tamcam
from LeClaire IA
"AS ALWAYS ANYTHING ORVIS HAS IS AWESOME. THIS JACKET FITS PERFECT, LOOKS GREAT AND IS VERY WELL MADE. YOU WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED."
Review 3 for Dakota Softshell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Styling and Profiling,
August 5, 2014
By: WEJIII
from Raleigh, NC
"I ordered the XXL for myself and a XL for my son in preparation for an upcoming fall pheasant hunt in South Dakota. The fit and quality are what I expect from Orvis. We look forward to the protection this light weight jacket will provide from the cold wind, rain, or snow. These items were purchased online from the Tent Sale at a substantial savings."
Review 4 for Dakota Softshell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great jacket,
August 5, 2014
By: 4853
from Alexandria VA
"This jacket fits well, not too tight with room for layering. It can take the rain and wind while providing comfort to the user."
Review 5 for Dakota Softshell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Light Jacket,
July 31, 2014
By: GooseSlayer67
from Maryland
"I have been watching for the Dakota to go on sale and when it did I purchased mine. When I opened the box the material was of a higher grade than I thought.
I ordered a large and it fits perfect. Plenty of room for a mid-layer. 6'1" 200 lbs. I can't wait to get it in the field this year.
Orvis keep making great products.
"
Review 6 for Dakota Softshell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice Jacket,
July 30, 2014
By: wof46ford
from Hartsville, SC
"Jacket fits well. Construction is great. My son tried to put in his closet so it looks good also"
Review 7 for Dakota Softshell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great value,
July 2, 2014
By: Veltro
from Vancouver, British Columbia
"This is my second purchase from Orvis and I only wish I had discovered them sooner. Overall the Dakota soft shell is a tasteful and well made jacket. I'm extremely pleased with the style, fit and quality of construction. And, Orvis got the color combination bang-on in my opinion.
This jacket is perfect for summer hikes and it's waterproofing hasn't disappointed. At 5'11" and 195 lbs I went with a large. It fits correctly and works well over layers which is important come hunting season. I received the additional online discount so the price I paid was very affordable. Along with the speedy, hassle-free service and Orvis' commitment to customer satisfaction it amounts to tremendous value. Looking forward to my next purchase.
"
Review 8 for Dakota Softshell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great shooting jacket,
April 29, 2014
By: MS1946
from upstate NY
"Great jacket. Appropriate for a spring day or early fall day where temps are in the 40's or 50's. Went shooting in a light rain and i was bone dry. I am 6' 3" and weigh 240 pounds and wear a 50 L jacket. The XXL fits well and the sleeves are the perfect length. Great fit and finish. Well made, soft and comfortable inner liner."
Review 9 for Dakota Softshell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
dakota tough,
February 24, 2014
By: oldtexofsc
from south carolina
"Jacket has performed in a most excellent fashion in the rain and in the brutal cold and ice. A very good quality product and now one of my favorite items in my outdoor wardrobe."
Review 10 for Dakota Softshell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Layer,
January 29, 2014
By: Texasbirdhunter53
from Bellville, TX 77418, USA
"This jacket is light but protects against wind and some rain. True fit and well made. Can layer under or over this jacket."
Review 11 for Dakota Softshell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cuts the wind-Keeps me dry and warm,
January 21, 2014
By: PrimusMaximus
from Central, PA
"Jacket has plenty of useful pockets.
The brush guards on the sleeves function exactly as designed.
Jacket cuts out the wind, yet breathes.
"
Review 12 for Dakota Softshell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Incredible warmth and rain protection,
November 15, 2013
By: wisco233
"I purchased this jacket to wear under my upland vest in cold and rainy weather. The first time out it rained, of course. The jacket performed beautifully by being incredibly warm for the bulk, yet fully waterproof. I also wore it under my duck hunting shell in SK, rather than the holifill liner I usually use."
Review 13 for Dakota Softshell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Didn't Fit/Feel Quite Right For Me,
March 5, 2013
By: drew3287
from San Antonio, TX
"This jacket seemed like it would be good for busting through briers or other thick stuff while hunting. I'm 6'1", weigh around 175 lbs, and purchased a large. The overall length, sleeve length, and chest of the jacket fit me pretty well, but fit more loosely through the midsection than I would have liked. I didn't feel like I had 100% free range of motion through my shoulder are due to the waxed cotton across the yoke. It wasn't too bad though and it may have broken in over time, but I decided to utilize the Easy Exchange for the Wet Weather Upland Shell in the Tan/Olive combination. I would recommend the Dakota Softshell Jacket as long as you personally like how it fits. The Easy Exhange process has gone smoothly so far, just waiting for the Upland Shell to arrive."
Review 14 for Dakota Softshell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Juries still out,
February 26, 2013
By: Whitesetter
from Western UP of Michigan
"High quality garment similar to the upland shell but not quite. That's why I bought. Unfortunately, does not have the gusset ties a the bottom and wind blows under the garment. Also lacks either dedicated cell phone pocket or zippered pocket for valuables. Fortunately, Orvis will stand behind the product."
Review 15 for Dakota Softshell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good if it fits,
February 19, 2013
By: bostonhunter
from MA
"Nice jacket. Well made, very stylish. I think it's a better casual jacket than hunting jacket. I'm tall/thin (6'2", 180), and usually fall between a medium and large. Customer support gave me the actual measurements, so I went with medium. Chest fit was good, but the waxed cotton panel on the back doesn't stretch, so it was restrictive across the shoulders. Overall it was too short for a hunting coat. I exchanged it for the Wet Weather Upland Jacket, which is great. A little longer and more stretch."
Review 16 for Dakota Softshell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Versitile Jacket,
January 11, 2013
By: Radiusj
from Columbia, SC
"I purchased this jacket for my son-in-law and once i saw it, ordered another for myself. My reason for buying was i needed a light weight, water resistant jacket for hunting & casual wear. When I first tried it on I was concerned that the fit, particularly in the shoulders, was too restrictive and would impede shooting. I used it recently on a quali hunt and was pleasently surprised by it's flexibiility and resistance to briars. If it works as good in the rain as it looks, I'll be very pleased."
Review 17 for Dakota Softshell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice Jacket,
December 25, 2012
By: Robby123
from North Carolina
"I have always liked Orvis products and this Dakota jacket is exactly what I hoped for. I needed a lightweight jacket that could take on the briars and not be too bulky while wearing a strap vest over it. The jacket looks great and the fit alows me to mount my gun freely. Thanks Orvis!"
Review 18 for Dakota Softshell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pleasantly pleased,
December 15, 2012
By: RockyGSP
from Easton, MD
"I bought this jacket strictly as a hunting shell or dog training jacket. It turns out its my go-to cool weather casual everywhere jacket! I love it!"
Review 19 for Dakota Softshell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My New Favorite Jacket,
December 6, 2012
By: browndogeating
from Atlanta, GA
"This jacket looks and feels great. The first day I wore it I received to complements! The inner liner gives just enough wind/cold protection but not so much that it really needs to be freezing to wear it. I can't wait for it to rain so I can test the water resistance out! I highly recommend buying this jacket. You will be happy."
Review 20 for Dakota Softshell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Godd, not great,
May 16, 2012
By: AcmeHunting
from NH
"This is a rugged, reasonably waterproof softshell jacket. I wish they had made the arms bigger or articulated since they are a little tight and the material a little stiff for a smooth, easy gun mount. The waxed cotton on the arms adds durability but also makes the arms stiffer and gives the jacket that characteristic waxed smell. A better solution would be to add another layer of softshell material for durability in the briars. However the contrasting color makes the jacket look sharp and I wear it as much if not more around town than in the field."