Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Dakota Softshell Jacket

Technology meets tradition. Softshell jackets are the latest in lightweight windproof and waterproof protection. We've taken a high-tech breathable softshell and added a layer of our new Dakota Wax cotton across the yoke and down the arms to offer even more protection from rain and briars. Full zip with two slash pockets. High collar protects the neck. Men's waterproof hunting jacket in olive brown. Nylon/wax cotton shell. Polyester lining. Cold sponge. Imported.Sizes: M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.474 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (38 reviews)
5 stars
26
4 stars
6
3 stars
5
2 stars
0
1 star
1
36 of 38(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Dakota Softshell Jacket
Review 1 for Dakota Softshell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Jacket!,
September 24, 2014
By: SportingClaysDude
from Chicago, IL
"I've been really happy with the purchase of this jacket. Size and fit were just as advertised and the quality is excellent! Looking forward to many days of warm, dry comfort."
Review 2 for Dakota Softshell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Design, Materials, and Fit,
September 22, 2014
By: Sandyman
from Taos, NM
"I was very pleased to receive this jacket and even more pleased with the prospect of how many different ways I can use it. While I have not always been impressed with the performance of softshell jackets, I believe this jacket will be perfect for hunting, fishing (yes, there is ample room in the shoulders for casting), and just knocking around town.
The Dakota Softshell Jacket just feels and looks like a quality garment from Orvis. It is also not a nambie, pambie garment that will fall apart at the seams. The outter shell is rugged, the inner liner is very soft and comfortable. The pockets are ample and allow considerable storage. From a fit perspective, I am 6'1" and 160 pounds and the Medium fits me perfectly."
Review 3 for Dakota Softshell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Orvis quality product!,
September 10, 2014
By: Ramiro
from Maryland
"Very happy with this jacket. Warm and sturdy. Got it for rainy fall and winter days and everyday use as well as fishing. Very solid jacket."
Review 4 for Dakota Softshell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
very functional shooting jacket,
September 9, 2014
By: Charlottesville101
from Charlottesville, VA
"I bought the jacket online, so didn't see it until it arrived. Very functional shooting jacket, kind of a fleece on steroids. Looks like its going to be a great fall shooting jacket."
Review 5 for Dakota Softshell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Bombshell,
September 8, 2014
By: Navspecwar
from North Carolina
"This is my go-to jacket for all outdoor activities and events. Outstanding wind blocking capability from walking open fields and rivers to sitting in stadium seating. Cut large so there is plenty of room for layering. Excellent jacket for the price vs quality."
Review 6 for Dakota Softshell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfy,
September 2, 2014
By: tommy2
from CT
"Great jacket that fit my needs. Soft, warm and dry. Looks awesome as well."
Review 7 for Dakota Softshell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Jacket,
September 2, 2014
By: quincyoutdoor
from Quincy, IL
"Well made product and very comfortable. Plenty of room in the shoulder and a very sturdy zipper. I highly recommend this jacket to anyone who enjoys the outdoors!"
Review 8 for Dakota Softshell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great jacket!,
August 28, 2014
By: Eastslopeshound
from Alberta, Canada
"The jacket fits perfectly, it is very warm for its weight and sheds the water, wind and branches with equal ease. Perfect fall coat!"
Review 9 for Dakota Softshell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
well made w/uncomfortable collar,
August 28, 2014
By: slowneuron
"well made jacket - but with a stick up collar that sticks into your throat"
Review 10 for Dakota Softshell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
disappointing,
August 26, 2014
By: jrsp
from toronto, canada
"I expected a first class jacket given the Orvis brand and usual quality and thought the jacket was second class in style, quality, overall feel, etc."
Review 11 for Dakota Softshell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice light jacket,
August 25, 2014
By: tracygenes
from VA
"Nothing special but nice. Havent used it much yet."
Review 12 for Dakota Softshell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great rain jacket for hunting or casual...,
August 13, 2014
By: JoeT58
from Saratoga Springs, NY
"Great quality, and great style. When the cooler weather arrives it will become my "go to"."
Review 13 for Dakota Softshell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
DAKOTA SOFTSHELL JACKET,
August 9, 2014
By: Tamcam
from LeClaire IA
"AS ALWAYS ANYTHING ORVIS HAS IS AWESOME. THIS JACKET FITS PERFECT, LOOKS GREAT AND IS VERY WELL MADE. YOU WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED."
Review 14 for Dakota Softshell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Styling and Profiling,
August 5, 2014
By: WEJIII
from Raleigh, NC
"I ordered the XXL for myself and a XL for my son in preparation for an upcoming fall pheasant hunt in South Dakota. The fit and quality are what I expect from Orvis. We look forward to the protection this light weight jacket will provide from the cold wind, rain, or snow. These items were purchased online from the Tent Sale at a substantial savings."
Review 15 for Dakota Softshell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great jacket,
August 5, 2014
By: 4853
from Alexandria VA
"This jacket fits well, not too tight with room for layering. It can take the rain and wind while providing comfort to the user."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Dakota Softshell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Light Jacket,
July 31, 2014
By: GooseSlayer67
from Maryland
"I have been watching for the Dakota to go on sale and when it did I purchased mine. When I opened the box the material was of a higher grade than I thought.
I ordered a large and it fits perfect. Plenty of room for a mid-layer. 6'1" 200 lbs. I can't wait to get it in the field this year.
Orvis keep making great products.
"
Review 17 for Dakota Softshell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice Jacket,
July 30, 2014
By: wof46ford
from Hartsville, SC
"Jacket fits well. Construction is great. My son tried to put in his closet so it looks good also"
Review 18 for Dakota Softshell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great value,
July 2, 2014
By: Veltro
from Vancouver, British Columbia
"This is my second purchase from Orvis and I only wish I had discovered them sooner. Overall the Dakota soft shell is a tasteful and well made jacket. I'm extremely pleased with the style, fit and quality of construction. And, Orvis got the color combination bang-on in my opinion.
This jacket is perfect for summer hikes and it's waterproofing hasn't disappointed. At 5'11" and 195 lbs I went with a large. It fits correctly and works well over layers which is important come hunting season. I received the additional online discount so the price I paid was very affordable. Along with the speedy, hassle-free service and Orvis' commitment to customer satisfaction it amounts to tremendous value. Looking forward to my next purchase.
"
Review 19 for Dakota Softshell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great shooting jacket,
April 29, 2014
By: MS1946
from upstate NY
"Great jacket. Appropriate for a spring day or early fall day where temps are in the 40's or 50's. Went shooting in a light rain and i was bone dry. I am 6' 3" and weigh 240 pounds and wear a 50 L jacket. The XXL fits well and the sleeves are the perfect length. Great fit and finish. Well made, soft and comfortable inner liner."
Review 20 for Dakota Softshell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
dakota tough,
February 24, 2014
By: oldtexofsc
from south carolina
"Jacket has performed in a most excellent fashion in the rain and in the brutal cold and ice. A very good quality product and now one of my favorite items in my outdoor wardrobe."