Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Dakota Softshell Jacket

Technology meets tradition. Softshell jackets are the latest in lightweight windproof and waterproof protection. We've taken a high-tech breathable softshell and added a layer of our new Dakota Wax cotton across the yoke and down the arms to offer even more protection from rain and briars. Full zip with two slash pockets. High collar protects the neck. Men's waterproof hunting jacket in olive brown. Nylon/wax cotton shell. Polyester lining. Cold sponge. Imported.Sizes: M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.433 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (30 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
3
3 stars
5
2 stars
0
1 star
1
28 of 30(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Dakota Softshell Jacket
Review 1 for Dakota Softshell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great jacket!,
August 28, 2014
By: Eastslopeshound
from Alberta, Canada
"The jacket fits perfectly, it is very warm for its weight and sheds the water, wind and branches with equal ease. Perfect fall coat!"
Review 2 for Dakota Softshell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
well made w/uncomfortable collar,
August 28, 2014
By: slowneuron
"well made jacket - but with a stick up collar that sticks into your throat"
Review 3 for Dakota Softshell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
disappointing,
August 26, 2014
By: jrsp
from toronto, canada
"I expected a first class jacket given the Orvis brand and usual quality and thought the jacket was second class in style, quality, overall feel, etc."
Review 4 for Dakota Softshell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice light jacket,
August 25, 2014
By: tracygenes
from VA
"Nothing special but nice. Havent used it much yet."
Review 5 for Dakota Softshell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great rain jacket for hunting or casual...,
August 13, 2014
By: JoeT58
from Saratoga Springs, NY
"Great quality, and great style. When the cooler weather arrives it will become my "go to"."
Review 6 for Dakota Softshell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
DAKOTA SOFTSHELL JACKET,
August 9, 2014
By: Tamcam
from LeClaire IA
"AS ALWAYS ANYTHING ORVIS HAS IS AWESOME. THIS JACKET FITS PERFECT, LOOKS GREAT AND IS VERY WELL MADE. YOU WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED."
Review 7 for Dakota Softshell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Styling and Profiling,
August 5, 2014
By: WEJIII
from Raleigh, NC
"I ordered the XXL for myself and a XL for my son in preparation for an upcoming fall pheasant hunt in South Dakota. The fit and quality are what I expect from Orvis. We look forward to the protection this light weight jacket will provide from the cold wind, rain, or snow. These items were purchased online from the Tent Sale at a substantial savings."
Review 8 for Dakota Softshell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great jacket,
August 5, 2014
By: 4853
from Alexandria VA
"This jacket fits well, not too tight with room for layering. It can take the rain and wind while providing comfort to the user."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Dakota Softshell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Light Jacket,
July 31, 2014
By: GooseSlayer67
from Maryland
"I have been watching for the Dakota to go on sale and when it did I purchased mine. When I opened the box the material was of a higher grade than I thought.
I ordered a large and it fits perfect. Plenty of room for a mid-layer. 6'1" 200 lbs. I can't wait to get it in the field this year.
Orvis keep making great products.
"
Review 10 for Dakota Softshell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice Jacket,
July 30, 2014
By: wof46ford
from Hartsville, SC
"Jacket fits well. Construction is great. My son tried to put in his closet so it looks good also"
Review 11 for Dakota Softshell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great value,
July 2, 2014
By: Veltro
from Vancouver, British Columbia
"This is my second purchase from Orvis and I only wish I had discovered them sooner. Overall the Dakota soft shell is a tasteful and well made jacket. I'm extremely pleased with the style, fit and quality of construction. And, Orvis got the color combination bang-on in my opinion.
This jacket is perfect for summer hikes and it's waterproofing hasn't disappointed. At 5'11" and 195 lbs I went with a large. It fits correctly and works well over layers which is important come hunting season. I received the additional online discount so the price I paid was very affordable. Along with the speedy, hassle-free service and Orvis' commitment to customer satisfaction it amounts to tremendous value. Looking forward to my next purchase.
"
Review 12 for Dakota Softshell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great shooting jacket,
April 29, 2014
By: MS1946
from upstate NY
"Great jacket. Appropriate for a spring day or early fall day where temps are in the 40's or 50's. Went shooting in a light rain and i was bone dry. I am 6' 3" and weigh 240 pounds and wear a 50 L jacket. The XXL fits well and the sleeves are the perfect length. Great fit and finish. Well made, soft and comfortable inner liner."
Review 13 for Dakota Softshell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
dakota tough,
February 24, 2014
By: oldtexofsc
from south carolina
"Jacket has performed in a most excellent fashion in the rain and in the brutal cold and ice. A very good quality product and now one of my favorite items in my outdoor wardrobe."
Review 14 for Dakota Softshell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Layer,
January 29, 2014
By: Texasbirdhunter53
from Bellville, TX 77418, USA
"This jacket is light but protects against wind and some rain. True fit and well made. Can layer under or over this jacket."
Review 15 for Dakota Softshell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cuts the wind-Keeps me dry and warm,
January 21, 2014
By: PrimusMaximus
from Central, PA
"Jacket has plenty of useful pockets.
The brush guards on the sleeves function exactly as designed.
Jacket cuts out the wind, yet breathes.
"
Review 16 for Dakota Softshell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Incredible warmth and rain protection,
November 15, 2013
By: wisco233
"I purchased this jacket to wear under my upland vest in cold and rainy weather. The first time out it rained, of course. The jacket performed beautifully by being incredibly warm for the bulk, yet fully waterproof. I also wore it under my duck hunting shell in SK, rather than the holifill liner I usually use."
Review 17 for Dakota Softshell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Didn't Fit/Feel Quite Right For Me,
March 5, 2013
By: drew3287
from San Antonio, TX
"This jacket seemed like it would be good for busting through briers or other thick stuff while hunting. I'm 6'1", weigh around 175 lbs, and purchased a large. The overall length, sleeve length, and chest of the jacket fit me pretty well, but fit more loosely through the midsection than I would have liked. I didn't feel like I had 100% free range of motion through my shoulder are due to the waxed cotton across the yoke. It wasn't too bad though and it may have broken in over time, but I decided to utilize the Easy Exchange for the Wet Weather Upland Shell in the Tan/Olive combination. I would recommend the Dakota Softshell Jacket as long as you personally like how it fits. The Easy Exhange process has gone smoothly so far, just waiting for the Upland Shell to arrive."
Review 18 for Dakota Softshell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Juries still out,
February 26, 2013
By: Whitesetter
from Western UP of Michigan
"High quality garment similar to the upland shell but not quite. That's why I bought. Unfortunately, does not have the gusset ties a the bottom and wind blows under the garment. Also lacks either dedicated cell phone pocket or zippered pocket for valuables. Fortunately, Orvis will stand behind the product."
Review 19 for Dakota Softshell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good if it fits,
February 19, 2013
By: bostonhunter
from MA
"Nice jacket. Well made, very stylish. I think it's a better casual jacket than hunting jacket. I'm tall/thin (6'2", 180), and usually fall between a medium and large. Customer support gave me the actual measurements, so I went with medium. Chest fit was good, but the waxed cotton panel on the back doesn't stretch, so it was restrictive across the shoulders. Overall it was too short for a hunting coat. I exchanged it for the Wet Weather Upland Jacket, which is great. A little longer and more stretch."
Review 20 for Dakota Softshell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Versitile Jacket,
January 11, 2013
By: Radiusj
from Columbia, SC
"I purchased this jacket for my son-in-law and once i saw it, ordered another for myself. My reason for buying was i needed a light weight, water resistant jacket for hunting & casual wear. When I first tried it on I was concerned that the fit, particularly in the shoulders, was too restrictive and would impede shooting. I used it recently on a quali hunt and was pleasently surprised by it's flexibiility and resistance to briars. If it works as good in the rain as it looks, I'll be very pleased."