Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Safe Passage® Mini Reel and Gear Case

A smaller travel version of our best-selling fly reel and gear case. Fully-padded case designed to store and protect up to 3 fly reels. Interior dividers are removable for customized organization. Interior zippered mesh pocket. Fly reel case in slate blue. Dimensions: 10½"L x 6¼"W x 5¾"H. Capacity: 377 cu. in. Weight: 8 oz. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.6 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 of 10(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Safe Passage® Mini Reel and Gear Case
Review 1 for Safe Passage® Mini Reel and Gear Case
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice small case for my fly reels,
July 15, 2014
By: Asarkozy
from Aurora, CO
"I got tired of searching for reels in my bag and I wanted a small case for my favorites. This fits great in my gear case and keeps my reels nick free."
Review 2 for Safe Passage® Mini Reel and Gear Case
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice little reel case,
March 25, 2014
By: Robjcm14
from Brentwood Essex
"This reel case easily holds three smallish fly reels and maybe a spare spool (or two at a pinch). Another internal zipped compartment could hold some leaders/tippet etc. The case has the typical Orvis quality feel with a nice colour, tough water resistant exterior. Orvis seems to have found a Chinese manufacturer of high quality to supply such cases and I'd easily recommend this to anyone looking for such an item."
Review 3 for Safe Passage® Mini Reel and Gear Case
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
just what I needed,
February 3, 2014
By: Bearfriend
from Cameron Park, Ca.
"I slowly got into fly fishing about a year ago , been reading up on the sport quite a bit, bought a bunch of bugs,two flyrods and three good fly reels, the reel case from Safe Passage is all I need right now, holds the reels safe and in one place, very convenient."
Review 4 for Safe Passage® Mini Reel and Gear Case
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Screaming casts,
January 3, 2013
By: Fishbaydoc
from Richmond, VA USA
"This line rockets out and easily adds 20 feet of cast without changing my casting stroke. I've found that the line started to sink after a few hours and had to re-coat which took care of the problem. This happened to my 3D 5 wt line too. I'm going to see what Orvis has to say about it. One star off."
Review 5 for Safe Passage® Mini Reel and Gear Case
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great design,
October 8, 2012
By: FlyFishDan
from Online order
"This product was shipped fast. It fits all of my reels. The spacers and Velcro work wonderful to keep my reels separated. The zipper design is strong and easy to use."
Review 6 for Safe Passage® Mini Reel and Gear Case
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mini Reel Case,
September 24, 2012
By: FireFly2
"Having used this case for 2 months now, really enjoy the fact I have all the reels, leaders and tippet material with me in one neat package while in my canoe. Makes organizing for a fishing trip easier."
Review 7 for Safe Passage® Mini Reel and Gear Case
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Excellent day boat bag,
July 8, 2012
By: PolishEagle
from Andover, NJ
"Plenty of room for reels, flys and tools for a day of drift boat fishing. Bigger then what I expected."
Review 8 for Safe Passage® Mini Reel and Gear Case
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First-rate,
May 30, 2012
By: fionn
from Scotland
"Good quality construction and the ideal size for when you are travelling by plane and need to stick within weight allowances. I found I was able to pack reel, pliers, fly boxes, leaders, etc. in this handy container, which is sufficiently padded to provide protection to the contents. Watch out, though, it comes with dividers, so you don't need to order the 2-pack offered. Orvis should maybe make this clearer on the website."
Review 9 for Safe Passage® Mini Reel and Gear Case
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reel & accessories bag,
October 12, 2011
By: photoman1
"I use this bag for extra lenses for large format cameras. The padding is just enough and the size makes it easy to pack."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Safe Passage® Mini Reel and Gear Case
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1