Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Safe Passage Reel Case

Store, organise, and travel with your reels securely protected. Designed to protect up to 10 fly reels. Interior dividers are removable for customised organisation. Interior zip mesh pocket. Large comfortable handle grip. Adjustable and removable shoulder strap with perforated foam pad. Fly fishing equipment bag in cloudburst. 14½"L x 11"W x 6"H; 957 cu. in. Weighs 2 lbs. Contents not included.
Average Customer Rating:
4.733 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
15 of 15(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Safe Passage Reel Case
Review 1 for Safe Passage Reel Case
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great reel bag,
November 19, 2014
By: Cledwyn748
from River Wye England
"Bought this bag to store all my salmon fly reels - six in all! The reels are big - Abel 12W's Loop Classics etc etc- and the bag swallowed all of them up with room for spare lines fly boxes and all held firmly and well protected by the moveable dividers. The only 'could be improved if' is the Velcro on the padded dividers goes all around each end and can tend to stick to reel pouches and anything cloth (making them single sided would make this bag 100% perfect instead of 99%!!!)"
Review 2 for Safe Passage Reel Case
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
real reel case,
September 16, 2014
By: avianexotic
"This is the best I've seen of its kind. I've searched far and wide for something to securely and comfortably organize my reels... not just when traveling, but also simply when stored. Besides, who can travel without ALL their reels? Just in case? Can't go wrong with this."
Review 3 for Safe Passage Reel Case
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Purchase,
May 13, 2014
By: mokangal
from Missouri
"I purchased this as a gift for my son. He absolutely loves it. He has his favorite reels in it and it also has space for other things that he might need when he is fishing. I would recommend it to anyone who loves to fly fish."
Review 4 for Safe Passage Reel Case
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Finally a place to organize my fly reels and extr,
February 26, 2014
By: DJJJ
from Colville, Wa.
"The right size, well made and perfect to stash my 6-7 reels and extra spools. Until now they were cluttering a shelf in my closet Room for a fly box or two and some fly extras too."
Review 5 for Safe Passage Reel Case
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent For Photography Lenses,
October 28, 2013
By: rgwilson1
from Sacramento, CA
"Adjustable compartments allow you to put lenses of different sized in the bag."
Review 6 for Safe Passage Reel Case
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Reel Case,
May 28, 2013
By: MinnowSlayer
"Product is everything I expected it to be now I can carry all of my reels in one carrier and always have the right reel and leaders."
Review 7 for Safe Passage Reel Case
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pretty nice,
July 16, 2012
By: saltyspey
from laguna madre, TX
"I've got three of these so I know they work. There is capacity for a lot of gear, not just reels, and it's easy to pack. What's not to like."
Review 8 for Safe Passage Reel Case
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Extremely pleased,
June 29, 2012
By: Michael1
from Germany
"When I ordered this ORVIS reel case I puchased the older olive green version but with a decent discount. The reel case arrived within 5 days from the UK and it was the new sky blue version. Thanks again for that!
It is large holds all your reels of a season and as the other reviewer stated can also internally modified with the velcro dividers as a supply for fly boxes etc.
Very well made and spacious.
"
Review 9 for Safe Passage Reel Case
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great for Organization,
March 14, 2012
By: NNCC
from San Jose, CA
"Nice bag with a bunch of capacity for reels, fly boxes, and whatever else. I use this as my equipment warehouse on my fishing trips. I'll stock my sling pack from this prior to going out so I don't have to lung everything out on the water."
Review 10 for Safe Passage Reel Case
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great case,
January 15, 2012
By: jobmorri
"This is a great case with plenty of options for storing your gear. Great quality that will last! The dividers allow you to configure exactly how you want based on the number and size of reels you are storing, and the zippered areas allow you to keep tippet, snips, foreceps etc handy. Very pleased with this product!"
Review 11 for Safe Passage Reel Case
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Bag,
November 4, 2011
By: FlyVirginia
from Virginia
"I purchased this as a replacement for an older Safe Passage Reel bag. I think this bag is very slightly smaller than my old bag because the reels I have don't fit as well as the old bag. I keep my reel cases on each reel and this case is really designed to not use them, but to have one just put the naked reels in the slots between the dividers. I like keeping the cases on be because sometimes I just take one reel and a spare spool with a different line on it without taking the bag when I go out to fish. But otherwise I like the case and the inner zip pocket and outer zip pocket are improvements. One small gripe. I purchased online and the online catalog shows only 5 dividers in the photo. So, I ordered the two extra dividers at an extra charge. The bag comes with 8 dividers so I wasted $4 on the extras. Not worth returning them because it would cost me $6.95 to ship them back for the $4 refund. Do not order the extra dividers unless you lose some!!!! They need to say in the description how many dividers are included."
Review 12 for Safe Passage Reel Case
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
GREAT PRUCT,
November 1, 2011
By: brooksie
from ft. lauderdale
"I use this case to store all my extra fly lines, tippet spools, and various other supplies . The movable dividers are great. The only problem is the mesh pockets on the top. I store my leaders in these pockets and sometimes they fall out because they don't stay closed. To fix this I sewed velcro to each side and that keeps it closed."
Review 13 for Safe Passage Reel Case
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great reel case,
September 6, 2011
By: Grifter907
from Anchorage, AK
"Easy to use, easy to customize to fit your needs.
Big reels (Galvan Torque T-12), small reels (Pflueger Trion 1934), doesn't matter.
"
Review 14 for Safe Passage Reel Case
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
May 20, 2011
By: BKill
from Upstate NY
"An improvement over this case's predecessor. Room for 10 reels (give or take), and the single interior zippered pocket will hold an assortment of other items without the worry of anything falling out (as was the case with the older model)."
Review 15 for Safe Passage Reel Case
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A worthy improvement,
January 27, 2011
By: Neusewader
from Raleigh, NC
Good Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My 2009 model Safe Passage Reel case is stuffed to its gills so I knew it was time to take action. Buying the upgraded incarnation is a testiment to my delight with the previous one. The Reel Case is sized to adequately hold a reasonable combination of reels, spare spools, fly boxes, and necessary doo-dads. My old model is now in charge of securely storing my reels and spare spools while the new model is on active duty as my travel case. The zippered compartment is a bonus but I would have preferred dividing the one big compartment in half or in quarters. The slip pocket on the outside is another bonus that keeps maps, to-do lists, note cards, and receipts organized. The overall score would have been higher if I didn't feel the need to use the gift coupon to bring the cost in line with some of the competition."