Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Safe Passage® Carry-it-all Rod and Gear Case

Don't trust your gear to the airlines. This case is the perfect solution. Hard-sided construction keeps your gear safe when gate checking the bag. Interior padded dividers are removable for customizable organization of reels and fly boxes. Easily holds up to six fly rods in socks. Comfortable handle grip. Three front zip pockets for added storage. Adjustable and removable pivoting shoulder strap. Perforated foam pad in shoulder strap. In digital camo, red. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.61 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (123 reviews)
5 stars
92
4 stars
21
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
2
117 of 123(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Safe Passage® Carry-it-all Rod and Gear Case
Review 1 for Safe Passage® Carry-it-all Rod and Gear Case
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect for any trip,
March 12, 2012
By: JimHickey
"My Safe Passage Carry-it-all Case has inspection stickers on it from all over the world. From Key West to Mongolia, it carries all of my rods and reels to all of my fishing destinations. I carry it on board planes, vehicles and boats, so my gear is safe. When someone asks me what they need for a rod or reel case, I point them straight to the Carry-it-all Case. The name says it all, and I personally recommend it as the best rod-and-reel case available.
-Jim Hickey
Outfitter/Guide, Worldcast Anglers, Jackson Hole, WY
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Safe Passage® Carry-it-all Rod and Gear Case
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great carrying case,
April 20, 2014
By: quackerbacker
"The case holds several setups for easy packing when traveling. It keeps the gear organized and easy to access. The construction is sturdy and I am confident it will last for many years to come."
Review 3 for Safe Passage® Carry-it-all Rod and Gear Case
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Available, Prefer 11' Size,
April 19, 2014
By: Ts47
from MD suburbs of DC
"I did quite a bit of internet surfing looking for the perfect solution to store my now too many fly rods AND fly reels. This was easily the best solution I could find. One of the reasons is it has hard sides that really protect your gear.
It will safely hold a number of rods as long as they are wrapped in their cloth bags. While I haven't tried, I would assume at least 4.
The reel side has adjustable separators that seem to fit between 10 to 12 reels or spare spools (while in their pouches). If you use larger saltwater reels, that number could drop. The 9' bag would likely hold 1 or 2 fewer as well.
On the size, I chose the bag designed to fit rods up to 11'. To give you an idea on size, the 9' bag would not quite fit a 9' Access rod tube inside this case. No, this case isn't designed to hold rod tubes. I do own some 10' rods though and didn't want to risk any of them not fitting.
Other thoughts: There are 3 zippered pouches inside and 3 more on the outside. While they are big, none of them are designed to hold a fly line on the spool. If you squish the top closed, you can make one fit. These pockets just weren't quite designed to hold something that thick. I agree with everyone else that the shoulder strap could be better designed. It does do its job though. Given that I couldn't find a solution to compete with this one, I think it's worthy of 5 stars!
This is a fantastic way to organize, transport and protect expensive fly gear. Highly recommended!"
Review 4 for Safe Passage® Carry-it-all Rod and Gear Case
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Precisely what I was looking for...,
April 16, 2014
By: BMar
"Was looking for a carry-on size fly rod, reel and tackle case...and this is a keeper. I packed 3 fly rods and reels, 2 fly boxes, leaders, 2 pair of sunglasses in cases, and more in the medium sized version of the Safe Passage Carry-it-all Rod and Gear Case. Could probably have fit another rod. Would highly recommend."
Review 5 for Safe Passage® Carry-it-all Rod and Gear Case
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great.,
April 9, 2014
By: duckscout
from VA
"Shoulder strap should be attached a little higher. Otherwise a very good product that performs as advertised."
Review 6 for Safe Passage® Carry-it-all Rod and Gear Case
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great case,
April 7, 2014
By: Robbie1974111111
from Wilmington, NC
"If you own multiple rods and are not sure which one you are going to use, then this case is a must have. It keeps rods and reel organized and ready to use."
Review 7 for Safe Passage® Carry-it-all Rod and Gear Case
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Pleased,
April 4, 2014
By: CharlesC
from San Antonio, TX
"This case is very well made with material that will last for years. My TFO spinning rods and fly rods fit perfectly in the case along with reels and tackle."
Review 8 for Safe Passage® Carry-it-all Rod and Gear Case
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good buy, must-have for travel,
March 26, 2014
By: Greg1inCA
"Case is well made and works as advertised. I wish there were a couple of webbing loops attached to the frame of the case so I could synch stuff to the side (spey rod tube comes to mind)."
Review 9 for Safe Passage® Carry-it-all Rod and Gear Case
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
All in one & safety,
March 20, 2014
By: WyoTonyO
from Sheridan, WY
"Excellent. Keeps all my equipment together and safe. Big enough for my long rods"
Review 10 for Safe Passage® Carry-it-all Rod and Gear Case
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Solid investment,
March 20, 2014
By: WyoTonyO
from Sheridan, WY
"Keeps my rods and reels safe and all my gear together so I can fish any situation or condition."
Review 11 for Safe Passage® Carry-it-all Rod and Gear Case
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great buy,
March 18, 2014
By: soggybottom
from Bartlett, TN
"I replaced a bag and several rod cases with this one case. All my rods, reals & other gear safely in one place.
Also great for carry on bag. Never check your rods when flying. Love it!
"
Review 12 for Safe Passage® Carry-it-all Rod and Gear Case
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Solid Product,
March 1, 2014
By: strikezone
from Peterborough, ON
"Wanted a decent travel case that would handle 3-4 11' switch rods as well as reels and a couple of extra spools. Tough to find a case of this size that looks good and is functional. Item arrived fairly quickly considering international shipping. Was well packaged/undamaged. Based on first impressions, it appears that it will meet my requirements handily."
Review 13 for Safe Passage® Carry-it-all Rod and Gear Case
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Product,
February 28, 2014
By: DaveLePoisson
"I was preparing for a trip to Christmas Island. I wanted to take several rods and reels for the trip, but wanted a product that would carry it all, that I could take with me on the plane. I looked at a lot of products, but the medium sized case designed for 9 foot rods this was exactly what I needed. I was able to get 6 salt water fly rods and 8 fly reels in the case with additional room to pack leaders, tippet, sun gloves, buffs, sun glasses, etc. I don't usually like to review products on a retailer's web site, but the Safe Passage Carry-it-all exceeded my expectations."
Review 14 for Safe Passage® Carry-it-all Rod and Gear Case
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just What my Husband Needed,
February 20, 2014
By: RockyMtnFlyFisher
from Denver, Colorado
"Bought this rod and gear case for my husband for Valentine's Day-he loves it! It is large enough for fly rods that break down to four pieces, and has plenty of adjustable pockets for reels, line, fly box, tools-whatever he needs to take along. We bought the camo colored case, and it is very attractive, plus it will blend in with surroundings pretty well if we need to take it to the water's edge with us. The strap makes it so that you can hike with it into an alpine lake pretty easily, or attach it to a pack.
The case is hard and able to protect the rods well; a big plus if you have dogs, heavy gear, coolers, or kids in the mix. I would trust my rods to be protected with this case."
Review 15 for Safe Passage® Carry-it-all Rod and Gear Case
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great for rods and reels!,
February 12, 2014
By: Fishgills
from Uniontown, OH
"Amazing rod and reel case! This case was sent in the smaller model but I needed the larger one to accommodate the larger 4 peice 9ft plus rods. The customer service agent was the most genuine person I've talked with over the phone. 2 days later the large version arrived and fits my rods and reels perfect! Nice design, strong material, it works. Satisfied."
Review 16 for Safe Passage® Carry-it-all Rod and Gear Case
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
YES>>>,
February 7, 2014
By: johnnyraff
from South Jersey
"Got this as a present and it basically holds my whole collection of reels and rods. I have about 4-5 reels and rodes in there, also some fly boxes and other misc stuff. Well built and great for storage , protection and travel."
Review 17 for Safe Passage® Carry-it-all Rod and Gear Case
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good bag...get the biggest one,
January 28, 2014
By: LDave
from Princeton, NJ
"You need the largest size for maximum flexibility. It holds my 13 and 15' Missionary 6 Greys spey rods and my 11' switch rods nicely, with plenty of room for boxes of flies and 3-4 reels. I use it every trip now, short or long.
Lack of locking tabs is an issue but you can rig wire ties thru the zippers to keep it a bit secure. I've checked it from NYC to Argentina, and shorter trips too without a problem as it's big enough to not get lost in the hold.
The additional of swivels to the strap is also a good idea."
Review 18 for Safe Passage® Carry-it-all Rod and Gear Case
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great gift!,
January 16, 2014
By: CLMB
from Minneapolis, MN
"My fly fishing family members loved this case. They are always traveling and this is perfect to keep their gear safe and in one place.
Loved it!
"
Review 19 for Safe Passage® Carry-it-all Rod and Gear Case
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent,
January 3, 2014
By: GooseCutter
from Washington, DC
"While I haven't flown with this rod case yet, it fits all the rods I need and keeps my gear organized in the compartment under the floor of my car trunk. I can hit the river after work and know that all my gear is in one pace and safe, to boot!"
Review 20 for Safe Passage® Carry-it-all Rod and Gear Case
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Shoulder Strap,
November 10, 2013
By: acricky
from Rickmansworth, UK
"I bought this bag as a carry on for a bone fishing trip to Mexico. I've just returned from my trip and was very disappointed with the shoulder strap which is fixed in the middle of the strap, so can't be adjusted. The strap is fixed at both ends so can't rotate, which is annoying. Whilst carrying the bag on your shoulder it slips down so the end of the bag so the strap digs into your shoulder. I had 4 rods and 9 reels so it was quite heavy.
Several members of my group had an older version of the bag which had a moveable strap cushion and swivel connections to the bag. Apart from that the bag was identical.
I cannot understand why Orvis would modify the bag and ruin a great product. It would also help if the main zip levers could accommodate a padlock as some airlines would not allow it on the plane as carry on luggage.
Unless Orvis can change the strap in some way I am returning the bag today."