Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Safe Passage® Carry-it-all Rod and Gear Case

Don't trust your gear to the airlines. This case is the perfect solution. Hard-sided construction keeps your gear safe when gate checking the bag. Interior padded dividers are removable for customizable organization of reels and fly boxes. Easily holds up to six fly rods in socks. Comfortable handle grip. Three front zip pockets for added storage. Adjustable and removable pivoting shoulder strap. Perforated foam pad in shoulder strap. In digital camo, red. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.645 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (152 reviews)
5 stars
116
4 stars
25
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
2
146 of 152(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Safe Passage® Carry-it-all Rod and Gear Case
Review 1 for Safe Passage® Carry-it-all Rod and Gear Case
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect for any trip,
March 12, 2012
By: JimHickey
"My Safe Passage Carry-it-all Case has inspection stickers on it from all over the world. From Key West to Mongolia, it carries all of my rods and reels to all of my fishing destinations. I carry it on board planes, vehicles and boats, so my gear is safe. When someone asks me what they need for a rod or reel case, I point them straight to the Carry-it-all Case. The name says it all, and I personally recommend it as the best rod-and-reel case available.
-Jim Hickey
Outfitter/Guide, Worldcast Anglers, Jackson Hole, WY
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Safe Passage® Carry-it-all Rod and Gear Case
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Case,
December 18, 2014
By: shooterSLO
from Truckee
"This is the ONLY case I've ever found for fly rods longer than 9'. It's fantastic. Has room for several rods, reels, and assorted stuff."
Review 3 for Safe Passage® Carry-it-all Rod and Gear Case
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Carry it All,
December 17, 2014
By: Steelfly
from Toledo, Ohio
"A very handy bag to carry a variety of rods and reels and other
necessities. It is nice not to have to carry three tubes to get a variety of rods to your fishing spot. And you never have to unpack it and wonder were did I put my eight weight reel.
"
Review 4 for Safe Passage® Carry-it-all Rod and Gear Case
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Safe Passage - Very Versatile,
December 15, 2014
By: Dinkslayer
from Pittsburgh, PA
"Just received it. It definitely seems sturdy enough for airline travel - either as a carry-on or checked in.
The partitions are all adjustable and can be removed if desired, even the lengthwise one.
All in all, a very versatile product that should accommodate many needs."
Review 5 for Safe Passage® Carry-it-all Rod and Gear Case
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just What I needed,
December 12, 2014
By: 1Fishbwana
from Delta,British Columbia
"This item functions as advertised. All my rods, reels, and accessories are all safe with me when I travel to my favorite fishing hole. It is easy to carry and does the job of protecting my equipment. Only draw back is that the Airlines will not allow the lines to be carried in it if it is used as carry on. Otherwise PERFECT"
Review 6 for Safe Passage® Carry-it-all Rod and Gear Case
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
All in one place,
December 7, 2014
By: gforcegerry
from Suffolk, UK
"Perfect for keeping everything together when travelling. I managed to get a huge amount of gear in it.
My only complaint would be the weight which is heavy even when empty. The other is a recommendation... Could Orvis put lockable zip pulls on it. Outside of the USA particularly Europe Middle East etc you can't carry rods as hand luggage so it has to go in the hold. Would be nice if it could be locked. Hence the 4 stars rather than 5.
"
Review 7 for Safe Passage® Carry-it-all Rod and Gear Case
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Large is good,
November 29, 2014
By: Leicadave
from Hamden, Ct.
"I wrote a critical review of the smaller version and traded it in for the larger one.
It has become my go to case for most of my fishing, whether traveling to S. America, Canada, or locally.
The strap issue remains: Would be better to have D rings so you could fit another strap of your choice to it.
Lockability is still an issue. I use nylon ties to keep it more secure when checking it (I always check it).
Its luggage size is an advantage when checking luggage as it won't roll into a corner of the hold and get lost.
I pack 2-4 rods in it with reels and leaders, flies sometimes too. It even holds my 5 piece 11 and 13 foot spey rods.
The largest size has a couple of issues but is still highly recommended."
Review 8 for Safe Passage® Carry-it-all Rod and Gear Case
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
awesome gift,
November 24, 2014
By: corinne3266
"perfect gift for my 16 year old who has lots of gear and likes to travel with it."
Review 9 for Safe Passage® Carry-it-all Rod and Gear Case
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
finest example of fishing bag,
November 11, 2014
By: madog
from Barry
"this is the sort of fishing case that I have been looking for, for a long time, it holds all my travel fly rods and reels along with my tackle in one bag.
would definitely recommend it to my friends.
"
Review 10 for Safe Passage® Carry-it-all Rod and Gear Case
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Pack,
October 28, 2014
By: SouthFork
from Lost in Montana
"In the past, I have always brought my rods in there individual tubes, and reels in a bag. This summer I purchased this case before a trip to Alaska. It worked out great for the trip. The larger pack held my Switch perfect as well as the four other rods I put in there. Since I was fishing for anything from pike to grayling, to rainbows and salmon, it was nice to have a selection of rods and reels with me. It keeps everything very organized and in easy reach. I would highly recommend this case for traveling or even just very organized storage."
Review 11 for Safe Passage® Carry-it-all Rod and Gear Case
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
October 8, 2014
By: CaptCurt
from Point Judith, Rhode Island
"A nice well made product. However, I was really disappointed to find that my 3 piece, 9' rod would not fit in the case. This was the main reason I purchased it."
Review 12 for Safe Passage® Carry-it-all Rod and Gear Case
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Everything Within Reach,
September 29, 2014
By: Ginger2014
from New Zealand
"I purchased this for my husband so that when we go fishing we have all our reel and rod options ready for any condition. He was thrilled. It is light but sturdy and the adjustable compartments allow us to fit in both fly boxes and reels. Great gift for both of us !"
Review 13 for Safe Passage® Carry-it-all Rod and Gear Case
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just used it, like it,
September 4, 2014
By: love2fish
from Western MA
"I bought the longer version and took it on a Delta flight to Colorado as a carryon there and back. No problems. Very handy, lots of room. I didn't need the extra dividers. Like the red color. Well made. Now I keep it in my RAV4 so that everything is handy. Glad I got it."
Review 14 for Safe Passage® Carry-it-all Rod and Gear Case
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
All my gear in one place!,
September 4, 2014
By: Tilden
"This is an excellent product. I have 4 rods in this case -- even my 11' nymphing rod. I could add two more. In addition, I have 4 reels, all my leaders, wading staff, and other odds and ends in this case. No more tubes rolling around in the back of the SUV."
Review 15 for Safe Passage® Carry-it-all Rod and Gear Case
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect,
September 1, 2014
By: Striperman1
"Rods fit snugglly with room for several reels and extra spools. Pockets for flat fly boxes and tippet and other necessary gear. Nice looking, nicely made, efficient. The rod holding clips take some getting used to but they are fine."
Review 16 for Safe Passage® Carry-it-all Rod and Gear Case
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What a bag!,
September 1, 2014
By: GFrank
from East Tennessee
"Traveling at times, it was a hassle to carry rod tubes, now I have rods, reels, extra fly lines, etc. at the ready for travel and for storage. Well built, well designed and functional! Great bag!"
Review 17 for Safe Passage® Carry-it-all Rod and Gear Case
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another well-designed Orvis product,
August 29, 2014
By: Marmot1
from Las Vegas, NV
"This case is very nicely manufactured. With minor adjustments to internal dividers it can easily hold more rods (6 or more) and reels than required for a week long Montana trout excursion for two people. This case eliminates the need to check valuable equipment through an airline baggage system so you know where it is and that it's safe from handling damage."
Review 18 for Safe Passage® Carry-it-all Rod and Gear Case
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great way to organize,
August 26, 2014
By: TXdanp
from Dallas, TX
"This is a great way to organize and carry all your fly fishing essentials. Excellent for bringing your gear on the plane and looks great too."
Review 19 for Safe Passage® Carry-it-all Rod and Gear Case
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Not allowed on Canadian planes,
August 22, 2014
By: Humpy70
from Vancouver, BC
"I like the design of this and it holds, protects, and organizes a lot of gear. Unfortunately, neither of the major airlines in Canada (Air Canada and WestJet) allow it to be carried onto the plane if it contains reel with line (or any line). Apparently, Canadian airport safety officials think the line could be used for garroting people during a hijacking. That eliminates most of the utility and purpose of the case since I must put my reels in checked baggage, rather than insuring that they arrive."
Review 20 for Safe Passage® Carry-it-all Rod and Gear Case
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best protection ever!,
July 31, 2014
By: MBOB
from FLAGSTAFF
"This is the best designed case to store your Orvis rod, reels and fly boxes. It has a place for everything, is sturdy and officers a great deal of protection for your high end gear. Well though out!"