Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Safe Passage® Carry-it-all Rod and Gear Case

Don't trust your gear to the airlines. This case is the perfect solution. Hard-sided construction keeps your gear safe when gate checking the bag. Interior padded dividers are removable for customizable organization of reels and fly boxes. Easily holds up to six fly rods in socks. Comfortable handle grip. Three front zip pockets for added storage. Adjustable and removable pivoting shoulder strap. Perforated foam pad in shoulder strap. In digital camo, red. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.645 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (141 reviews)
5 stars
108
4 stars
23
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
2
135 of 141(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Safe Passage® Carry-it-all Rod and Gear Case
Review 1 for Safe Passage® Carry-it-all Rod and Gear Case
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect for any trip,
March 12, 2012
By: JimHickey
"My Safe Passage Carry-it-all Case has inspection stickers on it from all over the world. From Key West to Mongolia, it carries all of my rods and reels to all of my fishing destinations. I carry it on board planes, vehicles and boats, so my gear is safe. When someone asks me what they need for a rod or reel case, I point them straight to the Carry-it-all Case. The name says it all, and I personally recommend it as the best rod-and-reel case available.
-Jim Hickey
Outfitter/Guide, Worldcast Anglers, Jackson Hole, WY
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Safe Passage® Carry-it-all Rod and Gear Case
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just used it, like it,
September 4, 2014
By: love2fish
from Western MA
"I bought the longer version and took it on a Delta flight to Colorado as a carryon there and back. No problems. Very handy, lots of room. I didn't need the extra dividers. Like the red color. Well made. Now I keep it in my RAV4 so that everything is handy. Glad I got it."
Review 3 for Safe Passage® Carry-it-all Rod and Gear Case
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
All my gear in one place!,
September 4, 2014
By: Tilden
"This is an excellent product. I have 4 rods in this case -- even my 11' nymphing rod. I could add two more. In addition, I have 4 reels, all my leaders, wading staff, and other odds and ends in this case. No more tubes rolling around in the back of the SUV."
Review 4 for Safe Passage® Carry-it-all Rod and Gear Case
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect,
September 1, 2014
By: Striperman1
"Rods fit snugglly with room for several reels and extra spools. Pockets for flat fly boxes and tippet and other necessary gear. Nice looking, nicely made, efficient. The rod holding clips take some getting used to but they are fine."
Review 5 for Safe Passage® Carry-it-all Rod and Gear Case
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What a bag!,
September 1, 2014
By: GFrank
from East Tennessee
"Traveling at times, it was a hassle to carry rod tubes, now I have rods, reels, extra fly lines, etc. at the ready for travel and for storage. Well built, well designed and functional! Great bag!"
Review 6 for Safe Passage® Carry-it-all Rod and Gear Case
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another well-designed Orvis product,
August 29, 2014
By: Marmot1
from Las Vegas, NV
"This case is very nicely manufactured. With minor adjustments to internal dividers it can easily hold more rods (6 or more) and reels than required for a week long Montana trout excursion for two people. This case eliminates the need to check valuable equipment through an airline baggage system so you know where it is and that it's safe from handling damage."
Review 7 for Safe Passage® Carry-it-all Rod and Gear Case
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great way to organize,
August 26, 2014
By: TXdanp
from Dallas, TX
"This is a great way to organize and carry all your fly fishing essentials. Excellent for bringing your gear on the plane and looks great too."
Review 8 for Safe Passage® Carry-it-all Rod and Gear Case
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Not allowed on Canadian planes,
August 22, 2014
By: Humpy70
from Vancouver, BC
"I like the design of this and it holds, protects, and organizes a lot of gear. Unfortunately, neither of the major airlines in Canada (Air Canada and WestJet) allow it to be carried onto the plane if it contains reel with line (or any line). Apparently, Canadian airport safety officials think the line could be used for garroting people during a hijacking. That eliminates most of the utility and purpose of the case since I must put my reels in checked baggage, rather than insuring that they arrive."
Review 9 for Safe Passage® Carry-it-all Rod and Gear Case
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best protection ever!,
July 31, 2014
By: MBOB
from FLAGSTAFF
"This is the best designed case to store your Orvis rod, reels and fly boxes. It has a place for everything, is sturdy and officers a great deal of protection for your high end gear. Well though out!"
Review 10 for Safe Passage® Carry-it-all Rod and Gear Case
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great travel carry on,
July 22, 2014
By: craiger
from wheat ridge,co
"you can carry your rods and reels with you on the plane with no worries"
Review 11 for Safe Passage® Carry-it-all Rod and Gear Case
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rod and Gear Case review,
June 17, 2014
By: buzz0440
from Pittsburgh PA
"I was very happy with the carry it all case. Could not believe all that I could fit in. The movable dividers made it so I could customize for each use. Awesome product."
Review 12 for Safe Passage® Carry-it-all Rod and Gear Case
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fly fish arsenal,
June 7, 2014
By: Rchutch
from Thomasville, Georgia
"Great quality. Load rods and reels leave in truck ready to fish, now hit the road for the nearest creek or pond."
Review 13 for Safe Passage® Carry-it-all Rod and Gear Case
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Rod Case,
June 6, 2014
By: ANBishop
from Nashville, TN
"I have not been through airport security with this case yet, although I purchased it for an upcoming Yellowstone trip. Now I think I'll keep this case in my Tahoe all the time for on-the-go storage. This is a quality rod case. It has ample room for multiple rods, reels and even fly boxes. I think I will pack my fly boxes in my Safe Passage rolling duffle just in case airport security feels hooks are not acceptable. I got the digital camo and it looks great. By the way, the SP rolling vented duffle is a great all-around peice of luggage. Rod tubes fit in the bottom but it gets too tight for waders and wading boots in the bottom as well. Plus, I don't want my expensive rods being tossed around by luggage handlers. This is why I purchased the Rod and Gear case."
Review 14 for Safe Passage® Carry-it-all Rod and Gear Case
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful!!,
May 28, 2014
By: Casey00Crowe
from Atlanta, GA
"This Gear bag is everything and more! Great quality, I highly recommend!"
Review 15 for Safe Passage® Carry-it-all Rod and Gear Case
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Carry it all Rod Case,
May 22, 2014
By: BruceD121
"Perfect size and fit for all my rods and reels. Great protection! Nice to have everything in one place."
Review 16 for Safe Passage® Carry-it-all Rod and Gear Case
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A small fly shop that fits in your trunk,
May 19, 2014
By: ChrisS
from Ohio
"Why this thing rocks:
On a recent trip to PA, driving from stream to stream, I added this bag to the arsenal so I wouldnt have to leave rods back at camp. It was like having a small fly shop in a bag. I had 5 rods from a 6' 2 wt to an 11' 7 wt, all their reels (including multiples for some) 4 large and two medium fly boxes, a camera, tools, a pair of sunglasses in a case, and a leader kit in there with room to spare.
It was nice being able to show up at the stream, look at it, pick two rods and reels that would be best for the day's conditions out of the bag to carry (for example a bug stick and a meat stick ), toss in a few fly boxes and just go.
Its also nice knowing I have a backup and the day isn't done if I pole vault and snap a tip.
It cuts rigging time down not having to deal with tubes.
I dont even empty this thing any more. Toss it in the trunk and go. Get to the water and its colored and up? bust out the two hander. no wind, Low and clear? String up the 3 wt. Fishing a few different species or techniques? grab the 9 foot 5 and 9 foot 8.
I bought it just to transport rods originally, but it does more than that. It gives you options"
Review 17 for Safe Passage® Carry-it-all Rod and Gear Case
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great organizer as well as travel case,
April 30, 2014
By: TomJRoy
from Westfield, MA
"The rod and gear case is excellent. Same durable fast drying fabric as other safe passage items. While I don't fly with gear that often, I do keep five rods and several reels of various sizes in my trunk to tackle all my local haunts from larger rivers to mountain streams. This used to mean five rod tubes and a bag of reels in thier cases with various other items tossed in a bag. Now I love popping the trunk and grabbing items from the case. The case accessory pockets are also great for those little used fly boxes, ferrule wax etcetera. Only limitation seems to be it will hold a bit of moisture, after a day of New England fishing in the rain, rain gear and waders went in the trunk with it and r it held moisture a bit longer than if like, but this seems a reasonable compromise for the padding that will keep your gear safe traveling. Great product."
Review 18 for Safe Passage® Carry-it-all Rod and Gear Case
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great travel bag,
April 24, 2014
By: Andrssonevn
from Baltimore, MD
"I recently purchased this to use on a trip out to Utah. I bought the large size to accomodate my 10ft 4 piece rods (they will NOT fit in the medium). All in all, a really great bag. I fit 4 rods in there cloth sleeves in the rod holder and could have easily fit 2 more. Also, there is plenty of room for several reels, fly boxes, tippet, buffs, gloves, and all of your other fly fishing gadgets. It fit everything I needed and I take a lot of stuff. Also, and perhaps most importantly, I had no problem carrying it on both Delta flights. No one said a word to me. I would highly recommend it if you travel with your gear a lot. NOTE--your rod tubes will not fit in this."
Review 19 for Safe Passage® Carry-it-all Rod and Gear Case
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great carrying case,
April 20, 2014
By: quackerbacker
"The case holds several setups for easy packing when traveling. It keeps the gear organized and easy to access. The construction is sturdy and I am confident it will last for many years to come."
Review 20 for Safe Passage® Carry-it-all Rod and Gear Case
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Available, Prefer 11' Size,
April 19, 2014
By: Ts47
from MD suburbs of DC
"I did quite a bit of internet surfing looking for the perfect solution to store my now too many fly rods AND fly reels. This was easily the best solution I could find. One of the reasons is it has hard sides that really protect your gear.
It will safely hold a number of rods as long as they are wrapped in their cloth bags. While I haven't tried, I would assume at least 4.
The reel side has adjustable separators that seem to fit between 10 to 12 reels or spare spools (while in their pouches). If you use larger saltwater reels, that number could drop. The 9' bag would likely hold 1 or 2 fewer as well.
On the size, I chose the bag designed to fit rods up to 11'. To give you an idea on size, the 9' bag would not quite fit a 9' Access rod tube inside this case. No, this case isn't designed to hold rod tubes. I do own some 10' rods though and didn't want to risk any of them not fitting.
Other thoughts: There are 3 zippered pouches inside and 3 more on the outside. While they are big, none of them are designed to hold a fly line on the spool. If you squish the top closed, you can make one fit. These pockets just weren't quite designed to hold something that thick. I agree with everyone else that the shoulder strap could be better designed. It does do its job though. Given that I couldn't find a solution to compete with this one, I think it's worthy of 5 stars!
This is a fantastic way to organize, transport and protect expensive fly gear. Highly recommended!"