Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Dakota Wax Bibs

The Dakota Wax hunting clothing offers protection from the elements, plus the added benefit of "full-body heat retention" as there is no accidental exposure at the belt line. Bib is made of durable Hawthorne cloth with Dakota Wax facing on the legs. Features include articulated knee construction, easy on-and-off with heavy-duty leg and side body zippers, jean-style front pockets plus front wader-style pocket. Whether hunting the Dakotas in late fall or winter grouse in New England, stay out longer and enjoy it more. Upland hunting clothing in brown. 100% cotton. Washable. Imported.Waist sizes: M(32-34), L(36-38), XL(40-42), XXL(44-46). In 30" and 32" inseam length.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
13 of 13(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Dakota Wax Bibs
Review 1 for Dakota Wax Bibs
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Must Have,
June 12, 2012
By: Treed111
from Texas
"If you're hunting quail in most parts of Texas, these are a must. One pair should last a lifetime."
Review 2 for Dakota Wax Bibs
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice,
May 23, 2012
By: walk213
from Parker, CO
"I have not hunted in the Dakota Wax Bibs. I purchased them for pheasant hunting in Colorado, Nebraska and Kansas. To that point, I will really know how they wear during the season. They fit great and quality is obvious. Looking forward to November!"
Review 3 for Dakota Wax Bibs
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My 2nd pair!,
May 15, 2012
By: Grifish
from SE Pa
"These are perfect for upland hunting and dog training. Luv'm"
Review 4 for Dakota Wax Bibs
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
So nice I ordered them twice.,
April 24, 2012
By: WEJIII
from Raleigh, NC
"I purchased these Bibs last year and really liked the design, durability, and quality. So when they came up on the Orvis Tent Sale, I knew it would be a sure bet and great knowing I had a spare set for quail and pheasant hunting."
Review 5 for Dakota Wax Bibs
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great for bird hunting,
March 20, 2012
By: miller1624
from Commerce, GA
"These look and fit great. They do run a bit large I would normally wear a large and ended up with mediums. Love em!"
Review 6 for Dakota Wax Bibs
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User Friendly Bibs,
February 27, 2012
By: DDMan
from Gator Country
"Sturdy but not bulky they become an all day product. I like the elastic in the shoulders with no hardware to interfere with mounting your gun. A+ all the way around."
Review 7 for Dakota Wax Bibs
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Envy in the Field,
February 17, 2012
By: curtis44520
from Cleveland, Ohio
"These bibs are the greatest! I was hunting in a blizzard and was warm as toast and dry as well. My buddy was whining and I told him to buy a pair and quit belly aching. They go on fast, and keep my compete chest protected. A great purchase!"
Review 8 for Dakota Wax Bibs
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sturdy product for the Job,
February 13, 2012
By: Duckdude
"The product was recieved as discribed and is a sturdy product well designed for the use it was built for."
Review 9 for Dakota Wax Bibs
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well Done,
February 8, 2012
By: 1207
from Chattanooga,TN
"I liked these bibs. I really liked that the small of my back didnt feel the wind that I have felt wearing regular hunting pants. They seemed to turn briars with the best of them. They may be a little warm during the early season."
Review 10 for Dakota Wax Bibs
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding upland wear,
November 17, 2011
By: uplander003
from Northern Wyoming
"I purchased these bibs for hunting birds in sage brush and wild rose patches. The material is much like my breathable waders and comfortable to wear. I expect these bibs to last. They are a little pricey, but I think worth the money. The only drawback is the leg zipper. I would like to see a full length zipper so I could get them on over heavy hunting boots."
Review 11 for Dakota Wax Bibs
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Machine washable Wax?? YGTBKM!,
August 29, 2011
By: OldsilverBerettaMan
from U S A
"You should see my tattered worn out looking catalog. Looks like it has been used to help plan the next Seal Team 6 raid!!! I hope that when someone looks through an Orvis catalog, ie. "The Hunting Book" as an example, they pay attention to the quality of design, construction etc, as these "Dakota" wax bibs are what makes Orvis brand speak for itself. The shoulder strap fasteners have a far better design for lasting form fit function, even better than Orvis "Pointer" Brand Bibs in my opinion, like the bibs I currently had. They have been bent beyond repair, button fasteners pulled out etc. My "Dakota's" are of a much stronger, longer lasting design for my future generations to wear than any other. Machine washable waxed cotton speaks for itself. Anyone who has had waxed bibs for over 10-15 years and not been able to "machine wash" to get them clean knows what I'm talking about. They turn into garage sale items or hand me downs much sooner than expected, and I paid as much for them back then as these cost today! Believe it. New technology.
These "Dakota Bibs" really could use some type of hanger loops for attaching Whistle, dog tracking/training device etc. and for hanging up to dry out after a wet day of outdoor activities rather than hanging by the shoulder straps. Anyone looking for a pair of great hunting bibs needs to look at these bibs and compare to their existing pair and those other brands ( and not just go by cost) before purchase. They wont be disappointed in these Orvis Dakota bibs if they know what to look for. I'm very excited to own a pair of these "Dakota Wax Bibs" and can't wait to put them through a few more grouse and pheasant outings this season and seriously looking to match them up with the Dakota wax field coat or vest. Oh no I think I just heard moaning and groaning from my chief financial officer out in the kitchen!! But well worth it, believe me!"
Ratings-Only Reviews for Dakota Wax Bibs
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 2 out of 2