Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Upland Hunting Vest

Hunting Mr. Bob can be hotter than a southern church on summer Sundays. The new Plantation Vest is a lightweight upland hunting vest with mesh construction to keep the air flowing and allow evaporative cooling. Full front-loading vest with large, rear easy-to-clean, blood-proof game pocket. Chest-high pockets and front shell pockets. Carry your gear, lose the heat. Upland hunting vest in tan/blaze. Shell: 100% cotton. Mesh: 100% polyester. Washable. Imported.Sizes: M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
11 of 13(85%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Upland Hunting Vest
Review 1 for Upland Hunting Vest
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Zipper trouble,
February 12, 2015
By: Joedownstate2
from Downstate Illinois
"I purchased a plantation hunting vest and the zipper is big trouble. You'd think for the price they would have a decent zipper. Nah! I purchased an XXL and it was more like and XL"
Review 2 for Upland Hunting Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Purchase,
December 26, 2014
By: RRAorvis
from orlando ,Florida
"Perfect vest for pheasant and quail hunting. Light weight, but enough fabric for warmth and dual deep pockets for shells. I really like this vest. if I bought this one first, I would have saved a lot of time and money versus the one I bought from another company. I had many compliments on the style and quality."
Review 3 for Upland Hunting Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Plantation Vest,
December 21, 2014
By: FrndofGod
"It is a well constructed vest, heavy duty. I like the fit and finish. Things I would like to see added, separate back pockets for H20, inside secure pocket for hunting license. The thing I like least (not a deal breaker by any means) are the straps to hold the pockets open, one word, unnecessary. The vest is made to last and is a good value at the sale price. Especially good for early season when it is still warmer. Fit is true to size."
Review 4 for Upland Hunting Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Extremely Functional,
December 4, 2014
By: Nauman
from San Francisco, CA
"The vest is light weight, efficient and functional. There is ease in accessing all of the pockets and compartments. The vest fits comfortably and allows maximum motion while hunting."
Review 5 for Upland Hunting Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great vest,
December 3, 2014
By: TheKirks
from Radnor, PA
"Great vest for upland hunting. Comfortable and do not get too hot when doing a lot of walking. Front access to large game bag (which is easy to clean) is a real plus. Front pockets are large with plenty of room for shells. I'm used to the elastic shell holder bands, which this vest doesn't have, but it's actually easier to just reach into the pocket and grab a couple of shells."
Review 6 for Upland Hunting Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Hunting Vest,
February 4, 2014
By: Fish333
from Clearwater, Florida
"The Plantation Vest was a great purchase. love the fit and feel of the vest for long hunts. Able to carry allot of shells in the front pockets and like the hold open snaps in front to keep pocket flaps out of the way."
Review 7 for Upland Hunting Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Decent Vest,
January 11, 2014
By: Pentax2
from Denver, CO
"This is a good light weight mesh type vest that is very well made. I think it will be a solid performer for years to come.Only complaint - no individual shell holders anyplace in the pockers or on the vest."
Review 8 for Upland Hunting Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Solid field vest,
May 8, 2013
By: Aviduser
from Ketchum, ID
"Used in South America. Not too heavy (humid) not too light (cool mornings). Did not like the little straps that hold ammo pocket flaps up out of the way.Does not work really well. Would prefer velcro on underside of pocket flap and inside the pocket to hold pocket flap down inside the pocket. out of the way, especially when shooting high volume. Liked the zipper on top of the game bag in back. Allowed you to dump game out easily. Overall, a solid product."
Review 9 for Upland Hunting Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Perfect for Ladies,
December 22, 2011
By: KayM
from Camden SC
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I searched all over the internet looking for a great looking basic bird hunting vest and ended up with this one. Mens Medium is the smallest they make which fit me just fine and I am a size 4-6 in ladies and about 5' 7". I liked the straps that held the pocket flaps open for easy access to shells. Only wish they had another zippered pocket for ear plugs, camera or iphone. Had they made a mens small, I would have preferred this size but with winter clothing, the medium worked well."
Review 10 for Upland Hunting Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great warm weather vest,
November 24, 2011
By: Birdy9
from Pa.
"Perfect vest for those warm afternoons. Mesh let air flow freely. Pockets well sized. Only need is additional small pocket for license."
Review 11 for Upland Hunting Vest
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Plantations Vest,
October 10, 2011
By: 17235121
"I was surprised for a $125 hunting vest it did not have any shell loops and only two pockets. How about a zippered pocket for a hunting license. I like the light weight design great for early Quail/Dove season when its hot."
Ratings-Only Reviews for Upland Hunting Vest
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
4.5 / 5
4.5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 2 out of 2