Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Black Diamond Flicklock Wading staff

This collapsible wading staff has a 15º grip angle that ensures optimal grip position for the best leverage and security. Natural cork wicks away sweat No-slip foam on upper shaft. The patented FlickLock mechanism squeezes the pole shafts together to form a joint stronger than the tubing itself. Levers open easily with your thumb and adjust to the desired length. 9 oz.Fishing wading staff measures 55" extended. 29" collapsed.
Average Customer Rating:
4.409 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
7
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0
20 of 22(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Black Diamond Flicklock Wading staff
Review 1 for Black Diamond Flicklock Wading staff
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Functional Purchase,
March 21, 2014
By: Renegade007
from Redding, Calfornia
"This product satisfied my need for an adjustable, reliable, light, sturdy wading staff at a reasonable price."
Review 2 for Black Diamond Flicklock Wading staff
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice sturdy stick,
February 28, 2014
By: brookie48
from UP of MIchigan
"Very nice compact wading stick. I have used it to get around in the snow- since we have 200" on the ground. As soon as the rivers open up I can use it for the purpose it was built for.
I don't wade much any more but I fish over some rough terrain. This will keep this old man upright for a few years!
"
Review 3 for Black Diamond Flicklock Wading staff
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
indispensible fly fishing tool,
February 26, 2014
By: Donschott
from Hoopeston, Illinois
"Needed some extra oomph because I switched medical groups for my hip surgery and won't get scheduled till July. Also forty years of downhill and cross country skiing made the Diamond handle automatic. Adjustment allows many uses-- crutch, wading support for deeper water and personal protection at greatest extension-- better than Wizard Gandalf the Grey's staff in Lord of the Rings. All set for Spring fishing."
Review 4 for Black Diamond Flicklock Wading staff
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ordering 2 More,
February 18, 2014
By: rikitikitavi
from Northeast Indiana
"Just finished a snow shoe adventure with my wife, Kris, and we each used one Black Diamond staff. Worked out so well, I'm ordering 2 more for our next adventure."
Review 5 for Black Diamond Flicklock Wading staff
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
bought a second,
January 30, 2014
By: edk8282
from Prince George, BC
"When I received the first pole I ordered I was so impressed I ordered a second, now I can use when wading with a single pole, or I have a pair if I go hiking and feel the need. Not sure why some are complaining about the sections coming apart, clearly marked with where to stop."
Review 6 for Black Diamond Flicklock Wading staff
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Puchase.,
January 21, 2014
By: Orbiquet
from France.
"This wading staff is the best of the market from far.Easy to carry,light,strong,ajustable,with perfect hand grip !"
Review 7 for Black Diamond Flicklock Wading staff
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
solid quality,
January 14, 2014
By: edk8282
"very impressed right out of the box. Not sure why so many prior reviews worry about sections coming apart. Mine is clearly marked, once I settle on a length I will be able to re-create every time. seriously considering ordering another one."
Review 8 for Black Diamond Flicklock Wading staff
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
only one complaint,
January 1, 2014
By: goldrush49er
"It would be better if the individual sections did not separate, but slide inside each other..too easy to lose a section this way and harder to set up. Otherwise good- nice hand grip."
Review 9 for Black Diamond Flicklock Wading staff
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
a step in the right direction,
December 18, 2013
By: action25z
from Chicora, pa.
"was looking for a wading staff at a reasonable price with out sacrificing quality. looks and feels sturdy and is simple to operate."
Review 10 for Black Diamond Flicklock Wading staff
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
clip collapse,
July 24, 2013
By: Doug39
"The black slip clip on the red portion of the staff did not hold under 175 lbs of pressure, which included some fast water. I tried two staffs with the same slipping."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer ServiceAugust 5, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding this product. The tension system on each Black Diamond FlickLock Wading Staff is fully adjustable, and requires correct tensioning to perform properly. If slipping occurs on the lower section of the staff, open the lever and tighten the adjustment screw a quarter to a half turn, or until the mechanism does not allow the shaft to slip once the lever is closed. If the lever becomes too difficult to snap shut, loosen the screw a bit and the problem should be solved. Again, we appreciate your feedback regarding this staff. As always, we offer a 100% satisfaction guarantee on all of our products.
Review 11 for Black Diamond Flicklock Wading staff
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
WADING STICK,
January 23, 2012
By: PEPSIMAN
from Virginia
"To be honest I havent gotten to use it in the water yet but from I can see it seems to be a very good sturdy wading stick. Very nice looking and seems to bea quality wading stick. Will write more when I get the time to use it. The weather here in Va has been a little iffy so far this winter. I will say one thing ORVIS is the tops in fly fishing products."
Review 12 for Black Diamond Flicklock Wading staff
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GOOD PRODUCT,
January 23, 2012
By: BOB845
from OREGON
"VERY LIGHT WEIGHT , BUT STRONG, HIGHLY RECOMMEND TO ANY ONE LOOKING FOR A GOOD WADING STAFF"
Review 13 for Black Diamond Flicklock Wading staff
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Wading Staff,
January 18, 2012
By: Slate
from Pa
"The Black Diamond Flick Lock Wading staff is a great adjustable
Wading staff. The way it locks and
unlocks is full proof compared to some twist lock staffs.
"
Review 14 for Black Diamond Flicklock Wading staff
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Sturdy but sections pull apart,
January 17, 2012
By: tquigs
from Ohio
"This staff works well enough. One thing you have to get used to is that when you pull it to extend the sections they can completely separate, instead of having some kind of stop to prevent it. Otherwise it is a good staff."
Review 15 for Black Diamond Flicklock Wading staff
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
One of the best wading sticks,
December 29, 2011
By: Rollcaster
from Albany NY
"Everyone who wades should use a wading stick, being a little older, it is a mandatory piece of equipment. I have tried all types and find this product to be compact, lightweight and very sturdy. Great quality for the price. Highly recommended."
Review 16 for Black Diamond Flicklock Wading staff
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
EXCELLENT, BUT NEEDS ONE THING,
December 27, 2011
By: JBFLYCAST
from Ann Arbor, MI
"This is a fine wading staff, but is missing one thing that would put it over the top in comfort and utility.
It does not come (at least the one I purchased) with a clip or other device to readily attach it to yourself. I solved this by tying a large O-ring to the hand loop, and snapping the O-ring to a heavy duty retractor attached to my vest. Suggest something be added!
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Black Diamond Flicklock Wading staff
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Better Wading Staff,
December 16, 2011
By: Racine
from Edwards, Colorado
"I bought this to improve on my Leki Wanderfreud for wading while I fish. The quick release would simplify deploying and storing the wading staff. Right now my Leki has to be turned clockwise and counterclockwise to use. A bit slow and the handle is more for walking but the Black Diamond does double duty quickly and effortlessly. The only drawback is there is no stop when deploying so use care not to lose the ends when opening up. Otherwise it is the same length open and close as the Leki."
Review 18 for Black Diamond Flicklock Wading staff
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Agree with other reviews,
November 23, 2011
By: Johnrpa
from Bushkill, PA
"I like the wading staff as it is light, has a comfortable grip, and is adjustable. I agree that there should be a rubber tip. I didn't realize it would make as much noise on rocks as it actually does. I also agree that the adjustments are not very smooth and at least for me, the adjustment levers open on their own and also wish it could collapse to an even smaller size. Overall, i like the wading staff and hope it lasts a long time."
Review 19 for Black Diamond Flicklock Wading staff
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best adjustable staff ever,
September 30, 2011
By: PackerBacker
"I've been using wading staffs for 35 years, and this is the first adjustable one that didn't collapse. My wife is 5-3 and 110 pounds, I'm 6-3 210, and the staffs work beautifully for both of us. Strong. Easy to adjust. Comfortable handle. None better."
Review 20 for Black Diamond Flicklock Wading staff
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Multi-use product,
May 16, 2011
By: sparsegrey
"I use the Black Diamond staff as both a hiking pole and a wading staff. It is strong and easily adjustable. My only criticism is that it should come with a rubber tip, which is available from Black Diamond. I prefer the rubber tip because it muffles the clanking noise of a metal wading staff, which will send fish scurrying."