Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Super Slim Fly Box

The perfect fly-fishing boxes for micro flies and midges. Hold 168 flies in the slimmest of fly boxes that takes up very little room in your vest. Easy foam slit positions. Recommended for nymphs and sparsely hackled or parachute dry flies up to size 16. 7⅜"L x 3⅞"W x ½"D.
Average Customer Rating:
4.683 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (60 reviews)
5 stars
48
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
58 of 60(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Stories:
Customer Reviews for Super Slim Fly Box
Review 1 for Super Slim Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I like these,
March 17, 2014
By: mntbum
from Wyoming
"Easy to store more bugs and keep them organized in smaller gear bags."
Review 2 for Super Slim Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this thing!,
March 14, 2014
By: LordKeegan
from Wisconsin
"I can now store more flies in a smaller space. See through cover lets you know what is there without opening the box. I can now take a larger fly warehouse to the stream with me."
Review 3 for Super Slim Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great, slim and sturdy little box,
January 13, 2014
By: twintbo
from Texas
"This is a grest box. I use it with my guide sling and it fits perfectly in the front pouch. I use it for my nymphs."
Review 4 for Super Slim Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love these fly boxes,
January 13, 2014
By: troutmichael
from New York
"These fly boxes are terrific for storing (and accessing) a large number of small to midsize flies.
I have several of these boxes and I organize by fly type (bead head nymphs, caddis, emergers, etc.) and can easily fly multiple slim boxes in the space that typically carries only one tradition box."
Review 5 for Super Slim Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Fly Box,
December 5, 2013
By: MGMC
from Encinitas, CA
"My brother and I purchased 3 boxes in different sizes. We have really enjoyed the slim shape so our vests do not become so bulky and we can also put them in our wader pocket. Other members of our club, have purchased muliple boxes and sizes since seeing ours. They are worth the money."
Review 6 for Super Slim Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great pairing,
October 11, 2013
By: Glicky104
from Ashalnd, MA
"Purchased this Super Slim Fly Box after my purchase and use of the Orvis Vertical Chest Pack, The Super Slim is the perfect companion fly box and complletes the "outfit". Great way to travel light.
easy and simple.
"
Review 7 for Super Slim Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect Fit,
September 19, 2013
By: JohnnyG612
from Southern New Jersey
"This slim fly box is a perfect fit in my chest bag. Easy to handle, with hands full of rod and tippet, this box is durable, and just perfect for packing a large variety of flies for the best chances of matching the hatch."
Review 8 for Super Slim Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warnign addictive fly box,
September 6, 2013
By: 1Trout4U
from Ontario, Canada
"These boxes rock. Be forewarned they can be addictive. I have organized a wide variety of nymphs and emergers into a handful of these well built boxes. It is super to be able to see what you have in the box without opening them and to be able to slide "just one more" into the pack or pocket so you are ready for whatever the river throws you on a given day. The affordable price also makes these boxes attractive."
Review 9 for Super Slim Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It will be your FAVORITE fly box.,
September 4, 2013
By: PNWJeeper
from High Cascades of Oregon
"If you like to fish nymphs, midges & scuds than this is the fly box for you. Thin, durable, holds dozens of flies and closes securely. Get yourself one; it will be your go-to box also."
Review 10 for Super Slim Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect for midges,
August 17, 2013
By: DaveMCL
from North Carolina
"I love this fly box for small midges and tiny dries. I like having the tools for the job on hand at all times... but sometimes its nice to just be on the water with some nippers, a net, forceps and a box of flies. This is the box for keeping stuff simple. It is smaller and thinner than pictures do justice.
Midges stay in their compartments. The box is durable. You can stack muliple boxes in a bag or put just one in your front pocket.
Great product!"
Review 11 for Super Slim Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Slim is better,
July 8, 2013
By: Troutboss
from Olathe, Ks
"After years of carrying bulky fly boxes it was time to downsize. These boxes fit nicely in a fly vest or cargo pocket on my shorts. Wish I had seen them years ago."
Review 12 for Super Slim Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Grat Fly box,
May 7, 2013
By: Tdbear
from Minnesota
"You can fit a lot of flies and take up very little space. I also like that you can see what flies are in the box before you open it."
Review 13 for Super Slim Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
super slim fly box,
April 15, 2013
By: shamar
from Darnestown, Maryland
"very nice flybox. fits right into my pocket. need small fingers to handle the flies"
Review 14 for Super Slim Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very Good,
April 15, 2013
By: DGHoover
from TN
"Great for early season nymph and midges, lots of capacity."
Review 15 for Super Slim Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fly Box for Small Flies,
April 8, 2013
By: Barbless
from Stamford, CT
"I was introduced to the Orvis slim fly box by a speaker at a recent TU meeting. The topic was French Nymph Fishing. I was amazed at how many flies one slim fly box could handle. I use both the pocket and vest versions of the slim fly box."
Review 16 for Super Slim Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Nymph Box Ever!,
April 4, 2013
By: mlanders
from Steamboat Springs, CO
"This box is hands down the best nymph box ever, I have 6 and plan to get more. You can organize however you want. I have small mayflies, big mayflies, stones, worms, midges, caddis etc and can mix and match and could probably fit 15 boxes in my chest pack!"
Review 17 for Super Slim Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great fly box,
March 25, 2013
By: SpiritLandOutfitter
from Minnesota
"I spend a lot of time on Spring Creeks fishing tiny flies and this boxes holds an ample supply. Slits hold flies tightly. I have 3 and will purchase more."
Review 18 for Super Slim Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great box,
March 23, 2013
By: daj64
from Pennsylvania
"This box is terrific for nymphs and wets! Fits great in my new sling pack!"
Review 19 for Super Slim Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Thin!,
March 23, 2013
By: JohnJA
from California
"Very thin box perfect for carrying nymphs and midges. I carry one of these and a larger box for dries in my sling pack. It is a very simple design. I highly recommend it if you are interested in reducing the bulk you carry."
Review 20 for Super Slim Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice box,
March 20, 2013
By: JPort
from Maine
"This makes a great box for small nymphs. I loaded mine up and slipped it in my sling pack. Hopefully the materials will hold up, particularly the hinges, they seem a little chintzy."