Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Gokey® Lug-Sole Camp Moccasin

Made by American craftsmen in our Gokey® boot factory in Tipton, Missouri, these lug-sole leather shoes are crafted one pair at a time out of the same leather used in our legendary snakeproof boots. Oil-tanned and water-repellant leather is finished in contrast stitching. Two pairs of brass eyelets with rawhide laces. Vibram® Gumlite sole for excellent traction and walking comfort. Built to last the rest of your life. Lug sole leather shoes in brown. Gokey leather. Made in USA. Whole and half sizes: 8-12, 13. Widths D, EE.
Average Customer Rating:
4.714 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (49 reviews)
5 stars
39
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
48 of 49(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Gokey® Lug-Sole Camp Moccasin
Review 1 for Gokey® Lug-Sole Camp Moccasin
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Shoes!,
April 3, 2012
By: Montana808
from Big Sky Country
"This story begins in September of 2006 when my wife bought me a pair of Ulu shoes for my birthday from Orvis. I didn’t wear them often and, over time, noticed that the foot piece was separating from the sole, something I had never seen in any shoe before. It looked to me to be manufacturing issue and not one of wear, so I contacted Orvis and they did exactly what they say they will do…they told me to return the shoes for exchange or refund because I was not 100% satisfied.
I sent the shoes back in March of 2012. Orvis no longer carried the Ulu shoes, so I looked for another pair and settled on the Gokey Sauvage Oxfords. When they arrived, I was disappointed to see that one shoe did not look like the other, but I guess that happens with handmade items. So, I sent them back, added $25 to the pot and ordered a pair of the Gokey Lug-Sole Camp Moccasin. When they arrived, I was very pleased to see the quality of the craftsmanship and the materials. The leather is thick, the stitching is perfect and the color is somewhat of a mottled ox blood/brown that I immediately fell in love with. They looked exactly like the picture. I started wearing them that very moment. I wear a 9.5 or a 10, depending on the brand, and these are a perfect fit at 9.5.
Break-in was a bit of a chore. The thick leather and the Vibram sole make the shoe very stiff at first. If you are used to wearing mostly flip flops, sneakers or an old pair of shoes you’ve had for 10 years, you may be tempted to say that it is not worth the effort and give up, but you would be wrong, very wrong indeed. If that is what you are used to wearing, these will likely feel like bricks at first, but that is only temporary and will quickly be forgotten.
The little pamphlet that comes with the Camp Mocs says it will take about three wearings to get your feet to fall in love with them. That wasn’t long enough for me. I wore them about eight times, starting with a few hours a day and then for longer periods until I was up to 8 to 10 hours at a time. Early on, I had a hot spot on my left little toe, a hot spot on my left heel and a pain behind my right big toe where the shoe bends as you walk. Those lasted about 3 wearings and then were completely gone. Sometimes my feet would be a little “sore” when I first put the Gokeys on the next day, but within minutes the shoes “warmed up” and the soreness would vanish. Yes, I had a moment or two when I thought they may not work out, but I stuck with them and one day, poof, they fit like the king’s cobbler had made them specifically for me.
It’s been a few weeks since the break-in was completed and they are now my absolute favorite shoes. I’ve even named them – Okey and Dokey Gokey! They have completely molded to my feet. I wear the shoes whenever I can for as long as I can. They are extremely comfortable and I love the way they look (so does my wife, which cannot be said for some of my other favorite items). The superior craftsmanship and the quality of the materials that went into making these shoes will keep these Gokey’s on my feet for many many years to come. And, they are made in America. All in all, that’s a pretty sweet deal.
Thank you, Orvis. Thank you, Gokey. Thank you, America."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Gokey® Lug-Sole Camp Moccasin
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Finest men's casual leather moccasin ever!,
September 17, 2014
By: Lbnewf
from Centerville, Ohio
"I purchased these Gokey leather moccasins as a gift for my husband. Extremely comfortable and finely made. Beautiful leather shoe. Fit also excellent."
Review 3 for Gokey® Lug-Sole Camp Moccasin
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
One of my best purchases ever,
September 8, 2014
By: Newtonragelax4th
from Cold Spring Harbor, Long Island
"I have had these shoes for only a couple of weeks, and I am enjoying them tremendously. They fit snugly once I broke them in. Water got on them, but they were fine since they're water repellent. I love walking in them. They look old fashioned and sophisticated, and they make me even taller. I can tell that they are made of a high quality as the leather is as tough as cow hide."
Review 4 for Gokey® Lug-Sole Camp Moccasin
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent shoes,
August 22, 2014
By: ThoroughbredBreeder
from Midway, KY
"The Gokey Camp Moccasin is a shoe that I had been thinking about purchasing for the past few months when my Sperry Gold Cup moccasins started to wear out. I finally bit the bullet and bought a pair for comparison purposes. The Gokey Camp Moccasins are as advertised. They are an excellent casual shoe that can also be worn as a work shoe (which is how I use mine). It does take about 3-4 wearings to have them fully adjust to your foot, but are wearable after the first day without any significant discomfort. Give them 2-3 weeks and they are extremely comfortable and well molded to your foot. The sizes fit as advertised and the "D" width that I ordered is very comparable to the "D" width that I wear in my other shoes. The Sperry Gold Cups have a lined finish and are lighter, but the Gokeys wear a little better and seem to be a little heavier duty shoe than the Sperrys. Both are relatively "high end" moccasins and both are extremely well made. The Sperrys are a little better finished product, but the Gokeys suit me better for everyday wear around the farm and with the horses when the weather is too warm for a boot. All in all, the Gokey moccasin is an excellent shoe and I am very happy with my selection."
Review 5 for Gokey® Lug-Sole Camp Moccasin
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Super Shoe,
July 22, 2014
By: BearDog123
from Georgia
"Awesome is the best word to describe this shoe. I just bought my second pair. The first set lasted 5 years and i still have them at the cabin. You cannot were these things out. Water, mud, snow you name it and I have been in it with these shoes. If I could only have one pair of shoes the Gokeys would be the ones..."
Review 6 for Gokey® Lug-Sole Camp Moccasin
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Fit and Comfort,
June 10, 2014
By: bigbadfeet
from Florida
"I am not a big fan of buying shoes by mail--but these were awsome.
Much more support than typical boat shoes. Spending time walking and standing is much more enjoyable. Break-in is 2-3 days, but afterward they conformed to my feet very well.
They withstand getting wet very well and are surprisingly comfortable in the tropical heat.
"
Review 7 for Gokey® Lug-Sole Camp Moccasin
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The best pair of mocassins eer,
June 7, 2014
By: RAYBANNED
"The fit unlike many shoes is spot on. There was no break in period required I have been wearing them for 2 weeks they are fantastic. The quality is what I would expect from Orvis. I cannot say enough good things about these shoes i love them."
Review 8 for Gokey® Lug-Sole Camp Moccasin
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
One of the best out there,
March 2, 2014
By: Dick
from Tallahassee, FL
"No break in was required for me with these shoes, they felt great right out of the box. I'm looking forward to trying to wear these out. Only disadvantage are peaple asking who makes those shoes but I can live with it."
Review 9 for Gokey® Lug-Sole Camp Moccasin
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic shoes,
February 25, 2014
By: JosephK
from Baltimore Md
"Well constructed, comfortable and made in the USA. Supple leather and true sizing (not too big or small). When I order from Orvis I expect quality; these Gokey mocs deliver."
Review 10 for Gokey® Lug-Sole Camp Moccasin
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another terrific Orvis product,
January 28, 2014
By: RAP3
"Purchased these moccasins for an upcoming international trip that will entail lots of walking. Within a few days of arrival they were exceptionally comfortable for multi-mile walks. The quality of the leather and workmanship are excellent and I am delighted with the purchase. Orvis, as always, has been superb."
Review 11 for Gokey® Lug-Sole Camp Moccasin
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Extremely happy with purchase!,
January 5, 2014
By: JMMSAMM
from Seattle, WA
"I purchased these shoes for my husband's Christmas gift. He travels a lot for business and wanted a nice pair of shoes with good traction. They arrived on time and nicely packaged. He loved them! The styling and quality were exceptional, and the fact that they were made in the USA made them even more attractive"
Review 12 for Gokey® Lug-Sole Camp Moccasin
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Outstanding Quality",
December 12, 2013
By: CJE3
from Lakeland, TN
"These shoes are a true example of what handmade craftsmanship is all about. They are good looking, true to size, and very comfortable. I also went ahead and got the recommended Gokey leather conditioner. You will not be disappointed."
Review 13 for Gokey® Lug-Sole Camp Moccasin
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding Craftsmanship & Quality,
October 3, 2013
By: JMountainDew
"The outstanding craftsmanship and quality of these shoes is some of the best I've ever seen. The insole is also removeable, which allowed me to insert my orthotics. Could stand to be a tad wider in the toe box, but I've only been wearing them a couple weeks, they may still stretch a bit, perhaps. Expensive, but worth it. Highly recommended. I am now setting my sights on either the chukkas or the oxfords."
Review 14 for Gokey® Lug-Sole Camp Moccasin
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
super soft,
September 26, 2013
By: desertbug
from Fort Davis, Texas
"As soon as I got these mocs, I put them on always thinking of a quick return. They were immediately comfortable, super soft, and pliable, yet tough enough to withstand any outdoor activity. They finished the shoe with a nice wax waterproofing that I don't have to worry about getting wet or running to my shoebox to put a coat of wax on. And no need to worry about breaking in for me as I can tell they will only improve with time."
Review 15 for Gokey® Lug-Sole Camp Moccasin
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Sent them back,
September 24, 2013
By: ollisom
from Houston, Texas
"The shoes met all expectations except the color was not as described in the catalog."
Review 16 for Gokey® Lug-Sole Camp Moccasin
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
excellent,
May 14, 2013
By: JPCIII
from Columbia
"I learned about Gokey's from my Father and Grand father. This would be my third style and they are very comfortable with this newer smarter softer lug sole. As always, I order 1 size larger because they can shrink a bit due to construction and getting wet from sweat or other sources. I always wanted the boat shoe with a thicker sole and 8 years later Orvis/Gokey finally offered it!"
Review 17 for Gokey® Lug-Sole Camp Moccasin
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Worthwhile Purchase,
April 21, 2013
By: thesarge
from Toronto, Ont.
"I have worn the same make of boat/deck shoes for many years, thought I'd try something different. These shoes are better looking than the photo depicts and yes they require a bit of breaking-in but they are well made and sturdy. I expect they will last for quite some time."
Review 18 for Gokey® Lug-Sole Camp Moccasin
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great pair of shoes,
April 12, 2013
By: WesternColoradoTraveler
from Grand Junction, CO
"Best pair of camp mocs or deck shoes I've ever owned. The catalogue says it takes 3 wearing a to break in. In my case it took a little longer, but it was certainly worth the effort. These shoes are now the most comfortable I own. The construction is high quality. The color is rich, making these camp mocs an attractive pair of casual shoes. They look great with jeans or with khakis and a sport jacket."
Review 19 for Gokey® Lug-Sole Camp Moccasin
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great quality and fit,
April 5, 2013
By: squidman
from Wickford, RI
"My father had the same pair of Gokey snake boots for as long as I can remember. Until now I had never had any Gokey shoeware. I b ought a pair of these moccasins, wore them for a few hours only, and voilá they fit! So, I ordered a second pair to keep on reserve."
Review 20 for Gokey® Lug-Sole Camp Moccasin
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent product,
April 4, 2013
By: B0Z0
from Kansas City, MO
"The Gokey Lug-Sole camp moccasin is the best quality shoe of this type that I have ever bought. I have worn other manufacturer's products, but the quality of this shoe was far superior, starting with the quality of the leather, the quality of the foot bed, the thickness of the soles, and the comfort of the shoe. I would definitely buy again, but I'm afraid that these shoes will outlast me!"