Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Gokey® Lug-Sole Camp Moccasin

Made by American craftsmen in our Gokey® boot factory in Tipton, Missouri, these lug-sole leather shoes are crafted one pair at a time out of the same leather used in our legendary snakeproof boots. Oil-tanned and water-repellant leather is finished in contrast stitching. Two pairs of brass eyelets with rawhide laces. Vibram® Gumlite sole for excellent traction and walking comfort. Built to last the rest of your life. Lug sole leather shoes in brown. Gokey leather. Made in USA. Whole and half sizes: 8-12, 13. Widths D, EE.
Average Customer Rating:
4.714 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (63 reviews)
5 stars
51
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
0
61 of 63(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Gokey® Lug-Sole Camp Moccasin
Review 1 for Gokey® Lug-Sole Camp Moccasin
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Shoes!,
April 3, 2012
By: Montana808
from Big Sky Country
"This story begins in September of 2006 when my wife bought me a pair of Ulu shoes for my birthday from Orvis. I didn’t wear them often and, over time, noticed that the foot piece was separating from the sole, something I had never seen in any shoe before. It looked to me to be manufacturing issue and not one of wear, so I contacted Orvis and they did exactly what they say they will do…they told me to return the shoes for exchange or refund because I was not 100% satisfied.
I sent the shoes back in March of 2012. Orvis no longer carried the Ulu shoes, so I looked for another pair and settled on the Gokey Sauvage Oxfords. When they arrived, I was disappointed to see that one shoe did not look like the other, but I guess that happens with handmade items. So, I sent them back, added $25 to the pot and ordered a pair of the Gokey Lug-Sole Camp Moccasin. When they arrived, I was very pleased to see the quality of the craftsmanship and the materials. The leather is thick, the stitching is perfect and the color is somewhat of a mottled ox blood/brown that I immediately fell in love with. They looked exactly like the picture. I started wearing them that very moment. I wear a 9.5 or a 10, depending on the brand, and these are a perfect fit at 9.5.
Break-in was a bit of a chore. The thick leather and the Vibram sole make the shoe very stiff at first. If you are used to wearing mostly flip flops, sneakers or an old pair of shoes you’ve had for 10 years, you may be tempted to say that it is not worth the effort and give up, but you would be wrong, very wrong indeed. If that is what you are used to wearing, these will likely feel like bricks at first, but that is only temporary and will quickly be forgotten.
The little pamphlet that comes with the Camp Mocs says it will take about three wearings to get your feet to fall in love with them. That wasn’t long enough for me. I wore them about eight times, starting with a few hours a day and then for longer periods until I was up to 8 to 10 hours at a time. Early on, I had a hot spot on my left little toe, a hot spot on my left heel and a pain behind my right big toe where the shoe bends as you walk. Those lasted about 3 wearings and then were completely gone. Sometimes my feet would be a little “sore” when I first put the Gokeys on the next day, but within minutes the shoes “warmed up” and the soreness would vanish. Yes, I had a moment or two when I thought they may not work out, but I stuck with them and one day, poof, they fit like the king’s cobbler had made them specifically for me.
It’s been a few weeks since the break-in was completed and they are now my absolute favorite shoes. I’ve even named them – Okey and Dokey Gokey! They have completely molded to my feet. I wear the shoes whenever I can for as long as I can. They are extremely comfortable and I love the way they look (so does my wife, which cannot be said for some of my other favorite items). The superior craftsmanship and the quality of the materials that went into making these shoes will keep these Gokey’s on my feet for many many years to come. And, they are made in America. All in all, that’s a pretty sweet deal.
Thank you, Orvis. Thank you, Gokey. Thank you, America."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Gokey® Lug-Sole Camp Moccasin
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
replacement pair,
February 28, 2015
By: pogojrjr
"ten years ago i purchased same pair of shoes they finnally wore out
the replacements are great
"
Review 3 for Gokey® Lug-Sole Camp Moccasin
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
most comfort ever,
February 27, 2015
By: Srluyblyah
from Orlando, Florida
"These shoes are extremely confortable, very soft leather, good every day shoe"
Review 4 for Gokey® Lug-Sole Camp Moccasin
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Pleased,
February 17, 2015
By: PD79
from Pittsburgh, PA
"I never leave reviews, but this product deserves mention.
Very comfortable shoe right out of the box. I'm a surgeon and work 12-14hr days on my feet...these shoes have good arch support and are very comfortable to wear all day. Wish I purchased them sooner, well worth the price, very well made.
"
Review 5 for Gokey® Lug-Sole Camp Moccasin
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Superior Moccasins,
February 13, 2015
By: Monty06
from Darwin, Australia
"It's taken a while, but these moccasins are by far the best I've found. The quality of the leather, workmanship and attention to detail in these shoes are outstanding. No requirement to break these in, they are very comfortable and the width and extra cushioning on the foot bed will make them invaluable on my next overseas holiday when I expect to do a lot of walking. Customer service was very helpful regarding sizing, no fuss shipping to Australia."
Review 6 for Gokey® Lug-Sole Camp Moccasin
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
solid shoe,
February 11, 2015
By: dwells
from denver
"my criticism to boat shoes is that they feel squishy with no support both in the sides and sole. These ARE NOT the case - the are a heavy sole. You'll know immediately that they are solid all the way around."
Review 7 for Gokey® Lug-Sole Camp Moccasin
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great pair of casual shoes - gotta love Gokey's!,
February 9, 2015
By: jduane
from Peoria, IL
"These shoes are great! Far superior workmanship and Better than my old Sperry's and also Cole-Haans. The leather is beautiful and they are very comfortable - they will last a life time and now looking for opportunities to wear them every day. No problems with break in procedures - didn't need any special effort. I highly recommend them. Already shopping for another pair of Gokey's...!"
Review 8 for Gokey® Lug-Sole Camp Moccasin
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Need wider sizes,
January 28, 2015
By: ArtP
"Beautiful shoe but i fyou have wide foot it won't fit. 10 EE is to narrow.wish they
would make a 6E.
"
Review 9 for Gokey® Lug-Sole Camp Moccasin
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Throwback quality,
January 12, 2015
By: MattKane
"These shoes live up to expectations for Gokey hand-sewn's. The fit is spot-on. The quality is a throwback to the craftmanship of prior generations. The design is both stylish and functional. After all these years, Vibram Gumlite soles continue to strike a perfect balance between traction, wear and shock absorption. Pretty much perfect."
Review 10 for Gokey® Lug-Sole Camp Moccasin
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Disappointed,
January 5, 2015
By: DMPM
"Ordered shoes size 10-D. They were too narrow & small. I've been wearing 10-D for over 30 years. I then went to a store to return them. I was asked if I wanted to re-order another pair but was told that there would be additional shipping & handling. It is hard enough to order a pair of shoes over the internet but your practice makes it costly and harder. Disappointed that I did not receive any refund for shipping & handling and did not receive full tax amount back (because there was a tax on shipping & handling).
I like Orvis products but ordering this shoe was not an easy process. I will definitely avoid ordering any shoes in the future."
Review 11 for Gokey® Lug-Sole Camp Moccasin
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Well made.....but pricey,
January 2, 2015
By: TexasRailroader
from Arlington, TX
"I was looking to replace an older pair of camp mocs made by another well known company and decided to try these Gokey shoes. They are very handsome shoes, well made and are substantial in weight. On a hunch I ordered a size 10 instead of the 10 1/2 I usually wear and the shoes fit perfectly. As noted by other reviewers they have a tendency to fit snugly so I expect a short break-in period. I expect many years of comfortable wear."
Review 12 for Gokey® Lug-Sole Camp Moccasin
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hubby's 2014 Xmas Gift,
December 13, 2014
By: luaulou
from AZ
"His first pair have almost worn out after 26 years and they are still the world's greatest. Hence a new pair. In conclusion- The. Best. Ever!!!!!"
Review 13 for Gokey® Lug-Sole Camp Moccasin
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Worth the money,
November 30, 2014
By: Lapapsterman
from Baton Rouge,LA
"Good example of getting what you pay for--extremely comfortable and stylish. These are in fact among the most comfortable shoes I have ever worn--and I buy good shoes. No break-in required; hate to take them off. Lots of compliments!"
Review 14 for Gokey® Lug-Sole Camp Moccasin
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality US made shoes,
November 25, 2014
By: Rustic313
from Washington DC
"high quality product. Very similar to Gokey Boat shoes but with a thicker (taller) and more cushiony sole. Thick leather, moccasin-style, very comfortable once they mold to your feet. if these last like my older pair of Gokey boat shoes, I should get a solid 5-6 years of 4-5x per week use out of the uppers, not sure about the soles, but I believe that the shoe can be resoled."
Review 15 for Gokey® Lug-Sole Camp Moccasin
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Finest men's casual leather moccasin ever!,
September 17, 2014
By: Lbnewf
from Centerville, Ohio
"I purchased these Gokey leather moccasins as a gift for my husband. Extremely comfortable and finely made. Beautiful leather shoe. Fit also excellent."
Review 16 for Gokey® Lug-Sole Camp Moccasin
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
One of my best purchases ever,
September 8, 2014
By: Newtonragelax4th
from Cold Spring Harbor, Long Island
"I have had these shoes for only a couple of weeks, and I am enjoying them tremendously. They fit snugly once I broke them in. Water got on them, but they were fine since they're water repellent. I love walking in them. They look old fashioned and sophisticated, and they make me even taller. I can tell that they are made of a high quality as the leather is as tough as cow hide."
Review 17 for Gokey® Lug-Sole Camp Moccasin
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent shoes,
August 22, 2014
By: ThoroughbredBreeder
from Midway, KY
"The Gokey Camp Moccasin is a shoe that I had been thinking about purchasing for the past few months when my Sperry Gold Cup moccasins started to wear out. I finally bit the bullet and bought a pair for comparison purposes. The Gokey Camp Moccasins are as advertised. They are an excellent casual shoe that can also be worn as a work shoe (which is how I use mine). It does take about 3-4 wearings to have them fully adjust to your foot, but are wearable after the first day without any significant discomfort. Give them 2-3 weeks and they are extremely comfortable and well molded to your foot. The sizes fit as advertised and the "D" width that I ordered is very comparable to the "D" width that I wear in my other shoes. The Sperry Gold Cups have a lined finish and are lighter, but the Gokeys wear a little better and seem to be a little heavier duty shoe than the Sperrys. Both are relatively "high end" moccasins and both are extremely well made. The Sperrys are a little better finished product, but the Gokeys suit me better for everyday wear around the farm and with the horses when the weather is too warm for a boot. All in all, the Gokey moccasin is an excellent shoe and I am very happy with my selection."
Review 18 for Gokey® Lug-Sole Camp Moccasin
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Super Shoe,
July 22, 2014
By: BearDog123
from Georgia
"Awesome is the best word to describe this shoe. I just bought my second pair. The first set lasted 5 years and i still have them at the cabin. You cannot were these things out. Water, mud, snow you name it and I have been in it with these shoes. If I could only have one pair of shoes the Gokeys would be the ones..."
Review 19 for Gokey® Lug-Sole Camp Moccasin
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Fit and Comfort,
June 10, 2014
By: bigbadfeet
from Florida
"I am not a big fan of buying shoes by mail--but these were awsome.
Much more support than typical boat shoes. Spending time walking and standing is much more enjoyable. Break-in is 2-3 days, but afterward they conformed to my feet very well.
They withstand getting wet very well and are surprisingly comfortable in the tropical heat.
"
Review 20 for Gokey® Lug-Sole Camp Moccasin
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The best pair of mocassins eer,
June 7, 2014
By: RAYBANNED
"The fit unlike many shoes is spot on. There was no break in period required I have been wearing them for 2 weeks they are fantastic. The quality is what I would expect from Orvis. I cannot say enough good things about these shoes i love them."