Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Boiled Wool Rib-Knit Jacket

Lightweight and warm, our colorful boiled wool jackets are the perfect way to greet cool weather in style. Rib-knit panels at the shoulder yoke and under the arms ensure a terrific fit. The button-front design has a rounded neckline, two patch pockets with flaps, and a straight hemline. Hand wash. Imported.Sizes: M(10-12), L(14-16), XL(18-20); about 25" long.
Average Customer Rating:
4.032 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (31 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
5
24 of 31(77%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Boiled Wool Rib-Knit Jacket
Review 1 for Boiled Wool Rib-Knit Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Boiled Wool Jacket Ever!!,
March 4, 2013
By: NanaLiz
from hot south Texas
"The rib-knit panels at the shoulder yoke and under the arms makes this the best fitting and flattering jacket I have!! I have other boiled wool jackets that don't hug my body because of the natural stiffness of this kind of wool. If this same jacket is offered in other colors I will buy more. The orange is a fun color, too."
Review 2 for Boiled Wool Rib-Knit Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A True Compliment Magnet,
March 4, 2013
By: TxRuby
from Fort Worth, TX
"Today our Texas skies are blue, birds are singing and the temp is 80 perfect degrees. For the jacket's inaugural appearance, the day could not be finer. A virtual flood of compliments were received as I went about my routine tasks and my spirits soared accordingly. The yellow color is a gentle shade and I had paired it with a yellow and white striped shirt and navy slacks. Normally I wear XS but it was featured in S only. Although I was unsure of the fit, today's positive feedback ensures that this is a keeper. Thanks again, Orvis, for another success."
Review 3 for Boiled Wool Rib-Knit Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Christmas gift beyond expectations,
December 29, 2012
By: Kingsman
from Atlanta, GA
"My wife enjoyed the soft, warm feeling in this new jacket"
Review 4 for Boiled Wool Rib-Knit Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Messy stiching at the cuffs,
October 20, 2012
By: TweezWeez
from Boston, MA
"This is a warm and pretty sweater.
Unfortunately my specific jacket was not finished that nicely at the cuffs.
Other than that, it's a lovely jacket.
"
Review 5 for Boiled Wool Rib-Knit Jacket
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not my Style,
September 14, 2012
By: jeno
from Michgan
"I found this jacket to be bulky and once again the sleeves were too long...a consistent complaint with Orvis products. Had to return it."
Review 6 for Boiled Wool Rib-Knit Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
wonderfully warm jacket,
August 21, 2012
By: Anonymous
from Belfast
"This little jacket was as described . I took a chance on it because I am sometimes made itchy by wool. I have many jumpers in merino which is a gr eat fabric for those who like wool for the warmth and wearability, but ,cannot tolerate wool which is not soft enough This jacket ticked all the boxes, however I ordered the wrong size and had to send this item back to Orvis. I had no problem getting a refund and the bag it came in was very handy when it had to be returned."
Review 7 for Boiled Wool Rib-Knit Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Smart and comfortable,
August 6, 2012
By: Smithynay
from West Midlands
"A useful addition to the wardrobe - as comfortable as a cardigan and as smart as a jacket."
Review 8 for Boiled Wool Rib-Knit Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another one,
February 10, 2012
By: FeeBee
from Worcester, MA
"Just like my yeloow one, this is perfect to dress up or down.
ENjoy
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Boiled Wool Rib-Knit Jacket
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
disappointing - and from Orvis!,
January 23, 2012
By: Daplin
"This jacket is poorly made, with inferior materials. When buttoned the 2 sides were of uneven length. Stitching along the bottom edge did not follow the edge evenly. The fabric was thin and lacked the body of boiled wool."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Boiled Wool Rib-Knit Jacket
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Inconsistent Quality,
January 18, 2012
By: Petnut
from Camas, Washington
"I ordered this sweater in two sizes and observed that the yellow color was very different (faded) from the catalog/web photo and the stitching on both sweaters was of poor quality. Orvis needs to demand quality control from its supplier."
Review 11 for Boiled Wool Rib-Knit Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Lovely Color but. . .,
January 16, 2012
By: Grendal
from Milwaukee, WI
"I really love the lovely color and comfortable fit of this jacket, but I am disappointed with the quality of the boiled wool. I thought that it would be thicker, much like other boiled wool apparel in my wardrobe. Its consistency is like a thin sweater. I have debated whether to keep it or not, but I love the color and the fit, so I will keep it."
Review 12 for Boiled Wool Rib-Knit Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
very Utilitarian,
January 13, 2012
By: molly21
from glenwood Springs, CO
"High quality, light weight boiled wool will be attractive and useful for years."
Review 13 for Boiled Wool Rib-Knit Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
orange beauty,
January 11, 2012
By: BeckyJ
"I love this jacket. It is soft, warm and beautifully designed. A very good value."
Review 14 for Boiled Wool Rib-Knit Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Super Warm and Versatile,
January 2, 2012
By: Lahela
from Olney, MD
"This is exactly what I have been looking for...a boiled wool jacket WITH POCKETS that is extremely warm and can be used in a variety of situations, dressed up or down.
NOTE TO ORVIS: I wish Orvis would make this again with slanting side pockets (like a jacket) so we could keep our hands warm even more easily. A great sweater jacket though!
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Boiled Wool Rib-Knit Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Warm,
January 2, 2012
By: greenbriercounty1
from West Virginia
"Runs Large. Very warm. Wear it when you visit those folks who keep their house cool."
Review 16 for Boiled Wool Rib-Knit Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfortable Warm Jacket,
December 30, 2011
By: jcos
from New York, NY
"This jacket is comfortable under a coat. The fabric and style fits perfectly and it is not bulky.
It is great when visiting houses that keep the thermometers low.
"
Review 17 for Boiled Wool Rib-Knit Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Chic,
December 30, 2011
By: ancolie
from Montreal
"It is warm and very nice to wear with pants, skirt or even a dress. Ideal for spring and fall and confortable under a winter coat. I love it."
Review 18 for Boiled Wool Rib-Knit Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great jacket!,
December 29, 2011
By: Mainefan
from Indianapolis, IN
"Perfect lightweight jacket/sweater. I get compliments each time I wear it!
It's perfect for travelling,too. Highly recommend it.
"
Review 19 for Boiled Wool Rib-Knit Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Classoc Chic,
December 29, 2011
By: Flamin
from Raleigh-Durham, N.c.
"Orvis clothing is classic and chic. The boiled wool jacket certainly fits in that category. I will wear this jacket to church service and luncheons with friends. I know I will be dressed appropriately for this occasions. I will feel good in the jacket and frankly, I will look attracttive"
Review 20 for Boiled Wool Rib-Knit Jacket
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Would return if possible,
December 29, 2011
By: NSSJ
"I wish I could return the article. The jacket does not live up to the typical Orvis quality. The shape and style of the jacket are what I am typically not familiar with in regard to Orvis clothing I have ordered and worn. I will in the future be very selective in ordering Orvis clothing in the future."