Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Tweed Sweater Coat

A great layering piece for fall and winter, this longtime Orvis customer-favorite sweater coat is knitted of lofty cotton-blend yarns with the rich look of a bouclé tweed. Ribbed trim at the stand collar, cuffs, placket, and hem. Long sweater coats for women in black/gray. Cotton/acrylic/polyester. Hand wash. Imported.Sizes: S(6-8); about 36" long.
Average Customer Rating:
4.36 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (50 reviews)
5 stars
29
4 stars
13
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
0
44 of 50(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Tweed Sweater Coat
Review 1 for Tweed Sweater Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Perfect for Autumn and Layering,
December 17, 2013
By: Georgeeliot
from West Sussex, GB
"Love the soft feel to the coat, and the way that it hangs. Size description accurate, and sleeve length just right. The colour mix means that the coat is very versatile.
The weight is perfect for Autumn and mild winter days.
I would have welcomed patch pockets to complete the styling.
"
Review 2 for Tweed Sweater Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Love the sweater,
November 26, 2013
By: Horsemama5
from Riverside, CA
"I love this sweater! I wanted something which would cover me fully. (I hate a cold bottom). The one feature I would like to see added is pockets!"
Review 3 for Tweed Sweater Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great sweater (coat),
November 8, 2013
By: classicfashionlover
"Love wearing my new sweater that keeps me warm but not bulky looking during the cool autumn days and nights. Reading the reviews, I ordered the medium after debating if I should get a large. Medium fits perfect. Roomy enough so you can wear it as a light fall or spring coat too. My neighbor just ordered the same one after admiring mine!"
Review 4 for Tweed Sweater Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just what I was looking for,
October 31, 2013
By: malcolmmerriweather
from Osage County
"I scoured the internet at so many womens clothing websites to find a sweater coat and FINALLY found this one at Orvis. Their service is speedy and they even let me exchange a medium for a large to see which one I liked better and then I sent the large back. Fast returns and exchanges. It is so comfortable and soft and warm which is exactly what I was looking for. Glad I got mine before the mediums ran out and the sale price is a bargain. Grab it if you can."
Review 5 for Tweed Sweater Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great fit and quality,
October 8, 2013
By: Joanne212121
from Yarmouth NS
"This sweater is so nice...just the right weight,fit and guality. I don't have a button problem as some others have mentioned. They are tight but in my experience I prefer a bit tight as the sweater will stay buttoned when I need it to be this winter. Would highly reccomend."
Review 6 for Tweed Sweater Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Never disappointed,
October 3, 2013
By: Maribella
from Oakbrook, IL
"I am never disappointed in the items I have ordered or purchased from Orvis. The sweater coat meets all of my expectations. Just perfect for the early fall weather and it looks great when you need something a bit more dressy."
Review 7 for Tweed Sweater Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Sweater!,
September 30, 2013
By: SuzyQ521
from Burlington, CT
"This sweater is the best! So warm and cozy on those cool fall nights!"
Review 8 for Tweed Sweater Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
needs POCKETS,
January 30, 2013
By: winterfriend
"I see that Orvis is making adjustments regarding the buttons but please Orvis could you also make this sweater with POCKETS???"
Review 9 for Tweed Sweater Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful!,
December 3, 2012
By: GBayGirl
"I love this sweater! I wear it with pants and leggings. It is well made, sharp, comfortable and NOT scratchy!"
Review 10 for Tweed Sweater Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful Sweater Coat,
November 29, 2012
By: contessa65
"This sweater coat is casual and dressy at the same time. Beautifully made and very comfortable. Runs a little large so the medium was a perfect fit. I would highly recommended this product."
Review 11 for Tweed Sweater Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great wardrobe addition,
November 24, 2012
By: noscc
from Calgary, AB, Canada
"I really like this coat and can see it be very useful - on its own or even as a layer under winter apparel if it gets really cold (I live in Alberta, Canada).
My only criticism is the buttons: too large for the button holes and really not very attractive. I am in the process of changing all of them.
"
Review 12 for Tweed Sweater Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sweater coat,
November 20, 2012
By: southernorvisfan
from Raleigh, NC
"Love this soft coat that is perfect for fall and early winter in the south.
Love the grow grain ribbon finishing on the inside of the sweater where the buttons are attached. It look great opened or belted and runs big.
Great with leggings and boots.
wish it was in another color!"
Review 13 for Tweed Sweater Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
versatile layering piece,
November 13, 2012
By: chickeringgirl
from Boston
"I've had my eye on this sweater-coat for a year and finally decided to get it. I wanted it in both brown and black, but the brown was no longer available. It is a great piece to wear with jeans or with nice wool slacks. In fall it can be a coat, in winter a cozy layering piece. It would be wonderful to have other color options, including a mixed blues for jeans."
Review 14 for Tweed Sweater Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Style,
November 12, 2012
By: RevRosebud
from Knoxville, TN
"I have enjoyed wearing this sweater coat & get many compliments on it. The tweed look is just right for work & keeps me cozy when my office get cool. The button holes where a little tight, but understand that helps to keep the shape when wearing it so much. The L was good an roomy, but not too big. I'm able to wear another sweater or suit jack under it."
Review 15 for Tweed Sweater Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great sweater coat,
November 9, 2012
By: Hilsco
from Carmel, IN
"Very happy with sweater coat. Wish that it had pockets though. That is only reason it didn't get five stars. Very soft. Runs a little big. I am a size 12 and wasn't sure it would fit. It does and can even be worn over lighter sweaters as a coat."
Review 16 for Tweed Sweater Coat
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Suggestions,
October 22, 2012
By: tenis
"I am keeping the repacement you sent me but strongly suggest that
it being a sweater COAT that it have
pockets. The original one had buttons that were too large for the
button holes.
"
Review 17 for Tweed Sweater Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sweater coat,
October 12, 2012
By: Austinite123
from Austin, TX
"Extremely comfortable and roomy, very good for wearing over winter clothing."
Review 18 for Tweed Sweater Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Must Have,
September 27, 2012
By: Peggyk
from Oneida, NY
"Love, love this sweater coat. Perfect Fall must have. Would like to have pockets, but is a perfect cool weather choice!"
Review 19 for Tweed Sweater Coat
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
great picture thats it,
September 20, 2012
By: Anonymous
"Looking for a wonderful long sweater? This is not it! The sweater is very thin and not heavy as the picture seems to show. The buttonholes can barely be buttoned....buttons too big. Overall, I was very displeased with the quality of this sweater. If you are looking for a nice heavy sweater, keep looking. Very thin, good for maybe spring. Not as long as I thought it would be, and I am only 5 foot 1 inch and it was not long enough. Returned.....still looking....."
Review 20 for Tweed Sweater Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great for fall,
August 24, 2012
By: VKCOhio
from Ohio
"I love this sweater coat - it transitions easily from casual to professional. I would give it 5 stars except for it doesn't have pockets. It runs a bit large so I exchanged it for a smaller size. As usual, Orvis made the exchange easy and the replacement fits very well. It is perfect for the changing fall weather."