Orvis Ratings and Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Vintage Denim™ Chemise

One of our most popular button front dress styles meets our customers' favorite all-cotton denim. Sweetly trimmed with floral-print corduroy at the collar, cuffs, and placket, our easy-fitting chemise has a full button front, small stand collar, and notched long sleeves. Button front denim dress in black. Pure cotton. Washable. Imported.Sizes: 10, 12; about 31" long from waistline.
Average Customer Rating:
3.763 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (38 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
10
3 stars
8
2 stars
3
1 star
3
25 of 38(66%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Vintage Denim™ Chemise
Review 1 for Vintage Denim™ Chemise
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Basic Black Denim,
April 2, 2013
By: Renni
from Forest Falls, CA
"I've found that this classic already looks great with a couple different scarves that I have. It would be great with seasonal jewelry. I like the way the collar frames my face and the overall relaxed long look it gives me."
Review 2 for Vintage Denim™ Chemise
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love it!,
December 17, 2012
By: SuzeQ51
from Cheektowaga, NY
"I read reviews on this dress and hesitated in purchasing for over a year. I finally bought it for my birthday and love it! Yes, it is a shift dress and therefore the shape is basic and yes the trim would be nice to see @ the outside of the collar and yes, there is a smell to the fabric that hasn't left w/a few washes BUT it is comfy and casually fun to wear. I recommend not buttoning the bottom 2 buttons for ease of sitting and non-ripping of the fabric eventually."
Review 3 for Vintage Denim™ Chemise
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Stinks!,
November 23, 2012
By: Hyacinth3
"The fabric stinks! I washed the dress, and it still stinks. Plus the dye faded in blotchy patches. Cheap materials in this relatively expensive dress. Don't buy this product."
Review 4 for Vintage Denim™ Chemise
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
it smelled bad,
November 19, 2012
By: dresslady
from Northampton, MA
"when I took the dress out of the box I noticed a strange smell coming from it. It looked very nice on me and I wanted to keep it, so I hung it up in my room hoping the odor would go away. When this did not happen, I returned it. the fabric is also quite stiff. I wondered if this would go away with washing but read other reviews which said it did not so I didn't try that."
Review 5 for Vintage Denim™ Chemise
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
not true size,
November 12, 2012
By: CTMMS
"very disappointed as this is not a true size 18; fits snug."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Vintage Denim™ Chemise
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Right for the between-season,
November 6, 2012
By: amom4molly
from Southern Oregon
"I would have given this dress another star, except that it has a design flaw! The pretty floral lining only shows at the cuffs. The rest is hidden on the INSIDE plackets around the neck and down the front. I will need to take to a dressmaker to remove some and line the 2 pockets and maybe outer neck."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Vintage Denim™ Chemise
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Good quality,
October 24, 2012
By: SylviaJ
from Cheshire, UK
"Good quality item and good fit but not flattering at all - I looked like an inmate somewhere. May have been better in another colour."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Vintage Denim™ Chemise
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
returned,
October 22, 2012
By: PortiaR
from washington d.c.
"The black color was very flat, and the dress was not, for me, flattering. I have returned the dress."
Review 9 for Vintage Denim™ Chemise
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Very disappointing,
October 15, 2012
By: Grammashep
from Calgary, Alberta
"I read previous reviews and bought a size up 18 instead of 16. The sleeves were too tight and It felt tight across the back. I had previously bought the corduroy dress in the same style in XlL and had to have it altered because it was way too big. I returned this dress. Not happy with the inconsistency in sizing."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Vintage Denim™ Chemise
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I sent this back,
October 11, 2012
By: Pene
"Maybe it's just not my thing but this dress was totally lacking in style and shape. If you need a hard wearing shapeless dress then this is it. But why would you wear a dress for working in the garden etc in?"
Review 11 for Vintage Denim™ Chemise
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pretty easy wear dress,
October 10, 2012
By: Cumbrian123
from Cumbria, UK
"Good fabric, good colour, excellent fit and attractive trim detail. I would have rated the dress 5 stars,apart from the design of the collar. I would have preferred a classic lapel collar which would have shown off the trimming more easily and to greater effect. The stand-up collar makes this more difficult. However, my dress was admired."
Review 12 for Vintage Denim™ Chemise
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent buy,
October 8, 2012
By: orvisuk
from West Midlands UK
"This was a good buy. It is true to size and excellent quality. I would class it as smart/casual wear."
Review 13 for Vintage Denim™ Chemise
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Cute detail,
August 20, 2012
By: Mother007
from Burke, VA
"This dress is perfect if your not to curvy in the hips. The reason it did not work for me is that it fit in the top portion of the dress, but not the bottom. The detail on the collar and cuff is nice and the fabric is great."
Review 14 for Vintage Denim™ Chemise
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
comfortable dress for the office,
January 16, 2012
By: Elaine282
from Alexandria, VA
"Fits well and is comfortable. Fabric at the collar and ends of the sleeves is a lovely detail. Definitely suitable for the office. I've received compliments each time I've worn the dress."
Review 15 for Vintage Denim™ Chemise
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun Dress,
December 31, 2011
By: FarmLady
"The dress is easy to wear and great with Riding boots! First dress I have in a long time--"
Review 16 for Vintage Denim™ Chemise
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good classic dress,
December 29, 2011
By: Dawgs1
from Tupelo, Mississippi
"I have enjoyed this dress. I have received compliments on it when I wear it. It is good quality and will be a classic in my closet."
Review 17 for Vintage Denim™ Chemise
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice dress,
December 29, 2011
By: Rezo
"I like this dress a lot. The fabric is a bit on the heavy and stiff side, but it is still comfortable, and will improve with washing."
Review 18 for Vintage Denim™ Chemise
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great purchase!,
December 10, 2011
By: Mamajo
from Springfield, MA
"I'm delighted with both the fit (true to
size), quality and fabric. Item was exactly as pictured (both in the catalog and in my mind.) In the past, I have avoided ordering from catalogs since I have had some unpleasant experiences with quality or fit. However, I would not hesitate to order from Orvis again.
"
Review 19 for Vintage Denim™ Chemise
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Forever Dress!,
December 9, 2011
By: Gailey
from Bellingham, WA
"I love unusual yet classic denim dresses and this is it! Hooray for black and a great style too.
Now I need to find some boots to set it off!
"
Review 20 for Vintage Denim™ Chemise
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
So comfortable,
December 7, 2011
By: rwyl
"I love this dress. It is so comfortable and the trim makes it work for something a little more nice than a denim dress would otherwise be. It does seem to run a little small. Otherwise perfect."