Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Fly Fisher's Diamond Hook Hone

Keep fish hooks sharp for better sets and more landed fish. 300- and 400-grit hones. Easy grip.
Average Customer Rating:
4.769 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (26 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
25 of 26(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Fly Fisher's Diamond Hook Hone
Review 1 for Fly Fisher's Diamond Hook Hone
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
January 29, 2015
By: MuddlerMinnow
"I really like this sharpener - it sharpens very well (the most important part), and is easy to hold and store. It also looks pretty nice (although that doesn't matter). I can't find much wrong with it as of now!"
Review 2 for Fly Fisher's Diamond Hook Hone
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sharp Hooks,
January 9, 2015
By: PaulWilkinsFromScotland
from West Lothian, Scotland
"This product was perfect to slip into my day pack and always have with me to touch up those not so sharp hooks. I even use this tool to keep my nippers sharp and ensure a clean cut on my Tippet material."
Review 3 for Fly Fisher's Diamond Hook Hone
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Super item,
January 3, 2015
By: FishingFamSyr22Fly
from Syracuse, NY
"Already had one and bought one for a family member."
Review 4 for Fly Fisher's Diamond Hook Hone
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Little diamond,
December 23, 2014
By: Leo111
from Southern England
"Small precise with good abrasive quality to put a razor sharp point on that hook, to ensure that it sets first time."
Review 5 for Fly Fisher's Diamond Hook Hone
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
good tool,
June 16, 2014
By: retire2fish
from uniontown pa
"was easy to touch up hooks on the stream would like a smaller size to put on a zinger"
Review 6 for Fly Fisher's Diamond Hook Hone
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
never a dull hook again,
June 12, 2014
By: turkyhorst
from Stony Creek PA
"great hook sharpening tool another great Orvis inclusion to my vest"
Review 7 for Fly Fisher's Diamond Hook Hone
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Handy tool,
June 7, 2014
By: gcscores
from Vero beach, Florida
"This is just the right size and helps keep your hooks nice and sharp"
Review 8 for Fly Fisher's Diamond Hook Hone
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hook sharpener,
April 23, 2014
By: Master2
from Tavistock
"Every fisherman should have one of these to keep hooks in tip top condition"
Review 9 for Fly Fisher's Diamond Hook Hone
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fly Fisher's Diamond Hook Hone,
April 15, 2014
By: Master2
from Tavistock
"Every fisherman should have one of these to ensure hooks are sharp and ensure a good catch.
Can also be used to sharpen small knives and nippers
"
Review 10 for Fly Fisher's Diamond Hook Hone
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent,
February 7, 2014
By: babrown1986
"Love this shapener. One of the key necessities to have in your pack. Very lightweight and the size is perfect. Orvis never fails."
Review 11 for Fly Fisher's Diamond Hook Hone
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice addition to the fly vest,
December 20, 2013
By: Jerry005
from Vandergrift, PA
"Not too large/not to small. Just the right size for hook sharpening. Seems to work well and should last a long time."
Review 12 for Fly Fisher's Diamond Hook Hone
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
must have,
April 8, 2013
By: Plowman
"Never let a dull hook stand between you and that Hoosier. One of those must have tools"
Review 13 for Fly Fisher's Diamond Hook Hone
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
January 28, 2013
By: TNBud
from Smoky Mountains, TN
"Does just what it's supposed to do. Great for sharpening those older hooks & even works for taking barbs off. The size of it makes it great for your vest or even on a key-chain for light days."
Review 14 for Fly Fisher's Diamond Hook Hone
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice Product,
January 24, 2013
By: nipigonguy
"Did what it is advertised to do; sharpens hooks very well. Has two different grits which is nice , and it easy to hold. Would recommend."
Review 15 for Fly Fisher's Diamond Hook Hone
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Product bad - Customer service Excellent,
November 21, 2012
By: Steelheadjunky
"Hopefully I just got a defective one, but day 1 on the river the textured laminate (this product is a metal bar coated in a thin metallic equivalent to sand paper) started to peel. By day 2, 50% of the texture had peeled off. This is normal use too, in fact, I think I sharped 3 hooks! But customer service was awesome and they sent me a new one, no questions asked. Hopefully this one holds up!"
Review 16 for Fly Fisher's Diamond Hook Hone
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Diamonds are a fisherman's best friend,
November 8, 2012
By: Flyfishingnavarre
from Navarre Beach, Fl.
"Lefty Kreh recommended a diamond hone for sharpest hooks. This one does the job for a decent price."
Review 17 for Fly Fisher's Diamond Hook Hone
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Finally,
May 24, 2012
By: Genoflyfisher
from Jax,Fl
"I can't count how many people shake their fingers at me about having sharp hooks,now I don't have an excuse,work great!!!"
Review 18 for Fly Fisher's Diamond Hook Hone
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
simple and good,
February 10, 2012
By: WRO50
from New England
"This simple file "Diamond Hook Hone" is the perfect small tool to carry in your vest to keep your fly hooks sharp. Takes up virtually no space."
Review 19 for Fly Fisher's Diamond Hook Hone
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A must have,
January 17, 2012
By: ENadeau
from New Hampshire
"Hook sharpeners are a must have. This one is perfect, a little heavier than anticipated but still very nice"
Review 20 for Fly Fisher's Diamond Hook Hone
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
hook sharpener, etc.,
September 12, 2011
By: dennisisim
from Sarasota, Florida
"The 2t5t hook hone is small,compact, easy to carry and works on virtually any size hook, additionally a knife or ax can be dressed down until a larger sharpener is handy. A great gift for a needy friend; now I am re-ordering."